Cork Forum

Popular Posts from pidge

David Gough To Referee The Final - 7 Like(s)
Utterly rediculous all this talk is..I've been to so many games where kerry got the rub of the green from refs that it's just come to be expected and part of the experience at this stage..granted yes I'll bitch and moan about decisions but to question the integrity of any referee appointed (and make no bones about this one this is exactly what is being done here) is just pathetic behaviour from fans of a team much less a former intercounty manager.. David gough will show up and ref to what he sees and how he interprets foulplay whether it's Dublin v kerry or leitrim v Wicklow.. Best of luck and congratulations to him as this is a big honour and it's being ruined by complete fools suggesting he has a bias..I sincerely hope he's the type of person to stray away from papers and social media as at this moment his big day is being shit on left right and centre by folks discussing his appointment

pidge (National) - 14/08/2019 18:01:19

All Ireland Final - Who You Shouting For? - 4 Like(s)
As a cork man and suffering at the hands of kerry on numerous occasions and listening to the select few of their supporters before during and after those games i can never bring myself to even consider shouting for them..i had this debate on the way up to limerick to the hurling under 20 final with a couple lads and we came to the conclucion that every cork person should be shouting for dublin on sunday and if not...they have not been to enough cork v kerry football games down through the years...dublin can win the next 10 all irelands and id still be shouting for them if they were going for 15 in a row should they be playing kerry in the final...nothing against our lovely neighbours tho..COYBIB

pidge (National) - 28/08/2019 16:15:39

Stephen Cluxton - 4 Like(s)
An absolute icon of a man..his longevity is also something to marvel at..I was only a young boy in primary school watching this man play in goal for Dublin..I'm now a full grown man watching him more less get better and better and his achievements are simply astonishing..should he call it a day and hang up his boots this year he should be celebrated as the greatest goalkeeper of all time in our game..his coolness in 2011 slotting that free over as if it was a Tuesday night training session for the club..his kickouts and revolutionizing of the game..even 5 years ago sticking a fella in goal was nearly seen as an insult..now it's near the most important position on the field all down to clucko..he's an absolute legend who owes nothing to Dublin or the GAA..Dublin and the GAA owe an awful lot back to him tho..what a man

pidge (National) - 18/09/2019 22:58:47

Stay Safe. - 3 Like(s)
Absolutely have to agree with this...looking at the various soccer games being played behind closed doors is disappointing and ruins the games as an experience to watch..much like I'm gutted that many GAA matches may not be fulfilled, for myself to play in or even attend my inter county teams games...but all of this is simply insignificant compared to what is happening now...it may be a while before normal life returns and we have to put up with bickering of dublin and kerry fans on here and hopefully that day comes sooner rather than later but as stated I sincerely hope all of us here on hoganstand stay safe and hopefully we will be back to discussing super 8s, 2nd tier championships and hurling referees in the not too distant future..until then I hope all of us and our friends and family arnt affected by this

pidge (National) - 12/03/2020 18:54:11

Gods or what - 3 Like(s)
well lads and lassies...i had to look at this thread again and its astonishing that i brought it back from the doldrums in 2011,2015 and most recently 2019...as its all ireland hurling final eve i thought id do the same again..very different this year as surely if this limerick team win we may have another "jim" wax lyrical bout this great limerick side being the greatest?? time will tell..classic stuff

pidge (National) - 16/07/2022 15:21:28

Mayo V Dublin - 2 Like(s)
can not wait to see how this game pans out..since 2015 every game between these 2 ive always thought that dublin would win by 5+ points...but such is the entertainment this mayo team provided in all those games i was way off the mark and thankfully so because to be fair this mayo team have saved the championship time and time again if not for them this fantastic dublin side would have swept through to all irelands virtually untested as for saturdays game once again i cant see anything other than a dublin victory and also dublin exceeding the handicap of 5 points...but because it is mayo you just never know and that is the absolute beauty of this fixture buzzing for saturday

pidge (National) - 05/08/2019 21:06:34

Dublin V Cork Super 8S - 2 Like(s)
what is the general thinking going into this game? obviously on all known form dublin should win it handy but as for this cork side..i have no words. where are they in the pecking order of things?.. this team got relegated from division 2 and i believed that this season would have ended last month with a semi final loss in munster and indeed the following qualifier..but something has changed with this side. what is the prediction for this game? can cork put it up to dublin and give them a stern test or will it be an absolute walkover? my own thinking is i have no idea where we are at.the drubbing of limerick was in my mind a freak result and the performance against kerry in the munster final where cork should have won but came out with a respectable loss (moral victory) was also against the form book which brings me to todays result against laois..now i know the opposition was not top calibre but to put up 4-20 is some going against any side.and its baffling to know where cork are now and probably wont really know until the tyrone game as for my thoughts on the dublin game..i may still be on an absolute high from the laois game but i believe cork can run them maybe 5 or 6 points close.(who knows couple goals and we win) but that is my heart talking and i know full well those notions could well be destroyed come 7:10 pm saturday evening prediction dublin by 7 what are your thoughts?

pidge (National) - 06/07/2019 21:42:18

Mayo vs Roscommon - 2 Like(s)
They have good reason to boo the ref He done everything but score for Roscommon 2 Rosie's should have got black cards in the 1st AOS was mugged all game and nothing But we never expect a neutral ref cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts:181 - 30/07/2017 17:45:37 20260 Ahh yea to be fair if there was a neutral ref last saturday evening we might not even be talking bout a mayo ros game today ;P

pidge (National) - 30/07/2017 18:16:42

Best Last Gasp Scores - 2 Like(s)
Joe Cannings point for galway against tipp in 2017 all ireland semi final has to be up there too

pidge (National) - 09/11/2020 17:50:57

Things That Seemed Ridiculous At Start Of Decade That Actually Happened - 1 Like(s)
Cork and Down who contested the first all Ireland of the decade would start the next decade playing division 3 football

pidge (National) - 29/12/2019 13:23:50

Dubs V Mayo - 1 Like(s)
Great stuff..Dublin have been unbelievable champions, I remember watching them lose vs donegal in 2014 as a young man in college...unbelievable to think they would not lose a championship game until tonight..and for that, nothing but admiration..they've had a lot of stick from funding and perceived favouritism from the GAAetc...but they were just an incredible bunch of players who I have no doubt will have a big say in where Sam goes in 2022 and beyond..big congratulations to mayo this evening..this is their night and I hope they savour it too

pidge (National) - 14/08/2021 21:15:57

Kerry V Dublin - 1 Like(s)
Christ what a game of football these sides gave us..cann9t wait for Sept 14th...my thoughts in the replay is perhaps this was Kerry's chance to win in out and can possibly see Dublin win by 5 points or more..just think the cooper red card held them back a bit today making them more cautious in their play..as for Cooper starting the next day I wouldn't be so sure id trust him certainly not in the full back line anyways

pidge (National) - 01/09/2019 17:49:38

Ticket Fiasco - 1 Like(s)
Jaysus,, some folks weren't long forgetting the last 2 years with behind closed doors and restricted attendance at games..im happy to be sorted now for all of corks games bar the waterford game but hopefully the club will sort me out for that..but my point is there's people complaining about where in stands they are and only getting terrace tics etc..surely to feck you can be happy with your lot with actually being able to freely go to these games?? Its fantastic regardless of where your situated in the stadium

pidge (National) - 05/04/2022 16:13:59

Greatest Lost Talents In Your County - 1 Like(s)
From a cork perspective Ciaran Sheehan to AFL..cork may not have slumped down to the lows of the lads few years If Sheehan was available during his supposed peak years...he's back from Australia and has played club football and maybe just maybe could play intercounty again and hopefully would add something to the panel Setanta o hailpin...this man was a superstar in cork in 2003 and who knows what he may have achieved if he had stayed in the country to play for cork..lost to AFL Darren sweetnam...had a great season playing midfield in 2012 even scoring a goal in an all ireland semi final vs Galway..was offered a contract by Munster rugby and is going well with the rugby but wonder what he may have done if he stuck out the hurling.

pidge (National) - 14/11/2019 08:37:16

All Ireland Final Ticket Prices - 1 Like(s)
Every year there is arguments about loyal fans who've gone to games all year missing out on tics while corporate bucks with no interest get tics..in my opinion being inside croke park on all Ireland final day is a privilege that not all fans get the opportunity to experience..whether your in row zz of the upper davin stand or pitch level at front of the nally just being there is enough and in my opinion should cherished..what I'm getting at is if cork are to grace an all Ireland final I'd happily fork out 90quid with no questions asked about where I'm sitting inside the stadium if i got my hands on a ticket that's enough for me and I bet there are hundreds if not thousands of tipp,Kilkenny kerry and Dublin fans in the same opinion

pidge (National) - 14/08/2019 12:44:11

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 1 Like(s)
What a game this will be on Sunday..two teams who this time last year most thought were finished for one or 2 years left to rebuild and try again..its an absolute 50/50 game and if your a betting man the draw must be a tasty looking flutter..in my view obviously if you were basing this on the tipp who showed up in the round robin stage you'd fancy them all day long..but it's hard to know where they are now after the heavy loss vs limerick and the poor enough showing vs laois..however they go see up to it vs wexford in the semi..Kilkenny I'll make no bones about I was gutted when they beat us in the quarter because at that stage I truly believed this team was their for the taking before the game that day however Kilkenny being Kilkenny took over and now look at wgere they are the more things chsnge they stay the same..my consensus is flip a coin tipp heads Kilkenny tails and that's my prediction for this game cuz it can't be called and that's the beauty of the final this year..hopefully it's an epic encounter between 2 great sides

pidge (National) - 14/08/2019 19:51:10

Mayo vs Roscommon - 1 Like(s)

Replying To cluichethar:  "What decision did he make aginst Cork The only bad call he made was the black card to Keegan The Cork player pulled him back the ref seen it and chose to do nothing Out from that he was pretty fair"
my point here is we are all biased towards our teams and you with your green and red glasses and me with my red and white glasses will see each and every decision made for or against our team in our own biased views,,,for eg i believe keegans black card the last day was clear as day and justified,,,you clearly don't however..complete opposite beliefs whys that?? im a cork man you are a mayo man..simple as that the point tho is a ref who is acting on his own good conscience on every decision has a hard enough job as it is without supporters and players who are obviously biased to their own teams fortunes abusing him for every decision made,,to accuse a ref of not being neutral as you were alluding to in your post is just out of order and disrespectful and advocating booing these decisions are just poor form too..todays result and all other results are purely the correct result as in all my time watching GAA games ive yet to see a ref pop the ball over the bar for any team and scores win games...not referees

pidge (National) - 30/07/2017 19:08:05

World Grand prix final 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Biggest night in the irish darting calender this evening as derrys own Daryl Gurney takes on Simon whitlock such an unpredictable tournament this year with all the favs out early and i wouldnt begrudge either of these lads a major PDC title. should be a cracker this evening make sure to tune in...as we get closer to the worlds in december and Phil the power taylor's farewell

pidge (OtherSports) - 07/10/2017 16:37:28

Gods or what - 1 Like(s)
For the night that is in it..it's time we resurfaced jims legendary post...now I've been responsible for bringing it back a couple of times before..but by God..it deserves it

pidge (National) - 17/08/2019 20:29:11

Croke Park, Super 8S And Should Phase 3 Be Respectfully Neutral? - 1 Like(s)
looking at the games this weekend balleybofey,killarney and the hyde must have been hopping. a real lift to all the home teams playing with 3/4 winning thieir games and atmosphere in each town must have been something special now we go into this weekends games in croke park where from a cork perspective anyway ourselves and roscommon may be eliminated leaving us to play a dead rubber game in pairc ui rinn (not even pauirc ui caoimh) thats awful for the championship and in a view aswell grossly unfair as teams are robbed of a home game while still being in with a chance of atleast dragging the games to the final day where winner takes all..and thats without even mentioning the fact that dublin start off with 2 home games in a row..what good is it to meath and cork having thier home games whist likely being eliminated from championship and thus not having any championship buzz enter navan and cork city?? final day should be neutral round as it spreads the competitiveness of championship to smaller venues..doesnt give a team an advantage of two home games in a row. however logistically as games must be played at same time neutral venues would be the only viable option..however 30000 looks much better in say thurles limerick rather than croke park anyways. save croker for semi finals and for whoever is playing dublin

pidge (National) - 16/07/2019 18:23:13