Cork Forum

Popular Posts from Rebel2020

On What Grounds? - 16 Like(s)
Just wondering on what grounds YET ANOTHER Dublin player got a ban overturned ? It was fairly easy to lip read and it was inexcusable considering it was over a line ball and the game was in the bag. I dunno why officials bother.

Rebel2020 (National) - 27/11/2020 19:40:41

Dubs V Mayo - 14 Like(s)
Dublin didn't exactly go down with dignity. Disgracefully self indulgent I'll disciplined performance. It wouldn't have happened under Jim Gavin. Well done Mayo. Great performance.

Rebel2020 (National) - 14/08/2021 20:33:23

Dubs V Mayo - 13 Like(s)
4 clear straight red incidents highlighted by the Sunday Game. Zero given. Hard to believe really.

Rebel2020 (National) - 15/08/2021 22:17:52

GAA Nonsense - 9 Like(s)
I've been watching the World Athletics Championships which I always enjoy and the contrast with some of the bull that goes on in GAA is striking. Firstly, these are world class performers, and with all due respect to inter County players, on a different level. Yet they can walk out a couple of minutes before the start, (often in an event where they might have less than a minute to nail it ), smile warmly, wave to the crowd, blow kisses, and even throw in a few dance moves. On the way over to the track some if the athletes can be seen laughing and talking to their rivals. Contrast this with GAA where players brows are furrowed, lads go round roaring aggressively, and any attempt to relax is considered a weak lack of focus. I've heard club managers say "I knew ye were in trouble when I saw ye laughing in the warm up". Give me a break ! If these players are so easily put off, then team psychologists are being paid too much. Furthermore, after the race the graciousness in defeat is evident, there are warm embraces all round, and win or lose the athletes come smiling to reporters and conduct honest, conversational style interviews. Again in GAA the losers are bitter or its like a wake, and the winners talk in clichés and again are careful not to smile as that would be seen as getting ahead of themselves. Personally I've been a GAA fan for 40 years, but I think the whole thing is full of its own importance now, and the days of individuality and characters of the game are long gone. Frankly it's boring. Usain Bolt's tricks and messing and being an entertainer on the start line never impacted his performance. I'm sure many might disagree with my views, but could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?

Rebel2020 (National) - 24/08/2023 16:12:08

On What Grounds? - 8 Like(s)
Thank you

Rebel2020 (National) - 27/11/2020 21:10:52

Earpieces - 6 Like(s)
It's amazing how managers like Sean Boylan, Micko, and Brian Cody had such success without resorting to these silly contraptions. In professional sport the likes of Pep, Klopp etc don't see the need. Yet practically every Mickey Mouse GAA manager is wired up even at club level.They look ridiculous and its a silly attempt to look smart when often they can't get the basics right. Sorry for the rant but I'd love to send them to Room 101.

Rebel2020 (National) - 23/07/2021 20:46:39

Who'd Be A Ref? - 6 Like(s)
The successful appeal of Kilcoo's Brannigan allowing him to play in the All Ireland is yet another example of the GAA system being unfit for purpose. Not only were Kilcoo relatively unhindered by his dismissal ( they were allowed to resume playing with 15 men a minute later ) but now he doesn't even serve a ban. There should be transparency around why the appeal was successful. It looked pretty clear cut on TV and it completely undermines linesman David Gough who made the call. This is not a dig at Kilcoo. Every team appeals frivolously nowadays and more often than not they are successful. We talk of GAA being manly but the opposite is true. Rugby and soccer players take their medicine. Roy Keane missed a champions league final for two yellow cards ( in different games ) but never whinged or tried to get off on a technicality. It's pathetic in the GAA and typical of a wider societal issue where there is an unwillingness to take personal responsibility and a constant desire to divert blame elsewhere. To go back to the title of the thread, I don't know how referees and officials stomach it.

Rebel2020 (National) - 04/02/2022 19:41:09

Dublin Senior Football Team - 6 Like(s)
I'm tired of this "most people are breaking the rules argument". Most people shouldn't be. The government have a mandate. Are elected. They make the rules. Its killing the economy by breaking rules as its delaying the re opening.and most people aren't held up as role models the way these players are.

Rebel2020 (National) - 01/04/2021 18:45:57

Upcoming Special Congress - 5 Like(s)
Depressing decision. No fans at many provincial championship matches any more. The division 1 teams like Galway and Mayo voting to preserve the status quo smacks of the Super League. Let's make sure to keep out the small counties. God forbid Longford made a quarter final. Shame on the GAA

Rebel2020 (National) - 23/10/2021 13:45:31

Dubs V Mayo - 5 Like(s)
The GAA hierarchy like to harp on about player welfare . If they are serious about player welfare tackles like this should incur automatic red cards and bans regardless of intent. If I drive above the speed limit ,my lack of intent to hurt someone is no defence if I do. There have to be consequences for play which seriously endangers an opponent.

Rebel2020 (National) - 15/08/2021 20:56:23

Dubs V Mayo - 5 Like(s)
Small s was a blatant red card . Shoulder to head is red card . Any defence of it is embarrassing. GAA want to wait until there's a broken neck before they act.

Rebel2020 (National) - 15/08/2021 13:38:44

Dubs V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Terrible isn't it pal. I mean no wonder China has won all them world cups with their vastly larger population to everyone else Oh wait........."
They dominate the Olympics

Rebel2020 (National) - 19/08/2021 14:59:39

Steps - 4 Like(s)
Totally agree. Most of the fouling in football and hurling these days is a consequence of the attacker trying to break the tackle with steps. They are usually on step 5 or 6 as they go into contact . Defenders have no option. If steps were ruthlessly policed the fouling would decrease dramatically.

Rebel2020 (National) - 27/06/2021 14:30:02

Dublin Senior Football Team - 4 Like(s)

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Cue the PR photos of Dublin players volunteering at vaccination Centre's, visiting hospitals. delivering Easter eggs to the marginalized etc."
Exactly. I personally don't think its a huge deal, but we are constantly being fed the message that Dublin are just that little bit better than everyone off the pitch as well as on it. "Wonderful human beings" is a line we are always fed. You would expect better from "amazing role models".

Rebel2020 (National) - 01/04/2021 12:47:44

Tradition - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni40:  "If there's a "woke left wing politician" who has buried a baby in a septic tank in the name of their god, then by all means we can make comparisons. Blaming "woke left-wing politicians" for the tragic death of a Gardai, following terrible abuse by right-wing religious bigots, and accusing them of intolerance is an alarming leap."
Tens of thousands of people in this country, consider that a large percentage of the 6000 abortions in the last year , to also be the murder of babies. I certainly dont see the figure as a cause for celebration. Only history can judge us,but I wouldnt be too arrogant that this generation is doing everything right.

Rebel2020 (National) - 15/01/2021 23:13:43

Upcoming Special Congress - 4 Like(s)
Under Proposal A and C, the only metrics that you can use to measure success is winning a provincial title or All Ireland. At least under Proposal B, counties have clear ambitions ( top 5 in division 1, avoid relegation, gain promotion etc ) .

Rebel2020 (National) - 16/10/2021 15:23:22

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Brolly taking a lot of flak for his assessment in the Indo. Taking the emotion out of it and stepping back for a moment though. Is Joe Brolly wrong? Not at all. He's bang on the money about Mayo and he doesn't dress it up in flowery language. O'Shea didn't turn up AGAIN in an All Ireland, Mayo's sideline were reluctant to make the big calls and they mentally withered under pressure. Why is Brolly getting so much stick for giving an honest and truthful opinion?"
Because its personal. Because the game should be about more than the victors. Mayo have given a huge amount to the GAA in recent years so calling them time wasters is a nonsense. And saying Aidan O Shea didn't turn up implies he was capable of much better yesterday, but I don't think he is. I think he lacks the speed and mobility to influence a game in Croke Park in summer against top opposition. That's not his fault and nothing to do with his mentality.

Rebel2020 (National) - 12/09/2021 15:17:32

Dublin Senior Football Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To oso:  "No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am. As a frontline Doctor all through all of this I am sick of listening to self serving GAA "personalities" trying to influence things and call the shots. What the likes of Oisin McConville for instance says about this is irrelevant, its self serving and he is totally irrelevant on this matter. Dessie Farrell is in a position of responsibility, he has seen what has gone before and the suspensions handed down to Down and Cork. The Dublin County board will also have known about this, Dessie didn't organise this on his own. Everyone involved should resign, end off. Its inexcusable. If myself of any of my professional colleagues behaved in such a manner we'd be the subject of a severe professional conduct investigate and medical defence unions would be involved. Guys let's get a perspective on this, the GAA is an amateur organisation and these guys are trying to dress themselves up as 'elite' athletes and expect to be treated differently as a result. If they wanted to excel at a sport and be considered 'elite' then they should have chosen a professional sport, not one where the opportunities available to them and the potential they can reach are ultimately determined by the post code they were born in. None of these guys are 'elite' so let's treat them like every other grass roots GAA player. The very people pedalling this nonsense and trying to excuse it are the parasites of the GAA. Ex players still trying to be relevant and make some form of living in monetary gains off the back of their playing career. There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!"
Here here .

Rebel2020 (National) - 05/04/2021 11:17:05

Upcoming Special Congress - 3 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sounds like they're anti democracy."
No they are pro democracy. The majority voted for this.

Rebel2020 (National) - 23/10/2021 14:19:38

How Do We Protect Match Officials And What Can Be Done To Help Improve Officials And Respect Towards Them - 3 Like(s)
One of the biggest problems I see is the obsession with winning at underage level. The winning is all that matters mantra leads to dreadful behaviour. The ignorance around this within clubs is staggering. The aim of all clubs at underage level should be player retention and not winning games. The amount of young players who are left to rot on a sideline just so a coach can try to claim an underage title is shocking. Parents can also be very ignorant around this. These players could be late developers or future servants of the club in administrative or coaching roles, but they inevitably drift away. The juvenile stars often don't continue playing either but it's too late then knocking on the doors of the players who were ignored for so long.

Rebel2020 (National) - 02/09/2022 21:37:42