Meath v Donegal

This is one those times when you get 2 teams that are playing absolute rubbish. The 1st half on sat was probably the worst I've ever seen. Donegal may have got right spanking from Tyrone, but Tyrone are a serious outfit with AI ambitions, in the top 3 in the country. You couldn't say we've played anyone in that class. Their performance against Longford doesn't give me any comfort as I believe that have a lot more potential than we do. The obsession with tactics is holding them back but if they decide to cut loose against us it could get ugly.
Our defensive is atrocious, just look at the number of goal chances we give up in each game. We have players playing out of position in order to fill gaps all over the place and from what I've seen so far, our forwards aren't capable of winning and holding onto the ball.
Despite all that, if as Brolly says we take the battle to Donegal and have a go it could make for a great result. Serious attitude adjustment required from a lot of players though.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 03/07/2017 11:52:06    2009509

Replying To bert09:  "Is Rory Gallagher out of his depth?"
Hi Bert09: Check the Donegal Page on Hogan and you will get the answer to your question. Agree with Lockjaw also, if Meath throw caution to the wind from the very start and manage to get ahead by a few points, we won't be coming back.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 03/07/2017 11:53:21    2009511

TobinsBeard (Meath)- I totally agree with you on that, however that has been going on for the past 7/8 years. If you feel the need to shout abuse at team/management then you should stay at home and do the shouting there. As I said before the guys who do that played little and never supported a club, or go to a club match- I won't give them their proper name on this tread.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/07/2017 11:57:42    2009515

Replying To TobinsBeard:  "
Replying To Administrator:  "This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

bert09
Meath

03/07/2017
09:06

Meath v Donegal

Right lads and lassies...let's quit the whining and get out in force in Navan to support the lads. Expect another slug fest--the home crowd will be the 16th man.

I believe we can win this."
Judging by the negativity oozing from the terrace In PT the last day. The crowd might be the 16th man for Donegal. I thought the whole idea of being a "supporter" was to get behind the team. Two geniuses behind us spent the entire first half criticising the players. Calling for them various players to be taken off. (By the end of the first half they had called for most of the team to be substituted). Shouting abuse. Constantly criticising Graham Reilly. It was so bad we had to move. They weren't alone, I thought the crowd were very quick to get on players backs... if people are that negative about the team why don't they just go do something else with their Saturday afternoon."
Agreed I was ripping at a league match some auld fellla giving out about Donal Keoghan..Step to far in my eyes!! Some of the so called fans who go to games are hoping for something to complain about ! These Meath players have there faults but they give there life up to play football for Meath! Win lose or draw let's go shout them on for 70 mins be the 16th man ! Let Donegal know that there in for a huge battle ans if they want to win the will have to earn it !!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 03/07/2017 11:59:30    2009520

Replying To bert09:  "Is Rory Gallagher out of his depth?"
I have given him the benefit of the doubt in the past but I think his ideas are outdated now. We play the same defensive, counter-attacking running game but teams are well used to it by now. On Saturday we attacked as far as the Longford 45, turned, hand passed laterally for a while before eventually taking pot shots/losing the ball. This has become a recurring theme unfortunately. My main gripe is that we have a talented playing pool and it's not as though Gallagher has been denied access to the players. But in all the time he's been there we've yet to develop a plan B. It's the same old stuff all the time. Einstein's definition of insanity springs to mind. Our two best players, Murphy & Ryan McHugh are looking laboured. The system is so formulaic it leaves little room for spontaneity or individualism. I'm not saying we go out and start attempting to play like Kerry yesterday - in fairness not many could, but to me it certainly looks like the players are hemmed in by plan A, and if things start going awry then we don't seem to have the capability to think our way out of it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 03/07/2017 12:00:33    2009521

Replying To Administrator:  "This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

bert09
Meath

03/07/2017

Meath v Donegal

Right lads and lassies...let's quit the whining and get out in force in Navan to support the lads. Expect another slug fest--the home crowd will be the 16th man.

Judging by the negativity oozing from the terrace In PT the last day. The crowd might be the 16th man for Donegal. I thought the whole idea of being a "supporter" was to get behind the team. Two geniuses behind us spent the entire first half criticising the players. Calling for them various players to be taken off. (By the end of the first half they had called for most of the team to be substituted). Shouting abuse. Constantly criticising Graham Reilly. It was so bad we had to move. They weren't alone, I thought the crowd were very quick to get on players backs... if people are that negative about the team why don't they just go do something else with their Saturday afternoon."
I was in the stand and the crowd were a bit muted but certainly not negative. I think there was a frustration in how the team were playing but it didnt manifest itself in abuse in my area anyway.

Last time Donegal played us in Navan Michael Murphy gave an exhibition.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 03/07/2017 12:01:23    2009524

bert09
Meath

03/07/2017

Meath v Donegal

Yeah, some of our "fans" have been nothing short of a disgrace. Hurling abuse at players and management. I go to most games and have to say I have never heard fans from other counties hurl abuse at the players. There is a serious fan base at the core of Meath --just look at the popularity of this forum. I just hope the true fans can raise their voice to help the players get over the line on Saturday. Home advantage is massive!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 03/07/2017 12:07:55    2009532

Coming out from that match on Saturday night it was like going a date to the movies with a girl you thought was a "fine thing" after a few beers but turned out something different when sober and to add to depression the movie was sh1te also. I think Meath are a bit like the date I described above, both going nowhere and a hard watch!!!

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 03/07/2017 12:15:18    2009540

Replying To bert09:  "
Replying To TobinsBeard:  "[quote=Administrator:  "This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

bert09
Meath

03/07/2017

Meath v Donegal

Yeah, some of our "fans" have been nothing short of a disgrace. Hurling abuse at players and management. I go to most games and have to say I have never heard fans from other counties hurl abuse at the players. There is a serious fan base at the core of Meath --just look at the popularity of this forum. I just hope the true fans can raise their voice to help the players get over the line on Saturday. Home advantage is massive!"]Agree with you, I was beside Sligo fans and they were equally as bad, doesn't make it right I know but it's not just a Meath issue.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 03/07/2017 12:17:07    2009542

I see the game is fixed for 6pm. Late enough!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 03/07/2017 13:29:40    2009604

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I have given him the benefit of the doubt in the past but I think his ideas are outdated now. We play the same defensive, counter-attacking running game but teams are well used to it by now. On Saturday we attacked as far as the Longford 45, turned, hand passed laterally for a while before eventually taking pot shots/losing the ball. This has become a recurring theme unfortunately. My main gripe is that we have a talented playing pool and it's not as though Gallagher has been denied access to the players. But in all the time he's been there we've yet to develop a plan B. It's the same old stuff all the time. Einstein's definition of insanity springs to mind. Our two best players, Murphy & Ryan McHugh are looking laboured. The system is so formulaic it leaves little room for spontaneity or individualism. I'm not saying we go out and start attempting to play like Kerry yesterday - in fairness not many could, but to me it certainly looks like the players are hemmed in by plan A, and if things start going awry then we don't seem to have the capability to think our way out of it."
We no Kerry either so in my mind both Meath and Donegal should throw off the shackles to an extent and go for it.skillful players on both sides with pace but we trying new system in the middle of the season is silly and not showing any trust in your players.we now have no confidence in our management and ourselves. Andy needs grow a pair and let them play to there strengths he has 3/years to get system right. now is to leave it on the field and not die wondering.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 03/07/2017 13:50:57    2009619

Replying To browncows:  "I think it is a good draw, first because it is at home and Donegal have been going downhill since the league and their confidence would not be improved by the Tyrone beating. This is a much better draw than Clare away, or Mayo at home. If the matches v Sligo and one v Longford is anything to go by it will make very difficult watching, but still should be a good atmosphere.

PS RD -be careful with which stewards you talk to!!!!!"
I would have far preferred Clare away (gave them a good beating in league), also we may struggle, style wise more against Donegal than we would have against Mayo (we are bad against defensive teams).

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 03/07/2017 14:21:53    2009645

Replying To browncows:  "I think it is a good draw, first because it is at home and Donegal have been going downhill since the league and their confidence would not be improved by the Tyrone beating. This is a much better draw than Clare away, or Mayo at home. If the matches v Sligo and one v Longford is anything to go by it will make very difficult watching, but still should be a good atmosphere.

PS RD -be careful with which stewards you talk to!!!!!"
I would have far preferred Clare away (gave them a good beating in league), also we may struggle, style wise more against Donegal than we would have against Mayo (we are bad against defensive teams).

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 03/07/2017 14:22:27    2009646

Paddy Power has it Meath 2/1; draw 8/1; Donegal 8/15.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 03/07/2017 14:37:44    2009659

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I see the game is fixed for 6pm. Late enough!"
Jaysus that's a terrible time for travelling Donegal supporters Lockjaw, you'd think 3 or 4pm would be a lot more reasonable.

As for the game itself, neither team appears to be firing but the experience of playing in a higher division could well stand to Donegal. Big improvements needed from both teams though if they want to make the last 8 and put up a decent showing.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/07/2017 14:45:26    2009666

If we could pull this off I would consider us to definitely have made progress from previous few years, I mean before this year we went 9 championship matches in succession where we were outscored in second half of matches (with some serious collapses in there) and had not won a qualifier match before this year since 2011.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 03/07/2017 14:46:04    2009669

This will be a decent test to see if we've gone anywhere under Andy. All evidence so far point to no but let's hope there's a big performance in the team.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 03/07/2017 15:25:15    2009709

Two proud counties going through hard times,very hard to call but i think Donegal could just sneak it with a little bit more experience.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 03/07/2017 15:31:36    2009715

Win this game and it's a very winnable round 4 tie against Cork or Roscommon/Galway in a neutral venue. I'd class getting to round 4 as progress. I suppose round 3 could be classed as progress given that we went out in round 2 in the previous 2 years (albeit against stronger opposition than Sligo) but that progress would be miniscule should we lose on Saturday.
Can see it being another dour affair, especially if we persist with the same tactics as the Sligo game. Anyone know the extent of Jones' injury?

It's disappointing that the positivity in the air in the run up to the Kildare has been all but wiped out after that result.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 03/07/2017 15:35:30    2009718

Real test for keoghan to see how he does on mcbrearty, easily one of the best forwards in the country, I'd imagine Mickey Burke will be on Michael Murphy. Mickey Newman has to start no question. I hope nobody is expecting a classic, everything about this game points to a brutal game of football, Donegal by 2 points

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 03/07/2017 15:35:51    2009719