Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from greenfan

New Donegal Manager - 6 Like(s)
whether you like Bonner or not, he's a volunteer who has given serious commitment to Donegal football for many years as a player and a manager at u16, u17, minor, u21 and senior. I don't think its fair to start a discussion on who is going to replace him as manager while he is still doing the job and doing his best for the county.

greenfan (Donegal) - 15/07/2021 16:29:45

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "To take that point, Paddy Carr didn't get to pick his backroom team. He was told that if you accept Aidan O'Rourke as your Head Coach you have the job. And I think you are right with your second point, neither of them are good enough."
Whole thing stinks. Carr forced to take O'Rourke as his head coach and now o'rourke ends up in the top job. Have to feel sorry for Carr, an honourable man who cares about Donegal, shafted by people who only care about themselves and what they can get out of their involvement.

greenfan (National) - 25/03/2023 11:42:43

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Just because people don't go to every game doesn't mean they aren't 'real donegal supporters'. We live in a very disadvantaged county. It's a 300 Km round trip from my house to Clones. At current fuel prices that's an expensive trip. Also, the tickets for myself, the wife and 3 kids will cost €65. I simply cannot afford that for every game, same with a lot of others in the county, so we have to pick and choose games. So please stop this nonsense saying that people who aren't sitting in the stand for every county game aren't proper supporters. Without the support of clubs there would be no county teams.. We have hundreds of club volunteers all over the county who give their time every week coaching, fundraising, selling lottos, making tea , sandwiches for games, umpiring at games etc etc, many of those people don't go to county games. From some of the chat on here, they're not real Donegal supporters either. Stick to debating the football and stop the childish no sense about who's the best supporter

greenfan (National) - 09/06/2022 19:46:14

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Didn't he (Murphy) tell the GAA social that he made his mind up after the Armagh game? As I said before, Donegal fell into the same trap Kerry did in the 80's.... Had a fantastic successful group of players but didn't look to the future and develop the replacements. Donegal fans are just going to have to sick it up for next few years until new talent comes through (hopefully) On a more positive note, I watched Odhran McNeilis last weekend in fintra. Looks lean and showed glipses of old player. Played midfield. Hopefully next year's management get him back, he is only 30 (I think)"
MacNiallais won't be back playing for Donegal. People need to look forward and stop looking back at Murphy, MacNiallais etc.

greenfan (National) - 19/04/2023 11:00:43

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Who else is there? Murphy is 33 and has taken a serious amount of abuse physically over years. McNealis is 30 and hasn't played intercounty for a number of years so has a bit of freshness about him. He also appears to be in best shape in a long time. I would rather see McNealis than rushing Eoin mcgettigan back too soon as others are suggesting....the last thing you want is for him to do his knee a third or fourth time Serious lack of forward options in county panel, you could do worse than bring McNealis back."
You can't just 'bring people back'. They have to want to play inter-county. MacNiallais is probably fresh looking because he is free from the burden of playing inter county football and all the pressure, training and work that goes with that. He had some tough times in the past in his personal life and probably stepped away for his own good and probably because he wants to play football, not be part of a 15 man defensive setup which is what most modern teams have become. Its great to hear that he is rejuvenated and enjoying football again, good luck to him, he'll be some asset to his club if he's playing well. There's more important things in life than playing for your county.

greenfan (National) - 19/04/2023 16:31:51

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "This is not that season. This season ends the same way it did in Crossmaglen a decade ago, and will signal the premature end of a few county careers. The only hope is that it pushes some to break through that glass ceiling like Colm McFadden, Neil McGee, and Rory Kavanagh did."
Jim mcguinness pushed those players to break through the glass ceiling. Our team now is very similar to how they were back then, talented but lacking the belief, mental toughness , desire and physicality to be a really top team. Without a top class manager in place next season they won't improve

greenfan (National) - 01/04/2023 16:14:42

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Yeah that is true, the schools are doing the best they can with the resources they have, lack of pitches to train on, not enough coaches, etc. If the academy got up and running could they provide the schools with coaches or help in some other manner? The academy was already dong some strength and conditioning stuff with their players at the schools until this mess. We have to use every available means to have our players ready for senior inter county football."
I think working with schools is the way to go, alongside the academy. Loreto community school in Milford put in a big effort in the years before covid, they had a strong team, won a couple ulster's at u16 (arthurs cup level) and ended up moving to the McLarnon cup, made the semi final in their first year. They won the won the league section of the mclarnon. They also won county 'A' u16 and senior titles. They implemented strength and conditioning program, going to the gym twice a week, training in the mornings etc and it paid off. Players got breakfast in school after training. They brought in coaches from the local clubs to help. The Donegal academy can only do so much, but if the schools are supported, they have far more access to the players. From that Milford team Johnny McGroddy, Rory O'Donnell, Dylan Dorrian have been in the county senior panel. Others have played either county minor or u20 (eg.. Bobby McGettigan , Liam McGrenaghan, Ciaran Moore, Eoin O'Donnell, Tiarnan McBride). It might be a coincidence that they had a really good crop of players at once, but the work done with them in the school certainly helped.

greenfan (National) - 27/06/2023 16:59:39

Replying To rorysboys:  "Excuse me I am a Donegal supporter of 40 years. You go back to last Sunday and and the usual fools giving out about donegal management we win today and the usual fools are. Conspicuous by there absence. Fair play to Donegal today showed a lot of heart in the absence of there captain fantastic and definitely the best player that ever played for Donegal.. don't lecture me you of two posts."
Plenty people , good donegal gaa supporters have had to emigrate over the years and cannot attend every game. Plenty good gaa supporters have other reasons why they cannot attend every game due to work commitments and other responsibilities. Maybe their health isn't good enough. They're still entitled to express their opinion without being called fools. Just because someone has time to build up over 1000 posts on Hogan Stand doesn't give them the right to attack everyone else who espresses their opinion.

greenfan (National) - 07/02/2022 09:17:32

Talk about getting carried away... Some of the posts in here recently after 2 wins against two very average division 2 teams. People saying some of our players are among the best in the country, talk of the squad being better that the 2012 squad. Everyone needs to take a step back, lower the expectations a bit.

greenfan (National) - 10/02/2024 15:09:24

Replying To totalrecall:  "Devenney has got himself a nice little gig on the punditry circuit and unfortunately wooly and others on otb think they are getting a view of what is happening on the ground in the county. BD is only reflecting his buddies views from the lk area who have skin in this debacle."
Ridiculous tweet issued from John Haran praising the county chairman, his fellow clubman for 'calling in Croke Park to clean up the mess left by others' .

greenfan (National) - 24/03/2023 14:07:54

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Fair play to Paddy Carr for mentioning the people of Creeslough in his post match interview.

greenfan (National) - 29/01/2023 20:26:42

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "O'Donnell was good, but our corner-back kept the best forward in Ulster scoreless from play."
Looks like a proper defender like the way defenders used to be. I like the way he is all over the forward as he's going for the ball. Too many of our other 'defenders' are usually miles off the forward when he takes possession.

greenfan (National) - 07/02/2023 20:28:30

Replying To gunman:  "Why do you think O'Rourke is no good at his job.He is an All Ireland winner,All Star and multiple Ulster title winner and has been involved in coaching since he retired from playing."
Because the donegal team that he is coaching play with no intensity, start games poorly, have no direction or structure to how they play. They look like they are making it up as they go. He may be coaching since he retired from playing but there's nothing on his coaching cv to say he's capable of preparing a top level inter County team. Winning medals as a player doesn't make u a good coach.

greenfan (National) - 26/03/2023 11:32:19

Replying To StockholmGael:  "You obviously paid no heed to the PRO announcement: ' The new http://donegalgaa.ie is now LIVE!! As previously outlined, I ask that you bear with me whilst I work to adjust, improve & enhance the new site. I ensure my best efforts at all times. Your patience in the past months has been appreciated! Sinéad, PRO CLG Dhún na nGall'"
The way they have launched the website is exactly the right way to do it. Everything isn't completely finished, but by launching it they will get feedback on how it's performing and identify any bad user experiences that can be improved in due course. That's how modern IT systems are developed.

greenfan (National) - 24/03/2024 17:20:36

New Donegal Manager - 3 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "Going by today's paper bonner is shaking things up. Head coach is no 1 priority it says. who it is will be interesting. Rochford the paper says is wanted by the players and is keen to stay which is positive news. I said all along that if players weren't happy with management team that they would be gone. I'm damn sure bonner would have spoke to players since the Tyrone game. Bonner's comes across as a smart man who's in it for the right reason s."
not sure its a good sign if players want Rochford. Maybe he's too easy on them, maybe they're not being pushed enough. Donegal have achieved nothing since Rochford came on board, clearly his appointment hasn't worked. Everyone knows how Donegal will set up and play. Looking at other top counties, they seem more tactically aware, they have coaches who are able to change things from game to game, small tactical things to give them an advantage.

greenfan (Donegal) - 09/09/2021 14:51:40

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Our main area of weakness is defence..the full back line. No one goes out to play poorly for their county so won't be naming names on here but some "senior"players shouldn't be near that team. We would get torn apart I'd we played man on man football. I don't blame Bonner and I don't blame Carr , we simply dont have quality defenders. Everyone raves about Ban going forward with ball in hand , we can't see the best of him because he's stuck in the FB line marking someone. On a side note young Curran , Mc Colgan, Grant look like prospects. But no player nationwide, especially defence walks into inter county teams. It takes years."
You are correct in everything you say. There are no proper defenders in the county because clubs aren't playing man on man football, even at underage teams are playing defensively. Nobody is coaching players how to tackle. Its all about surrounding players and winning turnovers. The responsibility of stopping your direct opponent is gone from the game.

greenfan (National) - 19/02/2023 21:56:46

County Final Appeal Debacle - 3 Like(s)

Replying To thelowball:  "Just trying to get a clear picture of what went down with the black card and the subs in the extra time. Green fan, u say that the black card player was replaced! Was not at game so I don't know circumstances To start extra time are both teams not allowed 15 on field. Also , what is the rule if manager decides to bring his lot to 15 after the sinbin is up with a different player. Is that considered a sub? Neutral, but a definite mess."
Apparently the rule is if u have a black card, u start extra time with 14 until whatever is left of the 10 mins has elapsed even though you are submitting a new teamsheet. If they guy on the black card isn't named on the extra time starting 15, another player has to sit out until the 10 mins for the black card has elapsed. People blame refs and 4th officials for mistakes but the rules and changes to rules every year are making their jobs impossible.

greenfan (Donegal) - 19/08/2021 23:20:45

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Did anyone see John Haran's tweet tonight : "Mike a young lad on the Donegal Panel was thrown off it yesterday after training because he played 30 minutes with his Club on Friday evening. He has played 30 minutes of football since April 27th. Tried to call the Manager to ask permission but no answer. Terrible carry on." Shocking. Wondering who the player is?"
The player played without clearing it with the county manager. He knew the situation when he joined the panel, he knew he wouldn't play club league. There has to be discipline, players can't just decide to play in a club game when it suits them. It's not like the club in question are short of players. There are many smaller clubs out there having to manage in the league without their county panellists.

greenfan (National) - 12/06/2023 09:17:12

It's ironic that people who last week were preaching about rules being rules and saying the decision made by the ulster council was correct, are now complaining about the decision the ulster council people made after the appeal. A few masks slipping.....

greenfan (National) - 12/01/2024 10:09:26

It's amazing how many posters on here know people 'close' to the county setup who have told them how bad the whole thing is at the minute. I was in ballybofey today and witnessed a team fully committed and playing for their manager and county.

greenfan (National) - 29/01/2023 18:07:08