Cork Forum

Popular Posts from eaglehaslanded

Joe Canning on Late Late Show - 4 Like(s)
Almost regret starting this post which has been hijacked by the "wouldn't tie his bootlaces" brigade. As a previous poster stated......it's the irrelevant debate. By the way, great players from all premier counties do disappear in games occasionally. Also, many great players have "done well" for their high profile performances. More power to them. The purpose of the post was a reaction t,o the LLS interview and how he conducted himself. Maybe I am naive to have reacted to the said interview by posting on HS. If so, I am still glad to have done so and would still suggest, if one missed this interview, catch it on the player and then make comment....good, bad or indifferent. Finally, by all means, for those who have whatever agenda they wish to get off their chests.....start your own discussion....suggested headings.....*should talented players do well for themselves *he couldn't tie the shoe laces *Who are the best begrudgers................Merry Christmas to all....including begrudgers!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 17/12/2017 11:35:47

Donegal v Tyrone - 3 Like(s)
If ever there was justice in a game it's happened.....brilliant Tyrone in second half.....played attacking football.....some point there by Harte. We'll done Tyrone.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 17/07/2016 15:44:12

Sean Cox - 3 Like(s)
With all the high's & low's of the hurling & football championship I'm sure everyone will be happy with the news Co Meath & Liverpool fan Sean Cox has regained consciousness ......best wishes To Sean & family and full recovery soon.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 15/07/2018 18:18:38

Kilkenny Vs Limerick - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "You're another poster who accuses Kilkenny players of committing an offence that is done by every decent intercounty team in the game, and as for "cuteness", one of the most cynical pieces of play ever seen in the modern game was performed by a Limerick player in the monsoon game in Croke Park against Kilkenny, tripping up Richie Power as he was through on goal, minutes after the same player should have been sent off for pulling across the head of a Kilkenny defender. You can state I'm reaching back in time to provide this example, but I guarantee you the cliched accusations of "dart arts, playing on the edge" that people continue to spew out weren't earned by the current Kilkenny team Another aspect of cuteness that Limerick players over the last few seasons have not been found wanting, is the initiate jostling and then hit the deck like a tonne of bricks, hoping to get their opponent sent off, not the "the most honest and genuine" really is it? No I don't think you've anything to worry about on the cuteness front And as for the ref had no bearing on the result? The ref allowed two head high challenges on Kilkenny players in the final minutes of the game go unpunished, not even advantage played, when the game was very much up for grabs, how is that not have a bearing on the result? The ref was poor, but these things happen, he made mistakes and we all have to live with them, he should not face punishment or abuse, but nor should people be forced to not discuss his performance. Overall Limerick deserved the win, they caused Kilkenny untold trouble at the back but Kilkenny could have snatched a draw or win but for McGrath ignoring those incidents when the game was in the melting pot"
Appreciate you are going through the "morning after the day before" but you're talking crap. Dark Art's are part of the game of hurling (historically a.k.a. Faction Fighting)...... it's just KK are better at it! There was no melting pot....Limerick bate ye yesterday playing honest hurling.....ye were gone going into the last 10 minutes of the first half! Have no problem with KK ...but your analysis is wrong......Limerick were superior for 55 minutes.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 16/07/2018 12:11:32

Great win for Wexford - 2 Like(s)
Congratulations to Wexford....brilliant win and fully deserved! It would have been a travesty had Cork sneaked a late goal. Hope ye will go a long way.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 09/07/2016 18:37:42

Cork vs Tipp (Hurling) - 2 Like(s)

Replying To WildPundit:  "Let's just hope we are both mentally and physically prepared. Lots of unwanted distractions since the Wexford game. Tipperary v Cork always takes on a life of its own. Last time we'll see Cork in Thurles for a while think we owe them 2 games below in the new PUC once it's finished. Roll on 4pm since no curtain raiser will have the spuds and all before heading to Thurles!!"
On my way to Tipp, not confident, but not on the same wavelength as some of my counties "rabbit"posters! It's Tipp v Cork.....like Tripe & Drisheen!!! 15 red shirts will try to emulate heroes of the past......with 5 kindergarten hopefuls. Rather than keep knocking those committed Corkmen, let's give them our backing and not adhere to the endless Bunnybashing negative bashing of our proud county.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 21/05/2017 11:39:55

Pat Spillane - "Dubs Can Be Rattled" - 2 Like(s)
Do people still take any notice of what Pat says .......his HealyRayesque narrative, to say the least, is just plain boring!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 08/04/2018 18:56:20

Dublin v Donegal - 2 Like(s)
Congratulations Dublin, still the best team in the championship. Any other team would have folded with the sending off's and dour opposition.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 06/08/2016 20:52:04

Cork vs Killkenny - 1 Like(s)
Words like "deluded" not so much harsh.....just ridiculous IMO in January. However, you will always have advanced begrudgers at the start of a new season. The cornflakes crying may of course come to pass but in the meantime Myler & Co deserve our support. If my memory serves me right you had similar comment during the league last year and yes....we surprised ourselves....we had a clinical Munster championship. Munster a minefield this year and expect Limerick to be a massive threat. Meade and Kingston deserve their places in the panel.....Cadogan off the scene too long and did'nt make it in the county scene in the past. It was great walking back the Centre Park Rd last night, in the company of some good Kilkenny heads, and they were happy enough with the performances of some of their new lads. Accepting its early days, last nights win was very important for our first competitive win in the new Pairc, not like the dismal curtain raiser, and the management and panel deserve our support, not from armchairs, for the season ahead.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 28/01/2018 12:45:14

What's going wrong with Cork GAA? - 1 Like(s)
Not losing the plot......it's still only January........but it's encouraging!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 29/01/2017 15:58:52

Davy Fitz - 1 Like(s)

Replying To mooncat:  "is there anyone making excuses for what happened?I merely said that there were lots of hurleys swinging,I didnt make any excuse for Tommy,Brian Gavin didnt take any action so the incident was over like my contribution to this debate about Davy,"
Spot on Mooncat.....Fairplayalways, another Davey apologist, is selective in his post re Tommy Walsh. IMO Tommy Walsh was reckless in his Hurley swinging but not intentional to draw blood off anyone! Gavin was correct in his reaction. This segment was shown again recently on TG4 and I'm convinced it was an unfortunate incident. Now here's the rub.....that incident had personnel who were entitled to be where they were when that incident happened....Davey Fitz had NO RIGHT to be where he was ....under any circumstances! Tommys rush of blood was in mix of playing, Fitzgeralds was, again, cleverly measured to cause controversy and try to gain some advantage. Ah, but shure it's only Davey, wears his heart on his sleeve etc etc etc.....enough of this apologist crap.

eaglehaslanded (National) - 23/04/2017 02:35:51

Monaghan V Kerry - 1 Like(s)
Shameful support by Kerry yesterday. Cork rightfully slagged off for our lack of support for our footballers but look at our hurler's following at ....ALL games ....,! Was in a very busy pub in Tralee last night...1 Kerry jersey ...he was at the game and said he felt like the kid in "Home Alone".....so bad was the Kerry support ! Met a fellow in Tralee Saturday morning, moaned he had a stand ticket but wasn't travelling cause the train was full ! September supporters!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 16/07/2018 12:27:28

Galway Vs Kerry - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Moyle:  "Was last minute Kerry goal legal? Looked to me as if it came off a thrown illegal hand pass. Any views?"
FFS..... legal goal!!!!! There's not much bothering you!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 16/07/2018 12:32:44

Waterford v Cork. - 1 Like(s)
Congratulations Waterford....well done, great defence AND goals DO win matches! Still, not a bad year for Cork, still in the game with 10 minutes to go.....Minor's win....its progress!!!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 13/08/2017 17:13:48

Joe Canning on Late Late Show - 1 Like(s)
I'm not a regular fan of the Late Late Show BUT I'm delighted to have been home tonight to see Tubridy interview Joe Canning. Being from Cork I probably wouldn't be a big fan of Joe.....for obvious reasons .....but I admire this superb hurler immensely ! There, I'v admitted it! However, my reason for posting is I saw the "human" side of him tonight on the LLS. Excellent interview with a very articulate and humble human being. He certainly has his life priorities in the right place. Well done to him. If you missed this show catch it on the player. You won't be disappointed .

eaglehaslanded (National) - 15/12/2017 23:58:59

The '3 Cheers' At The End Of Every Final - 1 Like(s)
Cringeworthy......well worth bringing it up!!!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 08/04/2018 18:51:19

Galway v Waterford Final - 1 Like(s)
Will get over defeat today but seriously it's great to have a Galway v Waterford Final.......will be rooting for Waterford! ....that's the heart speaking, head says Galway! I could be wrong.....lol!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 13/08/2017 17:42:06

RIP John Horgan - 1 Like(s)
RIP John 'Hoggie' Horgan, great servant for Blackrock & Cork

eaglehaslanded (National) - 11/06/2016 15:39:00

Galway Vs Killkenny - 1 Like(s)
Well done Galway. Savage game.......some 2nd half comeback by KK BUT they are beatable ...as proved today! RTE ,please change your commentators.....Michael Duignan....a tired and biased pundit....loves KK!!!

eaglehaslanded (National) - 08/07/2018 16:38:51