The Aftermath

Keoghan marked Kevin Mc out of the game a few years ago,very odd he didn't play there yesterday.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 13:21:56    1622882

Adamski

Pretty much spot on to be fair..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 13:37:06    1622899

I think most posters have given a fair analysis of what happened yesterday and do not see it as a knee jerk reaction, if this was a once off then ok, but our progress to date under this management has been zero, ok we got out of division three big deal. Management seem to be looking for players that can run fast but have little else going for them. Looking at Shane O Rourke over last few games, he seems to be struggling with fitness big time, which is a great shame as he has class to burn. But all those injuries have taken their toll.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 21/07/2014 14:15:50    1622949

Adamski Well said ! Agree absolutely with every word !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 21/07/2014 14:30:32    1622974

MOD just deflecting the real issues with the biting debacle, which is we are in trouble down the line..Dublin won yet another minor, its one long conveyor belt, good luck to them, its back to basics, starting at underage..

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 21/07/2014 14:47:28    1622992

Ziggy
Keoghan did indeed mark Kevin McManamon out of before but unfortunately you cant play him everywhere. I thought he was immense yesterday but he can only mark one of them at a time.. put him on McManamon and then Brogan goes to town on ye.. pity we dont have another couple of defenders like him..

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 21/07/2014 14:49:42    1622995

Hope management have learned big time from this debacle. Meath football is not as bad as this. Tactics wise MOD has serious questions to answer.P O Rourke must have been told to kick the ball short and we got caught in bad possession loads of times.Far too many positional changes during the match and we completely lost whatever shape we had. Once K Reilly was taken out of our full back line at half time I knew we were going to get an awful hammering in the second half as we were under serious pressure here anyway.It also appears to me that all of our younger players are simply not ready for this level and its not fair to put them in that position.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 21/07/2014 15:11:01    1623035

Greenwood

Yes,but he should be corner back(Keoghan),it is his best position and we are very weak there without him..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 15:21:04    1623053

That was a wake up call, something this meath team hasn't really gotten. This game will be used as a template going forward there was so much to learn from it. so many simple mistakes that really aren't acceptable at this level. I didn't realise just how far behind we are in terms of strength and conditioning. Kevin Reilly is the only player that is up to the Dublin level. Maybe Bray and Keogan as well. I can't understand at this stage why Harro isn't conditioned to the level required what are they doing with him..?

Bray had no support. Shane O'Rourke would offer more from play than Newman in close to goal, this is where he's happier playing and will reach his full potential. I don't think playing both Dalton Mcdonagh and Bryan McMahon was a great idea. Very good footballers but light and inexperienced and then throwing on Joey Wallace.. with the exprience of Brian Meade and Seamus Kenny on the bench? As someone rightly pointed out these lads aren't ready yet especially against Dublin.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 21/07/2014 15:34:14    1623075

Also there was no pressure on Cluxtons kickouts. It's like we let them have it and then track back to try and stop them getting goals. When we did stick to our men we were successful, Menton pressed up at one stage and got the kickout off his man. Our kickouts were overthought. We should of stuck to our own game more.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 21/07/2014 15:43:23    1623085

Here we are with the same old posts of good footballers for Meath yesterday
Was anyone at the same game I was
The good footballers were wearing blue!!
A post on this site recently stated that this was the best Meath team since 1988
Seriously
Let all head to local chemist for a litre bottle of cop on
The standard in club football is at its lowest so this is what happens
There is not one player who played for Meath yesterday who would make the current Dublin team and before you jump just look at it
Bray instead of brogan
Reily instead of o Carrol
O Rourke instead of Mc auley
Again seriously

Fact is players in club level not been coached up to the standard

royalfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 21/07/2014 16:03:18    1623112

Here we are with the same old posts of good footballers for Meath yesterday
Was anyone at the same game I was
The good footballers were wearing blue!!
A post on this site recently stated that this was the best Meath team since 1988
Seriously
Let all head to local chemist for a litre bottle of cop on
The standard in club football is at its lowest so this is what happens
There is not one player who played for Meath yesterday who would make the current Dublin team and before you jump just look at it
Bray instead of brogan
Reily instead of o Carrol
O Rourke instead of Mc auley
Again seriously

Fact is players in club level not been coached up to the standard

royalfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 21/07/2014 16:05:04    1623116

A very poor performance by Meath yesterday mid field very bad. We'll be lucky to get past Armagh. Dublin were a far better team Meath have a long way to go

NavanGirl (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 21/07/2014 16:38:03    1623160

lots of lads gettin rid of loads of players, one question who do you get to replace them?? dublin out thought & out fought us yesterday but they are much fitter than us. its a lot easier to look good when ur first to every ball. dublin are 5-6 years doin serious training we're on our 2nd year. what does worry me though is that our lads looked wrecked after 15 minutes. maybe the occasion & unjustified optimism got to them,i dont know, but i do know we are better than we showed yesterday. anywaays onwards & upwards we gotta dust ourselves down & get ready for armagh

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 21/07/2014 17:10:16    1623211

Very surprised that Harrington was brought back this year to be honest

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 17:55:34    1623258

Guys one bad game doesn't make Meath a bad team, everybody has their bad games,we can learn from the Dublin game and improve against Armagh, it will be tough but Meath are certainly capable of winning.

Meath1999 (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 21/07/2014 17:58:05    1623262

Dublin are so far ahead of the rest of the country. I haven't seen that since the Kerry team of the 70s/80s.
Dublin were wary of how dangerous we could have been and they came out of the blocks like men possessed. They haven't done that all year.
I thought that a mixture of this brilliant start and our poor tactics killed the game after 25 minutes.

We need to put it behind us and do what very few have done and overcome this post provincial final 6 day turnaround.
Meath are good enough to beat this armagh side.

Meath are not as bad as they looked yesterday
Unfortunately though Dublin are probably even better than they looked

Neilll (USA) - Posts: 12 - 21/07/2014 19:05:12    1623346

I agree with Class Apart and Meath1999. Kenny and Meade are probably safer options than some of the younger lads. I think everyone learned that yesterday. Also Meath1999 you're right one bad game hasn't made Meath a bad team.

By the way Ziggy did you not think Keoghan had a good game on Brogan yesterday. Especially int he first half. I thought Brogan was quiet enough in comparison to his usual high standards and that was probably down to the tight marking of Keoghan. It's a pity we hadn't a couple more Keoghans as Harnan, Menton and Harrington were all out of their depth.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 21/07/2014 19:12:23    1623357

Dublin are nailed on to win the All-Ireland. They are unstoppable. I think it was unfair on young lads like McMahon and Wallace to be thrown in at the deep end. I understand that the management are trying to move on and help the teams transition by integrating young players, but Wallace, McMahon and McDonagh were physically not up to the challenge yesterday. I know players like Ward, Sheridan and Queeney may seem like the past but if their physicality and experience was in there yesterday instead of naive younger players like Harnan and Wallace we wouldn't have been embarrassed in this fashion. I know Graham Reilly appeared off form yesterday and Harnan and Wallace are promising players, but when the Dublin backs see a threatening player like Reilly replaced by an 18 ear-old kid with little experience,they're not going to be quaking in their boots, as such. The mere presence of certain players can strike fear into an opponent and help team-mates morale. I like the management team in place at the moment but players like Cian Ward, Joe Sheridan and Jamie Queeney must be confused why their not on the panel when McDonagh, Joey Wallace and Bryan McMahon are starting/first choice subs. These lads struggled yesterday and it was painfully clear. They could become good players but experience and guile is needed in Leinster finals.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 21/07/2014 19:40:36    1623386

I actually thought Alan Brogan was one of Dublins best players! Keoghan is our only top class corner back,we have more options in the half back line..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 20:04:21    1623413