Cork Forum

Popular Posts from BaldyBadger

Roscommon GAA thread - 9 Like(s)

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Keith Doyle made a huge difference at midfield when he came on. Agreed, thought we became predictable. We took some great scores but Cork seemed to come by theirs much easier. So many errors as well. I feel sorry for C Murtagh and Donie. They've been brilliant but time is running out. Hope they can keep going."
Funny enough, I thought the opposite and that score generally had to work so hard for scores because we lack scoring forwards, whereas I thought Roscommon worked their scores and chances easier. I really think in the first half, Roscommon worked excellent scoring chances but refused to shoot, endlessly recycling. I think you had the players to take a few of those shots and convert, which would have given you a decent lead at half time. The five minute spell before half time breathed life into Cork, because before that, there was only going to be one winner. Anyway, I think Roscommon are sn excellent group of players and will be even stronger next year. Good luck to you. You are great fans and real football people.

BaldyBadger (National) - 24/06/2023 17:54:21

Farewell The Aeroplane - Teddy McCarthy RIP - 6 Like(s)
I've just heard the extremely sad news of the passing of Teddy McCarthy. A genuine GAA legend. My thoughts are with his family. A truly gifted player in both codes and it's highly unlikely his feat of winning the double will ever be matched now. Watching him in the 80s is one of my earliest GAA memories. Farewell the Aeroplane.

BaldyBadger (National) - 06/06/2023 21:32:56

Not So Super 8S.. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "And that will correct what? Armchair fans desire for "atmosphere"? Give me a break, players love playing there, deal with the structure of the competitions first. I assume you believe the beating Roscommon got would be any different in Hyde Park? Nonsense"
No definitely not but you must accept that Dublin getting two games in Dublin is wrong. Croke Park is in Dublin, that is not Dublin's fault and it is the only place you could have the national stadium. However when you put a structure in place that specifies one home, one away and one neutral, then the game should be neutral when it's Dublin's turn. I feel that the reason this is not the case is that the GAA are afraid that a precedent could be set for other rounds such as semi finals and even finals. I don't think they should worry about that. Croke Park is the place for semi finals and finals, but not round robin games.

BaldyBadger (National) - 20/07/2019 21:57:18

Should James Owens be sanctioned? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "Bad rule to begin with. Sets everyone up for a dirty kicking because there is no provision for severity of the foul. Simple a yellow card. However if the player is seriously injured and can not continue a red (that is automatic one game). If you really want to punish no return until the injured player is declared fit.

Gleeson's mule head behaviour as bad as it looked was not worse than other incidents in the game. No one injured like Kevin Moran. The belt in the testicles to Moran, the kicking of Barron and the hurley into Conor Gleeson's kidneys the reason for his tap on the legs to Horgan. However these have no sensational results for the pundits and t.v. replays.

Pundits need to adjust their behaviour because they are becoming annoying. It is fine to state why a player is getting sent off but refrain from adjudicating. These pundit were big names in the game with county bias and it is a lie to say that they have not influenced a hearing.

If Tadgh who never pulls a mean stroke was from Clare he should be very upset to how he was treated for handing off a player who was interfering with him. This compared to the other cases. Upsetting his family until 2 a.m. in the morning 2 days before the game. The GAA got 5 or 6 million on the backs of these amateurs the last two weeks. All infractions should be dealt with with 24 hours. 3 people with 2 ordinates."
Red card if somebody gets injured!! What are you smoking? When thinking of how to protect players, you don't wait for a player to be paralysed with a neck injury. Your argument is pathetic. If they change that rule now, the first child or adult to receive a serious injury would have every right to sue. Break the rules repeatedly, let's change the rule. Are Waterford actually spending time on the training field targeting helmets, because they have done this three times. Everybody knows the rules and a man who must have rocks in his head considering the prior incidents breaks the same rule, so the rule is stupid? Cop yourself on. The cccc have just proved what we all know for a long time. The GAA will continue to be deemed Mickey Mouse to other sports if they decide to implement rules to suit themselves.

BaldyBadger (National) - 15/08/2017 23:08:49

The GAA And Taking The Knee. - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Do you mind me asking why do you think BLM is Marxism dressed up as anti-racism? Or are you buying what those against it have tried to tarnish it by? That's the first step in shooting down a movement, tarnish it, turn people against it. For some reason, people are turning on what is a genuine anti racist movement by believing what those against it want you to. Have some involved in BLM acted badly? Of course they have, but the majority of it as a whole is in peaceful anti racist movement. Don't buy the other side."
Promoting anti racism is the main thing here and surely most important. Making GAA open to all people is the ideal. However thinking BLM movement is not a political movement is folly. It totally is and it has an ideology that goes far beyond equality for all races. I think the GAA should create its own anti racism campaign. It has always been said that politics should not be mixed with sport and especially the GAA. I think you will find that there are problems now in England with this. People do not agree with the BLM movement and it is causing issues at grounds. Course, some will be racists, but many will have other reasons to not support it. It is actually creating more division than harmony. I think the GAA should do better here and create its own movement. Really promote games for all races and drive racism out of the sport. Don't fall blindly into the same trap that soccer did.

BaldyBadger (National) - 11/06/2021 14:58:06

Dublin V Cork Super 8S - 5 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "To the Kerry lads..that's how you beat a Division 3 team 5-18!!"
To be fair, we were well beaten in the end by an excellent team. However your comment is ridiculous. I think despite our 3rd division status we at least made a game of it to a point in the game. Looking at Galway so far, I would suspect they would play from the start to not be beaten by too much and probably lose by more. Hence they are not there. No reflection on the quality of Galway players. I think they have excellent players, however your championship ended at the league where too many teams at the moment put too much emphasis. Hence you are an armchair supporter whilst this 3rd division follower continues to support his team, win lose or draw at the business end.

BaldyBadger (National) - 13/07/2019 21:34:14

2021 National Hurling League - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Fulgrim:  "This argument was happening in the club group chat the other day and I had to laugh at some of the old boys pining for ground hurling and other things we saw in the 90s. So I said to them sure all we need is a bunch of new rules; hurls can only be shaped like slash hooks, you are awarded points when you pull on the ground and it goes to an opposing player, tie lads to poles at each position so they can't roam, make sure lads can't go to the ball wall/field and practice their striking for more than a couple of hours a week, ban using gyms, force lads to have pints at least once every couple of weeks, etc. The point was to highlight how ridiculous it is. Can't get over dinosaurs looking for the game to regress because it doesn't resemble what they had growing up."
I think in your negative undertones you are touching the point. Players were just as skilful if not more so in the past it's just what is coached and valued has changed. The way to play in the past was to move the ball as quickly as possible into space, to allow your forwards to attack it. Ground hurling was a part of that, especially with heavier sliotars. The sharp Conor forward is less used now than before, but is still used. It's just the option of a longer range score is an easier one with lighter sliotars. The reason I say perhaps players were more skilful in yesteryear is that today's player, with the possession based approach is all about making the game easier. Handpass up the field until you have a clear shooting chance. No overhead pulling so if you're 6ft plus, stick your hand up without fear of the smaller man using his hurl to compete. Defenders had to defend one on one, without having extra men funnel back. Huge rucks until you can rise it to hand instead of pulling on it. All of this leads to an advantage if you're 6ft plus and spend 3 hrs a day in the gym. I'm not saying today's players aren't skilful. They surely are. But don't fall into the trap of thinking that the skill level has improved beyond previous years. The skills are different, that's all. The blood and thunder has gone from hurling now. It's more cold, with over coached, over drilled and over simplified tactics. I think a tactical game is fine and entertaining, but make scoring more difficult. A 65 is a tap over now. Used to be a very good strike. Anyway, that's my two pence worth.

BaldyBadger (National) - 08/06/2021 12:31:26

Kerry V Derry - 4 Like(s)
One thing I noticed from yesterday and it was not even talked about. Shane McGuigan (I think) was dragged down as he was approaching the square. A free was given. However, we were told earlier in the year when Kerry got a penalty against Cork, that a deliberate cynical foul in that situation is a penalty and black card. That is the rule, fair enough. But I said it at the time, that would not be enforced again, and here we are, it's happened for the umpteenth time since and no penalty, or even discussion about it. I'm not saying whether the rule is right or wrong, whether it should have been a penalty or not. I'm saying that the consistency is not there and just not right.

BaldyBadger (National) - 17/07/2023 11:18:29

Kerry Black Card Appeal - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Mike_Clitoris69:  "Well the foul wasn't near the goals and it wasn't a goal scoring chance. Sean Cavanagh rugby tackled McManus and this had a big influence on the introduction of the black card. Cant believe you as a Tyrone man are saying you're not a fan of Cavanagh. He's one of the all time greats and one of my favourites. He was consistently brilliant for 10-15 years"
You're absolutely right. He was on the 21 towards the sideline and would have had to do something frankly we have never seen the lad do or look like doing before to score a goal. I think Wally is suffering from a case of sour grapes. And actually Wally, the black card rule was a direct result of the Cavanagh rugby tackle and the uproar that followed. If it was discussed before, the talk was definitely accelerated and ratified after. The current Tyrone team are missing a Seam Cavanagh. It simply doesn't have any star players that can do something special. Kerry have a few, which ultimately was the difference. The black card incident had no baring on the result. If Wally feels O'Brien is a poor show of a man for the incident, he must hate 90% of his own county team because let's fave it, they are probably the most cynical team in Ireland. That being said I don't blame them for that. They want to win matches, but don't play the hard done by. It's hypocritical in the extreme.

BaldyBadger (National) - 16/08/2019 19:04:22

Anti GAA Agenda - 4 Like(s)

Replying To KillingFields:  "I have no time for rugby myself KillingFields but I'm not saying it should be stopped as I believe their is little risk in the actual playing of these sports. It's just rugby like GAA has a risk when it involves travelling and rugby has a lot more travelling around for 6 Nations games and the Pro whatever it is now with European Cup to come. I know their tested and isolated as much as possible but if you read the Examiner on Monday they had an article about Fermanagh playing in Clare last weekend as they were also separated and keeping their distance. I'm sure all GAA teams are doing this but at the moment the 'the Frightened Panicking mob' is out to shut it down. I'm sure you and all rugby fans are looking forward to the 6 Nations as a get away from all the bad news and GAA fans are likewise but the Joe Duffy and the gang smell blood. updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 398 - 21/10/2020 15:19:59And the players are in bubbles. Chartering their own planes. Will have limited movement when they do travel...."
This is a myth and anyone that thinks these players are in bubbles are dreaming. They will minimise risk of course but the Rugby players will have plenty of contact with the outside world. If you look at the two idiots from the England soccer team bringing girls back to their room. These are the highest paid sportsmen and teams in the world and they can't ensure complete bubbles. Covid cases happening all the time. Look at Ronaldo. And you want me to believe that a Rugby players with nowhere near the same money in the game As the footballers that could not prevent it either, are somehow more immune than the rest of us in their "Bubble"! The fact is they are at risk the same as all of us. They go to the same shops, their kids go to school, walk the same streets. The only difference between the pro Rugby player and the GAA player is not the money available to lock you in a fake bubble, it's that the GAA player does not have to travel Europe to global pandemic hotspots for competition. The GAA are in position to have competition within the country and can take the same precautions and limit risk the same way as the Rugby players. Blaming the GAA is a convenient way for TD's to divert from their own perceived failings in dealing with this pandemic.

BaldyBadger (National) - 22/10/2020 17:40:05

2021 Rankings So Far - 4 Like(s)

Replying To McGo72:  "I would drop Roscommon down a place and put Mayo in their place. However, Mayo have played two very poor teams in Down and Westmeath and a Meath team who are difficult to place considering they beat WM by 1. Galway and Roscommon have played the two best teams in the country and lost which is what would have happened to every other team in D1 and definitely all teams in D2."
This is a waste of time. Mayo got to the All Ireland final and have consistently been the closest to Dublin over the past 10 years or so. First of all, people on here put too much credence on League, and secondly, Dublin were the only Division 1 team in the all ireland semi finals last year. Two of those are now in division 4. You say all of division 2 would not have got near the top two. Well I'd say based on evidence of recent seasons, Mayo are the only team in division 1 & 2 likely to be competitive against them. Mayo at number 3 at least, until after championship.

BaldyBadger (National) - 15/06/2021 22:32:41

Is Cluxton the greatest ever - 83% HS users say so - 4 Like(s)

Replying To cavanman47:  "It wouldn't be a normal month on HS if Liam didn't start a thread about Cluxton ;) Look, O'Leary said it himself - the game changed, Cluxton just changed with it. They were getting beaten by the Westmeaths of this world and getting cleaned out by Padraic Clancy of Laois regularly. They also fell short against Armagh and Tyrone when those 2 started using a blanket defence, so the only alternative was to use short kick-outs and build from the back. It took another few seasons for Dublin to unearth players good enough to play that running game from back to front, but when they did, all of a sudden the best way to beat Dublin was to prevent these players from getting easy possession (if you were a good team) or to pack your defence (if you didn't fancy pushing up). When teams sit back (which all but Mayo and Kerry do) then Cluxton plays it to the unmarked corner back - nothing special there, although he is quick at restarting. When Mayo or Kerry push up, he goes long. This has had mixed results. Fenton and Kilkenney made some outrageous catches in last years final replay which made the kickouts look better than they were - look at Kilkenney's in the 2nd half in particular, he was actually double marked so in truth it was a poor kick. Against Kerry, it has worked well over the past few years as Kerry's legs have given up with 10mins to go. This year's league final was a different story and David Moran in particular ate Cluxtons kickouts for dinner, costing Dublin the game. In terms of shot stopping and commanding high balls, as said in most posts above, there are many better keepers."
Good post.

BaldyBadger (National) - 24/06/2017 20:26:52

U20 All Ireland - 4 Like(s)
Again, another superb game between Cork and Kerry at this level last night, Meath put it up to Dublin and a couple of other tight affairs around the country, including Mayo v Galway. Obviously this year straight knockout is the way, but it is every year at this level, which may contribute to the quality of matches, but I feel sorry that some superb teams are out so early. However I know at this age group, a long protracted championship is not ideal. It's great to see teams before strength and conditioning and over analysed tactics take over. Anyway, I feel it's a great spectacle every year in both codes and I always look out for it on the fixture calendar. Well done to the players and mentors of these teams.

BaldyBadger (National) - 16/07/2021 07:16:19

Successful Teams In The Future - 4 Like(s)

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Afraid we could watch that space for the next century and there wouldn't be anything to see."
London have played in as many provincial finals as Kildare this decade.

BaldyBadger (National) - 15/08/2019 08:59:54

Kerry Black Card Appeal - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "Stephen O'Brien is a great footballer but you can forget about him being a man. Joe Brolly should have completely lost the plot on the Sunday game. McAliskey was through on goal and got pulled down in the most cynical and disgraceful way. The black card was brought in to punish these sorts of actions from these sorts of players."
I think you're stretching it a bit to say he was through on goal. I actually thought at the time O'Brien was silly to do it as he still had a long way to go to threaten a goal. I also think you are being very blinkered by blaming O'Brien for the foul. I doubt there is a single Tyrone player that wouldn't have done the same thing in a reversed position. Tyrone are definitely not whiter than white when it comes to the more cynical side of the game. It's ironic that they came a cropper to it really and probably karma. Anyway, I don't blame the players, Cavanagh against Monaghan included. It's the rules or punishment for the offence that needs looking at. I think 2 black cards in the same competition should be enough for a suspension. I don't think they should carry league matches into championship though.

BaldyBadger (National) - 16/08/2019 14:27:34

2021 Hurling Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Watching the U20 final on TG4...a very poor exhibition of hurling,Cork very physical and their shooting is embarrassing.Galway look like a team that are used to winning ball a lot easier and are not able for the physicality,they are throwing chances away now.So far not a good advertisement for the game of hurling. Hope the second half is a lot better."
Speaking of wind up merchants

BaldyBadger (National) - 18/08/2021 21:08:03

Pairc Ui Chaoimh And That Twenty Five Million Overspend - 3 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "So what youre saying is that resources DOESNT actually guarantee success and you can be at an all time low despite having superior resources to most other counties and the 3rd biggest population on the Island. Sound. Must remember that when the resources argument comes up for the 1000000th time in the coming weeks/months."
Whilst I sort of agree with your sentiment and that of course money doesn't guarantee success, it does attract the best coaches. Whilst playing numbers may be similar, the amount spent on coaching is vastly inferior to Dublin. According to an article I read last year, Dublin received c. £16.6m over a 10 yr period, whereas Cork received next highest over the same period at c. £1.2m. Now while I acknowledge that other counties have done more with less central coaching budget than Cork and Cork are underachieving, when you factor in net spend per playing population per capita, they could actually be receiving towards the least funding in the country. Just another side to your point around resources.

BaldyBadger (National) - 05/02/2019 11:50:21

Colm O'Neill - 3 Like(s)
I know that many people will quite rightly point out that this fella has won only one all ireland. However, for a man to come back from 3 Cruciate (I may have spelt it wrong) injuries, I have to say this man deserves credit. When Cork footballers of note are in short supply, I want to acknowledge one that deserves a tip of the hat. Thanks and well done Colm.

BaldyBadger (National) - 17/07/2018 23:15:55

Cork's Commemorate Jersey - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Breezy:  "I find the jerseys a bit cheesy personally I would prefer just to have something small near the crest like the soccer team had. But equating it to international teams is wrong as the chances of anyone outside of Ireland/diaspora seeing is slim and then understand it even slimmer also the US do commemorate battles in sport and so do the English both countries love wheeling out the army before a game. My absolute favourite though is all the 4th July stuff in England the country that lost that war which the English seem oblivious to the fact of"
I have to say, I lived in London for over 30 years and I have never seen a 4th of July celebration outside of an American bar. That's a strange comment by you I think.

BaldyBadger (National) - 22/02/2020 18:05:01

Dublin V Cork Super 8S - 3 Like(s)

Replying To festinog:  "Was that Dublin's home game or neutral venue one? Only winding ye up lads. Sad that what turned into an absolute hammering has been accepted as a great game and a strong showing from Cork. Dublin's dominance has been completely normalized and taken for granted."
I think you make a good point. As a Cork fan, from a long way out I wanted us to just stay within a few points rather than think we could win. I think we all knew that before a ball was thrown in. What is really damning for football though is that I looked at that performance and thought if we replicated it with a bit of sharpening up we might beat Tyrone, which is ludicrous after a 13 point loss and that we are hoping Tyrone may be a team to challenge Dublin. I made the point on another thread. Many people complained that Cork are not good enough for the super 8's with Meath and Roscommon. My point was that if there wasn't an outstanding Dublin team in the mix, nobody would complain at all because there wouldn't be a huge gap between the rest. I do accept though that Tyrone, Donegal and Kerry are above the rest but it would not be a massive gap. The one big hope is that this Donegal team might give Dublin a game but I have my fears on that.

BaldyBadger (National) - 13/07/2019 22:04:16