HOPES for new approach to football in 2015

not sure Peader could get around Croke Park at this stage to be fair

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 07/01/2015 18:47:34    1681315

Give Menton a try out at full back in league for sure, but he is no centre back or midfielder going on last two years.
Full back if it works out, otherwise don't think he is worth his place in best fifteen if we have all available
Doesn't get on ball often enough and goes missing for long periods

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 07/01/2015 19:19:37    1681325

decent win tonight,anyone go to the game? Who impressed?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 07/01/2015 20:57:04    1681345

Ran up a good score in poor conditions. Draw on Saturday will see Meath progress

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 07/01/2015 21:12:45    1681351

seadog

Did you go?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 07/01/2015 21:19:30    1681352

Was at game and I must say even if it is only o byrne cup attidude and fitness already way up on last few years at same time.Players look very focused and look like they will wear jersey with pride at long last.M o Sullivan looks like he could be the one finally to add pace direction and strength to half forward line.Would love to play dubs in this tourney so we know where we stand so early in year.Let me know your taughts

tampa (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 07/01/2015 21:19:41    1681353

Good workout,Longford were poor but we had a very high work rate!meath physically much stronger with Menton,Tormey and Rooney to the fore!queeney took some lovely scores,always think he can be a big player for us,hopefully he will get a proper run out this year.

JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 07/01/2015 21:22:25    1681355

Good stuff lads,how did the backs look?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 07/01/2015 21:25:15    1681356

Seadog 54 I would say Menton himself could not be happy with his position after last year. He seemed promising,but did not really deliver as expected. He is one of the players that must lift his game or loose his place.But,is there a better alternative available now.Maybe next few games will answer those questions. Also want to see Tormey concentrate for whole match, and up his work rate.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 07/01/2015 21:27:34    1681357

Was at the game myself, would agree with what's being said, Queeney, Tormey and Menton stood out. Of the less experienced players I thought O'Dowd played quite well and I think Sean Tobin is worth looking at again although he got subbed off after two poor long range efforts in the second half. Decent all round performance, Longford didn't offer much in the second half though.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/01/2015 21:36:05    1681360

Liked the way they kept pushing on until the end,game was over 10 mins into second half,attitude good.

JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 07/01/2015 21:53:44    1681365

How did Shorthall play

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 07/01/2015 21:56:00    1681367

Was at game very bad conditions. Hard to judge but few would like to see again, like shorthall tolan queeney in midfield

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2015 08:40:38    1681373

One final thing Longford were very poor

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2015 08:42:02    1681375

Avoid defeat against DCU and I see we play Dublin

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/01/2015 09:52:13    1681391

If MOD intended playing Menton at full back in the league surely he would have put him in there in O'Byrne Cup. Personally I think Menton would be wasted at full back. He looks fit and athletic and is well able to push up the field and get scores. His position is in the half back line or midfield. I would put Keoghan at full back for the league. He may be a little short on height but there are not that many really tall full forwards like Donaghy about.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 08/01/2015 09:52:31    1681392

mmc I thought Shorthall had a very poor game, he was taken off at half time aswell but sure look he's inexperienced so we'll have to give him time.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/01/2015 10:55:53    1681408

Anyone know which Meath players are playing for which college teams?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 08/01/2015 11:17:17    1681411

Ratoath Royal

Barry Dardis - Maynooth
Conor Sheridan UCD
Padriac Harnan - UCD
Bryan McMahon - not sure who

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/01/2015 12:00:05    1681428

Htaem--agree on odowd. Short on pace but strong tigerish lad and good option for inside forwards

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 08/01/2015 12:24:16    1681442