U15's Results Today..

Meath 7-19
Armagh 0-4

Meath 3-17
Armagh 1-3

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2016 17:41:18    1888579

Brownpatty , I wouldn't be dragging me into your personal vendetta , attacks on others . What I will say is facts are facts . Respect that

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 24/07/2016 15:05:28    1889144

Well done to the U15s on their successful maintaining of their playing record . 10/10 is a good result no matter what level your working at . Some begrudgers will say it means nothing , let them take control of 50 individual teenagers , and get them to play as a team . My godson says that this bunch gel well together .
I note that Dublin and Cavan won their games at the weekend . Dublins second string got it hard to get over a their opposition , while Cavan were out for a stroll in the park against Wicklow . Abu called that one correctly jerseyinusa. That's from someone whose attended most of the GR games . Best of Luck to Meath against Westmeath in the plate final .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 25/07/2016 08:07:25    1889490

Replying To Brownepat:  "Ah csistleain or Meath tru or whatever u go by continue paddling your own canoe but for you long before the white water was in sight your paddle is lost and your boat holed and letting in water...... pope Gregory said he who puts himself on a pedestal of his own making usually falls down. In the famous film starring Gregory peck when peck had pseudo name "pecker" he quoted " I have read all the books and did all the courses I still cant figure out why no one listens to me."
Brownepat: Your not the only one around there that spout quotes but you may be the only one that doesn't know how to interpret them .

"Moreover, because the slothful mind is typically brought to its downfall gradually, when we fail to control our speech, we move on to more harsh words. Thus, at first, we are happy to speak of others kindly; afterwards, we begin to pick at the lives of those of whom we speak, and finally our tongues break into open slander against them."Be careful that what you preach is truthful Brownepat .......

Anyway I will have a final say on this if you don't mind . With all the evidence in front of the supporters of Meath Football , from Senior down to Juvenile inter-county, do you really think that the knowledgeable Meath GAA supporters think that the current pseudo-system is kidding anyone . Look at the facts . 2007 is the last year that Meath contested the Gerry Reilly Cup , the last Meath Minor Leinster championship was when ?
The last Meath U21 ( Leinster) championship was ? . The last Meath Junior ( Leinster) Championship was when . I won't extrapolate to the Meath Senior expeditions into Leinster .
As Hamlet that great GAA Hurler stated , " Something is rotten in the state of Denmark"
Talent's should not be wasted , they should be developed , nurtured . There's a lot of talented sportmen heading away from Meath GAA . And I do mean Sportsmen , because that's where Dublin went , they assembled Athletes, and turned them into great GAA players .....
And if you fitted , and were good enough, it didn't matter wheter your Dad , grandad of Uncle had or hadn't an All Ireland in their back pocket you played , because you deserved to .Its time that idea of inherited traits was put to bed in Meath ....
Its an advantage surely but not a necessity .

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 25/07/2016 09:28:17    1889516

Replying To Meath_True:  "Well done to the U15s on their successful maintaining of their playing record . 10/10 is a good result no matter what level your working at . Some begrudgers will say it means nothing , let them take control of 50 individual teenagers , and get them to play as a team . My godson says that this bunch gel well together .
I note that Dublin and Cavan won their games at the weekend . Dublins second string got it hard to get over a their opposition , while Cavan were out for a stroll in the park against Wicklow . Abu called that one correctly jerseyinusa. That's from someone whose attended most of the GR games . Best of Luck to Meath against Westmeath in the plate final ."
Sorry Correction , Dublin Drew with Monaghan.and the Dublin second string found the going tough .., but in truth it changed nothing in the standings .. This was Monaghans first points in the Tournament , as their squad was decimated with Holidays etc. . Dublin have been chopping and changing their panel in their first 3 games . I reckon they will now have their settled side for the Cup final . That will be in interesting game to watch .

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 25/07/2016 11:42:05    1889602

Replying To Meath_True:  "Well done to the U15s on their successful maintaining of their playing record . 10/10 is a good result no matter what level your working at . Some begrudgers will say it means nothing , let them take control of 50 individual teenagers , and get them to play as a team . My godson says that this bunch gel well together .
I note that Dublin and Cavan won their games at the weekend . Dublins second string got it hard to get over a their opposition , while Cavan were out for a stroll in the park against Wicklow . Abu called that one correctly jerseyinusa. That's from someone whose attended most of the GR games . Best of Luck to Meath against Westmeath in the plate final ."
Sorry MeathTrue , I mis-calculated Monaghans resistance , and possible their best foot forward approach to playing Dublin . they gave Dublin a game .

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 25/07/2016 12:35:56    1889644

Replying To Chaisleain_Abu:  "Sorry MeathTrue , I mis-calculated Monaghans resistance , and possible their best foot forward approach to playing Dublin . they gave Dublin a game ."
1st sign of madness talking to yourself

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 25/07/2016 14:25:20    1889743

Joe Sheridan has said that there is a lot of great talent in Meath underage.He has seen some of the best young talent in Meath in the last couple of years.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/07/2016 15:36:13    1891020

Went to Dunganny on Monday evening. The U21 hurling team were toggling out in the back of the Managers van and the U16 hurlingerie squad were toggling out under the ditch on the top field. All the dressing rooms were locked. After winning the Crista Ring cup it appears the hurling squads can't even gain access to the dressing rooms in our centre of excellence.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 27/07/2016 18:36:13    1891129

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Joe Sheridan has said that there is a lot of great talent in Meath underage.He has seen some of the best young talent in Meath in the last couple of years."
I completely agree with that statement ..best crop i have ever seen ! Lets hope it bears fruits ! Or will the Australian scouts get the first pick ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 27/07/2016 19:24:20    1891161

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I completely agree with that statement ..best crop i have ever seen ! Lets hope it bears fruits ! Or will the Australian scouts get the first pick ?"
What can we do to keep as many good ones as possible in the game?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/07/2016 20:20:06    1891188

Replying To ziggy32001:  "What can we do to keep as many good ones as possible in the game?"
I dont know how we are going to keep them in the game..Parents have a big influence !

Conor Nash has a lot of options on his career ,leinster rugby or Australia ...JJ O Dea is another fine example of a perfect athletic,those two guys are like a John Mc Dermott or Darren Fay playing another sport ! And that's just naming two guy !

So we have to do something so we don't lose our golden eggs to other sports..you can't force them to play Gaa,plus if they ask what sport should they pick for their future your going to advised them to play the sport that they could make a living out of !

People will say other sports were always the problem ..truth is we never really had a problem in this county competing with rugby until ireland and the provinces became good,soccer on the other hand is not really a problem ,i don't like the idea of the Australian scout system in this country to be honest,yes they don't pick everybody or when was the last time a young Meath chap got scouted ? reason not many got scouted because we did nothing at underage level since god knows when!

This is the problem of the Gaa not being a professional sport ..So we put in a war time effort get self funding everybody puts their shoulder to the wheel to get our underage players ,system and structures to be the very best and when all the hard work is done .. Australian scout "G'day, mate wana come to summer bay Australia ? " like thats just way to easy and if their is ever a definition of Sh!te your thanks..well their it is !

The Gaa doesn't ring fences you from this problem !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 27/07/2016 22:12:40    1891264

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I dont know how we are going to keep them in the game..Parents have a big influence !

Conor Nash has a lot of options on his career ,leinster rugby or Australia ...JJ O Dea is another fine example of a perfect athletic,those two guys are like a John Mc Dermott or Darren Fay playing another sport ! And that's just naming two guy !

So we have to do something so we don't lose our golden eggs to other sports..you can't force them to play Gaa,plus if they ask what sport should they pick for their future your going to advised them to play the sport that they could make a living out of !

People will say other sports were always the problem ..truth is we never really had a problem in this county competing with rugby until ireland and the provinces became good,soccer on the other hand is not really a problem ,i don't like the idea of the Australian scout system in this country to be honest,yes they don't pick everybody or when was the last time a young Meath chap got scouted ? reason not many got scouted because we did nothing at underage level since god knows when!

This is the problem of the Gaa not being a professional sport ..So we put in a war time effort get self funding everybody puts their shoulder to the wheel to get our underage players ,system and structures to be the very best and when all the hard work is done .. Australian scout "G'day, mate wana come to summer bay Australia ? " like thats just way to easy and if their is ever a definition of Sh!te your thanks..well their it is !

The Gaa doesn't ring fences you from this problem !"
That last paragraph is a fair point.I know Kildare have lost some of their biggest talents to Australia too. You never know Conor Nash may return yet,he may not settle in Australia.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/07/2016 08:34:32    1891328

The problem here is not that the scouts are coming here looking at our best footballers,teh problem is that they are their looking at our best athletes ,They want to see if they can short cut/circumvent their own Development programmes . Which takes years , upon years , and untold investment in their academies , development teams . Its obviously a lot more economical to scout over here , and offer opportunities to the likes of Conor Nash etc. than spend up to 10 years developing their own in house talent ( that may drop out at any time, through injury , burn out) Conor Nash has all the traits of a very good athlete, big strong , powerful , agile , thus having the potential for loads of speed. , the fact that he is an exceptional footballer is a plus + . What he has is the natural muscle, structure and size that can be moulded ( within a professional system ) into a brilliant Rugby player that can slot into the Australian system without the many years of investment needed for in situ talent . . JJ O Dea is the same . And the best of luck to both of them . Meath GAA would never be able to compete with the likes of professional Rugby , Soccer . The money , benefits and opportunities are just not there . And anyway , if selected to play on a provincial team in Rugby Vs a GAA Club /County Team in GAA where would you be heading on a Sunday morning .
The statement in relation to the Hurlers togging out under a ditch is dis heartening in this day and age . I hope that this was a once off situation , especially as the Hurling end of the County have added a bit of a spark to our year with their success in the Christy Ring .
What then do we need to fear . that our brightest and best players that we have spent our time developing will take flight . Unfortunately that will become ever more common the more professional we get with our player development . Basically its a poaching exercise that is more economical for the poachers to do than develop the players in their own system . An Mhi Abu .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 28/07/2016 09:16:14    1891337

Why don't we see too many Dubs go to Australia?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/07/2016 10:41:19    1891382

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Why don't we see too many Dubs go to Australia?"
Because the dubs are professionals whereas all other counties are amateurs.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 28/07/2016 11:57:20    1891438

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Joe Sheridan has said that there is a lot of great talent in Meath underage.He has seen some of the best young talent in Meath in the last couple of years."
I don't doubt that Meath have great underage talent it's clearly evident every year when they perform well consistently in the Gerry Reilly.

My problem is Meath seem to get left behind between U16 and minor/U21. I don't know what it is, lack of proper coaching? Lack of proper strength and conditioning? Lack of tactical awareness by managers in big games? Either way it is worrying that Meath keep producing these great underage teams but then when it matters?

I seen a previous poster said the U15 have won 10/10 matches and fair play to them that's a great achievement but when them lads are Minor if they don't have a Leinster medal who cares about their 10/10 record?

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 28/07/2016 15:28:34    1891571

Replying To Uncle_Fester:  "I don't doubt that Meath have great underage talent it's clearly evident every year when they perform well consistently in the Gerry Reilly.

My problem is Meath seem to get left behind between U16 and minor/U21. I don't know what it is, lack of proper coaching? Lack of proper strength and conditioning? Lack of tactical awareness by managers in big games? Either way it is worrying that Meath keep producing these great underage teams but then when it matters?

I seen a previous poster said the U15 have won 10/10 matches and fair play to them that's a great achievement but when them lads are Minor if they don't have a Leinster medal who cares about their 10/10 record?"
Well this is the first year that our youngsters have been doing S&C so that is a factor for sure..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/07/2016 15:37:26    1891577

Replying To Meath_True:  "The problem here is not that the scouts are coming here looking at our best footballers,teh problem is that they are their looking at our best athletes ,They want to see if they can short cut/circumvent their own Development programmes . Which takes years , upon years , and untold investment in their academies , development teams . Its obviously a lot more economical to scout over here , and offer opportunities to the likes of Conor Nash etc. than spend up to 10 years developing their own in house talent ( that may drop out at any time, through injury , burn out) Conor Nash has all the traits of a very good athlete, big strong , powerful , agile , thus having the potential for loads of speed. , the fact that he is an exceptional footballer is a plus + . What he has is the natural muscle, structure and size that can be moulded ( within a professional system ) into a brilliant Rugby player that can slot into the Australian system without the many years of investment needed for in situ talent . . JJ O Dea is the same . And the best of luck to both of them . Meath GAA would never be able to compete with the likes of professional Rugby , Soccer . The money , benefits and opportunities are just not there . And anyway , if selected to play on a provincial team in Rugby Vs a GAA Club /County Team in GAA where would you be heading on a Sunday morning .
The statement in relation to the Hurlers togging out under a ditch is dis heartening in this day and age . I hope that this was a once off situation , especially as the Hurling end of the County have added a bit of a spark to our year with their success in the Christy Ring .
What then do we need to fear . that our brightest and best players that we have spent our time developing will take flight . Unfortunately that will become ever more common the more professional we get with our player development . Basically its a poaching exercise that is more economical for the poachers to do than develop the players in their own system . An Mhi Abu ."
Ok lads lets think who else puts up posts like this and who else finishes An MhI Abu.... bit of a slip greg.....I rest my case

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 28/07/2016 23:12:00    1891791

Kildare beat Dublin in the U17 tournament final..

Anyone know how Meath got on in the tournament? Who they beat and who beat them?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/08/2016 11:48:40    1893419