Meath v Donegal

Replying To Cdoddball:  "Am I right in saying that the winners of this play either Roscommon or Cork in round 4? If thats the case, its a great incentive and a good chance in getting to a quarter final."
You are right

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 20:53:52    2009947

Replying To royaldunne:  "While I agree with you. I also doubt Donegal will give him much space, unfortunately the views of many other county is , take graham Reilly out of game and Meath lose.
I live near enough to a elderly Donegal couple, called in on way home this evening. First thing that the man said to me, sure once we mark Reilly tight or throw 2 lads on him you will fall apart.
I tried to be positive and say there are others who will stand up if you put 2 on him, his answer? They haven't stood up yet.
I really think we have to be more than the one man team that so many from outside Meath think we are.
I am working on the assumption that Donegal will nullify biggie, so now its Time to O'Sullivan, lenehane , Tobin to stand up, the possible return of Newman is a huge boost, as he has the experience. Let them chase biggie around pt for 70 minutes while other lads put up the scores. No hiding and blaming one man who is going to be the sole target of every Donegal player. Others need to show what they can do too."
RoyalDunne you know as much as any of us that Biggy is always a marked man and this game is going to be no different. Colm kelly said in an interview that they shud have taken biggy out of the game. Its the attitude of most but sure he loves the attention and it spurs him so I say bring it on he plays better when the opposition swing out of him.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 21:04:00    2009960

Replying To royaldunne:  "While I agree with you. I also doubt Donegal will give him much space, unfortunately the views of many other county is , take graham Reilly out of game and Meath lose.
I live near enough to a elderly Donegal couple, called in on way home this evening. First thing that the man said to me, sure once we mark Reilly tight or throw 2 lads on him you will fall apart.
I tried to be positive and say there are others who will stand up if you put 2 on him, his answer? They haven't stood up yet.
I really think we have to be more than the one man team that so many from outside Meath think we are.
I am working on the assumption that Donegal will nullify biggie, so now its Time to O'Sullivan, lenehane , Tobin to stand up, the possible return of Newman is a huge boost, as he has the experience. Let them chase biggie around pt for 70 minutes while other lads put up the scores. No hiding and blaming one man who is going to be the sole target of every Donegal player. Others need to show what they can do too."
Yeah, agree RD. Time for other leaders in the team to step up. It's worrying the drop off in form for COS and more lately lenihan. Maybe the intro of Newman will take some of the pressure of lenihan as the go to inside target man.

I'm glad this game is coming quickly...I feel this team needs games in quick succession and if they can start to make progress the same way they did since defeat to down in the league then we might be looking at least last 8.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 03/07/2017 21:12:40    2009970

Replying To Barney123:  "People will say I'm not a true fan and but just because I am being realistic doesn't mean I am not a true supporter.

I really can't see us winning the game, we never could deal with teams that play with a defensive system. Hopefully we put in a good performance though, being a home game gives us a bit of an advantage."
Were Sligo not a defensive team?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 03/07/2017 21:21:57    2009980

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "RoyalDunne you know as much as any of us that Biggy is always a marked man and this game is going to be no different. Colm kelly said in an interview that they shud have taken biggy out of the game. Its the attitude of most but sure he loves the attention and it spurs him so I say bring it on he plays better when the opposition swing out of him."
Dont think we should engage in excuses in advance for any player. I would expect Newman will get special attention for example,but i believe he will handle it. .In fact all our players will get special attention for this match...What else would you expect? If Andy believes any one player will not be able to deliver under presure...then dont play him..or use him as a fresh sub with 10 mins to go if needed.regardless. Sure i could play myself as long as the opposition players dont challenge me .Just one problem... i lost my boots ....now there is a good excuse ....on mature reflection maybe not.. I dont know, maybe if you use this forum too much you get a bit silly.....Im off... .as the man on LMFM says Bye Bye now !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 03/07/2017 21:36:56    2009990

Replying To bert09:  "Were Sligo not a defensive team?"
Do you think we played well? When did we go ahead in the game, sometime in the 60th minute was it? If that's a midtable division 3 team what will it be like playing a team 2 divisions above?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 03/07/2017 22:02:59    2010007

Replying To nobull456:  "Dont think we should engage in excuses in advance for any player. I would expect Newman will get special attention for example,but i believe he will handle it. .In fact all our players will get special attention for this match...What else would you expect? If Andy believes any one player will not be able to deliver under presure...then dont play him..or use him as a fresh sub with 10 mins to go if needed.regardless. Sure i could play myself as long as the opposition players dont challenge me .Just one problem... i lost my boots ....now there is a good excuse ....on mature reflection maybe not.. I dont know, maybe if you use this forum too much you get a bit silly.....Im off... .as the man on LMFM says Bye Bye now !!"
Agree with you there...andy should have a master plan or at least some sort of a plan with that in mind. Ha ur right there silly not the word...in the words of Tommy Leddy...bye bye now!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 22:19:50    2010015

Replying To Barney123:  "Do you think we played well? When did we go ahead in the game, sometime in the 60th minute was it? If that's a midtable division 3 team what will it be like playing a team 2 divisions above?"
I think we played good enough to get the result against a defensive team and that's all that matters.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 03/07/2017 22:36:36    2010026

Replying To bdbuddah:  "In 2002 when Donegal beat us it really showed us our last good Meath team was gone, it would be nice to return favour to Donegal this year. Surely we can't be as bad again for third game in a row ?"
That was an exceptionally talented Donegal team we had in 2002. Brendan Devenney and Adrian Sweeney ran riot that day and a teenage Christy Toye scored a cracker. We bottled it against Dublin in the QF. Drew when we had the game won, the lads went on beer for 3 days and then got tanked the flowing week in the replay!! Summed up Donegal's attitude at that time. Mickey Moran had enough of them and quit! Don't think any manager could have put manners on that crowd though.

Regarding this weekend's game, definitely more optimism coming out of the Meath camp than our own despite both not playing well. Agree with what lockjaw has said already. Main thing seems to be that our confidence is totally shot after the Tyrone game. We look deflated, playing with one outdated game plan, with no intensity or directness to our play. Murphy hasn't been as influential as he was in the league and by god how we need him. Ryan McHugh hasn't been right since he got injured in the league. Ciaran Thompson's form has gone. Frank McGlynn doesn't seem to be capable of making his quick bursting runs that could unlock a defence the way that he used to. Our supporters have grown weary with Gallagher and his tactics at this stage.

Would love to see our lads prove me wrong, but I just can't see much changing in one week for us. Meath to scrape a win.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 03/07/2017 22:37:58    2010028

Ok so I'm a lifetime supporting Meath, from the grim 70's and early 80's to the glory years of the late 80's and through the 90's. I've seen days when I swore I would never go to another match only to turn up the next day and curse myself for not listening to myself a week earlier.
However I can honestly say that last Saturdays match was a new low for me, watching two teams try to play a brand of football that was completely foreign to them and which goes against their traditional strengths.

Sligo can honestly feel they left a result behind them as Meath were there for the taking but the qualifiers are a strange animal and winning is all its about.

If Meath play as badly next Saturday then it doesn't matter which Donegal team turn up, they will win.

Whilst I am happy to see Andy McEntee take charge and am happy for him to be given time to get things right, he is a man under pressure because at the moment too many mistakes are being made. The most glaring last week was how long it took to bring Newman onto the pitch. With a strong wind behind us, he was needed to take the frees and he could have won us the match a lot earlier as we were kicking frees short into the goalkeepers hands. However when he did come on he was being asked to track back and a lot of his possession was deep in our own half where he was not going to do much damage. He must play next week but stay in the full forward line to allow him run into space and at least provide an option for players up the pitch to pick him out.

As for the match on Saturday, I will go not with any great optimism, but a small part of me still believing that faced with a strong challenge, our players will respond and just maybe we can turn this season around.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 03/07/2017 22:48:30    2010033

Replying To nobull456:  "Dont think we should engage in excuses in advance for any player. I would expect Newman will get special attention for example,but i believe he will handle it. .In fact all our players will get special attention for this match...What else would you expect? If Andy believes any one player will not be able to deliver under presure...then dont play him..or use him as a fresh sub with 10 mins to go if needed.regardless. Sure i could play myself as long as the opposition players dont challenge me .Just one problem... i lost my boots ....now there is a good excuse ....on mature reflection maybe not.. I dont know, maybe if you use this forum too much you get a bit silly.....Im off... .as the man on LMFM says Bye Bye now !!"
Donegal dont care about Newman or Sullivan the only care about Reilly. That is all. Now been the only player who has proven himself a really top player that's not surprising. They will target him as Sligo did, what was your opinion on the trip he got on Saturday? One of the worst tackles I have seen in a long time. And all Sligo got was a black card. Not defending Connolly but he got 12 weeks for a little shove , this could have easily broken Reilly's leg.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 23:16:54    2010048

Always used to cheer for Meath when Donegal were out . Loved Meath in the 1990s when most of the country despised them . Some hard men combined with class too . Hope Meath make a return to the top table .

We are miles off at the moment . I fancy yous to beat us . We have probably the youngest side in Ireland and a manager that has no game plan at all.

We have some exceptional players but they will be lined up in their defence .

Could be a horrendous spectacle- hope I'm wrong. Funny thing is the winners may get to go on a run. We are just so light as we lost 8 All-Ireland winners in 12 months .

Hopefully it's not a terrible contest . Revenge for 1990 lol.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2017 23:26:43    2010050

Replying To royaldunne:  "Donegal dont care about Newman or Sullivan the only care about Reilly. That is all. Now been the only player who has proven himself a really top player that's not surprising. They will target him as Sligo did, what was your opinion on the trip he got on Saturday? One of the worst tackles I have seen in a long time. And all Sligo got was a black card. Not defending Connolly but he got 12 weeks for a little shove , this could have easily broken Reilly's leg."
"Now been the only player who has proven himself a really top player" "over last ten years."

Is what that should read

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 23:32:30    2010055

Replying To Cdoddball:  "Am I right in saying that the winners of this play either Roscommon or Cork in round 4? If thats the case, its a great incentive and a good chance in getting to a quarter final."
Jaysus lads when was the Connacht final played, I was so looking forward to it, what was the final score?

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 03/07/2017 23:50:38    2010068

Replying To royaldunne:  ""Now been the only player who has proven himself a really top player" "over last ten years."

Is what that should read"
I have been very critical of Reilly but I was very very happy with him last week. While he didn't set the scoreboard alight with only 2 points and a good few wides his workrate was brilliant. He got turnovers, worked very hard. If he does this again he won't receive criticism Royal Dunne. He will only be lambasted if people feel that he doesn't give it all on the day

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 04/07/2017 01:02:45    2010084

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Always used to cheer for Meath when Donegal were out . Loved Meath in the 1990s when most of the country despised them . Some hard men combined with class too . Hope Meath make a return to the top table .

We are miles off at the moment . I fancy yous to beat us . We have probably the youngest side in Ireland and a manager that has no game plan at all.

Could be a horrendous spectacle- hope I'm wrong. Funny thing is the winners may get to go on a run. We are just so light as we lost 8 All-Ireland winners in 12 months .

Hopefully it's not a terrible contest . Revenge for 1990 lol."
Honestly, your post could have been about Meath (All Ireland winners aside, unfortunately). We are quite a light side with speed given preference over size or physicality. We also seem to be without any sort of game plan.
It'll be a difficult game to watch no doubt. If we take our chances, particularly from frees, we've got a good shot to win

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 04/07/2017 01:05:14    2010085

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Ok so I'm a lifetime supporting Meath, from the grim 70's and early 80's to the glory years of the late 80's and through the 90's. I've seen days when I swore I would never go to another match only to turn up the next day and curse myself for not listening to myself a week earlier.
However I can honestly say that last Saturdays match was a new low for me, watching two teams try to play a brand of football that was completely foreign to them and which goes against their traditional strengths.

Sligo can honestly feel they left a result behind them as Meath were there for the taking but the qualifiers are a strange animal and winning is all its about.

If Meath play as badly next Saturday then it doesn't matter which Donegal team turn up, they will win.

Whilst I am happy to see Andy McEntee take charge and am happy for him to be given time to get things right, he is a man under pressure because at the moment too many mistakes are being made. The most glaring last week was how long it took to bring Newman onto the pitch. With a strong wind behind us, he was needed to take the frees and he could have won us the match a lot earlier as we were kicking frees short into the goalkeepers hands. However when he did come on he was being asked to track back and a lot of his possession was deep in our own half where he was not going to do much damage. He must play next week but stay in the full forward line to allow him run into space and at least provide an option for players up the pitch to pick him out.

As for the match on Saturday, I will go not with any great optimism, but a small part of me still believing that faced with a strong challenge, our players will respond and just maybe we can turn this season around."
Royaloptimist.............Very good first post......absolutely agree with your point about Newman ,particularily about his positioning,and how he should be used for the benefit of the team. Not the ideal time to start hime for the game after a prolonged absence,but options are limited. We badly need him to continue playing like he did last day. Yes Andy is really but to the test to make the best out of what he has got. Yes far too many basic mistakes even at this early stage. Totally agree he has to be given time . Fair play to him for taking the job,and hope he has the patience to see out his term

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 04/07/2017 08:23:19    2010118

Replying To royaldunne:  "Donegal dont care about Newman or Sullivan the only care about Reilly. That is all. Now been the only player who has proven himself a really top player that's not surprising. They will target him as Sligo did, what was your opinion on the trip he got on Saturday? One of the worst tackles I have seen in a long time. And all Sligo got was a black card. Not defending Connolly but he got 12 weeks for a little shove , this could have easily broken Reilly's leg."
I'm not going to even comment on the first part of your post but RD come on, your watching too much soccer. That challenge was extremely unlikely to break his leg, he just left his leg out to trip him up to stop him advancing towards goal. It wasn't a two footed lunge to win the ball from biggys feet.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 04/07/2017 08:36:12    2010122

Replying To HandballRef:  "That was an exceptionally talented Donegal team we had in 2002. Brendan Devenney and Adrian Sweeney ran riot that day and a teenage Christy Toye scored a cracker. We bottled it against Dublin in the QF. Drew when we had the game won, the lads went on beer for 3 days and then got tanked the flowing week in the replay!! Summed up Donegal's attitude at that time. Mickey Moran had enough of them and quit! Don't think any manager could have put manners on that crowd though.

Regarding this weekend's game, definitely more optimism coming out of the Meath camp than our own despite both not playing well. Agree with what lockjaw has said already. Main thing seems to be that our confidence is totally shot after the Tyrone game. We look deflated, playing with one outdated game plan, with no intensity or directness to our play. Murphy hasn't been as influential as he was in the league and by god how we need him. Ryan McHugh hasn't been right since he got injured in the league. Ciaran Thompson's form has gone. Frank McGlynn doesn't seem to be capable of making his quick bursting runs that could unlock a defence the way that he used to. Our supporters have grown weary with Gallagher and his tactics at this stage.

Would love to see our lads prove me wrong, but I just can't see much changing in one week for us. Meath to scrape a win."
Ah don't be so deflated we got problems got problems too. Hammered by kildare. Scrapped through through Sligo. On real good day we could up it up to any team. On real day we could lose to all most lose to anyone.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 04/07/2017 08:36:28    2010123

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Always used to cheer for Meath when Donegal were out . Loved Meath in the 1990s when most of the country despised them . Some hard men combined with class too . Hope Meath make a return to the top table .

Hopefully it's not a terrible contest . Revenge for 1990 lol."
Maybe we all could get a shock and its actually a good game? Doubtful but anything can happen in football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2017 08:36:40    2010124