Cork Forum

Popular Posts from St.Mologga

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 6 Like(s)
Just wanted to leave the dust settle awhile. I firstly want to acknowledge & congradulate Limerick on their AI success. It was a massive display & performance. We were schooled on & off the pitch. We can have no compliants, a beating dished out as such, leaves no crumbs of comfort. As a Limerick man said to me, "if Limerick did not score in the 2nd half, Limerick would still have won by 2 points." That statistic set me back on my heels. Many years ago I spent the Summer in the company of one H. Martin, Limerick to the core, when it was not popular nor fashionable. He kept the faith among countless others who did the hard graft, sold Mackey draw tickets, club lottos, under age Summer camps, etc. I thought of those People in 2018, & now to the present level of national domination & glory. Who could have forseen where all the little building blocks were going to lead. From the wreck of 2009 semi final at the hands of Tipperary, ye certainly have got the house in order now. Enjoy these moments, ye have a serious team & a bunch of Men to be proud of. We in the Rebel county have alot to address over the long Winter, in both codes we are a country mile of whats required to succeed at the highest level. Savour these times ye had suffered long enough, until we cross swords again best of luck to all in Limerick, All Ireland Champions for 2021.

St.Mologga (Limerick) - 07/09/2021 11:51:12

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Roscommon are a Division 1 football outfit, a few seasons ago ye scored 4-25 against us in Cork. This is a massive test for us tommorrow. Personally I prefer Sherlock coming off the bench, as in theory the Roscommon defence may offer him more space as the 2nd half develops. Really like Smith for Roscommon & I am wary of the potential damage Cox could do. Safe travels folks.

St.Mologga (National) - 23/06/2023 11:39:09

Farewell The Aeroplane - Teddy McCarthy RIP - 3 Like(s)

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "I've just heard the extremely sad news of the passing of Teddy McCarthy. A genuine GAA legend. My thoughts are with his family. A truly gifted player in both codes and it's highly unlikely his feat of winning the double will ever be matched now. Watching him in the 80s is one of my earliest GAA memories. Farewell the Aeroplane."
I echo those sentiments, in the storied history of Cork GAA Teddy more than holds his own. R.I.P. Jack Lynch crossed my mind this morning as well. His achievement of winning 6 All senior medals in a row from 1941- 1946, (with a football medal in 1945 thrown in the mix), was also an unique testament to the dual player, which we will probably not see again.

St.Mologga (National) - 07/06/2023 11:04:31

U20 All Ireland - 2 Like(s)
Just want to extend best wishes to Offaly on todays victory. Fair play to all concerned in The Faithful County. Best of luck in the final.

St.Mologga (National) - 31/07/2021 20:49:35

Limerick GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
I would like to see Limerick win the 3 in a row this is top side & have brought hurling up another notch. A victory Sunday week will copperfasten their legacy, in saying that Kilkenny relish their role as party poopers. In 2006 our own 3 in a row came crashing down in a Black & Amber web, we haven't won a final since. Best of luck to all in the Treaty County enjoy these times & soak in every breath of these glory days for Limerick hurling.

St.Mologga (National) - 07/07/2022 10:56:42

Championship Ball 2021, Munster And All Ireland Series. - 2 Like(s)
Just a quick post & probably my last on a Kerry Forum. Kerry lost by 1 point. David Clifford injured for extra time. Butchered 1 clear goal scoring chance. Passed up point scoring opportunities. Got zero test in the Munster Football Championship, especially from my county of Cork & spent 5 weeks in limbo waiting on Tyrone. Kerry still managed to claw back a 5 point lead down to 1, so ye have Men who fight & Men who did not accept their fate lightly. Mark my words before this decade is done Kerry will stand at 40 Football Titles. Ye always learn & adapt from defeat, we in Cork don't. Ye are the bench mark in football & the one county I take great store in beating. Pity is we are unable to do it enough. Our Croke Park defeats in '02 & '07 were two of my most wretched days in HQ. Kerry always use the pain of defeat to motivate for future glory. Hopefully we cross swords in Croke Park again, if we can address our football woes.

St.Mologga (Kerry) - 30/08/2021 18:46:40

GAA President - Jarlath Burns - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Finals should be in September. Hopefully Jarlath will remind the accountants that they are our employees. Not event managers."
Agree.

St.Mologga (National) - 16/04/2024 16:56:29

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "Time to start playing both semi finals on the same day again. It looks awful having so many empty seats."
It maybe an option, but in 2018 the Limerick v Cork semi final was close to 70,000 people in attendance I think.

St.Mologga (National) - 02/07/2022 22:03:48

All- Ireland Hurling Semi Final Tickets - 2 Like(s)
Yeah you'll be fine. 2018 semi final Limerick v Cork had around 70,000 in attendance, with plenty of discount tickets for children available, with no one sitting in a different stand, unlike the All Ireland Final. Super occcasion, enjoy your day.

St.Mologga (National) - 08/06/2023 13:13:05

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023 - 2 Like(s)
Lads maybe I'm the only one, but at the end of the week my disposal income isn't what it was. I have 5 travelling in my household & a match day out especially in Dublin is no joke. So maybe in some cases individuals have to pick & choose their matches.

St.Mologga (National) - 28/06/2023 11:19:42

Dublin GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "I dont know pal. Be a curtain raiser for Div 2 best season, you gave Kerry plenty to think about in Munster, even if the final result didn't reflect the game."
My real fear is Dublin go at this game hard & early. Limerick exposed us, but butchered their chances. Dublin will not be as kind. This may be a long 70 minutes.

St.Mologga (National) - 13/06/2022 12:24:26

2021 Hurling Championship - 1 Like(s)
Fair play to Limerick, on a par with Kilkenny 2008 performance & possibly even better. We can have no compliants. Enjoy the celebrations. Limerick have a team for the ages. All the best to Limerick, on a sober day for us Rebels.

St.Mologga (National) - 22/08/2021 18:06:39

Changes to make Gaelic Football better - 1 Like(s)
Maybe look at reducing the amount of Hand Passing, the use of the Foot seems to be a dying art.

St.Mologga (National) - 07/04/2023 16:26:36

2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread - 1 Like(s)
Dublin were composed, took their chances when required & managed the game well. We had opportunities, created space but didn't have the composure of Dublin to give us a proper foothold in the game. Sherlock & Chris Og Jones among others in Red, were guilty of taking pot shots which no Dublin player would ever attempt. Dublin's visit to Div 2 was always going to be a fleeting one.

St.Mologga (National) - 19/02/2023 20:37:01

Dublin GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Dublin lost the league final in 2011 to Cork, no one remembers the league final Champions from 2011, but every one knows who won the Sam McGuire that year.

St.Mologga (National) - 02/04/2024 20:29:02

County Songs - 1 Like(s)

Replying To togoutlads:  "Hands down, the greatest of all crowd anthems for Irish people across the world, adopted and adapted by many but just remember, it's Galway's forever - 'The Fields of Athenry'. Nothing even comes close. Galway have theeee undisputed best county song of all time. Mic drop…"
I think as well in 1980, & Galway in full voice with "The West Awake" & the emotions of that afternoon, even for a non Galway person, were truly moving. The Galway captain referenced so many people who left this nation against their will, because of our economic situation. Twas in my opinion the best speech given on the steps of the Hogan Stand.

St.Mologga (National) - 18/04/2023 11:47:24

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "In 2002, Kerry and Armagh were in the same division 2, playing London of all teams. They both contested the All Ireland final that year and Armagh won it."
I didn't realise the 2002 final was an all division 2 affair, many thanks for the update.

St.Mologga (National) - 17/07/2023 12:55:41

Have Cork Any Chance In Killarney - 1 Like(s)
I fear a 2018 style beating. Kerry could really go to town on us. At times in the league & championship game against Limerick we were very open to goal chances.

St.Mologga (National) - 23/07/2021 18:39:30

Championship Ball 2021, Munster And All Ireland Series. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I see teh rebels are also now loooking for a new man to sit in their hot seat. Rebels could be a "differant animal" under new stewarding. Surely their U20 coach from this year has to be in the reckoning. I has always amazed how how the position has alluded Castlehavens John Cleary."
John Fintan Daly should have been our manager in the mid 90's when Billy Morgan moved on. Our county board didn't fancy him for some reason. This guy knew football & is a winner. John Cleary also was another good man we failed to promote. We have a happy knack of shooting ourselves in the foot, this time I hope it's different, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

St.Mologga (Kerry) - 07/09/2021 19:33:57

All Ireland Finals Staying In July - 1 Like(s)
Personally I'd prefer to run our club season first, followed by ending the year with inter county fare. In 2020, December All Ireland Finals didn't seem overly out of place.

St.Mologga (National) - 13/09/2023 05:36:08