Meath v Sligo

Just win is what it's about in the qualifiers. It was however a very disjointed performance. Sligo are a poor outfit and we struggled mightily.

There is still no discernable plan in attack. Very frustrating to see COS run into cul-de-sacs but he really doesn't have any options.
Too many players out of position in defense, it's a mess.

Andy's formula seems to be work harder seems to be very little else to it.
Having said that we won. Same again next time and we'll all be happy.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 02/07/2017 03:43:12    2008740

Poor stuff there last night playing a system?? Alien to players it seems.if you have 40 players on panel for training what in gods name are we doing in those sessions. We seem to b playing with fear is this coming from management. Lots of shouting at lads last night from sideline.I was looking at warmup last night and the 2 goalies. Were in all the outfield kicking and hand passing drills.at halftime all the sub's on field booting balls and generally chatting.no member of backroom Or management with them.it looks mickey mouse stuff and its shown on field.its worrying now with the teams we can possibly meet.hope Jones is not to bad did well when in.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 02/07/2017 05:25:38    2008743

Replying To nobull456:  "Royaldunne.......i was in navan too. i know Graham CAN be very good at times .He was good at times to day scored ...yes he helped out on 1 occasion on our full back line.I also saw him stroll up looking at the ground for 30 yards without lifting his head [on the stand side
whilst we were attacking the hospital goal.from midfield. Now he is the captain.....I saw Newman rallying the troops when he came on. He played a captains role for the few minutes because he lifted the team. Mickey Burke always gives it everything anyway. I expect a captain to be like Mickey Burke even allowing for his mistakes. Of course Graham is a better athlete more accurate etc. Use his strenghts as a winger speed accuracy and good to take passes . Do him a favour let him free to use his skills..Maybe Andy may focuss on freeing him from captaincy to let nim concentrate on his own game. I certainly would have him on the team but not as captain.The team is more important than any one individual. Graham is a footballer with sublime skills at times. However i just cant see him as a leader."]Good post nobull

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 02/07/2017 08:02:25    2008750

I'm convinced Graham Reilly is injured. He spent 60% of that game walking with hands on the hips with his head down.

Made 2 fine interventions and made some score's and took a few himself and I doubt Meath would have won if he wasn't there.

Systems or not, he is not the same player

As for leadership qualities..truly non existent.

For example, when the game was in the melting pot, Newman came on he was clapping and shouting and directing the play. He pulled the strings to get Meath attack from the back.

A very frustrating game, impossible to gain any real positive apart from that we are in the bowl for next week but I think it's only going to prolong the suffering.

I have never experienced such anger and frustration in a home crowd who definitely expected more a performance or bite from the Kildare game.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 02/07/2017 08:56:18    2008760

Replying To Barney123:  "Yeah I said it changed after 45 to 50 mins but why was that not the instruction if not from the start then at least after time? Surely we are good enough to go man on man against Sligo. The keeper kicked one ball over the line and seemed like he didn't know what to do when there was no short option."
true,but i wonder if it was a test ahead of better sides in the future? think we could have put more pressure on the man with the ball,we seemed to be zonal in our marking but not really tackling. the goal we conceded was awful.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2017 09:19:16    2008764

only problem with newman,is the fact that he hasn't played 70mins this year,unlikely he will start imo

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2017 09:25:18    2008766

Ratings...

1.O'Rourke (6) Few hairy moments...
2.Burke (8) great display
3.McGill (6) Looked Vunerable
4.Power (5) lack of discipline
5.Harnan (6) Did OK attacked well
6.Keoghan (7) Solid as usual
7.Mcentee (6) Not convinced
8.Jones (6) pity he went off did OK
9.Menton (6) Did OK
10.O'Coilean (6) never reached heights of last week
11.O'Sullivan (5) Bad day at the office
12.Mcentee (6) did OK kicked opening score
13.Reilly (7) did well showed leadership
14.Tobin (6) score 0-3 but was poor at tikes
15.Lenihan (6) Not his best day

Conlan (7) played his way onto the team next week
Toher (6) was meh..
Newman (6) a 6 because of short time on but he impressed and needed badly
Tobin (6) Did OK

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 02/07/2017 09:31:35    2008772

Replying To nobull456:  "Overall very poor performance against a team low down the ratings.....Confidence amongst team seems very low. Far too slow moving forward on attack because forwards not using space to make themselves available. Based on championship so far no progress in last 2 years .Same old story what can be done by ANY manager without the raw material? What can the jockey do without the horse? No leader on the field when it matters, although Newman lead by example when he came on. Has to be a certain starter to lead the attack. Impressed also with Conlon { another certain starter.} Dont know why Power was taken off. I would give him another go at 6.whilst trying Conlon at midfield with Jones if fit.Menton at 7. Mickey Burke a certain starter . Lenihan to start also . Not sure about OCoileann. Pass on Reilly because of his inconsistency .He CAN be good but not reliable as a captain.Andy couldnot be a happy camper either. I believe he is the man who says it as he sees it. If he reads here he will understand if some posters on here do likewise..In fairness he does not deal in mickey mouse excuses to his credit."
Power was taken off cause he was on a yellow......should have got another yellow and ref told him just before HT that he is in last chance saloon.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 02/07/2017 09:41:35    2008777

Replying To ziggy32001:  "anyone know what happened jones?"
He landed awkwardly on ankle when he caught kickout from paddy.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 02/07/2017 09:49:56    2008778

Replying To David:  "He landed awkwardly on ankle when he caught kickout from paddy."
hope he will be ok,like to see he,and menton together.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2017 10:00:29    2008784

on another note fair play to the players for stalling their warm down to sign autographs and getting photos with the kids. they are like superstars for young kids and my 5 year old son was delighted to get pictures with some of his favorite players. means an awful lot to him and all the other kids.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2017 10:03:42    2008786

Replying To grahamc9897:  "15 men behind the ball ! Handpass
handpass hand pass !!"
Really interesting
Rd what u think

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 02/07/2017 10:08:37    2008788

@grahamc9897

Jones was an 8 for me while he was on the field. Sean Tobin worthy of a 7 at least. His scores late on won the game for Meath. He also did more chasing back to help out the backs than any inside forward throughout the game. Mickey Newman again worthy of a 7 at least. He kicked two important scores from similar enough areas that Donal Lenihan (who is a good all-round player) missed/left short. At senior level you should be able to take scores from around the 45 with a good breeze behind into the O'Mahonys no problem. He was also the figure who inspired others around him. That is what this team needs badly. Players that give others hope while they are on the field, rather than having teammates drop their heads or go missing because no player gives them hope and encouragement when needed most.

While Meath do finish strongly in the last 10-15 mins, that is no excuse to take it somewhat handy for the previous 55-60 mins and be content to just stay in the game up until that point. Go for the kill and put the game to bed early. Meath lack a ruthless streak and we nearly paid for it at the finish. Good job it was a tame finish and Toher was in the right place to prevent extra time.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 02/07/2017 10:20:06    2008798

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Ratings...

9.Menton (6) Did OK

Toher (6) was meh..
Tobin (6) Did OK"
Your being kind giving the 2 wing forwards mcentee and ocaoilean 6/10s, in my own opinion both their work rates was poor , this team has absolutely no chance if everyone isn't working 100%, 4/10s

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 02/07/2017 10:29:40    2008800

A win is a win, but that was looking bad for a long time. Newman should a touch of class when he entered the fray. I cannot understand the blanket defence being employed against Sligo. The fact is we are simply better than them and should go out to show that

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 02/07/2017 10:37:20    2008806

Replying To Royalio11:  "I'm convinced Graham Reilly is injured. He spent 60% of that game walking with hands on the hips with his head down.

Made 2 fine interventions and made some score's and took a few himself and I doubt Meath would have won if he wasn't there.

Systems or not, he is not the same player

As for leadership qualities..truly non existent.

For example, when the game was in the melting pot, Newman came on he was clapping and shouting and directing the play. He pulled the strings to get Meath attack from the back.

A very frustrating game, impossible to gain any real positive apart from that we are in the bowl for next week but I think it's only going to prolong the suffering.

I have never experienced such anger and frustration in a home crowd who definitely expected more a performance or bite from the Kildare game."
Replying to Royalio11.........Yes i thought at one point Graham may be injured, but then he sprinted for a ball at full pace, so i dismissed the injury notion.........Yes i saw the match exactly like you did .......he was not leading. Newman did that job when he came on

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 02/07/2017 10:38:45    2008807

Replying To nobull456:  "Royaldunne.......i was in navan too. i know Graham CAN be very good at times .He was good at times to day scored ...yes he helped out on 1 occasion on our full back line.I also saw him stroll up looking at the ground for 30 yards without lifting his head [on the stand side
whilst we were attacking the hospital goal.from midfield. Now he is the captain.....I saw Newman rallying the troops when he came on. He played a captains role for the few minutes because he lifted the team. Mickey Burke always gives it everything anyway. I expect a captain to be like Mickey Burke even allowing for his mistakes. Of course Graham is a better athlete more accurate etc. Use his strenghts as a winger speed accuracy and good to take passes . Do him a favour let him free to use his skills..Maybe Andy may focuss on freeing him from captaincy to let nim concentrate on his own game. I certainly would have him on the team but not as captain.The team is more important than any one individual. Graham is a footballer with sublime skills at times. However i just cant see him as a leader."]Your posts are very ironic considering your name nobull

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 02/07/2017 10:52:05    2008812

Replying To nobull456:  "Replying to Royalio11.........Yes i thought at one point Graham may be injured, but then he sprinted for a ball at full pace, so i dismissed the injury notion.........Yes i saw the match exactly like you did .......he was not leading. Newman did that job when he came on"
This is as bad a Meath team as we have seen in the last number of years ! No ability ,and no stars I am afraid . We are just playing around in a little round robin of poor teams which has no bearing on the All Ireland championship proper. Guys look headless during matches and look as if they are afraid to take on the opposition ,or perhaps is the Mcantee game plan they are afraid of deviating from . Too slow ,negative , meek and just short of any real outstanding players I feel . To see Joe Sheridan ,supposedly Sub goalkeeper trying to kick points at half time says it all . No doubt we will have to list to the Win is a Win brigade ,but there must be more to it than this horrific football . Back to the drawing board .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 02/07/2017 10:56:04    2008815

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Power was taken off cause he was on a yellow......should have got another yellow and ref told him just before HT that he is in last chance saloon."
southmeath Gael Ok fair enough.....taking off Power was correct decision so. Nevertheless i think he earned another shot at 6.. Free up Conlon from 6 to0 go to Midfield with Jones [Menton at 7] Jones and Conlon look better fielders giving Paddy the option of delivering high ball out to middle.. Yes nothing cast in stone .we also have to have someone picking up breaking ball . Ocoileann maybe?....Bottom line we cant continue as we are anyway . Cannot understand how forwards look frozen with fear. WHY when vast open space around 40 yard mark they seem to stand back to mark the defender.Show for the ball by filling the space. Out in front Stephen Bray style. This also helps speed up delivery fron outfield

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 02/07/2017 10:59:39    2008817

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Ratings...

9.Menton (6) Did OK

Toher (6) was meh..
Tobin (6) Did OK"
Re G REILLY ...your rating of 7 !( showing leadership ) Can you recheck this ,as I suggest it makes all your other ratings look suspect . Can we assume you are from cilles ?

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 02/07/2017 11:03:13    2008822