Cork Forum

Popular Posts from bennybunny

Davy Gough - 9 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "The two best refs in ire are both Meath men. Lots of the others could learn a thing or two from them."
Agreed and the best thing about it is they will always be free to referee major finals and semi finals.

bennybunny (National) - 09/06/2019 09:59:01

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 6 Like(s)

Replying To achara:  "Of all the things you could be crying about, i don't think this should be 1 of them"
Well the fact that licence payers have to listen to Dessie Dolan at all is a valid complaint... He is out on his own as the worst pundit in any sport that I have ever seen, heard... Completely useless.

bennybunny (National) - 21/07/2019 18:40:19

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 6 Like(s)
Please ignore Kerry 1-32 to Limerick 0-05. The next time they meet at senior level, this result (and the fact that Limerick have never beaten Kerry at any level in living memory) will have no bearing on the outcome at all. Limerick will be supremely confident that they can win in the ultra competitive Munster football championship.

bennybunny (National) - 16/06/2018 07:44:15

Waterford v Cork. - 6 Like(s)
No sour grapes here. I have never boasted or gloated or bigged Cork up on this site. I have been posting here since 2002. However today only one team tried to play hurling. Damien Cahalane deserved to get sent off and that, and a mistake from our number 5,cost Cork a certain and deserved victory. Waterford are an abomination. Their style and that of Clare and Wexford are ruining the sport (Cork tried the very same shite last year.. Thankfully unsuccessfully). Still, best of luck to them in the final. They are not breaking the rules. I just hope that Galway win, for hurling sake.

bennybunny (National) - 13/08/2017 21:22:53

Total Injustice! - 6 Like(s)
Nonsense thread. Best team won.

bennybunny (National) - 17/09/2017 17:41:19

Dublin 2015 - 2019 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To johnq:  "They are a great team, with a great manager, It is no mean feat to keep them motivated, but anyone who doesn't see the advantages they have is in denial. It shouldn't take from the players, nor the fans in their celebrations of a great achievement, but fans from other counties, have legitimate points regarding advantages."
Dublin have always had 'advantages'. Their population was always bigger. Proportionally, it was less in the past. Historically, they have rarely ever played a Leinster final, AI semi final outside of Croke Park. Nothing new there. Dublin players have always worked in Dublin and Dublin students have always had the opportunity to study in Dublin. Nothing new either. Though this advantage has surely decreased as it is easier to get in and pit of Dublin than in the past. There is large amount of money being spent on underage for sure. Disproportionately and that is not fair. However, it is for future teams and not this one. If this year's minor hurling, football teams is what they an produce after all the money spent, then waste of money. The only thing that is new is the bitterness to winning. Teams used to love beating Dublin in Croke Park.. Silencing the hill.. Mocking the jackeens so to speak. The advantages were only mentioned in pity.. Ie a million people and one shite team. Now, for the first time they have produced a truly great side. A team full of Dubs. They deserve nothing but credit. The standard has never been higher and they have set the standards.

bennybunny (National) - 15/09/2019 09:06:11

We Are Fortunate To See It. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Funny we might be looking in a few years time at the state of play and those of us of a certain age might be reminiscing about how fortunate we were to live and play through a time when there wasn't total domination like there now is. Suppose depends how one defines fortunate. :-)"
In the club championships there is always a chance that new teams will come along at national level as they are still knockout after county championships. The absurdity of the All Ireland championship means that only the strong now will remain strong and inter County footballers in a lot of counties are just packing it in...

bennybunny (National) - 20/01/2020 11:45:39

Cork Under 20'S - 5 Like(s)
Yes a good hammering. Lost by ten points two years ago when Clifford got 2-08. Obviously he was not there tonight. We have changed our team almost completely too though. Finally, this is something to be really positive about. Hate slaps on back when you lose. We played great football tonight. Well coached. Our scores were top drawer. Blake Murphy was superb when he came on. Paul Ring was brilliant at corner back, big O'Callaghan was outstanding... Thrilled with it.. Hopefully being relegated to Division 3 was the lowest point. Now we can genuinely start to get back up competing again..

bennybunny (National) - 18/07/2019 21:32:00

Imagine Armagh had an O Rourke, Harte or McGuinness - 5 Like(s)

Replying To icehonesty:  "It's incredible to me that Armagh are persisting for so long with McGeeney. For a county with such good footballers and proud tradition, progress has been so slow. And embarrassed today. Imagine Armagh had a Malachy O'Rourke or Mickey Harte or Jim McGuinness. He's not in the same league."
Donegal were very good today. Why always bash the loser? Armagh have made progress. They are back in Division 1. Today was brutal right enough but they are going in the right direction. McGeeney is a proud Armagh man. Give him and the team another go. Some of the stuff that they did in the end were surely not in any game plan.

bennybunny (National) - 14/11/2020 15:41:30

RTE - Change Of Direction - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Where did I say that? That's right I didn't, what I said was I watch it with commentary turned down, please if you gonna quote me do it properly. What I asked was with the vast vast amount of money that is wasted on tg4 (the world and its brother knows that it is a huge loss maker for rte , but is so subsidized that it doesn't matter) that a red button option could be included for those of us who wish to hear commentary with our games. Also this could be a subscription option of say €5 per match. It makes economic sense and would help those one percent of us who don't speak fluent Irish. :) . Now give me a reasonable argument as to what is wrong with my proposal?"
Very simple argument and the bottom line really.. They have no mandate to do so. Over 600,000 tuned into watxh league final this year. Most likely if there was a red button, many would have switched to English. As there was no red button, I assume, most watched in Irish (with some turning the sound down). Success for TG4. It would defeat the purpose of there being an Irish language TV station if their flagship show was in English. I am abivalent to the language also but think they do a good job showing GAA so it bothers me not an iota that ir is in Irish.

bennybunny (National) - 15/01/2019 17:14:39

Fitzmaurice's Comments - 4 Like(s)
The only player that got Lee Keegan sent off was Lee Keegan. He finally got his comeuppance. Mayo should play him wing forward and let his talents shine. He is a gifted football player but is wasted when he is man-marking other team's best players - in gaelic football, that means swinging out of players. That is what he did. he got caught. He should have been given the line against Tyrone as well. Instead, Sean Cavanagh got it. The most frustrating thing about gaelic games is that we have 7 officials - 6 of them do nothing to help the referees enforce the rules. Eddie Kinsella said the other week that Kerry v Donegal was 'un-refereeable'. No game should be like this. If ex players go to the media and complain about rough house tactics. They are only talking about what we can all see. If officials get their act together and apply the rules consistently we won't have such issues. Its the inconsistency that drives people mad. Keegan deserved the black card. His only issue can be with why loads of others (on his own team and Dublin - John Small??) didn't get one too. He didn't deserve to be a scapegoat.

bennybunny (National) - 06/04/2017 10:28:04

Best Game Ever? - 4 Like(s)
Watched Offaly and Clare last night. Great game. I my opinion, it is better than anything in the last 20 years. It is the sport that I used to love. Great physical battles, ground hurling, first time hurling and best of all - no rucks. Corks short handpassing game, Cody's insisting half forwards win their own ball and a host of other counties playing sweeper has changed the game. Not for the better in my opinion. Rucks and lack of first time hurling are not changes for the better. Football is now the better sport. Dublin are a joy to watch...they have had some epic battles with Kerry and Mayo. Great viewing. Roscommon v Armagh from a few years ago was mentioned. As a fixture (qualifier round 4), it probably doesn't have the significance to be in the greatest game of all time category, but it was a cracking game that stands out for me.

bennybunny (National) - 17/04/2020 14:25:23

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Brolly taking a lot of flak for his assessment in the Indo. Taking the emotion out of it and stepping back for a moment though. Is Joe Brolly wrong? Not at all. He's bang on the money about Mayo and he doesn't dress it up in flowery language. O'Shea didn't turn up AGAIN in an All Ireland, Mayo's sideline were reluctant to make the big calls and they mentally withered under pressure. Why is Brolly getting so much stick for giving an honest and truthful opinion?"
Fair point. Aidan O' Shea is an amateur player that gives his all for his county. He might not have played well yesterday and there is no harm in saying that. Brolly is doing something different. He is kicking a guy when he is down.

bennybunny (National) - 12/09/2021 11:11:53

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "We are worried about the future health of the game going forward If the Monster the GAA created could destroy a vibrant Football province like Leinster (great traditions and bigger populations than the others) there is nothing stopping to the AI becoming a wasteland and irrelevant in Irish society)"
Did you feel it was becoming a wasteland in the early 1980s when ye were winning all those finals? Leinster was competitive then. Munster wasn't. The Leinster championship is very weak. Longford and Wicklow are no match for Dublin. It is Division 4 versus Division 1. If Limerick or Waterford played Kerry, Kerry would also be 1/200 and the handicap would be +20 or whatever. If Dublin played Meath they would not be 1/200 and the handicap might be plus 6 or something. Like it was for Kerry v Clare. In both cases it is Division 1 versus Division 2. Longford were plucky enough yesterday. They got hammered but they gave it a go. Playing with 14 men didn't help. They would not have won but had he (McGibney) had not gotten himself sent off, perhaps Robbie Smyth might have seen a bit more action, a bit more space,a few more scores..a closer game, don't know..all ifs and buts..the gap isn't a Leinster one..it is Division 1 v Division 4.

bennybunny (National) - 11/06/2018 23:23:16

Bring GAA Championship Matches Across The Water - 4 Like(s)
I would love to see club championship matches played in Ireland in the summer. I know counties prefer Wednesdays in October to play finals but if we could trial playing a game in July...it might promote the games..

bennybunny (National) - 30/11/2019 08:47:57

Club players v county board - 4 Like(s)
last Friday week, the day before Cork played Donegal, Peadar Healy decided to add Kieran Histon to the Cork panel. It was this lad first time on the panel since we played Donegal in the league (in February). he had been on the under 21s and the Cork junior team throughout the year. There were no injuries to any players and no indication that he would be brought onto the team. His club, Cobh, were down to play their county final on the very same day. Because of a whim from the manager, all other Cobh players supporters and managers as well as their opponents (Ballyhooly) were nonchalantly told 24 hours before the game that their big day (the county final) was being cancelled so a player could watch a game in Croke Park. It is ridiculous and shows what respect our management have for clubs (the county board support them).

bennybunny (National) - 08/08/2016 15:30:53

Upcoming Special Congress - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Rolo2010:  "1 group of 4 using a single round-robin format = 3 games. Stop acting like a child."
Maths or logic not your strong point. You are a troll.

bennybunny (National) - 21/01/2022 11:41:35

RTE - Change Of Direction - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not for the 80% plus of us who don't have a clue what they sayin."
Well, assuming you went through the Irish school system, you would have spent 13 years learning the language so not to 'have a clue' is worrying for you. To have no interest is another issue. That is fine obviously . I am no fáinne wearing, more-Irish-than-thou, Celtic Nationaist. I just think their coverage is good so I hope they keep doing what they do.

bennybunny (National) - 12/01/2019 20:23:45

Not So Super 8S.. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To ballydalane:  "But the GAA have done it arseways with the super 8s. Most tournaments in world sport do their round robin at the START of the competition (Champions League, Heineken Cup, World Cups​, all the Yank sports, even the hurling championship), then get into the knock out rounds which is where the real excitement usually happens. Everyone knows the group stages may have the odd exciting game, but their main purpose is to separate the strong teams from the weak teams before the knock out rounds. The mistake the GAA have made with this super 8s malarkey is that they've hyped it up as this major accomplishment for teams to aspire to, (even the name, "super" 8s), so when the group stages often peter out to their inevitable conclusion, fans are left with an acute sense of anti-climax. So while most sports (practically all, actually) design competitions to ESCAPE the group stages, the GAA have contrived to design a competition whereby the big "prize" is to QUALIFY for the group stages! Like I said earlier, completely arseways! I would say you couldn't make it up but the GAA obviously have!"
Excellent post. Also some counties are not sure if they even want to qualify. Frankie Griffin of Clare did a great interview a few weeks ago 'super 8s my arse' or something like that he said. The super 8s offer the likes of Clare the possibility of three drubbings and sets them back and all but eliminates the chance of a Tipperary, Fermanagh qualifying for an All Ireland semi final. But sure the Dubs like it do we'll keep it.

bennybunny (National) - 21/07/2019 10:29:15

Well Done Cork! - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Not sure how I'd be feeling of the analysis of this match if I was from Cork. Everyone talking about what Kerry got wrong, no one talking about what Cork got right. Cork are no mugs. They came up to Croke Park last year and put the frighteners on Dublin - best performance vs Dublin last year. They just stormed Div 3, I'd back them to storm Div 2 next, just deservedly knocked out All Ireland finalists & NFL holders. Not to mention what is breaking through there. Many won't agree with me, but I actually think Cork played within themselves yesterday, they obviously had a game plan and came up against the blanket defence in awful conditions, but they are a far more offensive team then they showed yesterday. I wouldn't be underestimating them, there have been red flags for a while of how dangerous they are becoming. But then Cork will be happy with the narrative of a "shock" and the being spotlight on other teams remaining."
Agreed. Probably Kerry put best performance last year against Dublin. Cork did well for 55 minutes against Dublin and Tyrone but ran out of puff ultimately. But there are big changes this year though. Cian O'Neill is in as coach. Kevin Smith joined as strength and conditioning coach from a French Rugby club Stade Francaise. Aidan O Connell has massive experience in sports management and strength and conditioning. He is involved. Off the field, we have it right. The set up is more professional than it was. Players have bought in. On the field, we have had under age success. 5 lads under 21 played yesterday. Two of them were in our top three performers (Meehan and Shanley). Two more were out for Covid19 contact reasons yesterday. Cathal O Mahony is a certain starter and Brian Hartnett will be close. Ultimately there is a changing of the guard now happening at pace. The noise from the squad all week has been positive. Players only wanted a result. Moral victories were no good. We had one in last years Munster Final and against Dublin and Tyrone. Sean Cavanagh mentioned last week for all Tyrone progress in the last 10 years, they have no wins against Dublin /Kerry /Mayo since 2008. It is all about the win. We have it. Lots of people saying it was a fluke. Fine but Kerry got a fright yesterday by half time.. And again at full time. They had the better squad so all the aces were in their pack for ET. If they were so much better than us then in extra time, they should have steamrolled us. It never happened so maybe they are not much better. Yet they are Division 1 champions. Anyway we will see. We have Tipperary next and our forwards need to be better. We will be big favourites now. Different dynamic. But bring it on now. Great to be playing.

bennybunny (National) - 09/11/2020 23:25:49