Cork Forum

Popular Posts from Midleton

Kildare V Mayo - 7 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "At least do a little research before posting lad. Meath have full go ahead for their 20,000 ALL SEATER stadium to be built funding etc allsorted, for phase 1. actually the Tyrone game was probably last championship game to be played in old pt. So how does that rebuke your nonsense post??"
Well done to Kildare for standing up for their rights. I sincerely hope the GAA will see sense on this. It is certainly high time a stop was put to the GAA's gallop of putting money before supporters.

Midleton (National) - 25/06/2018 23:44:05

Confederate Flag - 5 Like(s)
It is not and has never been political. Any nation flag with a bit of red in it has been flown in the past by Cork supporters. I can recall the Japan's Rising Sun, the USSR's Hammer and Sickle, Canada's Maple Leaf and even the United State's Stars and Stripes. There has been others on occasion, but I've forgotten what they were. I understand the rumpus because of what's happening in Charlottesville at the moment, but just because some racist group decides to use what is, after all, a very famous flag, should every one else be banned from using it for other purposes? The people who bring up this are the people with the problem, and those sort of people want to inflict other people with their problem.

Midleton (National) - 15/08/2017 19:44:47

Time To Confess - 4 Like(s)
Living down South, I could simply replace the Work "Dublin" with the word "Kerry" and most of it would apply. Maybe I'm out of touch here, but I could put up with Dublin winning another title, as long as the neighbours don't. The neighbours have far too many, anyway.

Midleton (National) - 24/07/2018 12:32:53

Should James Owens be sanctioned? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Mayonman:  "James Owens says he saw the Austin Gleeson incident. That implies he decided to ignore the rules of the game. I'd say Cork fans are particularly annoyed. Should a referee face consequences for ignoring rules??? In my opinion yes. That is their sole function. Any ref can make a mistake bit to admit he saw it but did nothing?? Where does this end??"
I would say that it brings the GAA into serious disrepute, only that they have been in that place a long, long time.

Midleton (National) - 15/08/2017 19:36:05

Joe Canning on Late Late Show - 3 Like(s)
I've always admired Joe Canning as a player and as a man. It's such a pity that some people think that great players have to be denigrated to laud the players of their choice. Different players, different times, different styles, different circumstances. It was such a pleasure to watch them all play. They come from all counties at all times.

Midleton (National) - 22/12/2017 20:43:25

Galway V Cork Minor Hurling Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Not fair that Cork and KK get Provincial medals while Galway have to beat the country to get something. Let Galway into one of the big 2 provinces, young lads would develop better. Equality, equity etc."
It's hardly the fault of Cork and Kilkenny that a minor provincial championship doesn't exist in Connaught. Surely that is the fault of the Connaught counties?

Midleton (National) - 14/08/2021 21:17:21

David Fitzgerald's Behaviour - 2 Like(s)
Joe Canning's interview was the classiest I have ever heard. There was no triumphalism. He said that there were more important things in life that hurling which he described as " a hobby we do"). Her referenced Davy and said he was glad to see him back on the sideline again after his scare. I have always admires Joe for his hurling and his attitude and this interview had solidified that admiration.

Midleton (National) - 24/07/2016 19:33:08

The GAA And Taking The Knee. - 2 Like(s)
All it takes is a simple banner flown at every match which promotes inclusiveness. No need to ape other sports. Everyone is welcome at out games. Just tell them that.

Midleton (National) - 11/06/2021 15:45:08

Pairc Ui Chaoimh And Liam Miller - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "Just read that the government had to step in to tell the GAA they are in breach of the EU funding that gave 30 million to PUC. There are really some unsharp knives in that GAA drawer that they do not know these stipulations before getting egg all over their faces. Enough this year to make an omelet the size of PUC."
And this is a government which never gets egg all over their fat faces? The GAA have taken legal advice. Has our government? Too many anti-GAA people talking without knowing what they are talking about. The GAA should do what the government often does: allow the game to go ahead at the Pairc and then fine themselves for breaking their own rules. Money moves out and moves back again.

Midleton (National) - 24/07/2018 12:27:07

Davy Hard Done By? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Agree with every word so. People complain about referees, they won't get better or we won't get better ones if people think the solution is more abuse for them."
Davy is a serial offended at this stage and why they don't hand him a good hefty suspension is beyond me. Anyone who had read his original autobiography will realise that he has an immense ego and that whatever happens has to be always about him or because of him.

Midleton (National) - 08/06/2019 13:55:08

Blame Tyrone For Tribesmen's Success - 2 Like(s)
If anything shows up Colm O'Rourke for being anything other than useless as a pundit, that remark did. Perhaps there's some jealously in it? What I got from watching Galway is that they attack like a swarm of wasps and if you escape without being stung, you are extremely lucky. If there's one team Dublin won't fancy playing, it's Galway.

Midleton (National) - 03/03/2018 11:19:07

CORK FOOTBALLERS ARE RIGHT. - 2 Like(s)
Walsh Park, where Cork will play Waterford in the hurling championship has a similar official capacity to Pairc Ui Rinn, (and also at the moment, has the same reduced capacity). The match between Waterford and Cork, in either Thurles of Limerick, would draw in at least 30,000. Why is the Munster Council not worried about loss of income there? Is it because they are being hypocritical? Or is it because Sky, who are contracted to cover the Munster Football Semi-Final, are leaning on them to have a bigger crowd. If it is the latter, there are at least grounds for a discussion. If not, what the feck is their problem?

Midleton (National) - 17/04/2022 21:29:22

The Sky deal yet again - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Antifa:  "Wow, this is some grade A winging going on. To reiterate a few points already made. A) Go to the game! It wont matter who is showing it if you go to support your team. Yes everybody has different circumstances that can prevent them from going but you would swear access to Sky TV is like searching for the Holy Grail. Plenty of ways getting around it. B) Watch it online via a stream, just type "Dublin v Donegal live stream" into google and hey there it is, It will do the job if you cant leave the house for whatever reason. If you cant figure out how to stream a game or know someone who cant, ask for help from a friend or neighbor or relative. C) Watch the game with a friend neighbor or relative who has sky. D) Head down the pub, soak up the atmosphere, drink or don't drink who cares. E) Buy the subscription for one month. If x and y circumstance wasn't preventing you from going to the game then a month subscription will cost the same (probably less) as the day out to Croke Park would have been. If none of the above is available then guess what? Tough Luck. It is not a human right to be given access to watch a sports game from the comfort of your own home."
Nobody said it was an issue of human right - don't be so dramatic. The question is whether the GAA are treating their supporters with proper respect and consideration and the answer to that is they are not. They have become absolutely detached from the grassroots of their own organization.

Midleton (National) - 03/08/2016 22:54:54

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 2 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "With the increasing number of IC games now only accessible to those with technology and decent broadband you could only. conclude that RTE is no longer bothered to cater for its older viewers. I think it's shameful. The GAA doesn't seem to bother either. It's always about the bottom line now and that goes right against the ethos of our national sport"
Spot on avonali. RTE are a public broadcaster and we pay the license to support it. The GAA would tell you that their job is to promote the national games. How are they promoting it by hiding some of the best games behind a paywall? Of course, we have the usual "I'm all right, Jack" crew on here, caring about nobody but themselves, which attitude only encourages the GAA in its pecuniary ambitions. Make no mistake about it; the GAA are mainly to blame, not RTE. Does anyone remember when TG4 showed the first Saturday evening under floodlights match broadcast? It was between Cork and Kerry in Pairc Ui Rinn, and it was a right good match, which my brother attended while I watched it on TV. Not long after the GAA took those matches off TG4 and gave them to pay channel Setanta. Then they took free-to-view matches off TV 3 and gave them to Sky. On both occasions they lied that it was to make the games more available to Irish people living abroad. On both occasions, it was simply about more money. But go ahead and support those lying greedy people. They're only laughing at you.

Midleton (National) - 22/06/2023 19:02:48

"Why Should Anybody Have The God-Given Right To See All Games On Television?" - 2 Like(s)

Replying To totalrecall:  "it's an amateur game being played by amateurs, it is not professional sport but we see fit to allow full time paid officials to make decisions who would not put the decision to go with Sky before congress. Not everyone can afford Sky, and many who cant are GAA volunteers at local level who the Top Brass in the GAA have no regard or respect for. Older people who may not be physically able to attend games but who may have given lots of service to the GAA in the past are being ignored as well. The GAA love to clap themselves on the back about community???....is pay per view TV central to community????.........put this to John Horan and no doubt he will behind the diaspora which seems to be GAA's standard answer to any difficult question these days."
This is it in a nutshell. People need to be reminded, again and again. "Our GAA: Where we all belong". Only, apparently, if you have plenty of money. The GAA are hypocrites.

Midleton (National) - 08/08/2019 19:46:24

Mayo V Kerry - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "As I Kerry fan I fear this fixture. Home advantage helps but Mayo are vastly experienced and they essentially bullied us the last two fixtures. Our defence is porous and our midfield poor. Mayos running game could cause high problems. But if we get even at midfield we have classier forwards. We haven't lost in Killarney since 1995. I see RTE are showing Cork V Dublin. With Dublin 1/50. Sky are not showing the Kerry Mayo clash so is it not being shown live. If so that's laughable, it's the tie of the round"
Absolutely. A game just made for television, which a lot of people would enjoy watching. The GAA is, of course, responsible for this, and not the broadcasters. Sometimes you would think that they are trying to make the general public forget that Gaelic games exist. Every other sport tried to promote itself - and nothing better for this than television - but the GAA wants to keep its own games hidden like a dirty secret.

Midleton (National) - 07/07/2019 00:05:37

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Sugary_tae:  "Nice one to win. Cork have always felt they can beat us and while that's obviously true getting one over them before the championship puts them thinking. There's a whole bunch of attacking ability in that cork team so when we analyse that it took Horgan with a massive free total and a free happy ref to stay with us you'd imagine the lads will know in their hearts we're more than good enough to win there in may. We've hit 28 or 29 points in our last two visits to pairc ui Caoimh so if we could add a goal in the championship next time it'll be massive. T Richie is going to be a massive loss but at least it's happened now to allow us to plan"
Aw, for feck's sake! Limerick were always the better team today, and I never felt they would lose it, even when Cork struck for those two goals. Limerick were always able to point their way back into it. Good luck for the rest of the league.

Midleton (Limerick) - 23/02/2020 20:33:10

Dubs V Mayo - 1 Like(s)
It was indeed fitting that Mayo, who gave Dublin all those titanic battles, should be the ones to end their run. The best of luck to them in the All-Ireland, whoever their opponents may be and whenever it is played.

Midleton (National) - 14/08/2021 21:11:28

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 1 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Apologies Midleton for my last reply I don't mean it to be so aggressive. I get very wound up about the €160 licence fee. It could buy a nice bit of electricity or gas for someone this day and age if they didn't need to pay it. I feel like a mug ever putting my name down for it, can't avoid it now."
As Bill used to say, "We'll leave it there, so."

Midleton (National) - 25/06/2023 14:19:48

RTE And Older GAA Fans - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Ah here. You think it's insulting to a person if they have to ask for advice or assistance on something they haven't done before? A few weeks ago, I had to re-roof a small shed here. Hadn't a clue how to get started. Asked for advice from a neighbour who's a builder. He set me on the right track. Job done, and I'll know now how to do the same if I ever have to do it again in future. Do I feel insulted by having to ask for advice and assistance? No. Have already told how my parents in their late 70s and early 80s have learned how to stream any match they want. How do you think they learned? I showed them. Were they insulted by having to take my advice and follow my instructions? No. Do you ever have to learn how to do something new, whether it be in work, leisure, or anything else? Do you feel insulted by having to learn from others rather than having automatic and limitless knowledge of everything? Please answer those ones yourself."
I've never asked anyone how to do things. When I had to learn anything new, I learned it from books or magazine articles, latterly from You Tube. I don't think everyone is the same as myself. I know they aren't. And that works both ways.

Midleton (National) - 25/06/2023 14:29:27