Cork Forum

Popular Posts from dahayeser

Fair Play Tomás O'Sé - 6 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder if he'd be as vocal if it was a number of Mayo/Dublin young lads heading off? Many counties have lost talent to other sports, soccer, rugby etc. but it's never made much noise and its accepted, if a young man wants to play a professional sport because he has the talent to do so then he should do it! Why is it different when it comes to the AFL? Kerry lads just can't look beyond their own nose down there and then use their favourable media positions to go whinging. Build a bridge lads. We've all lost major prospects to professional sports."
Firstly, there is no more talent required to play most professional sports than top level football or hurling. We have a habit of putting pro sports up on a pedestal. The problem I and others i think have with this AFL recruitment is that it is totally different from losing players to soccer or rugby. If a young fella wants to play soccer or rugby he goes to a soccer or rugby club and trains for that sport. No one is choosing to play aussie rules as a kid, the aussies are just sitting back and letting GAA volunteers train up these talented players and swiping them as they are just about to fulfill their potential. That's the frustration, amateur GAA trainers are giving their time in the hope of creating a star for their club.

dahayeser (National) - 20/05/2017 21:38:49

Cathal McShane Going To The AFL? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Kerry15:  "http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/307061 Very surprised to hear this. He's 24 and you'd usually just be wondering are the young layers going to go at around 19 or 20. He'll be a huge loss to Tyrone. It'll be hard for him to take to a new game at 24 but I do think he is well suited to it, very strong, good in the air and mobile."
I know this sounds harsh but if he goes I have to hope it doesn't work out. If bring over a seasoned 24 year old star works out than it could be come open season on GAA stars. For me the good of the game I love is bigger than any one player. I'd wish the lad every success in life, just not in some thing that may open the a new dimension of talent cherry picking by the AFL and damage our game. I hear the argument that it is only a handful of players annually but the counter argument is these are the blue chip players that decide the destination of the All Ireland. Mark O'Connor's absence may have cost Kerry and All Ireland this season. Tommy Walsh in 2011? Pearse Hanley may have got Mayo over the line once when they were so close. Setanta's loss could have cost Cork an All Ireland although with the strikes probably not. These are huge impacts. Aside from the elite counties it is even tougher on a county trying to make the break through. Derry got hammered with 3 of the best young talents they had produced in years being swiped in Conor Glass, Anton Tohill and Callum Brown. These guys are huge losses to the promotion of the games too. If they play a bit of soccer or rugby and chose one of those sports fine but there is something rotten about how the AFL let our volunteers do all the hard work and then swoop for the almost finished product.

dahayeser (National) - 02/01/2020 11:08:05

Can the GAA withstand the PR from other sports? - 3 Like(s)
The soccer boys really have to earn their PR. We have a small population, no professional league and it's the number one game in most countries in the world. The odds are well and truly stacked against us. Rugby on the other hand is a serious PR monster. There is a max of 10 competitive nations. In the bigger nations the players are bating the crap out of each other week in week out in their leagues while our top me are wrapped up in cotton wool for the big games. Add to that the top rugby nations in the southern hemisphere haven't got the cash to hand on to their best players so many of them are excluded from international teams. Different story, we have nearly everything going for us. In fairness to the IRFU they have the perfect setup for success. Great that it gives Ireland a chance to make some waves on the international stage though a little annoying that you have to listen to some giant ego rugby players banging on about their mental strength, professionalism on a regular basis. Loads of good PR there for the soccer boys too but a thousand times harder for them to earn it. The GAA then don't really do PR do they!

dahayeser (National) - 15/11/2017 09:18:34

Fair Play Tomás O'Sé - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bennybunny:  "That is life though. People work in certain jobs. Learn some skills and then move on to better things. It happens all the time. I am a GAA coach. If one of my lads had an opportunity to go to Australia to be a professional sports player, then I would wish him well. Frankly anybody that would be begrudge that lad should be let no where near children. There are lads that I have coached that have went to Australia to go picking fruit. Guys have gone to London, New York etc. One of our best players went to Canada last year. A massive loss to us. But we wished him well. We hope that he has a great time. He is working in a shop!! The Aussies are not engaging in child abduction. Also, give guys like Mark O'Connor, Darragh Joyce some respect. I assume they are capable adults than can make decisions that are best for themselves."
I don't be grudge the players, I suppose I would be happy enough if they sought out the opportunity for themselves. I suppose similar to Tomas O'Sé, I just don't like the AFL recruiters using the GAA as an academy. Thousands of GAA followers follow their teams in the hope of that magic day when you win a provincial or all Ireland title. I bring my young fella now, as a GAA person I want to be able to show him these amazing men like JBM and Larry Tompkins that I witnessed when I was a kid. I have to admit that I don't want these converts to succeed in the AFL if there are 5 of our most talented young players recruited this year and 3 or 4 make it that number will grow for the next year. I'd love Mark O'Connor to get a bout of home sickness, return, line out for Kerry, get a sponsored car, a scholarship, maybe a coaching role and plenty of endorsements so that he would have a very profitable and successful career as a GAA player. That should be possible.

dahayeser (National) - 23/05/2017 12:07:00

€12 for Croker crackers. - 3 Like(s)
It's unfortunate that it doesn't get a tack of publicity. Looking at a lot of the general sports sites (I am guessing I can't mention them here so I won't) there is truck load of articles about the 6 nations games and even the pro12 but no mention of the rematch of the All Ireland Final. The GAA have to take the blame for this too. They could have insisted RTE put a few promo ads on for games like this in their media deal. The best 2 teams in the country, excellent price, great stadium and you are get good hurling match thrown in. There could be 50k at this if they promoted it.

dahayeser (National) - 28/02/2017 10:13:35

Pairc Ui Chaoimh And Liam Miller - 2 Like(s)
While I'd like to see it played in Pairc Ui Caoimh I totally understand that there are rules in place for a reason. The stadia are to promote gaelic games who are in a tougher than ever battle for the hearts and minds of the youth from professional sports. If there is an exception given the the next case doesn't have to be so strong. If Thomond Park is being renovated in a few years big games have to go to the Aviva if no suitable Munster venue can be found... Absolutely different circumstances but if the precedent has been set then the pressure will come on to relax the rules even more Strategically it would be very interesting for Munster rugby to test out the viability of a large stadium in Cork, something that would likely negatively impact the GAA. Cork City draw some big english team in Europe same thing. Gaelic games are amateur, their facilities are one of their best resources compared to other sports, it makes sense to keep a tight reign on them. As a GAA person I don't want my kids assocation the park with somewhere Pogba got a great goal against City. I want them associating it with some magical points by Hoggie on a day the rebels beat the premier or (God will I live to see it) the day Kerry will be put to the sword in a Munster football final! All that said, this is an exceptional one for a great Cork man, if an exception could have been made now was the time to do it.

dahayeser (National) - 19/07/2018 15:24:12

2019 Attendances - 2 Like(s)
Replying To PoolSturgeon: "! The Pro-14 rugby comparison doesn't stand because it is a professional game and they have to hype it up in order to keep the money flowing because careers and teams depend on it." That is nonsense, of course Tom's point stands us and does so very well. Professional or amateur has nothing to do with it. Tom's stats are also correct. In fact Munster won all their Cork games handily last year too by an average of 25 points or so too. The fact the guys on the pitch get paid doesn't make it any more entertaining for Johnny to get off his couch to watch a nonevent in winter. Yet they manage to sell out Independent park week for all fixtures. There is of course something to be learned from this. Musgrave seems to be full of kids. How are they encouraging the kids to come? Nemo, Blackrock, Bishopstown, Douglas, Glen Rovers just to name a few clubs have hundreds of kids every Saturday morning. Should their parents be getting discount vouchers for buy tickets so they can bring their kids (who are already free) ? Why not? Also if you doubt the competitiveness of GAA league fixtures, just read any GAA autobiography, Davy Fitz, Jackie Tyrrell or Jimmy McGuinness for example, they really want to win these games.

dahayeser (National) - 19/02/2019 09:50:21

'The People's Game' - 2 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "Close to 60,000 predicated for the 2 Munster hurling semi-finals on Sunday while Munster rugby had to return 1,000 unsold tickets out of an allocation of 4, 500 for match v Leinster-at least we know what's the 'people' s game's down here"
Well they got 45,000 at the 2 hurling games which was excellent given the switch to round robin. Cork v Limerick Saturday night week in Cork could come close to that number on it's own. Great to see such an interest in hurling. To be fair to the rugby, I think most go directly on line to get their tickets and there did seem to be plenty of red in the RDS. I'd imagine if they held it in the Aviva they would have come close to selling out. They can sell it out for regular Munster Leinster league fixtures so no it would be strange not to do so for a semi final. No doubt the hurling hurt the Munster crowd. 50 EUR you'd probably get you a decent seat for yourself at the RDS while the same 50 sat myself, my wife and 2 kids in the middle of the stand in the Pairc Ui Caoimh. The old Pro14 is the secondary competition for the rugby too a bit so it would be a bit like them gloating over a Munster Leinster champions cup game outselling a National Hurling League semi final. I am GAA though and through but just throwing in a bit of balance. Obviously rugby isn't the peoples game but it has become a very popular spectator sport over past 20 years.

dahayeser (National) - 21/05/2018 09:59:19

Sunday Game 2018 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "I thought S Cavannagh gave a very honest assessment of the game and was fairly positive about it. He also called the result right last week too, so things may be looking up, all is forgiven. When will he and Brolly be on together that's what I want to know."
Just listened to Cavanagh there, much better analysis. It was the day time pundits I was referring to. Only thing I'd disagree with Cavanagh on is that it was hard to watch. I don't think Cavanagh really believes it was hard to watch either. I am sure he appreciates good defense. We are constantly being told these games are a hard watch. I really enjoyed it. Most people you meet today will regurgitate the Sunday Game pundits and tell you that it was terrible. That is damaging to our game which has evolved and to my mind improved over the years.

dahayeser (National) - 14/05/2018 12:22:38

Why have League Finals? - 2 Like(s)
There is only 7 games first place team may have had 4 home games and the second place side only 3. Unlike soccer there are no European places to fight for here. Having 2 teams going in to a final and 2 relegation places gives most teams something to fight for up to the final couple of weeks. 3 or 4 teams often have a shot at that second place. It keeps things interesting

dahayeser (National) - 28/03/2018 11:50:07

Attendances 2023 - 2 Like(s)
Anyone got a figure for Tipp vs Waterford. It's the only one we are missing from the Munster hurling championship. I heard during the week they were expecting around 19,000 but don't see an official figure mentioned anywhere. 17,971 Clare v Tipp 20,267 Limerick v Waterford 30,460 Limerick v Clare 29,104 Cork v waterford 14,320 Waterford v Clare 36,765 Cork v Tipp 37,459 Tipp v Limerick 18,659 Clare v Cork 40,847 Limerick V Cork ??,??? Tipp V Waterford

dahayeser (National) - 29/05/2023 10:14:02

Brian Fenton. - 2 Like(s)
He is outstanding, how did ye keep him away from those pesky aussies?? Even now you'd think he must be ripe for the picking! Might have been that knee injury when he missed a year around 18 that got him under their radar. Some operator, I'd love to see the dubs beaten this year but enjoy watching talent like Fenton in our game regardless.

dahayeser (National) - 28/05/2018 10:58:35

Irish And The AFL - 2 Like(s)

Replying To togoutlads:  "Another 4 great young players gone today, including our future midfield anchor for Galway. So, so disappointing. Congratulations AFL, hope you enjoy all the benefits! You're welcome. What else can we do for ye? I've another 15 years of coaching to put into some future greats here, I'll let you know when they're ready for cherry picking. G'day."
Agreed, it is very frustrating. If lads pick rugby or soccer grand. Rugby and soccer clubs and coaches have put time in to them and that's the path the kid chooses best of luck to him. AFL cherry picking the ready made talent is a much harder pill to swallow. People say it is only a handful but it is generally the elite athletes. AFL picks have likely change the destination of a number of all Irelands. Would Cork have won more in the naughties with Setanta? Would Pearse Hanley have been worth a few points to Mayo in those drawn finals? Mark O'Connor, peak Tommy Walsh in Kerry? What impact will losing Oisin Mullen have on Mayo? In a game of inches, losing these guys is huge.

dahayeser (National) - 06/09/2023 10:02:58

Brilliant Weekend Of Football - 2 Like(s)
Good challenge from Galway, the Dubs faced a rare challenge in 3 forwards who could well start for them in Burke, Walsh and Comer. They put the Dubs to the pin of their collar in the first half. Then in the second half, the greatest team I think we have ever seen found space in that Galway defense that hadn't been seen all year. The pace , fielding and efficiency of scoring was out of this world. The only thing that took from the brilliance of it from a neutrals point of view was the inevitability of the whole thing. Tyrone Monaghan was a fantastic battle, fielding, scores, hard hits, Beggan's kickouts, that Colm Cavanagh tackle! People talk about defensive football but there were times when one team was all in the opposition half attacking. 15 attacking players! Compared to the days when few complained about the quality or standard of Gaelic football 70's / 80's - this years semi finals were light years ahead.

dahayeser (National) - 13/08/2018 10:00:43

Would A Team Of Young Irish AFL Players Win The All Ireland - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bennybunny:  "Those players will benefit from playing in Oz. Kildare had 4 players that returned on their championship squad this year and they did well. Living the life of a professional athlete cannot hinder them and the opportunity presented is fantastic. Unlike Tomás O Se, I think the GAA should make more of the link. If we are staying amateur, then why not use the AFL as a marketing tool to get young players to play. Guys like Mike Quinn, Brendan Murphy, Red Og Murphy, Ciarán Byrne have almost no chance of ever winning an All Ireland or playing in front of full house at Croke Park but all got a chance and to travel play a professional sport through GAA involvement. Its grand for Kerry, Dublin etc who can sell Gaelic football as their are loads of AI medal winners hanging around and you are always in with a shout of winning. Not the same in most counties but AFL not discriminating by county. Tomás also worried about the poor club coaches who have their players poached from them by the thieving Aussies. I know Mitchelstown are extremely proud that Mark Keane is going yo give it a go. I am sure many others feel the same."
I disagree completely. In GAA we need new teams to be coming all the time to freshen up the championship. In Derry they have produced and nurtured 3 outstanding talents in Conor Glass, Anton Tohill and Callum Brown. This is a once in a generation trio that an Ulster championship could be built around but all 3 are gone. Thanks for training them up lads but we'll take it from here. Like their style of football or not. Donegal brought huge colour and drama to the championship when the started to come in 2011. If Murphy, Neil Gallagher and Karl Lacy had been cherry picked with McBrearty to follow where would Gaelic Football be in Donegal compared to where it is now? As a Cork man I may need to get a check up at the local GP by showing sympathy for Kerry but they have put huge work in at underage and deserve to be at the top table battling it out with the Dubs. I wouldn't be surprised to see Clifford go to the AFL in the next year or 2. In his statement last year indicated he would be with Kerry for 2018, no more than that. How demoralising would that be for Kerry gaels to lose Clifford on top of Mark O'Connor and Stefan Okunbor. There is no way the likes or Lee Keegan would escape the AFL scouts now. Our game would will undoubtedly suffer if we start to hemorrhage our top up and coming stars year on year. I am with Tomas O'Sé 100%. Remember the AFL cost hurling their greatest ever marketing tool in our own Setanta O'hAilpin 15 years ago. In his one year at senior he had every kid in Cork wanting to hurl. This is definitely not something to be encouraged. Best scenario is the majority of the lads who have gone return home and provide little return on investment for their AFL clubs.

dahayeser (National) - 07/11/2018 10:48:27

Pairc Ui Chaoimh And Liam Miller - 2 Like(s)
Serious pressure on the GAA - National Media,all over phone in radio shows in Cork but more I hear about it the more I think it is opportunism and a populist move your man Flynn. We are all well aware that there is no soccer allowed in GAA grounds. Play a gaelic game with Cork City FC legends and Cork GAA legends. If all the outraged social media people are genuine about raising money for the Millers and there goal isn't to use the situation to watch Man Utd playing soccer in a GAA stadium they will turn up regardless off the event. Do all these outraged people need to question if are they outraged for Liam Miller's family or just to have a cheap pop at the GAA!

dahayeser (National) - 20/07/2018 12:25:03

Sunday Game 2018 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "What do we take on the 2018 coverage, i was very disappointed in the lack of analysis or discussion for the Joe McD Cup and when Michael Duigan says there was footage when clearly there was footage of the Antrim v Carlow game which was shocking"
Brutal as ever. Shocking negativity about Galway v Mayo, a tough hard championship game that went down to the wire. Some great skills on show and fine scores. Sure some well organised defense make attacks look short on ideas from time to time. I hate the GAA Sky deal but when RTE's pundits tell the world that your game is terrible stuff week in week out what choice do they have.. time for another chat with TV3 maybe?? Agreed with cuchulainn35 on the lack of Joe McD Cup highlights not to mention the 2 or 3 minutes coverage they gave us of the all Ireland champions very entertaining opener against a gutsy Offaly side. Less talk and more highlights would be a start.

dahayeser (National) - 14/05/2018 11:12:38

Attendances 2023 - 2 Like(s)
There is usually a thread tracking crowds, I don't see one this year so I'll kick it off Football 13,654 Mayo Galway 17,500 Dublin Kildare 14,113 Armagh Mayo 7,000 Galway Roscommon 10,232 Kerry Monaghan Hurling 12,000 Wex Kilkenny (Walsh Cup) 8,200 Wex Galway 19,500 Cork Limerick Championship crowds there. Big numbers in Navan and Newbridge as well but couldn't track down the figures

dahayeser (National) - 07/02/2023 15:16:40

Attendances 2024 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "They would get bigger crowds too if they properly marketed them.. FAI and rugby do that so much better. Spending a few bob to build up games involving the top teams would easily pay for itself. They used to that and filled Croke Park for a league game between Dublin and Tyrone once, and got close to 60,000 for Dublin and Kerry league game after the 2011 final if i recall correctly."
Fr Dougal Maguire could sell Dublin V Kerry in Croke Park under lights months after they played out a highly entertaining All Ireland Final. If he was anyway stuck for ideas you could point out to him that you had Con vs Clifford as a side show. Possibly the 2 greatest forwards and most marketable players we'll see in our lifetimes. Dubs made a big effort with their league games calling them "the Spring Series" pulled in big crowds some years back. Seem to have given up on that now. When you think the IRFU can sell out Munster vs Leinster as this huge grudge match twice a year even it the top 20 players have better things to do than tog in this fixture so you are effectively looking at 2 second strings. The GAA need to to much better here. Knocking the hurling league division 1 down to 5 games is also crazy. Do they want to show kids their heros or not. Cork just wrapped up the last of their 2 home league games on a bitterly cold and wet February Sunday. Shooting themselves in the foot.

dahayeser (National) - 26/02/2024 10:47:32

Attendances 2022 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To StoreysTash:  "dahayeser they are not valid comparisons. Kilkenny don't travel to away games until finals and certainly not 150km to one in a part of the country which is notorious to get to/from. Wexford Galway had more than 10k at it, both the stand and openside were full. I wonder if GAA are playing down attendances or think people don't pay attention so just saying whatever. I made this point before that every county has 10k of a core support, and after that the increased crowd is to do with how well the team is doing. Every county has this, mine, yours, Limerick, Waterford, every one of them. I was talking to a man at training last night who said he hadn't been to any Wexford match this year yet as Ed Sheeran nearly broke him!!! But last weekend there were 4 different Wexford matches between football and hurling minor, U20 and senior. 2 v Laois in O'Moore Park, 2 v Dublin in Wexford Park. Perfect for 2 double headers but some genius didn't think so."
I wasn't saying Munster hurling is better or anything like that. I often enjoy Leinster hurling more, it can be more of a dog fight with lower scores and the ball in play more leading to some great battles. This year is mad with everything crammed together, that's a different thread. I am just surprise at some of the crowds compared to Munster. Even leaving Wexford aside surely Galway at home to Kilkenny should be close to a sell out. Especially with Henry Sheff in the hot seat. Galway went long enough with no home games. Now they have a cracker on their door step. Crowds comparatively small enough in 2019 too in what was a brilliant Leinster championship when you look back. Only 15k at Wexford v Kilkenny in what was effectively a knock out game. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_Leinster_Senior_Hurling_Championship

dahayeser (National) - 04/05/2022 14:45:11