Cork Forum

Popular Posts from ImokillyMan

Official Limerick Senior Hurling 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To WhipOnTheBall:  "Dont know so much about cork but certainly Kilkenny and even Tipp for that matter wouldnt take the foot off the throat when they would go 9 points up . i have to say i was a bit disappointed the way we finished that game and i was afraid that Dublin might get a lucky goal in the closing minutes and god knows what would have happened then but look we are in a League Final and although many fans are moaning about the trip to Dublin and why isnt it in Thurles or Nowlan park my view is looking at the bigger picture , the more games our Hurlers get in Croker the better as its almost like a home ground to the Leinster teams . For years Limerick Teams froze when they got to croker as they werent used to it and although Sunday will not have the big Crowd or atmosphere of a semi final or All ire final it cant do the players any harm especially if Kiely needs to bring on a few new faces that werent involved too much last year . i hope there will be a decent Limerick crowd there to support the lads as they deserve it . Stop finding excuses and make that trip ...luimneach Abu"
How can anyone moan about having to travel to Croker for the final of one of the 3 main cups you compete for every year at inter-county level. As many Limerick supporters should travel as they can, these are great days that shouldn't be taken for granted. You'd swear we were winning loads of trophies for years. Support our superb team - regardless of the result, you know they'll play a good brand of hurling and they'll go to the end.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 28/03/2019 14:29:23

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 2 Like(s)
Happy beyond words, cant believe it. Congrats to them all and all Limk supporters, those present and those past whod have loved to see this. What a team. Luimneach ABU!!!!!

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 19/08/2018 18:12:14

Limerick hurling 2016 - 2 Like(s)
4ever I agree that there should be a 'game plan' but still, every county standard player knows what a 'right' ball is - they have been told that since they were kids and unless they are being specifically told to lump it in high then I do think that they deserve to shoulder some of the responsibility. Also, forwards of county standard must know that if you stand still your chances of winning a ball are less unless you are 6 inches taller and a stone heavier than your marker. Yet against Tipp, you had little forward movement and again, some of this has to be the responsibility of the players. In my view, managers get too much credit for victory and too much blame for defeat.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 07/07/2016 14:38:07

Limerick Junior Hurling Championship 2017 - 2 Like(s)
Shout out to Rathkeale for a fully deserved West title today - first for 49 years. Great effort from them - basically the same lsds play football n hurling and after all draws/football relegation disappointments etc., they played a good brand of hurling to win today. Well done to them

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 04/11/2017 22:05:35

Limerick Hurling 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Limerick haven't had really dangerous corner forwards for long time now - no consistent scorers of 3-4 scores a game, unlike the top counties who have corner forwards who clock up big scores regularly. Not sure is Hannon the answer there either, unless you are hoping that he uses his size to good effect

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 03/02/2017 12:58:49

Junior A hurling 2015 - 1 Like(s)
But its the clubs who elect the guys at the top - unless the clubs stand up at the convention and force changes, then nothing will happen. But these will be the same clubs who won't play during the summer cause one lad is on holidays or will moan if a player gets hurt and misses a Munster final with Lmk. There is nothing stopping the clubs forcing county players to play club championship the week before a Lmk game but i bet you they wouldn't. I hear the same stuff down in Cork - they all moan about fixture congestion and doing nothing during the summer, yet will be the first to put matches off for any small reason if it suits them. The amount of clubs that won't play any serious underage games during June/July because of holidays is unbelievable - then the crib when there are matches being played now. No fan of some board people but sometimes I can't see how they can win.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 19/09/2016 12:39:59

Limerick Senior Hurling 2018. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To blackspot91:  "Jesus this forum is getting toxic"
Agree Blackspot reading stuff this week that was just nuts. Great result today but lets not get carried away now - I still think we're a forward or two short of being top class but we have a damn fine team that hopefully will only get better.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 04/02/2018 17:15:50

from what i hear, the change with Cork this year is they decided to go back to their traditional style of hurling - apparently conceding 5 goals in 2013 AI final made them paranoid and they set-up every team since to make sure that it didn't happen again. This came at a cost to the other parts of their game and they went downhill. They decided after last year that they were going nowhere copying all of these sweeper tactics etc. and decided that they'd play the game their way and with as much pace as they could find. The thing there is that it shows that management can learn from experience, Kingston and the Rock were there last year too when they were pretty crap. Whatever your opinion on whether Limerick have the talent or not (I think all we have is some potential, nothing definite and nothing proved yet), it shows that coaches and management can change too if they want to - i'd give Kiely and his staff their term and really start making calls on them from next year. I'd be looking for a definite style of play and players with good movement who play with their heads up, using the ball well. Coaching can definitely help with that, if they are encouraged to do it.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 20/06/2017 13:22:04

Well said Mike - pissed off that I can't make it Sunday (work.....) but I'll be listening in hoping our boys show us what they can do. Great to know that I'll have some good reporters on here that'll give us a view of the real thing rather than what I'd see on TV highlights. Make it a good atmosphere and I'm confident that we'll beat them.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 30/05/2017 07:09:13

Claughaun Demise - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Breezy:  "You are right. I should have done more research on that one. I heard a bit of pub talk from some waterford lads but I would have no clue how reliable they are and I read a few articles mostly about Galway hurling that mentioned Waterford and Limerick but i should have been a bit more suspicious about it after I noticed they also mentioned problems in Cork which i thaught was a bit off. Although i could be wrong abut Cork too. Its been a long time since I spoke to anyone involved in hurling at a club level outside of Limerick. Anyway heres hoping something can be done to get these clubs driving on again"
All inner city clubs are struggling everywhere if ya ask me. In Cork, famous city clubs now have teams playing in the third grade in hurling and football. Its the clubs on the edge of the city who are now dominating underage, only a matter of time before it shows through at senior level.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 07/05/2019 08:52:14

Mike03 agree with your message above - when i saw the comments bout the cork challenge, i thought they'd been hammered. Know it has no bearing on the real thing but its not long ago when even winning challenges against the bigger counties was unheard of. Think Cork were coming off of a beating from Clare so i bet they were probably a little up for it more than normal so that'd put some gloss on it. Anyway, think most of us on here know what our weaknesses are and its a case now of just seeing what they do to improve - somethings probably won't get better and others might but I'll wait and see before making any more comments on them. The minimum i expect is a display of guts and spirit - the fancy hurling / styles / systems can come after that.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 04/05/2017 07:56:04

Have to disagree welpastit on the competitivness comment - if you saw the amount of pulling and dragging that forwards were doing to try to get free - it was constant high-pace movement and great ball coming in that made it for Cork. Thought where Cork got them was that they were competitive in the air - Tipp went long with most puck outs thinking they'd win them which they didn't. Cork generally mixed it up, with Nash hitting some long, drilling others and then hitting an odd one short just to keep them thinking. All I would say is that by keeping the ball moving quickly, Cork took away Tipps physical strength advantage - they turned it into a foot-race and in the end, were quicker. Whoever plays Cork next will have to slow down the ball coming in

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 22/05/2017 10:57:38

Limerick hurling 2016 - 1 Like(s)
Agree Welpastit - really stupid and uncalled for. Know none of us are happy bout Sunday but clowns like that don't deserve to follow a successful team - whether the players are good enough or not they shouldnt be getting dogs abuse. I'd say the same for the Mgt - in all cases, if they are not good enough, they should just wait until its over and they go then.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 22/06/2016 13:30:24

Limerick hurling 2016 - 1 Like(s)
Lads hearing all of this stuff bout changing the CB - what are their crimes to date that are affecting performance on the pitch. Have they interfered with work of managers/coaches/trainers (it is their job to interfere with the selection of manager) - have they been stirring trouble with panels - are they penny-pinching with panels/players - are they not looking after player for gear/food/training facilities etc.. Are they blocking reform of club competitions - would have thought the clubs themselves should be able to have a say in this? Just interested to hear what people would expect from a new CB and what would be different from the current set-up.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 20/07/2016 10:58:08

I'm not for a minute trying to defend these guys, but can someone give me evidence of what the Co Board done that has interfered with the senior teams performance in the last few years. Have they interfered with selections? Have they interfered with substitutions during games? Have they denied the squad resources they need? Have they damaged the teams chances by setting unrealistic club fixtures? Like i say, I'm not defending them, just have not heard any evidence of anything that would make the senior team worse than it should be. If its there, let us know. They should be getting structures right in the county and promoting the underage games better - I do agree that they hold onto power too long but they are voted in as nobody else seems to want to do these jobs. Up to the clubs to mobilise, but guess what, most clubs reflect the Co. board (same officers for years, members do little to change it...)

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 20/07/2017 08:28:14

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Thanks for your input ," shite an'all'. Absolutely no offence taken as the sh....sh ...sh sh comes in all, forms and shapes here, from the self serving to the craving for attention they didn't get as a child group, to the self proclaimed experts who cast that omniscient and jaundiced eye on the rest of us each day from under the head of cabbage in the long field.
Apologies to all who have had to suffer in the past several days, reading rushed script ( from the job) which was further exacerbated by a virus of some kind causing cursor to skip back after word making it difficult to type coherently.

I have over the past 3-4 years railed incessantly and repeatedly against what I see as 2 of the greatest impediments to the progress or Limerick hurling.
I have NOT skipped from one to the other as was suggested by someone who shall remain nameless.

1) A county board which has and continues to be a sorry collection of ---.
2) A full back who, while he played a great game against Kilkenny and I was one of the first to compliment him on here immediately after that game, has IMO over the past 4 years including the Munster final of 13 which we won, felt sufficiently unchallenged and secure in his position to lack the necessary fitness, effort, and dedication owed to his team mates who busted their gut day in and day out. One good game in 4 years is not a passport to the "legend" club or automatic selection. We need necessary dedication to fitness and teammates and supporter going forward to 2018. Time to lead, follow or get to "f...."h out of the way. I could name the 3 or buddies who will slam me here .. ..mc, ss come quickly to mind.

Kiely the manager makes the wrong call sometimes but who doesn't? he is human...overall he is doing a great job in trying to come up with the correct mix.
Kiely the journalist is doing a great job in pointing out the abysmal failure emanating from the inner sanctum.

My wish for the next 6 months is that club delegates find their voice and be cowed or stonewalled in submission or inaction which IMO is the sorry state we have been lingering in for too long. .
I think we have a great panel and a great pipeline (probably the best ever) . Let's find ways to support them rather than allow them to allow them to languish in mediocrity and (current) bureaucracy) as has been our sad history acounty full of hurling talent lacking in in direction and assertiveness or (edge aka Liatroidi) .
Kiely the journalist is pointing to the first step in his column about change at the top.

Come On Ye Boys In Green."
Pat give us some specifics about the CB that causes you to think they lose us matches. No good just saying they are a useless shower - tell us what they do every year that affects how we play on the pitch.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 23/07/2017 21:07:18

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 1 Like(s)
First half was the best half from a team I have ever seen. Its not just that they are superbly talented, but they are not greedy, they always play as a team. That happens very rarely at any level, every club has a fella who wants to play the game by himself. It was something to see them in action yesterday

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 23/08/2021 09:49:28

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Completely agree that top table should go. Completely disagree that John Kiely should go. He should complete 3 year term, not because he is a south Limerick man, but because he has an enormous task in coming up with right blend given entire team is reforming. Plan has not gone according to script in one or two championship outings,but I have faith in him. Anybody else we bring in over next two years will set us back an additional year or two as he will be starting from scratch yet again. ot go according to script in one or two championship outings,but I have faith. Neither do we need a coach for the backs as someone suggested. r We need a coach for county board. Start the cull with county board."
Pat asked this before but what evidence is there that a) Co. Boards interfere with team selection b) interfere with substitutions c) deny team what they need for preparation. I am not a fan of theirs in any way - there is a lot they could do with respect to structures within the county and with the proper promotion of the games. But the Co Board reflects the clubs and the membership - most clubs have people at the top who have been there too long and do things their way - but the fault of that is with the members, who do not stand up and take on the roles on themselves. Are there long lists of nominees every year at every AGM to take roles at club and board levels...not that I know of.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 20/07/2017 09:26:38

Limerick Minor hurlers 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Hurleybuoy:  "This team of kids have a number of players doing inter/leaving cert currently right, this has to be a hard time for them?? The limerick minors have come across as a well oiled machine so far in the Tipp & Cork games (lets forget about w'ford game for now) and i have a feeling they will come out fighting in Cusack park on Sunday. There were a few of us watching the warm up in the Gaelic Grounds Sunday, one commented (who would be better versed that me in this field) that he couldnt get over the standard of preperation, drills, conditioning and most importantly communication between Mgmt/Selectors and players. They have coached these kids up through the Academy, and arent on a wage for it BTW and it was clear to see that they all have a mutual respect for each other too. People talk about there being "Heart" in the Senior team, well you need not look as far as the Seniors for that, its starting us in the face with the Minors. I hope Limerick turns up to support our Minors on Sunday, they 100% deserve it."
Fair play and well said. You can really see the results of the academy really showing through now; young players who have been reared on playing the game in the right manner, using the ball to the benefit of each other and the team. When you see the size of the playing pool like I do in cork and compare it to what is in Limerick , you realise what you are getting out of the academy in limerick is outstanding - long may it last. Best of luck to them all on Sunday

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 13/06/2018 17:06:20

Agree that there is no need to panic - hopefully it'll have opened the eyes for the year ahead - only point I'll make about giving young fellas to settle is that Waterford threw a bunch of their young fells in and they adapted very quickly - with the demands of inter-county now, the age profiles are actually coming down a bit, and fellas of 21/22/23 are becoming the main men. To me, our biggest problem is hurling savvy which is a hard thing to coach - getting forwards to make the right runs at the right times and having backs that can supply the right ball - sounds easy but is very hard to do. I'll support them to the last but would like to see this part of their game come on this season - I have no doubt that they'll train hard and try their hearts out.

ImokillyMan (Limerick) - 16/01/2017 12:26:46