Light at the end of the tunnel

nobull456

We have no way of knowing for definite if a review took place. What forums like this can do is clearly let it be known to those concerned that this approach is essential. That silence on the issue does not mean acceptance . As far as i know no" assistance" has been sought.If it was like everything else the grapevine would have it even.
A good example was when Evans was brought in to "assist" Banty. That move helped to a degree ,and was not kept secret.

And we have no way of knowing for definite that a review didn't take place, there are a lot of things we don't know and in the absence of knowledge it's as well not to form opinions. O'Dowd is entering his third year, his first was reasonably successful given his starting base, his second dissapointing however I include the case of injuries and putting "square pegs in round holes" as a result which I believe upset team balance and moral. We have had many years like 2014 in the recent past yet O'Dowd and his team seem to be getting a tougher time that some of his predecessors. 2015 will be the watershed for this team and management but I believe there is far too much negativity and agendas going on here, and by saying that it doesn't make me happy with mediocrity or moral victories. I want our county to be as successful as anyone but I refuse to allow my opinions be formed by what I don't know or what I don't see. Everyone needs to improve, we all know that, players, management and maybe even the supporters need to improve their opinions of the efforts being put in, I think I'll wait till January and wait until I actually see the team in action before I draw opinions

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/11/2014 17:52:27    1670901

In fairness most opinions are drawn on what we have witnessed over the last two years, what I am looking for is an all round improvement both from managers and players, but must be management driven. Cannot continue making the same mistakes and expecting there will be a different outcome. Give players the leadership, motivation and training (both physical and tactical) required. It is then up to them to produce the goods: to the expected Meath standards,100% commitment to the jersey.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 09/11/2014 19:25:48    1670926

Seadog 54 Agree absolutely...You hit the bulls eye there...Well said !!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 09/11/2014 20:02:12    1670938

Richie

You have it in a nutshell...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 10/11/2014 09:30:11    1670990

In fairness most opinions are drawn on what we have witnessed over the last two years, what I am looking for is an all round improvement both from managers and players, but must be management driven. Cannot continue making the same mistakes and expecting there will be a different outcome. Give players the leadership, motivation and training (both physical and tactical) required. It is then up to them to produce the goods: to the expected Meath standards,100% commitment to the jersey.

I disagree I feel most opinions are being formed on the last 12 months, a period where we suffered losses of crucial players to injury and rushed back players recovering from crucial injuries and threw them into the bearpit straight away, our squad strength was weakened and that seems to have affected moral last year. I don't hear anyone here talking about the progressive year of 2013 when we had more or less a full hand to play with. This is why I'm willing to give O'Dowd full support in 2015, he deserves his third year to make his case

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/11/2014 10:01:14    1671003

Richieq you are spot on.

Hidden agendas is the problem here. Everyone who supports the team knows that they were crippled by injuries this year and a team at our stage of development cannot cope easily.
Next year is a new page in the story and I hope the Nay Sayers are proved wrong.

RoyalDunne, Boylan was in charge of Meath 4 years before they won a Leinster title. So your argument is pointless. Are you telling me if he was coming on the scene now, we should be scrutinising his position. good one
And another thing, in Boylan's latter years it is clear he didn't bring in any youth as he searched for one more title. As a result we suffered for the next decade. I idolise him all the same, but don't start using him as a yard stick for success without acknowledging the reality of his tenure.

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 10/11/2014 10:16:39    1671010

Mine is been formed over last two years. In particular those 3 games against Monaghan. We did same thing 3 times and they wiped the floor with us, Cavan did the same to us, and only for a total capitulation in second half by Sligo I doubt that we would have got promoted, we made very heavy work of a poor div 3 (Monaghan excluded)
And it took a a brilliant display by graham Reilly and a surreal goal by Kev Reilly to beat Wicklow in aughrim. Now yes for 50 mins we put it up to dubs but they still ran out comfortable winners , and perhaps that combined with a narrow defeat to what turned out to be a average enough Tyrone masked a pretty average first year. Then last year therrepeat in clones was dire so was armagh game, we showed well against down and Kildare , so actually last season was probably a improvement on previous.
Look nothing would make me happier than for management and team to kick on and have a close to the final whistle Leinster final make quarters and get promoted. And I think some people are taking offense to genuine concerns of a lot of fans, no one wants mod to fail there is no agendas certainly not on my part. But there is worry that the same thing might happen without some changes. Not only in players but along sideline too. Would it be so bad if we got a Evans type guy in this year? And why has cb not asked for this or indeed mod himself? Galvin has 3 selectors its not asign of eweakness that some in Meath seem to think it would be.
Look im one of the most voiced supporters of Meath and nothing will change that, before every game I confidently predict a Royal win, sometimes to the annoyance of my fellow Meath men, I will be in Mullingar on 4th January with bells on and at every other game too. But I do have worries that if nothing has changed how can we be any different from last 2 years? And that's all that matters not previous managers as they are gone.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/11/2014 10:40:54    1671022

RD

You would swear we were a top side BEFORE O'Dowd took control..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 10/11/2014 12:28:43    1671054

My position is clear I supported MOD as manager. I still WANT him to succeed..So i have no agenda either. I am very disappointed and frustrated at how such a proud footballing county has turned into another Offaly [were good one time] I will not measure anything in January.The real test is in championship against Dublin preferably.I fully expect the same outcome, and probably a return to div 3 unless radial surgery has taken place. That surgery mainly revolves around proven management deficiencies. I don't need to hear we have a nice manager.I know that! I want to see we have an effective manager who learns from mistakes. I want to see typical Meath fighting spirit return.etc.etc. We had only 3 or 4 players this year who gave it everything. Those lads would never need motivation anyway.They wear the jersey with pride. Why should we as supporters settle for rubbish management?? Players even afraid at times to use their instinct in case it did not fit in with the plan! What plan ?? It is now down to management to manage full stop. The players will respond to effective leadership and motivation with proper management. They will accept personal responsibility for their own fitness etc. Without a dramatic improvement now in management we can forget it. Of course like everyone else i HOPE for an improvement . With evidence of remedial work done maybe we could EXPECT rather than just HOPE for that improvement.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 10/11/2014 12:43:03    1671063

With reference to this ... http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=226861 and Ciaran McDonagh helping out next year.

Was watching some of the American football last night and Michael Johnson was on the programme, saying he is involved with the Dallas Cowboys helping them out with things like speed training and injury recovery etc.

http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/michael-johnson-performance-named-official-training-partner-of-the-dallas-cowboys-103989618.html

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 10/11/2014 15:47:17    1671144

Some people can't see the wood from the trees. Everyone. ad to have a agenda.. cop on. Myself and nobull have only the best interests of Meath foo. all at the forefront.. I'll address two p. nts.. firstly Ziggy we were no.
a good team before odowd and we are not now. 2 years ago we lost to Dublin by 3 points last year it was 6 or something this year it was 16. How in gods name can that be called improvement????
Secondly this thing regarding injuries yes they had alot
Noone is saying otherwise. But every county has them its how its dealth with that matters also boylan won centenery cup , and you ciuld see improvement. I dont want to win anything tgis year I just want to see improvement

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/11/2014 16:49:21    1671168

RoyalDunne.... im not going to argue with you about this point any further. I can see we are clearly both avid supporters. the difference is I am a positive fan, who will always try look at the positives (and there are plenty/you cannot deny that)
while you are a negative fan, one who sees the faults in a team and wants to see these faults eradicated (I too want to see them sorted out)

But for some crazy reason we just wont see eye to eye on this due to these differences

Meath Abu

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 10/11/2014 17:01:02    1671172

Please let's have a open and honest discussion. There is no need for the snide comments. Richieq and myself would more often than not have similar opinion on different topics . I think he knows me well enough from my posts to know I have no agenda. And I think he would say that about me too.
Injuries are a false thing. My point is in clones two years running we made exactly the same mistakes. We made mistakes all I want to hear is that we have learned from those mistakes and they will not happen again. No one player or manager is above scrutiny even Sean. The day that happens is the day I'll give up following football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/11/2014 17:01:30    1671173

Dubsout. Well I guess there is a first time for everything.. I've never been called negative about Meath before. Honestly never. I have been accused of hyping them up, been over optimistic, bigging the team up too much ( including manager). I think richieq Ziggy castlebravo Htaem and many others will attest to that :). I was the only one on hear last year confidently predicting a Meath win in Donegal. And was damn disappointed we didn't get it. Look I know you are a passionate Meath follower. I guess for the first time in my life leaving Croke park after armagh game I seen no future for Meath unless we took radical action. We were fightless spiritless unfit team I have seen in many long year. I was in Mullingar for the defeat by Longford in the early 80s and that was the worst I had seen since that day. Now as it happened that was a watershed day. I hope that game against armagh will also act as a red letter day, onwards and upwards.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/11/2014 17:30:06    1671193

Royaldunne I for one believe your not being negative. You seem to have read the year very honestly. I agree with you on the MONAGHAN ,CAVAN matches in particular..The Kildare performance was an improvement..but one swallow... Your response to the Armagh match was similar to mine. That was when it seemed we have no hope without radical action as you say.... I cannot understand when one poster [ZIGGY] states that apart from the Dublin match we were competitive. Now i assuume he is a passionate Meath supporter also.But how could you make a statement like that ZIGGY??? We are the youngest team in the country??? No we are not.
EXCUSES EXCUSES. Let us say it as it is...we are very poor,and the main problems are management related. Of course i will be HOPING for better.My problem is how could i be optimistic ? I would love to be proven wrong this time. It will take the championship to answer that question

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 10/11/2014 18:38:09    1671211

nobull

I never said we were the youngest team in the country.To be fair Dublin were to only team to hammer us in the championship in the last two seasons,that is a fact to be fair
As for RD,I DEFO would not call him negative,if anything,he has being too positive in the past. :)

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 10/11/2014 20:05:21    1671235

royaldunne

Dubsout. Well I guess there is a first time for everything.. I've never been called negative about Meath before. Honestly never. I have been accused of hyping them up, been over optimistic, bigging the team up too much ( including manager).

Haha that's true but I actually like the optimism, when you read an optimistic post it can give you a lift even if you don't really think a positive outcome is likely, it always beats reading a negative post.

I think what has a few Meath fans frustrated at the minute is the amount of false dawns we've had over the last 7 years, I mean from 02-06 we were very poor but in 2007 we got to an AI semi final, great we could be on to something but no 08 was a disaster. Then in 09 another AI semi final, 2010 we had 5 past Cluxton and things looked pretty good but again no progress, 2011 passed without a kick, 2012 was great we met the Dublin in a Leinster final for the first time in 11 years and we were going to beat them but nope never happened.

Then MOD took over and injected a bit of life into Meath football and we put a damn good fight up to Dublin for 55 mins only to run out of steam but ok fair enough maybe next year when we improve.......next year = 16 point tanking and a tamer than tame effort against Armagh.

Ultimately it does just point to us being a middle of the road team with historically high expectations, but you should always strive for success, make the most out of what you have. MOD certainly did bring us on a bit in 2013, his problem is that he wasn't able to continue that work this year and paid a heavy price for it but he certainly deserves another year to prove that he can get us back on track, if he can't well then we'll have to see.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/11/2014 20:17:23    1671241

ZIGGY Apologies I stand corrected there it was DUBSOUT who said we were "competitive" bar the Dublin match ,and the youngest team etc.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 10/11/2014 20:34:12    1671245

Meath "director of football", pairc tailteann, no success right the way through from underage for many years,no success at club level.

Everything is fine. Move along. There is nothing to see here.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 10/11/2014 21:07:10    1671260

NOBULL

No prob,I think the thing is though,that everybody agrees here in principal.I am just holdig fire until I see how the season goes..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/11/2014 10:23:02    1671312