Meath v Sligo

Replying To seadog54:  "keep an eye out for a rerun of game, sky did this before, usually late at night. It was on sky 5. Not easy viewing"
excellent point on the S+C but the problem is deeper in that we cant make these player grow any bigger.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 20/06/2017 12:56:15    2002478

Replying To pretender:  "excellent point on the S+C but the problem is deeper in that we cant make these player grow any bigger."
rooney,harnan,menton,forde,power,newman,o'sullivan,tobin,mcgill are all plenty strong. young conlon and jones will get stronger. that's 11 players that we could get in the team,but some of them are missing this year.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/06/2017 13:36:28    2002519

Replying To browncows:  "Replying To meath1977- I agree with you there about naming teams but there is where it ends! Why do we have the same guys posting teams and playing draughts with lineouts. Some other players on the panel require a chance. It was interesting that the best player on the field in the second half was a player who was not 'supposed' to be good enough to start. Some guys talking about strength in defence required -a bit of pace and a bit of football brain would do no harm. You need all forwards with a high work rate of tracking back. I would play the CF who does have a good work rate in the full forward line where I think he could cause lots of problems to any defence . The best player in defence for Kildare was a quite small player with great football ability and good pace and the full back was no slough either with pace. Unfortunately there are now some very poor traits coming into our games where so called supporters shout abuse at players and management - these guys should be singled out and banned from all counties. Players and management give of their considerable time to play and manage and should not be the subject of abuse at any game- I guess the guys I am referring to never played or if they did were either total fools or cowards. Is there anyone posting who has the ability to manage or play at county level (now my point about abuse is not related to posts/treads although folk should be aware that negative comments about named players is not good under any circumstances). The best of luck to all involved next day out
PS: Will someone check RD's snack box next day out as warm weather brings its own difficulty especially with the chicken wings!"
Fair play BC, thats a great call on things.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/06/2017 13:51:56    2002530

Replying To ziggy32001:  "rooney,harnan,menton,forde,power,newman,o'sullivan,tobin,mcgill are all plenty strong. young conlon and jones will get stronger. that's 11 players that we could get in the team,but some of them are missing this year."
you can add douglas to that list and he is available now.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 20/06/2017 13:52:45    2002533

I posted this team on another thread but just throwing it up here again. Highlighted the players generating most of the discussion

1. O'Rourke
2. Keogan
3. McGill
4. Burke
5. Harnan
6. Conlon
7. D Tobin
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O'Sullivan
11. O'Coileáin
12. Biggy
13. O'Reilly
14. Newman
15. Lenihan

Key points.
- Burke has been very solid to date despite people calling for his head. Not going to be here long term but is best suited to the job at present.
- Worth giving Conlon a shot. Looked lively when he came on and offers more than Shane McEntee. Strong runner through the centre.
- Donnacha Tobin is not a corner back. He's done a solid job there for a while now but was just plugging a gap. Unfortunately he was exposed badly on Saturday but I don't think that's a reason to drop him. Has played his best football for Meath at wing back. Great engine.
- Bit of an education for Jones but it's those sort of games that will better him. Was tasked with dragging the Kildare midfield away from the middle for our kickouts. Didn't work. As a result he wasn't really able to get into the game himself. Impressed against Down, Cavan and Louth. Big future in him.
- Lots of debate about our forwards but O'Coileáin is a must. Two great appearances off the bench.
- Biggy was obviously very poor against Kildare but against Sligo will no doubt knock over 3 or 4 points. That's the main reason why I'd include him. James McEntee unlucky to miss out.
- I think Thomas O'Reilly should and will get the nod to start. Great footballer and is strong enough for his age. This is the game for us to try different approaches despite a win being paramount.
- People crying out for Newman and I'm going to join that brigade too. Not great at winning his own ball but I think the supply from O'Sullivan, O'Coileáin et al. will be better in Navan.

It's been mentioned in various pieces of analysis and by McEntee himself that the Meath forwards didn't work hard enough off the ball. Too many players just occupying space for the sake of it. Don't know why this was the case on the day but surely it shouldn't be hard to rectify this. Problem is getting it on a consistent basis.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 20/06/2017 15:39:43    2002612

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "I posted this team on another thread but just throwing it up here again. Highlighted the players generating most of the discussion

1. O'Rourke
2. Keogan
3. McGill
4. Burke
5. Harnan
6. Conlon
7. D Tobin
8. Menton
9. Jones
10. O'Sullivan
11. O'Coileáin
12. Biggy
13. O'Reilly
14. Newman
15. Lenihan

Key points.
- Burke has been very solid to date despite people calling for his head. Not going to be here long term but is best suited to the job at present.
- Worth giving Conlon a shot. Looked lively when he came on and offers more than Shane McEntee. Strong runner through the centre.
- Donnacha Tobin is not a corner back. He's done a solid job there for a while now but was just plugging a gap. Unfortunately he was exposed badly on Saturday but I don't think that's a reason to drop him. Has played his best football for Meath at wing back. Great engine.
- Bit of an education for Jones but it's those sort of games that will better him. Was tasked with dragging the Kildare midfield away from the middle for our kickouts. Didn't work. As a result he wasn't really able to get into the game himself. Impressed against Down, Cavan and Louth. Big future in him.
- Lots of debate about our forwards but O'Coileáin is a must. Two great appearances off the bench.
- Biggy was obviously very poor against Kildare but against Sligo will no doubt knock over 3 or 4 points. That's the main reason why I'd include him. James McEntee unlucky to miss out.
- I think Thomas O'Reilly should and will get the nod to start. Great footballer and is strong enough for his age. This is the game for us to try different approaches despite a win being paramount.
- People crying out for Newman and I'm going to join that brigade too. Not great at winning his own ball but I think the supply from O'Sullivan, O'Coileáin et al. will be better in Navan.

It's been mentioned in various pieces of analysis and by McEntee himself that the Meath forwards didn't work hard enough off the ball. Too many players just occupying space for the sake of it. Don't know why this was the case on the day but surely it shouldn't be hard to rectify this. Problem is getting it on a consistent basis."
good post and that team does look well balanced overall. but would we win enough breaking ball in the half forward area?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/06/2017 19:25:04    2002733

Could be a case of who has least woeful defence. Sligo already have shipped 6 goals in championship and need to cut out kamikaze defending.

We have some good sharpshooters but I think we'll need goals, and only scored 1 in 3 games. Also suffer from inconsistency. I do think we have enough to come away with a win but we will need to perform.

Any recommended hostelries for a swift half before the match?

Bawner (Sligo) - Posts: 39 - 20/06/2017 22:43:20    2002853

Replying To Bawner:  "Could be a case of who has least woeful defence. Sligo already have shipped 6 goals in championship and need to cut out kamikaze defending.

We have some good sharpshooters but I think we'll need goals, and only scored 1 in 3 games. Also suffer from inconsistency. I do think we have enough to come away with a win but we will need to perform.

Any recommended hostelries for a swift half before the match?"
Mick Ryan's and Bru house are 150 yards from PT

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/06/2017 07:57:20    2002910

Do we have the defence to beat Sligo or anyone else for that matter. The defenders are constantly a step or two away from their men. Its crazy. If you look at all the top teams their defenders are tackling like mad men. Meath defenders just dont do this. Why not, is it fitness, not good enough, attitude. I just dont understand it. For a county like ours that(used to anyway) prides itself on toughness and tough hard but fair players. Where have they all gone. Is this skill not being coached in the schools, clubs etc.
I believe we have the making of a good team if we can get this element right. I thnk McEntee will get it right too. I just hope people and the county board give him time.
Anyway, bring on Sligo. An Mhi abu

royalfan1316 (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 21/06/2017 09:26:23    2002937

Replying To Bawner:  "Could be a case of who has least woeful defence. Sligo already have shipped 6 goals in championship and need to cut out kamikaze defending.

You could apply most of these points to Meath also. Dont think there will be a whole lot in it either way, but home advantage should swing it our way.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 21/06/2017 10:02:00    2002954

Replying To royalfan1316:  "Do we have the defence to beat Sligo or anyone else for that matter. The defenders are constantly a step or two away from their men. Its crazy. If you look at all the top teams their defenders are tackling like mad men. Meath defenders just dont do this. Why not, is it fitness, not good enough, attitude. I just dont understand it. For a county like ours that(used to anyway) prides itself on toughness and tough hard but fair players. Where have they all gone. Is this skill not being coached in the schools, clubs etc.
I believe we have the making of a good team if we can get this element right. I thnk McEntee will get it right too. I just hope people and the county board give him time.
Anyway, bring on Sligo. An Mhi abu"
Think it is clear that we have only about 7 players at inter county championship level. Forget O Byrne cup etc. We probably have the makings of a good manager, but he needs time to develop at this level. When we say we are inconsistent that is not the full truth. We have players who play well against weak teams ,but don't deliver against the better teams. Those players are simply not good enough if they do that consistently..I think Andy is the man but he badly needs the raw material to work with. That will take time to find the players.It seems he has given everyone a chance at this point.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 21/06/2017 10:24:47    2002961

I can see us beating sligo with relative ease we've beaten better teams than them this year. Itll be 0pthe next round which will tell all. Worrying thing from the kildare game was the lack of creativity once kildare had set up defensively alot of out attacks looked ponderous. ROC, COS looked to be the only one who could puncture the line but that isnt enough. Biggy will kick 3/4 points against sligo with people hailing him one of the best around once again, hes a quality player but has to be carried against the big teams, workrate poor overall. We could have had anyone in the inside the last day and it wouldnt have mattered due to lack of ball being delivered so I feel for them l. I'd start conlon as he can break out with the ball at centre back we need a threat from the half back line. Forde has been a massive loss we don't seem to have that presence around the middle third in terms of physicality/ball carrying and creativity. We can't have Lenihan, O'Reilly etc picking up a ball up 35/40 yards out & trying to create something. Andys still the man to take us forward

Ketchup (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 21/06/2017 11:31:24    2002990

Replying To Ketchup:  "I can see us beating sligo with relative ease we've beaten better teams than them this year. Itll be 0pthe next round which will tell all. Worrying thing from the kildare game was the lack of creativity once kildare had set up defensively alot of out attacks looked ponderous. ROC, COS looked to be the only one who could puncture the line but that isnt enough. Biggy will kick 3/4 points against sligo with people hailing him one of the best around once again, hes a quality player but has to be carried against the big teams, workrate poor overall. We could have had anyone in the inside the last day and it wouldnt have mattered due to lack of ball being delivered so I feel for them l. I'd start conlon as he can break out with the ball at centre back we need a threat from the half back line. Forde has been a massive loss we don't seem to have that presence around the middle third in terms of physicality/ball carrying and creativity. We can't have Lenihan, O'Reilly etc picking up a ball up 35/40 yards out & trying to create something. Andys still the man to take us forward"
Ketchup........the " carrying " will have to continue till we find better players. That's why by all means go with Conlon, ROC etc. now. I hope Andy continues to show a ruthless streak.You hold your place not with over hyping but by delivering when the chips are down or else he looks for replacement. This forum some posters will find excuses to keep their man on.board. "tired" " injured" .etc Ah well Andy is no fool. It does have entertainment value however. OK Andy on with the real show!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 21/06/2017 12:30:28    2003014

Replying To Ketchup:  "I can see us beating sligo with relative ease we've beaten better teams than them this year. Itll be 0pthe next round which will tell all. Worrying thing from the kildare game was the lack of creativity once kildare had set up defensively alot of out attacks looked ponderous. ROC, COS looked to be the only one who could puncture the line but that isnt enough. Biggy will kick 3/4 points against sligo with people hailing him one of the best around once again, hes a quality player but has to be carried against the big teams, workrate poor overall. We could have had anyone in the inside the last day and it wouldnt have mattered due to lack of ball being delivered so I feel for them l. I'd start conlon as he can break out with the ball at centre back we need a threat from the half back line. Forde has been a massive loss we don't seem to have that presence around the middle third in terms of physicality/ball carrying and creativity. We can't have Lenihan, O'Reilly etc picking up a ball up 35/40 yards out & trying to create something. Andys still the man to take us forward"
I agree...he is the man but he needs to show he's learning things from the performances of the team. Donnacha can't start corner back. He's an exceptionally good half back and this crack of having him in the corner has to stop. O Caoileann has to start for Wallace......Conlon should be bedded in at centre back as we haven't had a presence there for about ten years. Flanagan should maybe start the first 40 and Jones come in and finish the game cause we need to establish primary possession.....9/31 won from kickouts won't do again

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 21/06/2017 12:35:38    2003021

P O'Rourke

M Burke
C McGill
D Keoghan

P Harnan
Power (if fit, if not B Conlan)
Tobin

Menton
Jones

C Osullivan
G Reilly
R O Caoilan

D Lenihan
S Tobin
B McMahon

Possible changes I think may also work would be D Tobin in the middle with Menton and B Conlon going to Wing Back with Jones on the bench and coming on if need in second half. Power developed well towards the end of the league and would have been a cert to start if not for injury. Wallace unfortunately has not got going and after the last day O' Caoilan was very impressive when introduced. S Tobin is an iffy one but he works his socks off and shows well the whole time, not shy of running or working hard. Biggy didn't show up at all the last day but did well against Clare, Cork and Galway towards the end of the league so one bad game can't have a man dropped. Toher also only the once bad game but i feel the 6 named forwards are better.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 21/06/2017 13:01:47    2003034

I used to go to O Flaherty's pub. It was a grand pub. It is now called the Bru house. It's all craft beer. Not mad in to it but across the road is Fitzsimons. A good Meath/Navan O Mahoney's pub. Others you could try is Ryans, the Royal Meath or the Central.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/06/2017 14:10:08    2003074

Sligo won't be playing with a blanket defence. They may have played very deep against Mayo due to the fact they are the All-Ireland finalists and also because of the result in 2015. They play a formation similar to Kildare. The wing fowards work very hard up and down the lines. 2 forwards hold the half forward line with 2 lads inside. Meath are a division 2 team and Sligo will not fear them. Give Sligo room then Marren and Hughes will have a field day.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 21/06/2017 14:42:41    2003092

Replying To NewSligofan:  "Sligo won't be playing with a blanket defence. They may have played very deep against Mayo due to the fact they are the All-Ireland finalists and also because of the result in 2015. They play a formation similar to Kildare. The wing fowards work very hard up and down the lines. 2 forwards hold the half forward line with 2 lads inside. Meath are a division 2 team and Sligo will not fear them. Give Sligo room then Marren and Hughes will have a field day."
Should you play like that you might end up on a long day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2017 20:56:57    2003256

Replying To ratlag:  "P O'Rourke

M Burke
C McGill
D Keoghan

P Harnan
Power (if fit, if not B Conlan)
Tobin

Menton
Jones

C Osullivan
G Reilly
R O Caoilan

D Lenihan
S Tobin
B McMahon

Possible changes I think may also work would be D Tobin in the middle with Menton and B Conlon going to Wing Back with Jones on the bench and coming on if need in second half. Power developed well towards the end of the league and would have been a cert to start if not for injury. Wallace unfortunately has not got going and after the last day O' Caoilan was very impressive when introduced. S Tobin is an iffy one but he works his socks off and shows well the whole time, not shy of running or working hard. Biggy didn't show up at all the last day but did well against Clare, Cork and Galway towards the end of the league so one bad game can't have a man dropped. Toher also only the once bad game but i feel the 6 named forwards are better."
Thats near enough the team I would go for too. I wouldn't do making huge changes- we just don't have the players available to switch 5 or 6 lads.
I would definitely give Conlan a shot at CHB. No one else stands out as a top quality centre-half, so might as well give him a chance.

The only change I might make to your team is to drop McMahon and play James McEntee as another wing half forward, dropping back to help the defence.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 21/06/2017 21:10:17    2003263

Replying To NewSligofan:  "Sligo won't be playing with a blanket defence. They may have played very deep against Mayo due to the fact they are the All-Ireland finalists and also because of the result in 2015. They play a formation similar to Kildare. The wing fowards work very hard up and down the lines. 2 forwards hold the half forward line with 2 lads inside. Meath are a division 2 team and Sligo will not fear them. Give Sligo room then Marren and Hughes will have a field day."
you don't seem to think a whole lot of playing meath in navan or worry about meath fair play I tell you I am not too worried about sligo either

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 21/06/2017 21:24:31    2003268