Minor Championship

St Colmcilles to put it up to Dunboyne in final

Growtown (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 17/10/2014 09:31:42    1664566

Dunboyne are a good side but so too are Skryne, going to be tighter than people think. Summerhill in the other semi will hockey st.colmcilles. Sure skyryne beat them very easily by 12/13 points a month ago pulling up. Summerhill have a number of players on the senior team and these boys will be the difference. I would say they will win by at least 15-16 points

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 17/10/2014 16:58:03    1664763

Division 1: Looks like it will be a Summerhill/Dunboyne final. Surprised Ashbourne were knocked out at such an early stage, but Skryne and Colmcilles have done very well in getting to the semis. I think Dunboyne are an all round better side than Summerhill and should win the final.
Division 2: Tough division to call, had the Tones as favourites from the start but they fell apart. Seneschalstown should beat Na Fianna. Michael's/Trim will be close but Trim should just pull through and win a close final.
Division 3: NMG doing very well considering only 2 years ago at u-16 they were in Div 6, but they wont beat the Pats. Killary Emmets will be far to strong for Becsany. Close final but the Emmets to win.
Division 4: Moynalty and Olivers for me are the 2 best in the division, i think Moynalty could shave it and handle duleek in the final who should beat cuthberts well.
Division 5: Blackwater Gaels caused a shock beating Oldcastle but Nobber are un-troubled in the division so far and should win the final.

Overall i think whoever graded the divisions did an awful job. How trim were left out of division 1 is beyond me along with ratoath and boardsmill higher than they should be. Division 5 was also made a farce of with all 4 teams in the division making the semi final. doesnt improve football in any way

nmsmithy96 (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 18/10/2014 12:39:28    1664900

As semi finals for division 1 and 2 are happening over the weekend I just want to see what predictions there are.

Summer hill to beat St colmcilles by 10+
Dunboyne to win against a tough skryne side by 5
Senchelstown to take care of Na fianna at second time of asking with ease
Trim and St Michaels to go either way. Both teams beat division favorites Wolfe Tones and Carlanstown is tough place to go to

Killary to win division 3, Rowe is in stoppable when on form

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 24/10/2014 13:46:19    1666857

Keeks
County: Louth

Summerhill in the other semi will hockey st.colmcilles. Sure skyryne beat them very easily by 12/13 points a month ago pulling up. Summerhill have a number of players on the senior team and these boys will be the difference. I would say they will win by at least 15-16 points

quite possibly the worst prediction of the century. st colmcilles the best team from start to finish

pat_custard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 25/10/2014 12:57:13    1667073

Well well well..........15/16 point thrashing they said !

Well done Colmcilles. Nobody gave ye a chance. Dunboyne will be favourites for the final (and rightly so) but I wouldn't be one bit surprised if the seasides pip them.
They have taken out some of the big guns along the way. They have momentum and more important ....they now have self belief !

Kepak10 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 25/10/2014 13:29:38    1667078

Very surprised Trim won, they were without James Cullen due to his debs. Surprised Trim were not in division 1, second consecutive minor final and won u17+u16 division 2 last year.
What were results from division 1 semis??

tuppy23 (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 25/10/2014 13:47:11    1667079

Grow Town, well predicated, Kepak 10, it was a great team performance from colmcilles, and how correct you are some big scalps taken to get to the final, let's hope they can go one further than their counterparts in 2001, but Dunboyne won't be caught on the hop.

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 25/10/2014 14:45:08    1667095

Minor Championship moving along
Div 1 Dunboyne to beat Colmcilles
Div 2 Trim to beat Seneschalstown

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 27/10/2014 16:24:45    1667510

Little stumble for Killary as they kicked another pebble out of their way on their Autumn stroll to a handy win in Division 3
Duleek looking good for Div 4

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 27/10/2014 16:27:20    1667511

Not sure about that smithy Ratoath in Division 4 too high maybe Boardsmill but they competed ok in the Championship beating Ratoath losing narrowly to Cuthberts and while Olivers beat them well they did have 2 Meath Minors in Dixon and Bird, Div 5 I dont think so. Not a committees fault that Dunshaughlin did not enter in Div 5 and Dunderry pulled out but it seemed like a decent competition with Kilbride fielding and a close Final yesterday

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 27/10/2014 16:41:00    1667516

I would not say Killary brushed anyone away today. 3-9 to 0-12

Meath2010 (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 27/10/2014 16:49:30    1667522

Dunboyne will beat St.colmcilles easily. I watched Dunboyne beat our boys easily on Friday and we hammered St. Colmcilles twice in championship this year. St. Colmcilles caught summerhill on the hop and playing them under the lights threw them. Dunboyne to win by 7 or 8

Skryneman1 (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 27/10/2014 20:16:36    1667587

glenny i never said division 5 wasnt competitive, it's just quite stale. Nobber for example played both Kilbride and Blackwater Gaels twice in two weeks. Playing the same teams over again isn't really beneficial. When the committee saw only 5 teams in div 5, they could've joined div 4 and 5 and have a 4a and 4b maybe, as most of those teams are around the same level. Makes it more interesting for those lower graded teams.

nmsmithy96 (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 27/10/2014 21:39:00    1667622

I see that the division 5 final was in Pairctailteann. Surely all other division finals are there iswell?

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 28/10/2014 16:19:42    1667819

Fair play to St.Colmcilles proved me and many others wrong. Cant help but feel that is their final played though, they had to grind it out all the way while Dunboyne could pull up before the finish after never getting out of second gear. Hard to see Jones in the middle of the park being stopped while McEntee will have the Comlcilles corner backs in a knot he will turn them inside out. Look lads realistically most people see this as being Dunboynes year.They sauntered through the league, hammering Colmcilles by 16 points in the group stage. That was a good Skryne team they bet in the semi and as Syryneman said, they beat Cilles easily twice. Dunboyne for me... easily

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 30/10/2014 19:06:56    1668473

Keeks what you say may be true, but it is all on the day. Dunboyne were probably the favourites to win the last two minor championships and won neither, expect a good game between two good teams

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 30/10/2014 21:44:26    1668538

Division 1 in Pairc Tailteann and Division 5 in Pairc Tailteann. Division 2 in Skryne, doesn't make sense. Surely the best games should be played in the best pitches . No disregard to Skryne.

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 02/11/2014 19:50:49    1669135

Div 2 Cup is Liam Tolan perpetual cup - only fitting that it is played in Skryne

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 02/11/2014 21:57:11    1669166

My apologies, knew there had to be a reason. Great to see he is being remembered. Should be a good final

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 03/11/2014 17:32:19    1669439