Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from The keeper

Donegal GAA thread - 7 Like(s)
Rorysboys is at it again, and as usual his knowledge on Donegal football is limited. First of all, Murphy in at full forward was working. For two reasons, 1. being he was causing panic and winning free's and its takes two+ men to mark him, and 2. being it meant that our half forwards had more space to kick long range points. It stopped working later on because we went well behind because of the goal keepers mistakes and going down to 14 men. And then there was aimless ball kicked in with 4+ armagh men in there when we were already beaten at that stage. Try understand the game. We were actually out playing armagh before the costly mistake, but yet you are saying we dont have the players. We have the players, we just lack the strong mentality that good management instills in a team. At this stage i doubt you even go to games, as your knowledge is so poor, i know you have never played the game. But you would think you would learn something if you went to them. The reality is, we have the players, it is however a very hard job to find a great manager to lead a team. History has shown us that, and there are not many great managers out there. When i think of all the young talent on the bench, and the ones that were playing, i believe if we find that great manager to lead us, we will not be far away. I hope and pray its not back to the days of pre mcguinness, where we had john joe, and our current manager destroying the confidence of our great young players.

The keeper (National) - 13/06/2022 14:38:48

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "I've still never got over the 2014 final, I still have nightmares about it. What went wrong keeper, why did we lose it lad against the worst Kerry team to win Sam.. you still haven't answered the question. Plenty time lad il wait on you. Lol."
Whats with the lol at the end of every post, what age are you, 14? Its very simple, what happened in 2014. A big mistake from are usually reliable goal keeper, kicked the ball straight to the full forward who scored a crucial goal. Which left us chasing the game. The one mistake our manager made was in my opinion, is not start mcbrearty. What we wouldn't do to have them days back, you know, the days where we were competing in all Ireland finals and semi finals. The great days of playing the dubs, kerry, mayo and so on, and actually competed. Sadly not going to happen under our current management, 8 years and not even a semi final. I would personally be embarrassed to stay on with that record, but thats me. Lets hope sometime in the future we will have a management team like 2011 to 2014, that instilled pride in the Donegal jersey again.

The keeper (National) - 03/07/2022 19:57:20

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "Maybe I'm one of the very few talking sense on here. Few questions 1. Where's all the young talent bonner and rochford held back year. 2. Did we find defenders who can man mark and maybe even kick a score what good defenders usually do.. and 3. Where are the players this year who wudnt play for bonner. Answer these questions for me. Too many deluded people on this forum I'm afraid.. what we need is people like bonner to organise the academy in the hope of getting Lacey and Murphy back on board. True Donegal gaa people who want Donegal going well and will do anything to make it possible. Get Murphy in to manage next year even in a player capacity with an experienced coach with him to learn him the ropes maybe a Micky Moran type.. sad to be writing this year off before it starts."
Jesus kid you just dont give up, lol. Bring Bonner back is you answer to everything. Then bring back micky moran, anyone else you want to bring back, that is in there 60s or 70s. Were trying to move forward not backwards. If that means hitting rock bottom then so be it, at least then we can start to rebuild. Lacey was looking after the academy just fine along with his coaches. Its young energetic coaches and managers that will determine the future of Donegal football. And hopefully we have relatively young men and woman to replace the older people on the county board. The county board have made a mess of a lot of things and need replacing. However I dont believe they deserve to be abused, as at the end of the day, they were the ones that stepped up, and there was no queue of people looking to do these jobs. I personally would bring bonner back maybe within the county board as an executive. But I would keep him away from football teams, as he had his chance.

The keeper (National) - 16/04/2023 19:44:44

Replying To rorysboys:  "Do you honestly think a target man was going to work against Derry. If my memory serves me right Rodger's has scored frequently this last few years. Just admit club football in Donegal especially at senior level is ****. Yous play Charles Mc Guinness at full forward but rarely hit high ball into him. .. with the st eunans match on tg4 in a few weeks my wish is that both teams throw off the shackles and go for it. No more robotic football please.."
Comer destroyed Rogers in at full forward in the Galway match that year because he was kept in. Defending isn't Rogers strong point, that's why he is played further out the field now (midfield). We played right into Derry's hands by bringing Murphy out the field. So you are completely wrong again. And the reason we didn't use McGuiness well on Sunday is because our best kick passers were on the bench or away. , Thompson, Doherty, and mcgettigan..... We often use either McGuinness or Leo and sometimes both of them in for a high ball. It's common sense to mix up your game and keep the opposition guessing, plus if you have a big man or two in full forward, it's makes the opposition defence drop back even deeper allowing players in the half forward line to shoot points, or from midfield. Come down to our club and you might get some knowledge of the game.

The keeper (National) - 09/08/2023 11:58:11

Replying To rorysboys:  "Come on now stop the excuses, n Conal have a big enough squad. Injuries happen lad you can't be blaming the defeat on missing two players who are in there mid thirties. For a county like Donegal we have to be beating club teams in Antrim it just proves what I'm saying Donegal football is not in a good place. I watched the glen errigal ciaran game I must say two outstanding teams and a very enjoyable game.. no disrespect to n Conal but st eunans wudnt be losing that game today this might offend a few people but it's true.. best teams don't always win finals. N Conal fans don't waste your time disputing this cause it's true.."
The fact is we were missing key men, its not excuses. Its facts and that stretches you panel. But we still had the game won in normal time and were 4 points up in extra time. So that is down to us not finishing it off, and in fairness the opposition never gave up also. And even Mchugh said the referee was lets put it mildly, harsh on us. So as i said congratulations to them and there supporter's. We all know you wanted us to get beat because your jealous of our success and to make the silly point you made above about donegal football. You can see it in your posts, wanting naomh conail to fail, and even donegal to fail to prove the last management did a great job, how sad is that. But what a club team does in ulster has no reflection on how good or bad a county team is, so nice try, but you failed. Kilcoo are all champions and have been around this last few years, yet Down how have they been doing? When Crossmaglen were winning all irelands, how many did there county win. 1 all Ireland When nemo rangers were winning all irelands, how many did Cork win, they still were in kerrys shadow. You go talking about the other ulster games then, Glen v Errigal Cieran and they must both be brilliant. How many tryone club sides have won ulster? Yet there County side can will All Irelands. So stop wanting Donegal gaa to fail just so the previous management can have some moral victory. And you lecture us and what a real supporter is, yea me and others see right through you.

The keeper (National) - 14/11/2022 10:03:21

Replying To rorysboys:  "Read my post again I did not call all your club cronies. I was referring to the keeper and his stay away supporters. I always had a good time for n Conal and the great work they do. As a matter of fact I have supported them in a lot of county finals. What irks me is a poster running down a great gaa man who has put his life and soul into Donegal gaa.. yes people can criticise but the keeper was against bonner from day one and when they win games he would disappear but when we lost the Ulster Final this year he was the first posting.."
You are completely right in that i never believed Bonner was the right man for the job. And the reason was his first spell managing the county team was uninspiring and unsuccessful. And i have been proved correct by looking at the results in his second spell. Yes he is a great donegal servant and along with many others has put a lot into donegal gaa, but he has gained plenty also. But the reality is he is an uninspiring manager to the players, results have shown that, and also uninspiring to a lot of good gaa supporters. As i said previously, I be chatting regularly with supporters from malin to glen because of my work, who were absolutely die hard supporters that never missed a game. But have simply had enough of the slow, hands off approach of this Donegal team. And they dont blame the players, everyone of them said the talent is there, we are just not getting the best out of them. They all agree a change is needed to reinvent this bunch of players. Nothing personal against Bonner, i never have had a conversation with him in my lifetime, i just simple believe he is not the right man for this job. And i am not the only one. And to say you supported NC in county finals is hard to believe, considering on several different post, all you did was insult or be critical of our club. But this is not about me, rorysboys or any other poster, it should be about what is best for Donegal gaa, and i find it hard to believe anyone believes that Bonner staying on is what is best.

The keeper (National) - 24/06/2022 12:57:19

Replying To rorysboys:  "Where's this great talent that bonner and rochford were holding back last year.. not much noise from the armchair supporters now. I've followed Donegal all my life but I guarantee this if bonner and rochford were still in charge we would still be in division one and looking forward to the Ulster championship with a hope of winning it. ."
Here we go again, the Bonner was doing a great job brigade, the I am a real Donegal supporter brigade, the talent is not there brigade, Bonner was working miracles brigade. Its getting boring at this stage kid. Move on. Bonner had his chance with murphy the best full forward in Ireland, and played him in midfield in ulster final, where his man scored 3 points. When we had no focal point in the forward line and couldn't break Derry down. The fact is we are a badly coached team at the moment that look miles off in terms of fitness and physical strength. That is nothing to do with talent and everything to do with pre season preparation. The fact is we have lost players in murphy, mcbrearty, the 3 o'donnells are county material. And i am sure i forgot others. The fact is the mess the county committee is making of everything, the whole Donegal gaa community is on a downer. But that may not change this year, but with a full squad, the right management team and the best possible preparation for pre season next year, we are more that capable of returning to Div 1. The sad news is there is very few great managers out there with that X factor, as we have seen post mcguinness

The keeper (National) - 27/03/2023 07:17:22

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Three players from south of County get rid of Paddy Carr, one out injured, other coming to end of his county career and the other in fairness the best player in county at present. Carr who has his roots in Fanad area of county didnt fit into the GAA family south of the Gap. Carr should have held firm and did what McGunness did to one of his top players for breach of panel discipline."
I believe you are being a bit unfair to the 3 players by putting all the blame on them. I would imagine they were speaking on behalf of the rest of the panel. And the reality is if things were not up to the standards they expected, its very hard to follow. Did they go about it in the wrong way, yes probably. Should they have done it sooner if they were unhappy, yes they probably should have. But as a player i am sure its not an easy decision to make, especially as i am sure they all believe paddy carr was a decent man. Nothing is ever black and white, and i will never be critical of players who put do much time and effort into training and games. The fact is players from all age groups have been let down by the Donegal committee. And to say that there is some sort of divide between the south and north of the gap is clutching at straws.

The keeper (National) - 24/03/2023 12:13:26

Replying To SignTheContract:  "Aren't the Doherty lads who play for Naomh Conaill original from Ballybofey? But don't think they ever played for MacCumhaills. But fair play to NC, they are a credit. They work hard at it and get their rewards."
The Doherty's have been in fintown for as long as I can remember, which is quite a long time. They have operated a timber business in fintown. So no idea where you got the idea they are from Ballybofey? Let's face it, eunans4ever and rorysboys have only one thing in common, there hatred and dislike of naomh conaill. But when you are successful as a club, you get that from certain individuals. Our success is down to hard work by players and managers who put in the time at underage, and we have got our rewards. Will it last forever, probably not, but I remember the days where we won the intermediate Title, and it was like an all Ireland to the club. So certain individuals can call us whatever name they want, it will not take away from the great days we have had, and hopefully more to come.

The keeper (National) - 21/06/2023 19:28:13

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
The fact is as senior manager in his two spells (8 years), all he has accomplished is two ulster final wins, one against fermanagh and the other against cavan. At a time when tryone were rebuilding, and armagh and derry were finding there way. Not one All Ireland semi final. For a county with the talent we have, that is a pretty poor record. Sadly that is the ambition of rorysboys and Declan, and rorysboys is happy to give this manager another 3 years. Thankfully there are supporter's out there that are airing there displeasure at our lack of ambition and voted with there feet. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, and expecting different results. The time has come to try something new, there are no guarantees that it will work , but surely we have to try. And who knows, maybe we will find a great manager in the mould of mcguinness.

The keeper (National) - 02/07/2022 14:01:55

Replying To rorysboys:  "When you write a post an hour after an Ulster final it's pretty obvious you weren't there. I already questioned the keeper on it and he never denied it. Any more questions"
There are plenty of reasons why people dont go to games, work, family, cost. I simply have very little free time compared to when i was younger, i never missed a game. Does that mean i am not a real supporter? Then so be it. I watch the games live on tv, or record them. I played the game and followed it my entire life, so i think i am entitled to an opinion. I would have loved Bonner to be successful and built Donegal into a force to be reckoned with. But after initial promise we have stalled, and i believe players after a manager has been in charge for a few years get tired of hearing the same voices. They will not come out and say it, but you will see it in the games. Sometimes a new voice and fresh ideas are needed. In saying that, with the talent we have, i still believe we have enough to beat armagh and hopefully get a run out in croke park. Otherwise it will be a big disappointment to supporters and players, and will be hard to see how the management will be able to lift them next season if they stay on. I hope we get to croke park to play a kerry or dublin, thats where i want this Donegal team to be every year. To be competing against the best.

The keeper (National) - 06/06/2022 14:32:46

We could have clifford, Murphy and the Gooch in full forward for donegal and we would still not use them to full effect. Donegal football is destroyed with possession possession possession at all cost, and are afraid to take a man on, and god forbid kick the ball in. Its all club teams do now in donegal. The result is very few players are used to taking on there man and actually beating them, and are afraid to have a go at a score from outside the 14 yard line. Mcguinness played defensive football, however when they counter attacked, we attacked at speed and had strength and courage to have a go at a score. This donegal side is the most frustrating side i have watched in years, and i believe we have great footballers so the management and coaching need to get there act together. This is not just about todays game, the same issues have been around this past few years, and we are not learning from our mistakes.

The keeper (National) - 20/02/2022 14:33:36

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "We are so far of it. Too many limited players, no ambition, no attacking plan just reverse and traverse, no forward gear at all. It is beyond a joke at this stage."
I do not blame the players, i think we have a lot of very good footballers, its management and lack of direction. Management have learned nothing this past few years as we are playing the same crap as previous years. We are physically and mentally weak and thats managements job to instill in a team. Of course we will have a certain poster on here defending bonner, and attacking anyone that questions bonner. But how could you possibly defend the utter crap we are playing. But sadly its to late for change, and our county board would not have the balls to act anyway as everyone is to cosy in the old boys club

The keeper (National) - 20/02/2022 16:14:38

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Yes 100% - our game has been destroyed and it originated over in glenties/Fintown in 2005 - the blue brigade won't like hearing that but it's the sad reality of it. It's not a slate on them - it has brought them great success on the field of play at times - would I care if donegal played the same way and were successful more often than not - I don't think so"
Lazy analysis but no surprise coming from a Eunans man. Tryone and armagh all played ultra defensive football, trying to suffocate the opposition, and were successful, long before Naomh conail. So it was on its way whether we like it or not. Jim mcguinness then took it to another level in regards to defensive counter attacking football, which required fitness levels never seen. The reason I call it lazy analysis is the exact same stuff is said about mcguinness, the usual he destroyed football cliche. Is it mcguinness fault that coaches with less capabilities try and copy that, and fall short. The answer is No. I am a naomh conail man that played the game long before this type of football and i hate it. But i believe every coach has to take responsibility for how there own team plays, and stop the lazy analysis that it was mcguinness or Naomh conail started it. Its lazy and uneducated The way donegal played in 12 and 14 was aggressive counter attacking football that required physical strength and fitness that only a select few top quality coaches can bring. They were also mentally strong Sadly we have not been as physical strong, or mentally strong or even physical fit as them teams. And thats down to management and preparation of teams the last few years.

The keeper (National) - 30/03/2023 11:12:03

Replying To jacktheboy:  "No harm to McGuinness but he destroyed football once , is that not enough."
And how did mcguinness destroy football? By playing great counter attacking football that won us an All Ireland and brought us to the final in 2014 Is it mcguinness fault that uneducated coaches try to copy that style of play and are unable to. The answer is very simple, mcguinness can't be blamed for the job other coaches are doing with there teams, its a weak excuse and every manager has to take responsibility for the job there doing. Its uneducated and silly to blame mcguinness for the mistakes of others. And anyone that thinks the county are better off without mcguinness, lacey and others involved in the academy, well then maybe that explains the mess we are in. I dont blame the players or the current management. The previous chairman and a selection of others are involved for years for Donegal, not for the betterment of Donegal. But for the betterment of there own profile and legacy.

The keeper (National) - 16/03/2023 12:22:52

County Final Appeal Debacle - 4 Like(s)

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Glenties got off on a technicality??? Pretty low stuff lads…"
Lets face it, you have had a problem with naomh conaill for god knows how many years. And it kills you to see our club being successful, which makes it all the more sweeter. You should be thankful to us, after all your best player has glenties blood in him. Bring on the 2021 championship and may the best team win it, like naomh conaill did the past two years.

The keeper (Donegal) - 05/09/2021 16:07:37

The reality is our county board dont want anyone else, regardless of recent results or which direction we are going. As the manager and county board are like family. So how can we expect them to make a decision which will impact in there cosy relationship. That is the problem with Donegal football right there, everyone scratching each others back, and keeping power within. I dont see Bonner stepping aside, irrespective of how poor the last 3 season's have been. And therefore the county board will not remove him. So at least another year wasted. How anyone can support our current management setup after the last 3 season's is crazy. So it does not give me much hope for the future, more of the same of acceptance of failure and back scratching. I will not be supporting Donegal football unless the attitude of acceptance of failure changes. If that makes me not a Real supporter, then i will wear that hat. And i will not be the only one judging by the armagh game and ulster final. I will continue to air my displeasure at our current acceptance of failure, until hopefully one day we actually think like winner's

The keeper (National) - 23/06/2022 15:01:55

Replying To rorysboys:  "I wudnt call you a real supporter fair enough you went to games when you were younger. You still have plenty time to criticise bonner after every defeat but remain silent when we win. You were probably the first poster on after the Ulster final. Says it all. My definition of a real supporter is someone who follows there team through thick and thin. We'll see who the real supporters are this Sunday . This team deserves support must be annoying for them to see us been outnumbered in every game we play. It's about time we came out and supported them ."
I dont really care whether you think i am a real supporter or not. I respect a lot of posters on here, but your definitely not one of them. I would say you never played the game, and would back Bonner even if he dragged us to Div 4. You never hear criticism towards players from me, as i believe we have a very talented and committed bunch. Its sad to see Donegal supporter's hope we get beat against armagh, as no matter who is in charge we should support the player's who are representing Donegal gaa. But i can understand where they are coming from, there tired of poor management and dont want to see this team get humiliated against a kerry or Dublin. I believe we need to get to croke park for our players to experience the occasion, whether we won or lose, we should experience it every year, thats how you know where you are and know where you need to be to compete. So i for one will be hoping for a good performance and hopefully a victory. I also believe whatever happens, this should be management's last year unless by some miracle we won the all Ireland. Its clear that the team needs new ideas and a new voice and lease of life.

The keeper (National) - 07/06/2022 13:25:11

Donegal V Armagh (Qualifiers) - 4 Like(s)
All this rubbish about armagh supporters booing and crap. Get over it, and stop crying. We were beaten fair and square, and have no one to blame but ourselves. We had control of the game and two short kick outs changed the game. Were lucky to get away with first, second one is where we lost the game. Why we were taking short kick outs is anyone's guess, as we have plenty of big men in midfield and the half forward line. There is supporters in every county that are not the easiest to listen to, so move on. What Donegal need to be doing now is rebuilding and hopefully not under our current management

The keeper (National) - 12/06/2022 18:01:06

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Great to see pauric o 'shea talking some sense in the paper today. He stated we have a bunch and panel of players in the county that could match any other county, and that we simply were not getting the best out of them. Stated that we are too passive in our approach and basically stated that was down to management and coaching. He also backed up what most posters on hear stated, that supporter's voted with there feet, and that was the reason for the poor support. Exactly what management is there for, to improve players and get them playing as a team in an aggressive never say die attitude. Its exactly what Mcguinness was critical of other teams for also, men back but no aggression. Its a disheartening time for the county if our current management continues, as it will be the same passive approach that has been evident in every team he has managed. And dont expect our county board to save Donegal football, as we seen there approach last year. Worrying times for Donegal football i am afraid. Back to the days pre 2011

The keeper (National) - 21/06/2022 13:33:23