How far behind are Meath

Cring

You are wrong,Donaghy had a great game,but he hasn't played like that for years,and yes he would be on the Meath panel.He is better than the players we dropped..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/09/2014 15:58:56    1646153

How far behind are Meath???....That i really dont know,but we are behind on alot of things.

Do we do what Dublin do and buy sam maguire?

Or do we do what Donegal do and find a panel of committed players?

I wonder will Donie Buckley stay on the mayo coaching team now that Jame Horan left his position...top notch coach that Buckley chap,great skill and fittness coach,but more than that he get lads heads right on match day!

Anyway i wonder is Mod five year plan a little bit outlandish?I am sure Graham Geraghty still has John Evans number..Evans is a very good friends with Donie Buckley both from keryy..anyway what about Darren fay ,whats he up to lately,Awww now you would swear i was trying to get John Evan ,Graham Geraghty, Donie Buckley and Darren fay all in the one bed:)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 01/09/2014 19:05:22    1646341

The players that were dropped were not delivering the goods at the required level consistently. MOD correct on that in my view.
However, the real problems with the current squad relate to mainly management issues.That problem wont go away by bringing in or out individual players no matter who they are. Overall fitness,teamwork,team spirit etc is the REAL problem. That is the overall responsibility of one man ...the manager.Lets address that before we attempt to go any further . CB ye have been entrusted with that issue .Please deal with it.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 01/09/2014 19:22:31    1646352

How far behind are Meath???

Not even in the same race as the top teams!!!

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 01/09/2014 19:52:06    1646382

Is there a meeting tonight between cb and mod? If so I hope its a open frank discussion. Things cannot continue as is. New trainer and backroom is a must if mod wants to see improvement

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/09/2014 20:29:42    1646404

I think the point is that we get serious for next year.Donegal went away for 5 days before the Dublin game.This is the type of thing we have to do

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/09/2014 20:50:40    1646421

Would agree Ziggy. There seems to be a it'll be alright on the day type of attitude in Meath football at every level under all recent managers.
Fail to prepare, prepare to fail.
We were not fit enough, we were not motivated enough, we tried to copy Dublin's template of all out attack, while neglecting basic defending duties, we cannot handle the Ulster style of football, we don't have the players to do what dubs do, and most worryingly is the players seem confused as to what they have to do and by some of them they don't believe it will work and have given up before the ball is thrown in.
Radical change is needed in attitude and belief in all, and some personal change too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2014 09:45:31    1646549

Royaldunne,

I don't think we went for an all out attacking approach like Dublin at all...

If you look at the starting team in most of our games, we had Tobin/Carroll, McMahon and Tormey operating very deep, and then being asked to break out when in possession similar to Donegal.
The problem is as I see it, bar Tobin-this is not the natural game of any of these players. Tormey doesn't have the speed and McMahon should be seen as the long term replacement for Bray in the inside line.
Next year with Wallace and O'Sullivan back, we will have 2 players ideal for this formation as they will have the legs for that role..

All this talk of meath playing without a system is wrong. The problem for MOD was that two of his key men in that tactic got injured. obviously a plan B would have helped but we are not blessed with a huge abundance of talent like Kerry/Dublin/mayo...

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 02/09/2014 10:15:19    1646574

dubsout

To be fair MOD did attempt to copy Dublin's style back in january and for the early parts of the league aswell but the warning signs were smack in the face obvious against Galway when we conceded 4-11 (I think it was), MOD then changed things around to steady the ship after horrendous defeats against Monaghan away and Armagh at home.

Anyway look MOD tried to shake things up after a promising looking 2013 and it didn't work for him this year at all, we failed in all our objectives (ie get promotion, beat the Dubs and make the last 8). I have no problem with trying new things but if they don't work then you have to go back to basics and start again.

I just think that MOD over complicated things a bit this year to the point that nobody seemed to fully understand what they had to do. Ok you have to adapt to an extent against every opponent but not so much so that they are playing their own game and you don't seem to have a clear gameplan bar trying to stop theirs.

Hopefully with a few players back next year we can push for progress, I'd like to see MOD go with a more balanced style next year, no over complicating things and everybody to give no less than 100% each time, if we go with that then we should be hard to beat at least.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2014 11:08:50    1646626

Also I see there's more secrecy from our county board = "This is the third time that O'Dowd has spoken to delegates but the first time that the press were excluded." Also our PRO Martin O'Halloran came out with the red herring of defending referee Cormac Reilly, get off it lads will yous!

Once again lads this isn't good enough, I thought this county board had promise but I'm losing confidence and respect for them rapidly, I'm sorry but I couldn't care less what they discussed about Cormac Reilly. But I would be interested to know what MOD had to say even if it was only trivial, he's our manager and we shouldn't be kept in the dark or drip fed information, once again NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2014 11:27:08    1646639

Annoyingly MOD and the board spoke last night,but we have no idea what was discussed..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/09/2014 12:52:45    1646712

Htaem

I agree,I think fans deserve to know what questions were asked,what can be done etc etc..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/09/2014 12:58:30    1646717

The discussion could only be that all concerned are totally unhappy with the team going BACKWARDS this year .That all the critical elements of management were sadly lacking. Assume they would ask WHY? Assume they would ask what are the plans for immediate radial action to address the crises. What assistance he may require.
If it turns out that it was a"pussyfooting " meeting then i think clubs will respond accordingly at next AGM
However we will assume CB will do what is expected of them.
Will accept that some matters may need a little time for reflection,and thus no need to rush to go public yet

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 02/09/2014 13:11:04    1646730

nobull

If MOD says we need to do this and that etc etc,the county board need to say YES.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/09/2014 13:29:42    1646770

Whythelongface
Explain how Dublin bought a Sam Maguire.
They won it with a committed and talented team.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 02/09/2014 14:30:28    1646853

hound

Whythelongface
Explain how Dublin bought a Sam Maguire.
They won it with a committed and talented team.

Dublin put in a very professional system and it was not cheap and fair play to them if the Gaa ,government and their sponsers were throwing money and cars at them... why not!

Dublin gaa are able to spend a 100 euro a day for a year on 1 player ...so lets say 30 players is only a million euro for the year!

Look at the same time Dublin Gaa are not going to sex the figures up,not now when everybody are biting at their heals!

At the same time it should not take all that money to win Sam,Should it?

Yea talented 'Hard work will always beat talent' says Dub star Michael Darragh Macauley :/

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 02/09/2014 18:00:21    1647084

Ziggy Think it is reasonable to assume MOD has got the tools he asked for to do the job. The problems are clearly with management...poor teamwork,poor spirit poor reading of the game etc.etc...These things are not directly the responsibility of the CB. It is the responsibility of CB to appoint,monitor,review and inform the manager that the basics of management are too weak,and not visible at times.They will give right of reply,They will respond after questioning to any request for further assistance. They will insist on a plan for implementation to attempt to address the shortcomings pointed out
I am happy if they do not go public at this point about this meeting on a blow by blow basis. I am happy to trust them for the moment.
If they dont treat this as urgently in need of major surgery then i will believe they are not up to the job either.I have no evidence so far to make that charge. However objectively the managers role leaves a lot to be desired and in need of dramatic improvement.I do agree he should be given the chance to state his side of the story, and his remedial plan of action. If this is not forthcoming ,measurable and acceptable then i think we should have a new manager ASAP.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 02/09/2014 19:29:10    1647138

First of all extremely disappointed that this meeting was secret and totally agree with Htaem. I'm loosing faith in cb

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2014 08:50:39    1647258