Cork Forum

Popular Posts from corkcelt

Limerick V Kilkenny - 6 Like(s)
Outstanding game. Kilkenny deserved their win, Over the 70 minutes I thought Ref gave Limerick most of the tight calls, However none of what I say can excuse the fiasco at the end when Limerick should have had a 65 to draw the game. These lads on both sides sacrifice so much it is an absolute disgrace that Limerick are knocked out by the failure of Officials to spot an obvious deflection of a ball for a 65. I absolutely loved the game but feel sick at the injustice of the way it ended.

corkcelt (National) - 27/07/2019 22:01:34

U20 All Ireland Championship - 5 Like(s)
Hurling or Football Senior, Under 21/20 or Minor. First All Ireland for Cork since 2010. I'm going to celebrate tonight.

corkcelt (National) - 03/08/2019 17:43:54

Tony Keady RIP - 4 Like(s)
Absolutely shocked at the news. A truly wonderful player, With Finnerty & McInerney what a half back line. Sincere Condolences to his wife & children, to his extended family & to the Galway hurling Community. Rest in Peace Tony your name will be fondly remembered wherever hurling is played

corkcelt (National) - 10/08/2017 10:27:09

Martin McGuinness RIP - 4 Like(s)
Very saddened today to learn of the passing of the great Martin McGuinness, an outstanding Gael, he will never be forgotten.

corkcelt (National) - 21/03/2017 11:00:12

Cork vs Tipp (Hurling) - 4 Like(s)
First of all.the Tipp Posters who post here are grand respectful lads, they don't gloat or boast. They have a great team and everyone involved in hurling knows that despite today's set back, they will still be favourites for Liam. I must hold up my hands & say I called this game totally wrong. I was not acting the cute hoor when I said that Cork had no chance. I was blown away by how Cork played, I simply didn't see it coming. Cork may well finish season empty handed but the lads today restored respectability to Cork Hurling and I love them for that. I hope I'm not being arrogant when I say that I believe Hurling needs Cork as much as we need Hurling. It's far too early to say we are back but the gloom has lifted and suddenly the Championship has a different feel about it.

corkcelt (National) - 21/05/2017 19:35:07

The SPFL (Archive) - 4 Like(s)
Back around 2010/2011, there used to be a lot of aggro on the Forums here at Hoganstand. Trolls abounded & us poor Celtic Supporters were often at the end of a fair bit of stick. In May 2011 Celtic had just lost the League by a point & the next day as an act of defiance to the Trolls, I started a thread something like Scottish League 2012. The thread Title was obligingly changed by the Administrator to it's present Title 2 or 3 years ago, so we could continue the same uninterrupted thread started in May 2011. Little did I know that out of the disappointment I was feeling the day I started it, that less than 6 years later I would be posting the day Celtic won 6 in a row. What a performance & what an array of brilliant goals, superb, absolutely superb.

corkcelt (ElevenASide) - 02/04/2017 16:48:25

Galway v Tipperary - 3 Like(s)
Thrilling stuff, compare that to the borefest yesterday, how anyone can rate football above hurling is beyond me. Congrats to Galway, Hard Luck to Tipp. Thought Tipp were slightly hard done by on a couple of frees but it would be wrong to focus on that. Galway have had more than their share of Croke Park heart break, & this team deserves an All Ireland & I believe they will go on to win it this year, regardless of who comes out of next week's semi.

corkcelt (National) - 06/08/2017 18:03:36

Minor Hurling Championships Standings - 3 Like(s)
Once more Galway produce an absolutely cracking Minor Hurling Team. How do they do it? & where do all these Minors go to. Over the years Galway have been first class in producing fantastic underage hurlers but the pay off at Senior Level hasn't been what it should. Anyway congratulations Galway, outstanding performance.

corkcelt (National) - 18/08/2019 14:28:16

Tipperary v Mayo - 2 Like(s)
Well done Tipperary, have scored a lot of goals in this year's Championship and really needed a couple today unfortunately the goals came at the other end. On today's display you would think the All Ireland winners will come from other semi.

corkcelt (National) - 21/08/2016 17:11:25

Incredible decision For Tipp's 2nd goal - 2 Like(s)
Decision could have huge ramifications. Tipp were out of the All Ireland race but thIs call could change their entire season.
Likewise poor Waterford everything was stacked against them, having to play their home games on neutral grounds & a very bad run of injuries & now this.
If they lose next week away to a very good Limerick team they are out. Had they got the 2 points today a last game win over Cork might have put them through regardless of Limerick result.
The amount of training & effort that lads put in & maybe their entire season ruined by a very poor call.
He had to be certain to give it and he couldn't possibly have been because he was wrong.
As a hurling enthusiast I feel gutted, we have had a series of absolutely wonderful games in Munster but the season could well be remembered by this decision.

corkcelt (National) - 03/06/2018 18:49:24

Cork should lodge complaint - 1 Like(s)
Game Over & that's that.

corkcelt (National) - 22/07/2017 20:58:32

Patrick Horgan surpasses the great Christy Ring - 1 Like(s)
He did indeed but totally different times. Heavier sliotar, had to be half killed to win a free, 60 minute games and no back door so less games played. Great credit to Pat but there will never be any one to equal Ring.

corkcelt (National) - 09/07/2017 22:23:24

What about a Cork Double? - 1 Like(s)
Silly thread but delighted with the two wins. Having said that I have no faith whatever in the Cork Football Management team and no expectations at all for the season. Kieran Kingston appears to be making progress in the hurling, he has gone for youth in a big way and they seem to have found a new determination. There is a huge difference however between hurling in March & Championship Hurling in May & June. Come the Championship I can't see Cork living with Tipp but if we get a bit of luck in Qualifiers we just might make the quarter finals & that in itself would be progress. I think Limerick will be our opponents in National League quarter final and for the first time in recent years, I have the old feeling of excitement & anticipation back and at this stage that is the only game I'm going to think about.

corkcelt (National) - 26/03/2017 17:14:34

Dundalk - 1 Like(s)
Brilliant win. Just a pity for us that in the years when Cork City have a very good team Dundalk have an absolutely brilliant side. Even though City have beaten them in the head to heads it looks very much like we will be runners up for the 3rd year in a row. With the European money that Dundalk will now Bank, the gap between them & the rest will grow wider. Anyhow credit where credit is due they have been magnificent and all Irish soccer should support them.

corkcelt (ElevenASide) - 30/09/2016 13:28:11

Kilkenny v Waterford - 1 Like(s)
Fantastic game, really enjoyed it. Waterford have always been my second team after Cork so l was gutted to see them lose. Kilkenny are not the overwhelming force they were in recent years but still only a fool would write them off. Hope the game tomorrow is just as exciting. I make Tipp favs but you never know with Galway, on their day they can be awesome. If Galway win it's the Cats All Ireland if Tipp win they will go all the way. You read it here first.

corkcelt (National) - 13/08/2016 22:00:12

Kerry v Cork - 1 Like(s)
Well Thank God that's over, had been dreading it. I can relax & enjoy the hurling now. Not a lot can be said about Cork Football, we urgently need " outside of Cork Management". I'd be looking to either Kerry or Ulster for new Manager. Re Kerry, as Danny said earlier, excellent up front but suspect at the back. Cork created a number of goal chances but couldn't convert any, a better team could have taken 3 or 4 goals off that defence.

corkcelt (National) - 02/07/2017 15:44:33

Kerry V Cork - 1 Like(s)
Can't believe not one Poster had a good word to say about Cork. I'm bloody proud of them,

corkcelt (National) - 22/06/2019 20:39:22

Galway v Waterford Final - 1 Like(s)
I have always had a soft spot for Waterford, I lived in that part of the World for 14 yrs & my next door neighbor's only worry in life is that he would die before seeing Waterford win another All Ireland. Sadly I was back there 6 months ago at his funeral and he will be very much on my mind should the Deise prevail on Sunday. I love the way Galway play the game, and I feel it would be an absolute travesty if Joe Canning was to end his career without an All Ireland medal. So I will celebrate with whoever wins this Sunday. If I was a betting man,which I'm not I would say Galway but either way I'm really looking forward to this game & of course to the little matter of the minor game, in which I have a more partisan interest.

corkcelt (National) - 31/08/2017 09:35:20

Congratulations Dundalk - 1 Like(s)
I'm lost for words, what a performance, absolutely superb. Our greatest domestic rivals but I am thrilled for them & for League of Ireland Soccer.

corkcelt (ElevenASide) - 02/08/2016 21:59:59

Munster Hurling Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Tremendous advert for hurling. Superb entertainment. Getting a man sent off changes the dynamic of a game, it should obviously benefit the 15 man team but how often do we see what happened today. Limerick were galvanised in 2nd half, and closed Cork down completely. Cork also had a 6 day turnaround which may not have helped but all in all I think a draw is a fair result. So far the round robin has turned out to be a huge success but that is mainly because there is not a lot between any of the 5 Munster Counties. At this stage any team can be in Munster Final & any team can be finished for the year in a fortnight's time.

corkcelt (National) - 02/06/2018 21:16:31