Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from SouthOfTheGap

Donegal GAA thread - 9 Like(s)
On a rare positive note, an absolutely fantastic result by the Hurlers against Wicklow, down in Wicklow. It's a massive result in Donegal terms if we are beating a county that touches/borders a traditional hurling county. Well done Mickey McCann.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 25/03/2023 14:38:06

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
I tried to post yesterday, but seems not to have made it past the moderator. Then i awake this morning to rumours of a joint ticket with Aidan O'Rourke and Paddy Carr. Mother of God, if these rumours are true, we are set for a new low in Donegal football. The situation is going from bad to worse. There is only one person responsible for the mess we are in. There's in no point in going over old ground, I have registered my feelings here on a number of occasions in the past, and stated my clear reasons for coming to that belief. I would prefer at this stage now, that we suspend the recruitment until a new County Board Chairman is elected at Convention. The British Conservative Party are in better shape than we are.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 21/10/2022 14:31:42

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Where I agree with Rory in some aspects, I also agree with other posters. We have problems that need to be addressed. And while some might find this post negative, I am still optimistic of a long summer ahead. We have a seriously talented panel of footballers, and on their day could win an All Ireland. But we are now not getting the performances or the results that we would have ground out a couple of years ago. I believe that apart from the game plan issues, which nearly everyone acknowledges, we have also lost our grunt, our hard edge. It reminds me a bit of the pre McGuinness era, when we had men back in defensive positions, but they weren't defending. It appears we have men back now, shadowing, and pointing, but not actually pressing with the required level of aggression. I think that lack of aggression has also spread to our ball carrying. It's the type of aggression that you get from Mayo every day. Granted, we're missing some of our bigger units, and it's certainly not helping. As somebody else mentioned, you'd be hoping that Bonner has an alternative game plan which he is keeping under wraps, but I'm not so sure he has. I remember seeing league games under Jim, and indeed he mentions it in his book, and which was especially the case in 2014 in Division 2, but you came away from those games seeing some wee thing that you knew was being worked on, let it be a specific kick out, and it was produced that summer. As for the injuries, the ones we are picking up can't all be down to bad luck. Okay, Caolán McGonagle broke a bone in his hand, but with the others you'd have to question things. Jamie Brennan had an operation last summer, came back and played 20 minutes, off injured again. He came on Sunday with a knee bandage that Anthony Molloy and Rambo would've been proud of. I've heard rumours he's for the knife again this week. Michael Langan broke down in training again. Ciaran Thompson broke down again. Michael has been managing, but only just. Has Hughie broken down again? Niall O'Donnell? All these men have been out, came back, and are gone again. In regard to the punditry, it's terrible. Lazy rhetoric - Contenders one week, also rans the next. As we have seen, there are huge question marks over the form of Ryan McHugh, yet he was on team of the week for a 5 minute cameo, in a game where he kicked 3 terrible wides. That sums up the media at the minute. Final point, for what its worth; Patrick McBreartys movement and work rate are not good enough for him to be in the bracket of a top class forward. He needs to do more.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 15/03/2022 12:43:52

Sean Cavanagh Kerry Fans Dogs/Animals - 6 Like(s)
I have personally witnessed a Tyrone fan spitting at Karl Lacey in Omagh. And I also personally witnessed a former Tyrone player of the 80's with long blonde hair and an ear ring fighting with a woman and her 14/15 year old son in the stand in Ballybofey a couple of years ago, because they jumped up to celebrate a Donegal goal. Talk about your own animals Sean.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 11/07/2019 14:44:59

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "One or two, maybe 3 of them can, certainly not all of them can. I contend that we have just as many that can. To use an example of a retired player as not to single out any of our current players, Paddy McGrath didn't go up and kick many points, but he was one of the best man markers in the game, and an absolute monument of a man. Yes he made breaks up the field to support the play, but he didn't carry the ball, and certainly did not carry into contact. If Derry saw Paddy soloing the ball up the field in the Ulster Final like our current corner backs, Rory Gallagher would have been rubbing his hands even more than usual. You accused me of being all opinions and no answers. If you can produce evidence that all Kerry defenders can go up the field and kick points, produce it please. Otherwise its just your opinion you are offering, the same as everyone else on this forum. You accused me of disrespecting players. I did no such thing. You'll not find one single post of mine where I name a player as not being good enough. I may say they are not being used in the wrong role, but not that they are not good enough. Most players who pull on a Donegal county jersey are capable of doing a job, but that doesn't mean they can do every job, nor should they have to. There's no need to be on attack mode with everyone who contributes an opinion you don't agree with. You've gotten my back up unnecessarily. If I don't get back on this evening, it's because I've a match to go to this evening after I have training with the kids."
Rory, you accused me of being "all opinions, no answers". I gave you my answer, and I invited your reply, but you just chose to belittle me. If I said Player A was very good at going forward, you would say that he can't defend like a Kerry man. If I said Player A was a great man marker, you'd say but he can't go up and kick scores like a Kerry man. I asked you to back up your opinion, but you failed to do so. You asked me to back up my opinion in relation to Bonners first backroom team, and I replies with a link. That's how you present facts. So if you want facts here they are. I made the point that we do indeed have man markers, but we needed to start using them more intelligently. You replied all Kerry defenders can man mark and go up and kick points, and challenged me to name those that can't. In the last 2 years, League and Championship, Kerry have scored 39 Goals, 371 points (478). Their defenders have contributed 45 points of that total. Of their starting 6 defenders the last day, they have contributed 40. That is 12% of their total score. I grant you, Tom O'Sullivan (17), Gavin White (10) will cause serious harm, whilst Brian O'Beglaioch has chipped in with a 7. So, those 3 have contributed 85% of their defenders scores. To directly answer your question, Tadhg Morley is the perfect example. He sits and defends. His primary role is to break up play. Out of 478, he has not raised a flag. Jason Foley sits and defends. He did score one of the 6 goals I'm the famous rout over Tyrone, but I would call that an exception to the rule. Which returns me to my original post, where I said I believe that Ward and McMenamin are more than accomplished as man markers, but not ball carriers. So if you look at the Ulster Final, both of those players were carrying the ball up inside the Derry 45 and further. And this was whilst we had Michael Murphy as our last defender. Read that out loud, and ask yourself if that makes sense. Imagine the outrage in Kerry if the aforementioned Morley and Foley were inside the opposition half, and David Clifford as their last defender.... I have never been part of the anti Bonner brigade as you may refer to them. I have said previously, he was the outstanding candidate in 2017 when he was appointed. And the first couple of years were impressive. But as I think I have fairly displayed above, I now believe that we are tactically inept. For this you have to point the finger at management. Finally, my opinion, and I am allowed have one on a forum, is that you owe me an apology. "All opinions, no answers" you said. I have given you fact based answers. You have accused me of disrespecting players. I certainly have not. Show me where I have. As I've said above, I have never been one of the anti Bonner brigade. And you cannot insult me by calling me an armchair supporter. So I'd appreciate it very much if you could desist from insulting and abusing me. Unless you have a hatred for facts. As you arrogantly finished your reply to me this week, "Case Closed".

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 16/07/2022 20:54:30

Season Tickets - 5 Like(s)
The 7 league game package is €100. But the regular Season ticket package is €150. So you are paying an extra €50 for what? You are paying a €50 premium so that you will be given the right to buy tickets to Championship matches. A major problem is that for most Championship games your club/county board will advise you to go direct to Supervalu/Ticketmaster to get your tickets, because they don't want the hassle of it. The approach this year was that if had paid your club membership you received an email prior to General sale to allow you buy tickets. So in essence it's a €50 bet on having the right to buy an All Ireland ticket. Which makes it a good value bet if you are a Dublin supporter. Not a bad bet if you are a Mayo supporter. But for the rest, it's not a bet worth taking. I'm disgusted with it.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 13/12/2023 23:19:10

Derry V Donegal Ulster Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "Donegal won't win the All Ireland but might have a kick in them to win an Ulster title. Derry are a coming team, should of been promoted and are very well coached. They're a team with potential to give the All Ireland a go, we won't know until they reach Croke Park, but we know the Mayo's, Dublin's, Kerry's will beat this Donegal team. Looking forward to the Ulster Final where experience could be key. Derry need a strong ref as Donegal know how to win frees in the scoring zone and they'll try to use Derry's physicality and hard (fair) tackling to their advantage by falling when tackles come in; another tactic of Donegal is their key players will be putting pressure on the referee from early on, they're players who are well know as Derry would be unknown personalties and that can impact a referee. If the ref is clued into that and strong, Derry don't let the occasion get to them then I think they could win it comfortably."
Here Sam, give your head a wobble. I happened to be a neutral observor at the Derry Monaghan game on Sunday, and just to be clear, Derry have very little to learn when it comes to the dark arts. No 15 was down at least twice to get the game stopped in the 6 or 7 minutes before he was substituted. I expect him to be fit for the next day ;-). I also counted maybe 6 or 7 occasions at least when Monaghan had the momentum where Derry players went down, and lay on the ball, and Monaghan players went wrestling to get the ball back, resulting in another 30 or 40 seconds taken off the clock on each occasion. But sure get your I told you so's in early.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 18/05/2022 15:43:14

The Donegal/Armagh Row - 4 Like(s)
It appears that Donegal are so talented, and have such supreme control of their destiny, that they could decide to win a tight game by a point, which resulted in them staying in Division 1, and then have the wherewithall to start the fight that they'd planned from the start. I'd say they had it all planned from before Christmas. But fair play to the Armagh supporters who saw through our cunning plan, and recognised from the start that they were the victims. People will remember the swagger they had in the noughties, it didn't take long for them to rediscover it, a couple of league wins in January, and they are back where they belong. Back at the top table with Tyrone levels of arrogance. You couldn't make it up. Pressure's on now boys, hope it goes well for yiz....

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 20/04/2022 13:40:44

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "Are you still crying about the Derry game, a game of small margins. Look how Derry have done since then. Every game in championship is different easy writing here about game plans and showing your hand. Foolish talk in my mind. To win anything you need a bit of luck too. Me thinks too many experts about."
I referenced the Derry game, as it is a game most people would remember, not just experts like yourself. Everyone knows that you are the foremost expert on this forum RorysStories. But you must get lonely up there in your Ivory Tower, considering that you have to constantly denigrate the opinions of others. If you don't like what other people have to say, maybe a "Forum" isn't the best place for you.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 06/02/2024 17:25:33

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm no bluffer lad. Hearing now there's a bit of a problem with managerial appointment . Can't divulge anymore I'm told to say nothing. Yous chased bonner who was a real Donegal gaa man . I love the silence from a few of the warriors on here. Lol"
Told to say nothing, that'll test ya! I didn't chase Bonner. I was very much pro Bonner, right till the Ulster Final and Qualifier no shows this year. Unfortunately, he (or everyone in the camp) ran out of ideas. A fresh voice is required. I believe we have the talent to succeed. A bit like yourself Rory, there'll be no radio silence from me, it's not an ability I possess.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 14/09/2022 11:57:17

After receiving a couple of WhatsApp messages regarding the new set up, all of which came from a Leinster source with a little bit of knowledge of what's going on. Of course he was only passing o what he had heard, and they rightly have to be treated with caution, but heaven above, if there's any truth to them, we are in for a world of pain. They would certainly start to explain Michaels decision, which no matter what anyone claims, did come as a complete bolt from the blue. It is said that Carr and O'Rourke have no backroom team in place! Has there been a withdrawal by the Eunans contingent?

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 18/11/2022 18:04:34

Mayo V Donegal (Mchale Park) - 3 Like(s)
Before I even start on the football, what a disaster of a day. 3 hours 15 minutes from Bundoran, that I could comfortably do today in 1 hour 40. And that was leaving at 1:15. Now we were lucky enough to get a seat on the far 21m line, but for the stewards to beat everyone in the same gate, and down the same narrow path was an absolute joke. It was no joke, it was incompetence at the highest level. You couldn't make it up. Onto the match itself. We tried to play dry day football on a wet day. Mayo got on top of us, and with the slightest touch in the conditions the ball was gone. We didn't lay a glove on them in the first half. We let them settle themselves on the ball, shadowed them, and then were surprised when they ran at us. It was very naive. We are used to teams backing off to into their defensive shape on the 45, where we then have time to play over and back until an opportunity presents itself. Mayo prevented this, and never let us settle. And then the panic set in. Taking the wrong option in the case of a couple of goal chances, pot shots, defensive frailties. I had believed that we were a shining example of composure, but all that went out the window yesterday evening in the rain. But even though I'm hurting today, imagine how the players will feel. I hope that they will carry it with them into the winter night (in a good way), and that they will learn from it. I know that we have the footballers, some may be short of experience, but they will learn, hopefully soon. And finally, the Super 8's, win lose or draw, what a pile of dung!

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - 04/08/2019 19:38:36

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
A very courageous display by Donegal today. They were 6 points behind, and Kerry were in control. To steady the ship, and to get it back to 3 by half time gave us real hope at half time, especially with a strong breeze in our favour in the second half. We had a fantastic opening to the second half, and showed terrific spirit. Kerry came back very strong, and dominated for a 10/15 period before the last 5 minutes. In my view, Patton's inclusion was crucial, his kick outs put opposing teams back a step towards their own goal. Curran wasn't bad, a tigerish display. McColgan was unbelievable. Midfield broke even. All of our half forward line acquitted themselves very well. I thought Jamie Brennan was also very good, in that he was offering himself as the outball when we needed it, and he was stretching the Kerry defence. Overall, delighted with the points. We got Kerry at the right time. And looking at the fixtures ahead, if we get a victory against Tyrone next Sunday I believe that we will be free from the threat of relegation for another year. Next Sunday will tell the tale.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 29/01/2023 19:34:21

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2022/11/22/news/kicking_out_donegal_had_nothing_left_to_offer_murphy_not_the_other_way_round-2913140/ Cahair O'Kane puts it very well.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 22/11/2022 17:36:58

The Donegal/Armagh Row - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ardmhacha:  "It is just unbelievable reading these comments - open season on Armagh and a number of their players over a bit of a skirmish that happens (sadly and wrongly) all over the country. Donegal people are blaming Armagh, Armagh people are blaming Donegal etc etc. I'm sure there'll be a couple of suspensions either way and rightly so as this behaviour in general needs stamped out - but every team is at it! To slate one team is just unbelievable - both were equally to blame for this incident.. eg.. a young, very talented Armagh forward randomly attacks a Donegal defender at the final whistle for no reason.. I don't think so. The lad just fell into the trap and will probably be suspended. Let's not talk about the battering he took from a high profile, veteran defender from Donegal who then left the pitch to a standing ovation!! Look, there's no difference to Armagh, Donegal , Kerry, Dublin, Mayo etc etc! All capable of great football and all capable of the handbags. Unfair to totally slate one team for it - a team that has been praised for their open attacking football over the last few years. For the record, I felt Tyrone were unfairly treated and slated in the league match against us which was 50/50 in my opinion."
Why was the "high profile, veteran defender" on the field in the first place? Because his young up and coming replacement, having a very good game, had to go off to get treatment for a blood injury, and to get a new jersey as the one was wearing was ripped off him by two innocent bystanders, who just happened to be wearing Armagh jerseys. I couldn't see what happened on the Stand side at he end, but I did witness the Grugan attempt to get Murphy involved in a row on the terrace side at the final whistle. Murphy held up his hand to fist pump, and was met with a strike to the chest, and then to wrestle him. Thankfully he didn't have the ability to knock him. He'll have to get further training. A smaller job would suit him.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 30/03/2022 10:05:35

Replying To Lockjaw:  "This media ban is very peculiar. It's not the new leader of the Chinese Communist party they're discussing. A good point is made re: club delegates. Most club delegates attend with genuine intentions I'm sure, and can be trusted to vote according to the mandate given to them by their clubs. But we all know that in each and every club in the country there can be internal rivalries and agendas. By having the local media present a certain level of transparency is assured. The big question that the journalist asks, and indeed I would ask as well, is why the need for such secrecy? Ireland 101 really. Say nothing...."
The author, Gerry McLaughlin, although an Erne Gaels, Belleek clubman, and a respected GAA man, would have a wealth of knowledge of the County Board Chairman The article rightly mentions when the press are present, you may have an element of grandstanding by some delegates. But on the other side of that coin, when held in camera, many delegates could be under pressure not to raise their hand, to ask the question that needs to be asked. Also, and I've seen it myself at meetings, you try to raise a point, but the Chair will rule it out of order. At least in those circumstances the intention of the delegate may reach the outside world, and maybe improved upon for the next occasion. Personally, I would be worried about how business is being conducted, at a time when we are at a crossroads.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 19/07/2022 10:56:04

Replying To Scenicparish:  "100% You either support your County Team or you dont. Very poor crowd, fantastic Stand and well organised venue. No excuses, with e tickets now, the County Board should be able to prove how many matches you go to and on that basis the Tickets for Celtic Park, Derry should be given out."
Personally I'd say it was a very inconvenient time, especially for families. In most homes with kids, Saturday mornings up to afternoon are absolutely chaotic, with football (Gaelic and soccer) or swimming, or dancing or whatever. Even if the game had to have been at 5 o'clock it would've been more convenient for these people.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 17/02/2024 23:05:41

Was interested to read the Chairman's comments. I would say that most posters on this forum attend matches, and are entitled to their opinions. Most opinions here are well formed, on whichever side of the fence they lie. I personally thought his comments were arrogant; he referenced his own great opinion in his programme notes. Well I certainly don't buy a programme to read his opinion. Does he think he's Alex Ferguson? My own personal opinion is that the in recent years appointments have been fairly closed shop. Also, the Vice Chairperson of the County Board should not be from the same club as the Chairman. To me, it stifles debate and even accountability. I think it's his last year anyway, but I think a change will be welcome.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 03/03/2022 19:34:14

Derry V Donegal Ulster Final - 3 Like(s)

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I saw on the Derry GAA page that they have sold out their own allocation so a big crowd from Derry will be there, hopefully we can bring plenty noise ourselves"
Capacity of Clones reduced from 36,500 a couple of years ago to 26,000 today. Nothing more than a political stunt by the Ulster Council to downgrade the facilities in Clones, so that they can get their shiney new concert venue in Belfast.

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 20/05/2022 19:48:29

Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To moylagh:  "That's the spirit, Meath vs Cavan in a couple of weeks, it should be a great game."
And it'll be played in Knock. Miracles can happen :-)

SouthOfTheGap (National) - 20/11/2020 21:10:14