Meath v Donegal

If ever there was a game for Graham Reilly to prove the naysayers wrong (myself included) this is it. Would love to see biggie put in a massive performance in front of the home crowd.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 03/07/2017 17:03:07    2009824

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyway game itself.
Last Saturday will look like a beautiful game compared to this, if Donegal came out and went for it, I be more Tha hopeful we would win in a shoot out man on man game , we more use to playing like that and I think O'Sullivan biggie lenehane possibly newman would have a field day , keoghan keeping mcbrearty quote .
However in a blanket defensive set up we have to mirror it (that's what happened v Sligo) we don't do it as well as most counties, and tend to struggle particularly against ulster teams.
However we have lads that can kick ball from distance over bar. Meath 12 Donegal 11. A great win but terrible game. I don't care if we win playing badly and ugly once we win."
Id be inclined to agree with you but thats what happened saturday and the whinging is still going on from people....a win is a win at the end of the day but id like to see a battle and bit of passion on the field saturday.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 17:06:38    2009827

Replying To pauk123:  "Didn't we get to an All Ireland semi under EOB? I don't see any improvement personally.
Probably an argument for the end of the season (hopefully around the 3rd week in September!)

Donegal will be a major test in Navan we should be able to give them a decent game. If we get a chance to run at them and get some frees for Newman to send over we've got a shot. I wouldn't say they are a spent force by any means but they're down a level or two from a couple of years ago."
I totally agree ! Not a bit of progress in the last few years ! Team look even slower and smaller than we have ever seen ! Not physical enough and look terrified to have a shot on goal . If we play again like we did against Kildare and Sligo I suspect we will be beaten out of sight . Surprised that Andy and co are playing this brand of football ,which obviously doesn't suit us . Not optimistic for Sat on our present form .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 03/07/2017 17:29:46    2009838

Replying To Reco:  "If we play one forward up front and the rest behind the ball progress is what this is????.blame young lenihan for not showing scream at other lads for making mistakes.give me a bucket its a sham full stop.its not in our DNA look at down Derry that's wot we are about put it up to them.players emulate there manager or are suppose to fear is all over this team.its plain to b seen."
I totally agree Reco ! A very honest and factual access end of our position at present ! A. Lot of posters here are happy with the old soccer fallback of a " result " . We were headless in the last minutes of the Sligo game and it nearly cost us . Time to call a spade a spade ....we are very very poor this year

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 03/07/2017 17:34:43    2009841

Replying To bert09:  "If ever there was a game for Graham Reilly to prove the naysayers wrong (myself included) this is it. Would love to see biggie put in a massive performance in front of the home crowd."
Was just thinking the same myself ! This game is made for him !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 03/07/2017 17:44:10    2009845

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Id be inclined to agree with you but thats what happened saturday and the whinging is still going on from people....a win is a win at the end of the day but id like to see a battle and bit of passion on the field saturday."
The whinging was valid...Won the game but unconvinced by the performance ! We will have to up it big time again !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 03/07/2017 17:46:13    2009846

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyway game itself.
Last Saturday will look like a beautiful game compared to this, if Donegal came out and went for it, I be more Tha hopeful we would win in a shoot out man on man game , we more use to playing like that and I think O'Sullivan biggie lenehane possibly newman would have a field day , keoghan keeping mcbrearty quote .
However in a blanket defensive set up we have to mirror it (that's what happened v Sligo) we don't do it as well as most counties, and tend to struggle particularly against ulster teams.
However we have lads that can kick ball from distance over bar. Meath 12 Donegal 11. A great win but terrible game. I don't care if we win playing badly and ugly once we win."
I hope your right !! Easier said than done to keep mcbrearty quiet..he's a class act ..
And theres also one Michael Murphy to "Keep quiet" .gonna be one hell of a battle but it's time to s**t or get off the pot ! This will define Andy's first year .

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 03/07/2017 17:51:02    2009849

Replying To bert09:  "If ever there was a game for Graham Reilly to prove the naysayers wrong (myself included) this is it. Would love to see biggie put in a massive performance in front of the home crowd."
bert 09 YES as another who is not convinced about Grahams value when the chips are down , i would be delighted if he proves me wrong. In his interview to his credit, after sligo match,he did say Meath dug in and won the match in last 10 mins. He did not say it in as many words,but that was when Newman came on, iifted the team , and showed real leadership. I doubt if we would have won without that lift. I hope Newman can start, as we will need all the lifting and leadership we can get to give Donegal a real fright.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 03/07/2017 17:51:32    2009850

Replying To grahamc9897:  "The whinging was valid...Won the game but unconvinced by the performance ! We will have to up it big time again !"
Big time. If we are going to do this it has to be with guns blazing.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 18:31:56    2009876

Mickey Newman has to start, even if he hasn't played much this season. As he is only back, Andy should leave him inside at FF/14 (even though some of us would like to play him at CHF/#11). If we have 12 or 13 players behind the ball, he is both mobile and experienced and the most likely to take up good positions when we attack/counter attack to send in quick/early ball. We'll also need as many good freetakers on the pitch as possible from every position and from the first minute (in what might be a relatively low scoring/tight game). We cannot just bring him on if chasing the game. I only hope the system employed vs. Sligo is tweaked this week and involves a more positive gameplan. Don't stifle the players talents with a rigid defensive system. Play to their strengths and let them express (and enjoy) themselves, working hard for each other and making the best use of their ability. Play the 70 minutes with the approach and mentality to that of the final 10 minutes vs. Sligo.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 03/07/2017 18:44:47    2009889

Am I right in saying that the winners of this play either Roscommon or Cork in round 4? If thats the case, its a great incentive and a good chance in getting to a quarter final.

Cdoddball (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 03/07/2017 19:42:19    2009894

if meath could get one big win against Donegal a division one team it could be the maker of them

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 03/07/2017 20:00:33    2009901

People will say I'm not a true fan and but just because I am being realistic doesn't mean I am not a true supporter.

I really can't see us winning the game, we never could deal with teams that play with a defensive system. Hopefully we put in a good performance though, being a home game gives us a bit of an advantage.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 03/07/2017 20:04:14    2009902

Replying To nobull456:  "bert 09 YES as another who is not convinced about Grahams value when the chips are down , i would be delighted if he proves me wrong. In his interview to his credit, after sligo match,he did say Meath dug in and won the match in last 10 mins. He did not say it in as many words,but that was when Newman came on, iifted the team , and showed real leadership. I doubt if we would have won without that lift. I hope Newman can start, as we will need all the lifting and leadership we can get to give Donegal a real fright."
See graham only Meath player on team of the week. Maybe he wasn't as bad as some thought on sat.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 20:07:19    2009904

Replying To royaldunne:  "See graham only Meath player on team of the week. Maybe he wasn't as bad as some thought on sat."
Full deserved as he really stood up to be counted when we needed him most. Playing a hard, tough Division 1 team will tell us a lot about this Meath team as a whole.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 03/07/2017 20:14:02    2009908

While I agree with you. I also doubt Donegal will give him much space, unfortunately the views of many other county is , take graham Reilly out of game and Meath lose.
I live near enough to a elderly Donegal couple, called in on way home this evening. First thing that the man said to me, sure once we mark Reilly tight or throw 2 lads on him you will fall apart.
I tried to be positive and say there are others who will stand up if you put 2 on him, his answer? They haven't stood up yet.
I really think we have to be more than the one man team that so many from outside Meath think we are.
I am working on the assumption that Donegal will nullify biggie, so now its Time to O'Sullivan, lenehane , Tobin to stand up, the possible return of Newman is a huge boost, as he has the experience. Let them chase biggie around pt for 70 minutes while other lads put up the scores. No hiding and blaming one man who is going to be the sole target of every Donegal player. Others need to show what they can do too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 20:17:51    2009912

Replying To royaldunne:  "See graham only Meath player on team of the week. Maybe he wasn't as bad as some thought on sat."
oh ..... he scored 2 points that cant be sneezed at,fair play to him. As he said himself it was the last 10 mins that won the match,and we all know what changes made that happen.Newmans leadership. Anyway ,Graham AND all others have the ideal opportunity now to finally deal with the doubters (me included)when the chips are down.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 03/07/2017 20:30:10    2009930

This was Donegal's game with Tyrone only last March. Amazing the difference in three short months.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnaBXtG1aKY - Meath should look at this match also and not just the more recent meeting with Tyrone in the championship. Meath need to push up and play the game in Donegal's half as much as possible. If they drop deep like they did vs. Sligo and invite Donegal on to them, they will kick long range points for fun.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 03/07/2017 20:31:51    2009932

I agree with you Royaldunne but no need to shove it down peoples throats !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 03/07/2017 20:43:29    2009938

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Full deserved as he really stood up to be counted when we needed him most. Playing a hard, tough Division 1 team will tell us a lot about this Meath team as a whole."
Absolutely agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 20:51:04    2009939