Popular Posts from thegadfly

Galway Vs Meath - 14 Like(s)

Replying To Evernal:  "Least we are not in Division 4. Hope you are enjoying the scenic route around Ireland and England. Andy will learn from this defeat. Tyrone were hammered by Kerry last year and look what happened. This could galvanise the lads and develop a siege mentality. We could be looking at the beginnings of an All Ireland challenge. It's only January after all."
With all due respect, I think you and RoyalDunne are either the same person or ye are related. Delusional. BTW I wasn't having a go. I was merely calling out an absurd comment.

thegadfly (Meath) - 30/01/2022 18:22:50

Offaly V Meath Rd. 4 - 13 Like(s)
If he's lost the dressing room the best thing to do is make the change as soon as possible and think of it as a long term project. Give someone else a chance as soon as possible. Give them the rest of the league and Leinster championship to learn as much as they can instead of bringing a management team in next year. If there's no future for Andy what's the point in having him there.

thegadfly (Meath) - 26/02/2022 17:52:28

Houses In Order? - 9 Like(s)

Replying To tonguey:  "Could not agree more- it is so childish and unbecoming. People need to discuss issues and not attack each other. Its very poor form. It reminds me of an old woman in my parish who used to have the great saying about the cat who got the cream- it went like this- the cat who gets the cream will do the biggest dirt yes."
Why don't you practice what you preach? You just had a go at another poster who started a thread about county jerseys. Get a grip.

thegadfly (National) - 19/03/2021 17:18:10

Galway Vs Meath - 8 Like(s)

Replying To Evernal:  "Best of luck to Andy and the lads! Just sitting here in Galway having a Super macs and I must say I'm terribly nervous bout this game. Hard to know where we are at. I believe training is going well but you just don't know what Meath team will turn up. You look at Armagh last night and we hammered them well enough in league a few years ago yet we never kicked on. I believe we need to do similar and keep Andy in the job for another few years. If by Year 10 things don't improve then maybe it'll be time to step a side and try something else. But we need continuity and a United County and that's what Andy brings to the table. On the game today I wouldn't rate Galway. Similar to ourselves. Flatter to deceive most of the time and only lazy journalism ever has them as potential candidates. With that I reckon it'll be a draw game. Hon the Royal!"
Yeah, definitely give Andy another 4 years and by year 10 things will be great.

thegadfly (Meath) - 30/01/2022 16:54:48

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Selwyn:  "Go back to Drawda (or whatever backward part of Loud you're from) and practice pronouncing the letter 'R' correctly, like a good man"
That says it all really. Having a go at someone because of their accent..... Get a grip. Pure ignorance.

thegadfly (National) - 20/06/2019 07:28:02

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 7 Like(s)
Croke Park need to step up now and do whatever it takes to accommodate Tyrone. If they don't they'll look like idiots and lose the solidarity that the GAA is built on. If it was Dublin that this happened to the All Ireland would be rescheduled until everyone is fit and well.

thegadfly (National) - 14/08/2021 14:37:09

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 6 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Will the GAA pay for a United Ireland? We can't even pay for the 26 counties."
I was wondering when the "we can't afford it" brigade would chime in. Educate yourself. We can afford it. In fact we would be better of reunified as has been proven already. And anyway, even if we couldn't how about everyone taking a hit financially so we could help all Irish people live together in the same country and then work together to improve things.

thegadfly (National) - 08/03/2019 10:30:43

Houses In Order? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To tonguey:  "Could not agree more- it is so childish and unbecoming. People need to discuss issues and not attack each other. Its very poor form. It reminds me of an old woman in my parish who used to have the great saying about the cat who got the cream- it went like this- the cat who gets the cream will do the biggest dirt yes."
Why don't you practice what you preach? You just had a go at another poster who started a thread about county jerseys. Get a grip.

thegadfly (National) - 19/03/2021 17:17:18

RTE - Change Of Direction - 5 Like(s)
Tg4 is a great channel. My Irish has come on leaps and bounds since it launched. I can now understand 80-90% of the commentary during the games and also the analysis is much better.

thegadfly (National) - 13/01/2019 18:40:23

The League - 5 Like(s)
I'd love to see a competitive Leinster championship again before the all Ireland eventually goes to an open draw format. Unfortunately the likes of the Meath team who overachieved in the 90's is a distant memory now. Fair enough they got the rub of the green and a few dodgy decisions from referees went in their favour over the years but they were still a class act. The Kildare team of 98 were excellent. Offaly of the early eighties. Meath were a flash in the pan in 2010 again but thats been it for a long long time. It's sad to see.

thegadfly (National) - 25/04/2021 21:32:14

Nobody Likes Us But We Don't Care. - 4 Like(s)
I really hope Tyrone followers don't embarrass themselves by bringing this banner to the Ulster final at the weekend. It's hard to fathom the mentality behind it. I believe Millwall soccer hooligans were the first one's to use it. I can only surmise that the majority of Tyrone men and women like myself cringe when they see it at the matches. I mean, would it be some sort of Britishness rubbing off on the younger folk because of the occupation of the six counties. If that's the case it's unfortunate. I hope it doesn't continue. As irish people we should be trying to distance ourselves from that type of attitude. It doesn't belong at GAA games. Let the hooligans across the water use slogans like that but don't let it into our games and our culture. There's no place for it here.

thegadfly (National) - 28/07/2021 20:03:59

Dream Team Of Pundits - 4 Like(s)

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Who would be on your dream team of TV pundits for the new season?"
Oisin McConville, Peter Canavan and Joe Brolly. Anyone but the RTE panel. Sean Cavanagh, Pat Spillane, Tomas o Se are particularly poor especially on the highlights programme.

thegadfly (National) - 27/04/2021 09:52:55

Can Anyone Name A More Forgone Conclusion Of A Competition Than The Leinster Football Championship? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "The all ire championship??"
That would simply not be true. The standard of football across the country would be of a much higher standard compared to Leinster bar the dubs.

thegadfly (National) - 01/05/2021 22:19:12

League Or Championship - 4 Like(s)
Any one of 5 teams can win Ulster this year. Anyone who says otherwise knows nothing about Ulster football.

thegadfly (National) - 11/04/2021 14:43:16

Kerry Vs Tyrone - 4 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Question for Tyrone fans. Is it not the case that the whole squad would have been vaccinated by now? If so, this basically means that all sporting fixtures going forward are apt to be postponed or cancelled. This is very worrying for all of us. Is this how it's going to be for the foreseeable??? Half empty stadia, squads having to pull out of matches, our sports calendars decimated etc etc.??? That's an appalling prospect. The vaccine has not been the silver bullet we all thought it would be."
What does it matter if they are vaccinated or not? The vaccine doesn't stop one contracting the virus. It weakens the symptoms as far as I'm aware.

thegadfly (National) - 07/08/2021 22:03:53

Joe McDonagh Promotion/Relegation - 4 Like(s)
Well done Antrim. Rte are a disgrace. Cutting to advertising just as Antrim captain started his speech as Gaeilge. They won't cut off Cluxton when he inevitably starts one of his borefests." I'd like to thank AIG and bla bla bla"

thegadfly (National) - 13/12/2020 14:48:36

Dublin Senior Football Team - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Oisin Mc Conville dead right in what he says. If ye want to see silly stuff check out all the Cavan posts from the time Dublin walked over yous. Donegal gifted Cavan an Ulster and everything was rosy, then they got trounced by Dublin and they become anti GAA ."
Did you watch the Ulster final? How exactly did Donegal gift it to us? The best team won and that's the bottom line.

thegadfly (National) - 04/04/2021 21:58:11

Tradition - 3 Like(s)
Now that's a strange topic. Thankfully as a nation we're finally freeing ourselves from the shackles of the catholic church.

thegadfly (National) - 13/01/2021 21:19:37

Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "A wee bit of extra motivation for the boys, good man Mickey."
Have u missed something? Bonner was whining. Mickey answered a question.

thegadfly (National) - 17/11/2020 17:12:35

GAA Should Campaign For A United Ireland. - 3 Like(s)
Of course the GAA should campaign for REunification. That's why we have a competition called the ALL Ireland. In my own local club there are plenty of protestants playing especially at underage level and it's a joy to see. We need to be aiming for a shared future free from sectarianism. People should start getting used to the idea because Brexit is fast forwarding reunification.

thegadfly (National) - 07/03/2019 22:03:59