Kevin Reilly

Richie

You got there before me :)

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 17/09/2014 12:07:23    1652988

Ridicules to imply Reilly is a quitter or not giving his all, be happy if we had fourteen more like him

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 17/09/2014 21:54:05    1653250

seadog

Of course,if everyone had his commitment,we would do fairly well.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 18/09/2014 09:08:57    1653270

Great talent and commitment, but consistently has injuries every year.
I know age might not be on his side.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 18/09/2014 13:36:51    1653402

Kevin would be a big loss if he was playing on a team where everyone else had his attitude and commitment. Unfortunately that is not the case. Im my view the others who rate with him in 2014 are Paddy O Rourke, Donal Keoghan, Stephen Bray,and maybe Michael Mewman when fully fit. Sad picture unless management can get their act toghether, otherwise it wont really matter what individual players come or go.
EVERY player needs to show the attitude that Kevin Reilly has shown consisently for years.. Injuries he plcked up are not his fault. Hope Kevin can return to a team where all demonstate his qualities.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 19/09/2014 12:34:00    1653805

nobull

I would add Gillespie to that list.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/09/2014 13:34:48    1653853

Well up to his injury i think he was promising alright. But i think it is very sad that we have only 4 or 5 players with the required
attitude. We are going nowhere only bachwards unless management start managing .Attitude is most definately the most urgent priority if we have to stay out of division 3 never mind anything else.....Maybe CB WILL address this crises before it is too late

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 19/09/2014 18:47:01    1654057

nobull456

Well up to his injury i think he was promising alright. But i think it is very sad that we have only 4 or 5 players with the required
attitude. We are going nowhere only bachwards unless management start managing .Attitude is most definately the most urgent priority if we have to stay out of division 3 never mind anything else.....Maybe CB WILL address this crises before it is too late

Crisis?? We are now worse off than we have been any time since 2001 so by your logic we've been in crisis for 13 years now, one Leinster title and two All Ireland semi final appearances and a year in division 3 in the 12 years before this management team came into being was no better than where we are now and I would argue that at times in those years it was a hell of a lot worse, but at least MO'D tries things different and has freshened up the squad with youth and I expect to see more chances given in 2015. Kevin Reilly's importance is two fold both as a player and a leader, young players can learn from him and his absence would rob our younger players of a great guiding light as well as a great player

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/09/2014 20:08:20    1654071

Richieq Yes IN a very definite crises is our current position as far as i am concerned. To try to explain that logic.... in 50 years i have NEVER seen a Meath team so unfit at championship time´....i have NEVER seen team spirit so poor....Generally speaking with 4 or 5 exceptions commitment of the rest is a joke.
I will accept even a hammering from any team , if it is clear all our players gave it everything......This year even against Carlow we looked at times to be parayised ,and not knowing what to do do....Maybe it was paralysis by too much analysis??
YOU may be prepared to settle for a low norm,and be happy with "we won the all ireland in 1999, "ah shur we might improve next year" WE CANNOT EXPECT TO KEEP DOING THE SAME THING AND EXPECT A DIFFERENT OUTCOME. Repeat the attitude ,and inept management shown in 2014 ,and we are sure to end up in DIV 3. Then we can expect our followers, and even supporters to stop attending in protest at those responsible not being willing to take stock and learn from their mistakes.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 20/09/2014 12:34:05    1654167

Richieq Yes IN a very definite crises is our current position as far as i am concerned. To try to explain that logic.... in 50 years i have NEVER seen a Meath team so unfit at championship time´....i have NEVER seen team spirit so poor....Generally speaking with 4 or 5 exceptions commitment of the rest is a joke.
I will accept even a hammering from any team , if it is clear all our players gave it everything......This year even against Carlow we looked at times to be parayised ,and not knowing what to do do....Maybe it was paralysis by too much analysis??
YOU may be prepared to settle for a low norm,and be happy with "we won the all ireland in 1999, "ah shur we might improve next year" WE CANNOT EXPECT TO KEEP DOING THE SAME THING AND EXPECT A DIFFERENT OUTCOME. Repeat the attitude ,and inept management shown in 2014 ,and we are sure to end up in DIV 3. Then we can expect our followers, and even supporters to stop attending in protest at those responsible not being willing to take stock and learn from their mistakes.

Believe you and me I'm not prepared to settle for a low norm but I am a realist, every team we have is compared with the '86 to '91 or '96 to '01 team which is unfair, we can't expect that level on a constant basis we simply don't have enough players of that quality. I have heard supporters questioning Meath teams fitness for years, examples '81 & '82 v Longford & Wexford, '85 v Laois, '90 v Cork, '92 v Laois, '95 v Dublin, '00 v Offaly, '05 v Cavan etc etc I don't believe we lack fitness but we lack strength and bulk but I also accept that acceptable levels of those assets takes more than one winter to develop. Team spirit? I have no doubt that injuries to key players like Gillespie, Wallace, Dalton and Reilly damaged team spirit, other players know that they are marquee players on our squad and there loss would be felt, and yes maybe management could have done more in the mental training department to install more belief but I imagine they were as upset as the players, younger players are in early stages of their development as players and the loss of the aforementioned would have had a negative effect in my view. Now back to crisis, losing to Fermanagh in '03 and '04 and then Cavan in '05 was regarded as a crisis, '08 losing a 10 point lead to Wexford and getting stuffed by Limerick was a crisis, the two years Banty had us and dropped us into Division 3 was a crisis so don't be associating crisis with MO'D, we've been here before and if you have been knocking around for 50 years you should well know that and I for one will never stop attending games in protest of anything, 2013 showed progress, 2014 did dissapoint but I await 2015 with interest and I am prepared to wait and see how things develop, with my support on the terraces.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2014 14:05:50    1654201

Richieq

I have no doubt that injuries to key players like Gillespie, Wallace, Dalton and Reilly damaged team spirit

This may be true,but on the other hand Kerry lost Paul Galvin,Tomas o se (retirement) and Gooch cooper(injury) and yet at the start of the year Kerry were looking like they were facing some kind of nuclear winter!

Yes i would also agree with Richie about "management could have done more in the mental training department to install more belief but I imagine they were as upset as the players"

My guess would be if Mod was the kerry manger they would not be in a all ireland final tomorrow..because he let injurys and retirments effect "Him" and the younger kerry players!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 20/09/2014 15:26:43    1654230

Limerick in the Champ was actually the worst Meath display in every aspect,that I have seen in the champ

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/09/2014 18:15:00    1654277

ziggy320001

Limerick in the Champ was actually the worst Meath display in every aspect,that I have seen in the champ

Agreed, I will remain scarred for life after that experience.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2014 20:09:35    1654321

While that day in limerick will also haunt me for life, the Leinster final this year is on par with it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/09/2014 20:29:32    1654327

Im afraid lads we need to take a look at the amount of big games that Reily has missed in the last 5 years. It does not make good reading. Maybe Mod needs to move on without him. The same story seems to emerge about Reilly every time we approach a big game. How can a manager do his job with that carry on going on within the team.

rossie72 (Roscommon) - Posts: 63 - 22/09/2014 20:21:10    1655612

Shame. Meath's most important player. His injuries have cost Meath big time over recent years. Could have slotted in to great Meath teams of the past had he been playing in thoes era's.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1360 - 05/10/2014 18:26:14    1660419

Where did ye read it 1st right here on the Hogan forum as Glenny brought the bad news... had his operation mid week I doubt we see him in the Green and Gold again

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 05/10/2014 21:08:13    1660529

glenny

Where did ye read it 1st right here on the Hogan forum as Glenny brought the bad news... had his operation mid week I doubt we see him in the Green and Gold again

Fair play, you should be very proud of such reporting, yes he had his operation last week but appears to have every intention of trying to play for the county again, perhaps all you doomsday merchants who masquerade as supporters of the county team should wait until we hear from the man himself before carting him off to the knackers yard.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/10/2014 14:10:11    1661076