Meath v Donegal

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yeah we a going aim for 6am start, them Donegal lads won't know what hit them."
Aye with a good heavy feed beforehand.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 06/07/2017 14:25:33    2011522

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I totally agree with having pride etc. But modern football can be a lot be about tactics and systems You need a system, but you also need to adapt to others team especially when you are weaker team. Donegal had move away from the totally defensive stuff they started out with 2010/11. Also Dublin where exposed badly at the back in 2014 against Donegal and had to change there system to a more defensive one. So teams adapt all the time. We got destroyed at the back by Kildare so we are naturally going to try to prevent this. I dont think its time throwing any shackles of. If we are down 6 points a half time then yeah got for it by all means."
Fair points.........but it is not as if we are departing fully from something that is proven to work. Our system will not beat Donegal as it is,
because we are paralized with fear. We would be foolish indeed to abandon something that works. Of course we know what Michael Murphy and others can do. So we have to plan for that. We wont win this match with more of the same.....fear. By all means we have to plan to deal with the opposition still.of course. Lets be pro active as well....it is possible to set our lads free without abandoning anything.that works .ITS A FRAME OF MIND !!!. You can have all the SYSTEMS you like. Not worth a dam if you dont have the BELIEF, and positive attitude to carry that system when the going gets tough. God knows we have seen that already. It will be tough anyway. We are limited ,but mental approach will be critical. We have to trust our sideline to monitor and make adjustments as required also.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 06/07/2017 14:54:03    2011537

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I totally agree with having pride etc. But modern football can be a lot be about tactics and systems You need a system, but you also need to adapt to others team especially when you are weaker team. Donegal had move away from the totally defensive stuff they started out with 2010/11. Also Dublin where exposed badly at the back in 2014 against Donegal and had to change there system to a more defensive one. So teams adapt all the time. We got destroyed at the back by Kildare so we are naturally going to try to prevent this. I dont think its time throwing any shackles of. If we are down 6 points a half time then yeah got for it by all means."
Just for me changing prob most of what you have instilled or tried to into this panel and then change it pretty much completely is for me not going to work.tweak it OK maybe put 4 forwards wing forwards setting up defensively coming back helping out.winning your own ball is a must for this to work.horses for courses.but lenihan on his own up front is pretty much fruitless the young lad is lost.rotate your forwards to keep it fresh diff lads defending will give breather's and keep us offensive as well.just my thoughts on it management in control so what happens they decide.Donegal prob will stick to plan so if we can find a weakness game on.not enuf time for change to me.if you think back Dublin where knocked out of all Ireland so could go back to drawing board work on things.we don't have that luxury.here's hoping I'm wrong

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 06/07/2017 15:37:10    2011554

Replying To nobull456:  "Replying to Royaloptimist.........more power to you for your balanced views. Unfortunately i seem to have even more miles on the clock. I was at the all Ireland final when Meath beat Kerry by 6 points in 1954,there again in 55 when the prince of full backs Paddy "hands" O Brien was totally outplayed by the man who started all the tactics and "systems" Kevin Heffernan .Paddy walked off in frustration in the winter of his career. There again in 1967 Meath beat cork in the final. The era of the "red" COLLIER.. Another memory i have was the league final in 1975 .Meath won. The great jack Quinn gave an exhibition of full back play and outplayed none other than Jimmy Keaveney. Then we had the poor years travelling to matches . Then came Boylan the greatest man manager of them all.That golden era started when we beat Monaghan in the centenary cup in 1984.My one and only time sitting in the Nally stand . Then the disaster in 1986 when Mick Lyons and Joe Cassells both went for a high ball toghether with time nearly up. fumbled it and goal by Mickey Sheehy.That put paid to that year for Sam. 87 and 88 wins for one of the all time greats Colm O Rourke. Nobody deserved it more than himself ,Mick Lyons Joe Cassells and Gerry Mc entee. . Colm o Rourke scored a very important point with his RIGHT foot in the replay against Cork in 88 Meath won.. There for every match under Boylan 1990 the 4 in a row of 1991 and Foleys goal. There for the final against Down same year. Disaster o Rourke can play flue. half time Down 11 points ahead. on comes O Rourke and demonstrates what courage and sheer determination ,pride in the jersey can do. Himself ,and Flynn bring us back from the dead just 2 point down. O R ourke Stafford Flynn the great full forward line. On with Boylan to enjoy more greats like Fay, Giles, Gerathy .Ollie Murphy. M c Dermott
Ok the game has changed dramatically,and we have had to change with it..Meath football to me means pride in the jersey, never say die ,courage and determination, belief. I watched many training sessions under Boylan in Dealgan Park to see the wizard at work. As the dub would say DEM WERE THE DAYS . Yet the greatest all round footballer i ever saw was Jack O Shea of Kerry. I asked Jack Quinn that question and he said Sean O Neill from Down. So yes we want to see us back to the top...pride,true grit, never give up and if medals follow better still."
You brought back some great memories there nobull - the good old days!!

Your recollection of 1986 is a bit off though. Mikey Sheehy didn't score a goal that day. I think the incident you might be talking about was in the first half when Mickey McQuillan came out and cleaned out Mick Lyons and Bob O'Malley as they all went for the same ball, leaving Ger Power to kick the ball into an empty net. Willie Maher scored the other goal that day towards the end of the game, but we were already beaten at that stage.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 06/07/2017 17:16:51    2011586

Replying To anfearbeag:  "You brought back some great memories there nobull - the good old days!!

Your recollection of 1986 is a bit off though. Mikey Sheehy didn't score a goal that day. I think the incident you might be talking about was in the first half when Mickey McQuillan came out and cleaned out Mick Lyons and Bob O'Malley as they all went for the same ball, leaving Ger Power to kick the ball into an empty net. Willie Maher scored the other goal that day towards the end of the game, but we were already beaten at that stage."
anfearbeag The incident i am referring to took place at the left of the railway goal {looking from canal end} I think it was Cassells and Lyons though. i think that was well into the second half. On mature reflection { whatever that means} you could be right when you say Ger Power
Thats well over 30 years ago .its greatm memory anyway.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 06/07/2017 17:34:02    2011591

Replying To nobull456:  "anfearbeag The incident i am referring to took place at the left of the railway goal {looking from canal end} I think it was Cassells and Lyons though. i think that was well into the second half. On mature reflection { whatever that means} you could be right when you say Ger Power
Thats well over 30 years ago .its greatm memory anyway."
I think we are on about different incidents. The one i remember best took place early in the first half up at the Hill 16 end when the 3 lads took each other out and Power tapped it in. Willie Maher scored the other goal at the very end of the game, but at that stage Kerry were running riot - they had us well bet.
To be honest I had to look up the scorer of the last goal- the old memory is getting a little shaky! One of the Kerry subs that day was a young lad called Mick Galway - what every happened to him?

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 06/07/2017 18:11:34    2011606

Replying To anfearbeag:  "You brought back some great memories there nobull - the good old days!!

Your recollection of 1986 is a bit off though. Mikey Sheehy didn't score a goal that day. I think the incident you might be talking about was in the first half when Mickey McQuillan came out and cleaned out Mick Lyons and Bob O'Malley as they all went for the same ball, leaving Ger Power to kick the ball into an empty net. Willie Maher scored the other goal that day towards the end of the game, but we were already beaten at that stage."
Ger power would say after the match that he had enough time to go home eat his dinner, come back and still score the goal. I was seated in the old nally stand, so I had a good view of the calamity

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2017 18:17:28    2011609

Yeah, your right it Ger Power all right. Sure Meath spent most of the game in awh of Oshea splaine etc. I was young at the match I remember clearly from that game, the big loudest Dub ever in front of us in the canal end as Dublin where playing Cork in the minor. And soon as Meath came out he was cheering for Meath all the way.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 06/07/2017 18:32:48    2011618

Replying To nobull456:  "anfearbeag The incident i am referring to took place at the left of the railway goal {looking from canal end} I think it was Cassells and Lyons though. i think that was well into the second half. On mature reflection { whatever that means} you could be right when you say Ger Power
Thats well over 30 years ago .its greatm memory anyway."
anfearbeag....... Mr Google says you have it right.......Power scored against 3 Meathmen MC QUILLAN,,LYONS ,AND O MALLEY. I...in fact it shows the incident a major cock up.........However, if you look at it again,and you want an uplift go to YOU TUBE to see Dubs v Meath 4th game 1991 and the build up to Foley,s goal and Beggys winning point. That one i will never forget as i was in the Cusack. near a few Dubs. At the final whistle 2 of them were devastated and said "" What do you have to do to beat that little f.....R. Boylan..THAFELLA would come up out of the grave to gettha".To be fair to them they turned and remarked" ah jays he is a great bitta stuff, but he has some powerful players too. good luck lads.yiz will go all the way now"
Well we all know what happened that year. ..... O Rourkes flue....Well never know what would have happened if he was on for the full lmatch against Down

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 06/07/2017 20:26:56    2011665

Replying To nobull456:  "anfearbeag....... Mr Google says you have it right.......Power scored against 3 Meathmen MC QUILLAN,,LYONS ,AND O MALLEY. I...in fact it shows the incident a major cock up.........However, if you look at it again,and you want an uplift go to YOU TUBE to see Dubs v Meath 4th game 1991 and the build up to Foley,s goal and Beggys winning point. That one i will never forget as i was in the Cusack. near a few Dubs. At the final whistle 2 of them were devastated and said "" What do you have to do to beat that little f.....R. Boylan..THAFELLA would come up out of the grave to gettha".To be fair to them they turned and remarked" ah jays he is a great bitta stuff, but he has some powerful players too. good luck lads.yiz will go all the way now"
Well we all know what happened that year. ..... O Rourkes flue....Well never know what would have happened if he was on for the full lmatch against Down"
Joe Cassells,Mc Quillan,Lyons were the 3 involved and Ger Power got the loose ball and an empty goal.

jake1 (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 06/07/2017 22:22:15    2011724

Same again.
Now from 1 to 15 must deliver the best display this year so far, can be no hiding, this is what every player wants to play in, a knock out game against a genuine top team. I may be deluded but I think we can win this,
Lets make navan the 16 man.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2017 06:24:15    2011761

Replying To nobull456:  "anfearbeag....... Mr Google says you have it right.......Power scored against 3 Meathmen MC QUILLAN,,LYONS ,AND O MALLEY. I...in fact it shows the incident a major cock up.........However, if you look at it again,and you want an uplift go to YOU TUBE to see Dubs v Meath 4th game 1991 and the build up to Foley,s goal and Beggys winning point. That one i will never forget as i was in the Cusack. near a few Dubs. At the final whistle 2 of them were devastated and said "" What do you have to do to beat that little f.....R. Boylan..THAFELLA would come up out of the grave to gettha".To be fair to them they turned and remarked" ah jays he is a great bitta stuff, but he has some powerful players too. good luck lads.yiz will go all the way now"
Well we all know what happened that year. ..... O Rourkes flue....Well never know what would have happened if he was on for the full lmatch against Down"
We would of won if the ref played any injury time I can remember Cleary the ref blowing full time the second the clock hit 70 min

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 07/07/2017 07:35:00    2011786

We would of won if the ref played any injury time I can remember Cleary the ref blowing full time the second the clock hit 70 min

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 07/07/2017 07:36:05    2011790

Happy enough with same team as last. we have options on the bench. I have a sneaky feeling we can just about edge it. if we do it will be a massive win.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 07/07/2017 07:49:32    2011796

Replying To jake1:  "Joe Cassells,Mc Quillan,Lyons were the 3 involved and Ger Power got the loose ball and an empty goal."
Replying to0 jake 1 ......Looked at it again You are right O Malley did not wear no 2 shirt that day Joe Cassells did.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 07/07/2017 07:51:41    2011798

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "We would of won if the ref played any injury time I can remember Cleary the ref blowing full time the second the clock hit 70 min"
I taught that too. but I watched since years ago on TG4 gold matches and he played 1 minutes 30 seconds something like that but. he did'nt play much anyway.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 07/07/2017 08:13:17    2011809

same team named although not sure if jones will make it..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/07/2017 08:15:38    2011811

Is it not more likely that the team has not actually been decided yet or that this team named is for the purposes of the programme?

I would find it surprising that, approaching this game after 2 horrible performances that Andy would be going for same old same old again. I think that Conlon should start and, if Newman is fit then start him. For me McEntee is a nice footballer but did nothing last day to warrant selection again. As I wrote before the last game I would have Douglas in at wing forward. I would also move Cillian into the corner. Like how many bad performances in that position will it take for Andy to move him?

If Andy starts with the same team and they lose I will take it as a very tame surrendering of our year unless there is some really obvious improvement in their play.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 07/07/2017 08:50:24    2011828

Replying To ziggy32001:  "same team named although not sure if jones will make it.."
Toher to start instead of Jones

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 07/07/2017 10:03:22    2011833

Replying To bert09:  "Toher to start instead of Jones"
just listened to Bernard Flynn on Highland radio Donegal.. could not disagree with anything he said ....particularily "" trow away the shackles , confidence and fear etc......very honest.....gives us a chance...Well worth a listen

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 07/07/2017 10:46:26    2011862