SFC final: Don/Ash V O Mahonys

I though some of the Don/Ash county players went missing when the game was to be won or lost in the second half. I also thought that any one of 3 to 4 NOM players could have got 'man of the match'. NOM young players in defence and attack decided the outcome along with some of the older players. Their second half against the wind was a good team performance and its teamwork which wins matches.

Nobull - I disagree with you and you have not seen many seen senior club championship matches!. There were certainly 'faces' out there who are better than what we have on county panel-players and who have been consistent all year not a 'one hit wonder'

On an additional note I though that there were a couple of Simonstown and Na Fianna players who performed consistently over a few matches and are better than some of what we have on the county panel.

How NOM do in Leinster is anyone's guess-they certainly will not win if they allow the opposition to go 7 point up in the first 5 minutes. Both teams allowed a extra man in defence against the wind and at times it looked silly with the extra player at the other end passing the ball directly to the opposition.

Anyway hard luck to Don/Ash and it was their first final and hopefully they will learn from the experience (very few teams win on there first final-the good Walterstown team were well beaten in their first final and then went on to contest an All-Ireland Club). Overall NOM were the best team and I was a bit surprised to see Don/Ash the favourites in the Independent

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/10/2014 11:02:59    1665374

Menton was clearly injured in the second half and then D/A lost their midfield dominance due to his injury. Wll done to NOM. they just seemed to want it more and were by far the fitter side>D/a had to make several subtitutions due to cramp which I thought had a huge bearing on the game.D/A not fit enough??

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 20/10/2014 19:07:31    1665616

Forglory

They are fit enough,BUT a few lads started that have had injuries this year.Prob wanted to start their better players..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/10/2014 20:04:14    1665629

Just a quick not about Alan Forde,I thought he was the best player on the field.His workrate was outstanding.He worked back and defended brilliantly.He was involved in counter-attacks and setting up a lot of chances,all-round an outstanding display,and good news for Meath..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/10/2014 20:06:14    1665630

Hard luck to Don/Ashbourne. Close game that could have gone either way. Some easy missed chances in the first half but you have to credit to NOM to get back level by half time.Both NOM goals were a bit lucky and scrappy but you need a little bit of luck to win a championship. Thought it was ridiculous to put back the game by 10 mins at the start to allow the crowd get in and perhaps some players went down with cramp due to the very long warm up. MOTM for me was a toss up between Alan Forde and James O Reilly.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 20/10/2014 20:06:27    1665631

Poormouth

Agree about the game being put back,and it was very last minute too..

Any idea how old James Reilly is?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/10/2014 21:21:52    1665650

D/A warmed up on the pitch for 35 mins before throw in. O'Mahoneys warmed up too but stopped, got into a huddle and chatted for a period oftime.Far more relaxed and obviously didn't use much energy. Easily 4 or 5 lads from D/A went down with cramp. No coincidence in my opinion

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 21/10/2014 08:57:21    1665668

I just hope NOM give it everything in the Leinster!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 21/10/2014 10:11:55    1665685

VernonSmith

D/A warmed up on the pitch for 35 mins before throw in. O'Mahoneys warmed up too but stopped, got into a huddle and chatted for a period oftime.Far more relaxed and obviously didn't use much energy. Easily 4 or 5 lads from D/A went down with cramp. No coincidence in my opinion

Ye but if ashbourne won the game then people could put it down to navans slow start, and say why didn't they warm up properly to be in the game from the start. In fairness everything seems to be doubted when a team losses. I'd put the cramps down to pairc talteann being a heavyer pitch than ashbourne where they have trained all year, especially after all that rain.

pat_custard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 21/10/2014 17:08:21    1665840

We probably will need Menton as regular full back on county team.[ Kevin back would be a bonus of course.] Menton left in same position to give him a chance to prove himself once and for all. Tormey shows potential if he can concentrate for full match duration. Seems at times looses concentration when others have the ball rather than consistently making himself available for a pass.One clear example late in 2nd half whilst we had possesion and attacking from midfield, he stood back whilst at the middle rather than assist with an attack at a critical time.We needed a score badly,and whatever it takes. However, i think he may mature with good coaching,and be a valuable player. Forde will be on the panel i think,and given a chance. Hopefully our manager can up his game for 2015. Who knows ? Who thought Dublin would not win Sam this year??

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 21/10/2014 17:47:16    1665870

Great game from Forde. Clearly a man who relishes big games. Looking forward to him pulling on the county jersey in 2015

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 21/10/2014 18:03:41    1665877

Right I had a poor viewpoint then, looked to be inside the box. Don/Ash have a very young team between the likes Deegan, the mcgovern twins, carton in the fullback line, they'll be back stronger in the years to come.

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 21/10/2014 18:06:50    1665878

pat_custard Ye but if ashbourne won the game then people could put it down to navans slow start, and say why didn't they warm up properly to be in the game from the start. In fairness everything seems to be doubted when a team losses. I'd put the cramps down to pairc talteann being a heavyer pitch than ashbourne where they have trained all year, especially after all that rain.

Navan doesn't get heavy and Ashbourne's playing surface is poor. Your argument doesn't add up. The fact is the ridiculously long warm up took it's toll and the Navan guys who were relaxed didn't cramp

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 23/10/2014 08:54:29    1666328