Kildare Forum

Popular Posts from brianb

Is GAA, Or More Specifically It's Prominence, A Bad Thing For Irish Sport? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "The question is there. Given countries like Norway, Sweden, Croatia etc are so infinitely superior to us at global sports, is the obvious reason, the prominence we place on GAA in this country? Kids are almost forced into it in school and anyone who shows any prowess has the pressure of the world on them to "play club" Is this stopping them becoming stars in other, more lucrative and high profile sports? Is GAA possibly even a negative for Ireland, in 2024? I'll go again, shall I !!"
To me this reads more like blaming the GAA for the failures of other sports. The prominence we place on GAA is not doing rugby any harm at the moment. I would argue it wouldn't harm our Soccer team either if the FAI had their house in order. In fact its probably more likely that the community involvement through the GAA from a young age, getting kids into sport has a positive effect on all sports. There are plenty of examples of promising underage players leaving the GAA behind and having a successful professional sports career in other sports. If someone has the talent to be a premier league footballer or a provincial rugby player or a top inter-county player - it is up to them to decide which to pursue.

brianb (National) - 22/09/2023 14:48:04

Kildare Vs Dublin - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Sure its all a massive conspiracy mate your own county board are Du6s want to bes sure - sure theyd have to be, good news tinfoil in cheap in Dealz in Athy for your hat making purposes, beware the radio waves! Always next year, every year a chara.........................!"
The "conspiracy" is fairly well documented at this stage. 16/17 Leinster titles since Sean Kelly's committee decided to fund the Dubs revolution in 2003. Its still 15 v 15 on the pitch but off the pitch its another question. That is slowly being addressed but it will take a few more years for the effect to be seen at senior level.

brianb (National) - 04/08/2021 17:15:19

2022 All-Ireland SFC Qualifiers thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To The_analyser:  "All in Clare and Roscommon was expecting Salthill for our game and are left puzzled by this choice of venue. One national journalist said the rossies will travel in big numbers as its a novel trip to Croke park. This will be out 12th trip to Croke Park to see the senior footballers in action in the last ten years its far from novel."
I'm not sure how Croke Park came into anyone's mind for the Clare V Roscommon game. Madness. How its not in Galway is beyond me. A packed out Tullamore with the Kildare Mayo minors playing before again would make a lot of sense. This double header is another crazy decision.

brianb (National) - 07/06/2022 17:11:47

Kildare Vs Dublin - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sligo joe:  "Comparing 70s/80s to the present era is apples and oranges. The Dublin team of the 70s that played in 6 finals in a row would also have a much smaller turnover of players. Panels are much more fluid now in all counties and it's a full panel game. Back in those days rarely was a sub used bar injury, a lot of games only one or two subs and often none."
. . . exactly; The Dublin success is not purely down to a golden generation but a conveyer belt of talent coming through coincidentally since the GAA started pumping cash in

brianb (National) - 05/08/2021 11:20:21

Can Gaelic Football (Handball?) Be Saved? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To sligo joe:  "So basically you want to reward the defensive team that stay in their own half pretty much all of the game and maybe try and sneak a win late on?"
Don't you think thats whats happening now?

brianb (National) - 26/04/2024 14:12:22

Is Pat Spillane Right Or Wrong With His Three Improvement Suggestions . - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cnocrua:  "Just because scoring levels have gone up does not guarantee more excitement. Look at basketball where there are scores almost every 30 seconds but the first 3 quarters can be a bore. I think what people miss, or would rather see is the excitement of a battle for possession, which is often missing when completing a 3 yard handpass to someone unmarked. The drama of what's going to happen next might have fallen out of the game a bit. And to clarify I don't think anybody is disputing that today's players are better, fitter, more prepared and skilful than ever before."
I think you've hit the nub of the issue - scoring levels have gone up because players are better, fitter more prepared and skillful in some areas. Other areas of skill have been neglected - there are far fewer contested duals now. Looking at games on All Ireland gold it tended to be 3/4 pieces of individual skill by 3/4 different players would be rewarded by a score be it a high catch, long accurate kick pass or an accurate shot. Now it's more of a collective game where the main skill is not losing possession and we're eventually looking for an accurate pass to a player in space to provide the score. While we're all generalising here I see the chief "problem" is that players are so much fitter now and can get up and down the pitch so much better. This means fewer gaps and more defenders back. That in turn makes it harder to score and has driven players to be so much better than before. The scores are better, but the game is less open. I think we want to see a more open game.

brianb (National) - 12/10/2022 14:45:25

Kildare Vs Dublin - Leinster Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Gleebo:  "How much store are people putting in Kildare's league victory over Dublin? A big psychological block lifted, surely? Wasn't hugely impressed with the semi-final win over Westmeath, but then semi-finals are fairly bad indicators a lot of the time."
Definitely a big psychological block lifted. Dublin look a bit more dangerous now that Costello and O'Callaghan have come back into the fold but Kildare have the Naas lads and Feely back as well so should have a few more options too. I recon the Kildare lads will be quietly confident going into the game. It will take a big effort but if Dan Flynn is on a good day and Kilkenny is kept as quiet as he was in Newbridge there might just be a shock.

brianb (National) - 25/05/2022 17:01:01

Promotion Of Our Games - 2 Like(s)

Replying To legendzxix:  "I'm not a fan of the split season but the GAA seem to have their reasons and they seem determined. There seems to be very little appetite from county boards to move away from the league starting at an the end of January, and the championship ending at the end of July. Is money the main factor? Less expense when the majority of counties are out at the of June. If the National League started at the end of March, the championship could end at the end of September. County championship could complete in December. Provincial club and All-Ireland club championships from January to mid March. Intercounty provincial leagues could run from January to mid March also. County leagues run during the provincial and All-Ireland intercounty championships. Intercounty provincial leagues can run during provincial and All-Ireland club championships."
I'm also not a big fan of the split season either. It trying to get 8 months of inter-county action and 8 months of club action into 6 months each. My main issue with the current calendar is that in the prime playing conditions of July, August and the first half of September we've had 8 inter-county football games and 3 inter-county hurling games. In Kildare we're just starting our club knock out games now. I believe a master fixtures list is the way to go - we can have All Ireland finals at the start of September and county finals at the start of October.

brianb (National) - 22/09/2023 17:32:09

Late County Finals - Split Season - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Pikeman96:  "It's a novel idea, and it would give those counties more time to complete their club championships, since they couldn't start them as early as all other counties. Personally, I wouldn't dismiss it out of hand, but I would wonder the knock-on effects of it if both All-Ireland finalists happened to be from the same province. There are not many other suggestions here from either the Kerry man or the Tyrone man that I'd agree with, though. In particular, I think the suggestion that we should "lose the fascination with dual players" is nothing short of disgraceful."
The dual player and how you accomodate them is an important part of the picture though. Almost every year there is a club doing well in both codes. A team like Slaughtneil or Kilmacud might get to the All Ireland Club final in both codes. They'd probably need to play 12 games in each code to get there. Thats 24 games. If you start the club season at the start of August and alternate hurling and football each week you'd end up with Janruary finals. Perhaps we should plan for that scenario?

brianb (National) - 28/11/2022 15:38:15

Should The Leagues Be Re-Tiered? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Victorious87:  "I think this is a great idea given we're now effectively having a top 16 and bottom 16 in the championship. Division 1 is in a completely different stratosphere to the rest of the divisions and it definitely widens the gap even more come championship. Division 4 is also just the absolute pits of a competition, It's nearly the same teams playing each other every year. Whichever teams come down from division 3 usually bounce straight back up and I know for a fact it's turned some players off committing in Wicklow anyway. If you started the year with every team technically being in with a chance of qualifying for Sam then I think you would have a much more competitive league. Imagine being a footballer for Wicklow next year knowing you're going back to playing against Leitrim, Waterford, Wexford, London and Carlow again, and now, regardless of how you do in the league, you will most likely be playing them again in the championship."
Thats an interesting viewpoint. Perhaps an ideal compromise here is to have Division 1, 2, 3A and 3B. That way at least there'd be massive league carrot to teams like Wicklow who could and should be more competitive. I'd also be in favour of more fluid promotion / relegation; 3 up & down each year - maybe a playoff between #6 & #3 in adjacent divisions.

brianb (National) - 01/04/2022 10:35:19

Jim Mcguinness-Right As Usual On Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Rubbish…. It hasn't improved any of the weaker teams… It only makes the best teams stronger ( might not be the case with Mayo who flump it every year ) and is only there to try and increase revenue… no other reason"
Very quick to judge - lets wait and see what happens in the next few weeks once the knock outs start. It will be 2 / 3 years before we'll see if it improves any of the weaker teams. One thing for sure - compared to the super 8's where only the best teams got extra games - now all teams get these extra games. That's got to be a big plus.

brianb (National) - 14/06/2023 10:53:12

Kildare Vs Dublin - 2 Like(s)

Replying To brian:  "I'm pretty sure every Kerry and Tyrone fan sang that from the rooftops... sure weren't they both the best team of the 00's? TBF i think the point of comparing this period of Dublin success to Kerry's 70's and 80's team is a bit off track. That Kerry team were together from mainly being around from minor upwards and were a collectively brilliant team. The bones of the Dublin success was based around guys who were there from 2010 and before in some cases and the older guys rolled off over time and were supplemented by younger guys. But how many of the current and former squad have 6 plus all irelands in their back pockets either as starters or subs. Cluxton, Fitzsimons, McMahon, McCarthy, MDMA, Bastick, Daly, Rock, Mcmenamon, Kilkenny and others. The success of the senior team inspired the guys coming through which didn't happen the kerry team in the 80's. Kerry i think lost a lot of players as Micko stuck almost religiously to the same squad for 12/13 years and they then went into a lull from 86 to 97. Jim Gavin infused the team with younger players but still kept the older players involved so it's to his credit that tyhey were set up for continued success as he integrated lads over time and then they became starters. Micko didn't do that and Kerry were in limbo for almost a decade. Yes i see the point you make about a conveyor belt, but success breeds success. In Meath we won in 87/88 and then won minor's/U21's in 90,92 and 93 which formed the backbone of teams winning all irelands in 96 and 99. Kerry missed a trick in the 80's, Dublin haven't."
I agree with pretty much everything you said there and 2/3 years ago I would have come to the same conclusion. That's before the likes of the Brogan, Connolly or Flynn were each arguably replaced by as good or better. I think this is structural and is going to continue on unless something changes. There another new Dublin team emerging there with the likes of Murchan and the Basquels ready to step up. There is a competitiveness problem at the top end of the football championship. I'm not sure how many Leinster / All Ireland titles in a row Dublin need to win before everyone will agree that is a big problem.

brianb (National) - 05/08/2021 21:11:53

Replying To sligo joe:  "To be fair it is the men behind the ball that encourages the "keep-ball", not the other way round!"
Its a two way street - if Dublin wanted to try and send quick 60/40 ball into the forward line they could have. They chose a more cautious and methodical approach. It worked - they scored 20 points. Both teams played sweepers and both teams crowed midfield.

brianb (National) - 04/08/2021 15:36:21

Kildare Vs Dublin - Leinster Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "Keep the faith? Sure there was no drive or intensity shown by Kildare team whatsoever, no bit of fight in the players. They're some of the most basic requirements to win anything."
I still think this Kildare side has the makings of a very good team. Certainly the makings of the best Kildare team in the last 20 years. I also think this management team will get the best out of them. I didn't see a lack of drive in the team but I did see a shell shocked team not knowing what to do. A day like Sunday could set us back years if we let it. Lets remember Dublin themselves shipped 5 goals against Meath before they went on to become the best team this century. Lets take our beating; learn from it; not dwell on it for too long and move forward. So what can we learn? 3 of the starting backs were on the team that shipped 5 goals against Meath 2 years ago. Individually they are not good enough to contain a reasonably adept forward line never mind the most potent line in the country. Until we unearth maybe 2 top man markers we'll need a defensive structure more like last year's Leinster final allied with a hard running fast breaking game feeding ball into the likes of Jimmy Hyland and Dan Flynn. That will cause all teams a lot of trouble.

brianb (National) - 30/05/2022 14:33:48

Replying To TheUsername:  "A combination of factors I think, that's experiential on the ground. We were very lucky, to have a group of players come along, some very talented and some who just exceptionally improved themselves, Bernard speaks very equalantly about it as Superstar syndrome, essentially hit young things don't alway succeed, but the lads who are never the super stars in fact often rejected are spurned on by that rejection, work twice as hard to develop and eventually over take superstars - we had a good few of those lads, Bernard himself, Fenton, MDM, O Gara, Macker, Bastick, Flynner, Philly and maybe even Cluxton - you wouldn't have picked anyone of those lads out at underage in fact many didn't always make that grade, but they fought for it, that created the culture. We were then blessed with actual superstars breaking throuh with coming into that culture, Costello, Jack, Kilkenny, Con and Howard - you could tell from outer space we're going to make it. Lads like John Small, Murch, Mannion were maybes but came into the above culture. The whole thing gloriously came together, we had 25 of pure quality a perfect balance of winning culture, high standards youth, expierence, hard work and fight, it was fierce and player driven. It brought them all to new heights. Structurally, I think a big contribution was Gavin particularly took club politics out of the County team, Giller was getting there but he was very much a Vincent's man and that showed. Historically the Dublin Senior team was bar a few excretions mostly made up of a Northside strongholds. Crokes for example we're winning club All Ireland in the 90s and very few of their players got a crack at Dublin, the ones that did would tell you there faces never fit. There was always that divide, that changed over this era, the two half of the Liffey came together to form one Dublin that was significant. I'd also acknowledge funding helped, not the GDF, but the commercial funding. Dublin want for nothing but the County team pays for itself through commercial revenue, it's a juggernaut, I'd have no problem saying that. That allowed Dublin to always innovate and be at the cutting edge, leading the arms race in a way, now everyone's following. Off the field a strategic plan was put in place at County level, not only that but it was project managed to implementation which maximised Dublin as an entity in synergy in terms of commercial potential, sporting excellence and development. We were very luck to have some captains of industry lend themselves to this and volunteer to assist Dublin GAA fulfil its potential. I mean Giller himself is no slouch on that score. The huge criticism of course is GDF for the big population, to be honest I'm not sure that's a wise investment. Participation rates haven't increased significantly since Kelly started his plan. The Dubs success saved his blushes in many ways. But I think we are returning to mean now, what we have achieved isn't sustainable in the long term, as it's a combination of so many vairbles all going right at the same time for a short period. I see the regression. I don't really care what other counties do or have done, we're Dublin, we're trail blazers, we do it our own way, it's our way."
I don't think luck comes into it. Dublin have had a great group of players come through together consistently over a period of 15 years following a massive injection of cash into the underage structures. The plan worked and saved football in the capital but has been very detrimental to the rest of Leinster. There's nothing to be gained by discussing the past over and back. I see the additional funding Dublin have been given as the extra bit that tipped the balance you think providing funding for full time coaching has nothing to do with subsequent success that the natural advantages of being the capital and a big city is all that mattered. What I will say is that I can look around the local clubs here in Kildare and see great work being done - but over the past 20 years in general the GAA clubs haven't really grown and may actually have shrunk but there's been a massive growth in Rugby locally. 16/17 Leinster championships is the canary in the coal mine for football. The playing field needs to be level.

brianb (National) - 05/08/2021 11:17:51

Nobody Shouted Stop - Our National Game Being Destroyed And Dumbed Down - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Find all the negativity, a bit wingy to be honest, no rule to say you dont have to play the game a certain way, Derry found a way to win and fair play to them, no one in Derry will be ***** and im delighted for them. If you have limits you find a way to compete. No issues. But more importantly if you want to win All Irelands you have to play against every set up and system and win, thats the competitiveness of the game and trophies are won and lost in that context. Delighted for Derry great scenes for their faithful and brilliant for the game there after many years dogging it out, thats the spirit of this sport and its a good news story. You cant win, Kerry and Dublin get harnged by putting teams to the sword playing attacking creative football, Derry get harrnaged for finding a way way to win against all the odds bearing a plethora of Div 1 teams and outsie bets for Sam - should be lauded im delighted for them. Go out and beat if your clever enough. Winging for winging sake. Congrats Derry."
I agree with this. Congratulations to Derry. A very hard fought win. Any ball into the inside the 50 was fought over and hard won. Making the space to get a shot off was extremely difficult. Every score mattered. The skill of getting a half yard of space to fire off an accurate shot while being closed down by 2 defenders shouldn't be discounted. I'm sure a neutral would have enjoyed the ulster final more than the one-sided open kicking game witnessed in Leinster. Its a style that might not win beat Kerry or Dublin this year but they've earned their chance.

brianb (National) - 30/05/2022 14:50:18

Upcoming Special Congress - 2 Like(s)

Replying To tyroneed:  "In answer to the above... the Leinster Championship hasn't mattered in over a decade. Last year there was a great game between Louth and Offaly, the reward for which under that structure was Louth were gone at the end of the game and Offaly were gone shortly afterwards. Next year under option B both Offaly and Louth would have a realistic chance of getting into the second stage of the championship. They'd be playing more games that mattered. The Leinster championship is holding back football in Leinster."
The only team the Leinster Championship hasn't mattered for is Dublin. It didn't matter to them because they were streets ahead of the rest of the teams in Leinster since about 2012/13 and the rest of the country for a good part of that too. It would be like saying the Ulster Championship doesn't matter to Down or Derry because they haven't won it for a while. Under the backdoor system both Offaly and Louth could have gone on a good run through the qualifiers. Under Proposal B their season would have been over as runners up in Div 3 & 4 respectively.

brianb (National) - 18/10/2021 14:45:13

GAAGO - 2 Like(s)

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I guess I might aswell get this subject up again.3 cork games behind a bloody paywall in hurling and think I also saw tipp/Waterford..is it 38 games I see in both codes that are now behind this..is this the RTÉ way of making money back due to the mismanagement of funds...I'd be hoping that RTÉ news channel could be used..it's being used when it suits them..it was used for the under 17 soccer World Cup in recent weeks..I'm hoping others agree with me but maybe I'm one of the dinosaur brigade."
This could be the next RTE controversy. Nobody can see whats going on due to "commercial sensitivity". That is not really an argument in my opinion. For example -the premier league reached an management for Sky to pay 6.7 billion for 4 years rights to show premier league football. This figure is in the public domain and so not commercially sensitive. As a public services broadcaster RTE should not be involved in a paywall for Irish people. My idea - make it free for everyone who has a TV licence.

brianb (National) - 07/12/2023 16:24:38

Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I would find it really embarrassing as a GAA person if the GAA changed the date or time for the Leinster final because Leinster qualified for their rugby cup final. I like rugby, I watch most Ireland international matches but the media really go over the top promoting it, it is a minority sport in every country in the world except New Zealand (ok Wales if you count it separately to Great Britain). Years ago I remember a Meath match throw in being deferred due to Ireland playing a European championship match. This made sense, the European soccer championships are a huge international event. The rugby cup final is just not at that level. If the European rugby cup wants to defer their kick off time let them do it. In reality a much bigger factor as to whether a big Kildare crowd travel will be how positive they are about their team."
The reality is that kids are playing more than one sport. In Kildare there are good rugby clubs sitting alongside good football clubs. A lot of kids play for both. We've forced them to choose between supporting their top level local rugby team or their top level local football team - both in finals. I wouldn't be calling for a change in the match time due to the clash. But it is a clash that should never have happened in the first place. It's happened due to rushing to complete the season as quick as possible. Whats the rush? The whole season could have been pushed by a week allowing for better promotion of the provincial football finals without a clash with other big sporting events. Better promotion of the games could only be a good thing.

brianb (National) - 24/05/2022 11:11:37

Replying To sligo joe:  "Not sure if you are being deliberately obtuse but it should be clear that county teams are turning over playing personnel at a much faster rate this century than last e.g Kerry team 2004 to 2009, 4 titles, only 8 from 2004 started in 2009 and the next most successful team of the first decade of this century Tyrone had only 5 starters in 2008 from their first of three wins in 2003. So not unique to the Dubs."
Nobody in Kerry or Tyrone were claiming they had a Golden Generation in the early 2000's. A lot of Dublin supporters have. All teams these days have a lot more movement in and out of panels than in the past. To me that shows Dublin's success is based on a conveyor belt of talent coming through rather than a golden generation.

brianb (National) - 05/08/2021 14:44:37