375k rejected!!

I cant believe the reaction. I'd saye the same lads would be on here giving out of the money was accepted. The GAA has long been branded the grab all association and now, when they stand with local communities and refuse what in all likelihood was payoff to designed to further devide those communities, they are lambasted for it.
Your all very innocent if you think this money was really coming with "no strings".
Ziggy- Wait till you have a 100foot moving turbine behind your house and I'm sure you'll figure out the fuss.

Fair play to the CB & delegates for showing its not just about the €€€. We'll keep improving our facilities over time and dont need this type of money in my opinion.

Right so we are all innocent, what were these attached strings you speak of, if you know so much inform the rest of us and tell us why we are wrong to doubt this decision!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/08/2014 10:45:49    1634770

Any turbines I have seen in the country are not near any houses..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/08/2014 16:07:49    1635084

As far as I know the current planning regulations do not allow turbines within 500m of any house unless with the consent of the owner (there must be some very large gardens somewhere!) and Eirgrid can run a high voltage line within 50m of a house. I can understand the objections to the latter.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/08/2014 17:34:46    1635164

browncows

It's not as if these turpines make any noise,I bet people complained when electric lines were put in for the first time.The thing is,that it will happen..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/08/2014 17:57:29    1635180

Its going to sting if turbines do go ahead..without the money!!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 12/08/2014 10:38:16    1635425

sob

Exactly,these things have a way of going ahead regardless,its only a matter of time..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 12/08/2014 11:05:23    1635452

a loan of a million needed for dunganny...and 300+ rejected...am i missing the plot?

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 12/08/2014 15:11:58    1635684

sob

a loan of a million needed for dunganny...and 300+ rejected...am i missing the plot?

Exactly, and I still haven't heard what these supposed attached strings are supposed to be, I have been supportive if Conor Tormey as chairman and think he's done a good job so far but he should have allowed discussion about this at last nights meeting, clubs wanted to discuss the matter and they should have been given that opportunity

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 12/08/2014 15:48:16    1635725

agree.. afterall the clubs are the root of the GAA

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 12/08/2014 16:03:18    1635745

I'm sorry but a debate on the 375k should have been allowed, so far I have no major issues with this county board but I'm not impressed with this. Hopefully the right thing will be done and the clubs will be allowed voice their opinions, also we the fans will have a clearer idea of what was on offer and why is was refused.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/08/2014 08:38:45    1636062

Htaem
Thats were the prob is..no transparency.. and no club involvement..

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 13/08/2014 10:00:40    1636091

Ye sob the lack of transparency and club involvement is very frustrating, this isn't the way forward for Meath gaa.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/08/2014 10:59:28    1636128

Clubs were asked their opinion by the CB. We discussed it and gave instruction for our delegate to reject the offer. This is a divisive issue and our club while not effected directly decided that the GAA in Meath should not get involved. Taking this money would demonstrate an approval of sorts on a political issue.In relation to the spend on Dunganny this will cater for many future generations and as far as I would be concerned spreading repayments out/ refinancing in the future perhaps over a 50 year span would be appropriate. With inflation this type of debt over time will become minuscule.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 13/08/2014 11:48:32    1636171

Clubs were asked there opinion after it was tried to be pushed thru . It's obvious the CB were planning on getting the cash and possibly a smaller loan , now we have to get €1 million .
The PT development is drifting further away with every Penny that is borrowed for dunganny ,

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 14/08/2014 10:25:25    1636707

Pairc Tailteann will not be redeveloped for at least 20 years if we're lucky.

We have to take out a 1 million load over a 10 year period. Why the clubs couldn't accept the 400k as a donation is beyond me. It's not like we were forced to support the wind farms after accepting it.

I'm growing more and more disillusioned with meath GAA by the minute.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 15/08/2014 18:26:06    1637392

Got to say. And again I'm removing myself from the actual rights and wrongs of wind energy due to my involvement in it.
This should have at least been put to clubs or asked fans opinions. If they go ahead we are down this money. If we had taken it and they don't go ahead we still would be winning. This was a decent offer even if had alternative motives.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/08/2014 19:31:03    1637417

Y'know the more I think about this the more pissed off I'm getting, €375'000 turned down and €1'000'000 borrowed in the same breath, do people not care that we are so far behind Dublin in footballing and financial terms that it's getting scary?? I'm still waiting to hear what the attached strings to this donation were, and why am I still waiting?? Because those strings don't exist, sorry now but this was a donation being made to a sporting organisation in a county where a certain company wanted to invest, the acceptance of which would not have, in my opinion, tarnished Meath GAA in any way or showed them to be supportive of any development or plan brought forward by that company. Perhaps if these objectors would like to consistently stand out in all weathers selling tickets to keep the county afloat they might have a better appreciation of €375'000 and the importance that sum of money could be to the county right now

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/08/2014 19:57:25    1637429

Richie and Jackgoff

Ya I am tending to agree with you both

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 15/08/2014 20:29:22    1637444

Pairc Tailteann will not be redeveloped for at least 20 years if we're lucky.

We have to take out a 1 million load over a 10 year period. Why the clubs couldn't accept the 400k as a donation is beyond me. It's not like we were forced to support the wind farms after accepting it.

I'm growing more and more disillusioned with meath GAA by the minute.
15/08/2014 19:31:03

The Pairc may still be developed as Leinster Council are fully aware of the need of a fit for purpose stadium in the north of the province that can hold 20'000 to 30'000 and Pairc Tailteann ticks the right boxes. Pairc Tailteann's development was always going to be more dependent on help from Leinster and Central Council than internal funding so all is not lost there but I agree wholeheartedly with the rest of your post, it is very easy to get disillusioned with decisions like this going on.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/08/2014 21:24:15    1637468

Lads without knowing what exactly the terms of the deal were, how can you say it was a good deal declined. If they were getting 75k a year for five years, it is an insignificant sum of money in the context of the work required at PT. OK it would go some way towards work at Dunganny. But it is not worth alienating some grassroots members/clubs/communities (with valid objections to wind turbines) for money. Other forms of sponsorship deals are the way to go if the county board are progressive enough to make it happen.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 15/08/2014 21:54:02    1637492