Tyrone v Cavan Ulster Semi Final Replay

Replying To seanorinn:  "Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:452 - 04/07/2016 12:16:57 1875982

If players are instructed to play a certain way and it fails well to be fair to Mr Hyland he is depending on the eyes of others and if they cannot see whats wrong it's hard to point a finger towards Mr Hyland. I know because he is the manager that no matter what the buck stops with him and he will be the one to fall on the sword.

If Joe McCarthy was getting better and was up to it he would be a major asset to the county and a very knowledgeable reader of the game.

All teams are beatable don't forget that and I am sure Dublin Tyrone Donegal Monaghan Mayo Ect will fall by the wayside at some stage. So let's concentrate on next Sunday and get over Carlow and wait and see what happens after that.
It's been a long year for everyone and I expect they are getting tired.
I am happy we got got promotion so that will do me for 2016."
Sean o Rinn we had 5 chances to beat Tyrone . So who does the buck stop with? Watch an ageing Donegal team beat Tyrone in the Ulster final . They won't need 5 chances. I'm not here to slag off the management , that's an easy thing to do after yesterday's result. Terry needs to realise he needs experienced help( and I'm not talking anyone within the county) he needs A winner to help him . There no experience in that management group to change the system during the game or at half time .

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 04/07/2016 13:07:56    1876018

Very disappointing result yesterday, I suppose one consolation is that we all know that the team aren't that bad. I agree with a lot of poster sentiments especially the way the back line was shuffled coming into the championship. It was totally unfair on Killian Clarke to take him out of fullback after one shaky game against a very good player in Stefan Campbell, with Ciaran Brady and Faulkner also taken out of the back line unit its always going to unsettle the team as they been playing with each other throughout the whole league and also getting used to one another game. I felt that when those players were out of the team cavan lost that pace that was so important to their game.
On another note i was speaking to someone who was sitting behind the dugout for the game and said the Cavan coach was repeatedly telling the cavan backs to stay back so maybe management cant be blamed for the defensive meltdown when all but one of our defenders seemed to abandon their duties and head forward

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 04/07/2016 13:19:08    1876032

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Sean o Rinn we had 5 chances to beat Tyrone . So who does the buck stop with? Watch an ageing Donegal team beat Tyrone in the Ulster final . They won't need 5 chances. I'm not here to slag off the management , that's an easy thing to do after yesterday's result. Terry needs to realise he needs experienced help( and I'm not talking anyone within the county) he needs A winner to help him . There no experience in that management group to change the system during the game or at half time ."
Have to agree with you awwwwnow, no reflection on terry he is a great honest man, he has done a great job to bring us this far, but he needs help, I think we need leave no stone unturned to get the right help for terry, things that happened yesterday like dunne been pulled out of position the whole game, 3 of the. Goals would never have came some one else should have been told to pick up cavanagh.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 04/07/2016 13:30:48    1876039

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Sean o Rinn we had 5 chances to beat Tyrone . So who does the buck stop with? Watch an ageing Donegal team beat Tyrone in the Ulster final . They won't need 5 chances. I'm not here to slag off the management , that's an easy thing to do after yesterday's result. Terry needs to realise he needs experienced help( and I'm not talking anyone within the county) he needs A winner to help him . There no experience in that management group to change the system during the game or at half time ."
Sean o Rinn we had 5 chances to beat Tyrone . So who does the buck stop with? Watch an ageing Donegal team beat Tyrone in the Ulster final . They won't need 5 chances. I'm not here to slag off the management , that's an easy thing to do after yesterday's result. Terry needs to realise he needs experienced help( and I'm not talking anyone within the county) he needs A winner to help him . There no experience in that management group to change the system during the game or at half time .
Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:454 - 04/07/2016 13:07:56

Experience when we had a man with all Ireland medals in his back pocket what happened to him?? We had a quality trainer who was with Val Andrews we left him go after one year and he went on to train the Kerry team to two All Ireland's, we have a habit of leaving quality go because of the know all's.

Look Mr Hyland is doing a fair job with what he has at his disposal. I know at times we might differ with certain player's but he is the man leading the pack let him see how they do in Division 1. I think he deserves this opportunity after all. I would 100% be against bringing in an outsider to the post of manager.

Who knows maybe Mr Hyland himself might call it a day and I feel this is the only way that he will be going and rightly so.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 04/07/2016 13:33:10    1876042

Replying To seanorinn:  "Sean o Rinn we had 5 chances to beat Tyrone . So who does the buck stop with? Watch an ageing Donegal team beat Tyrone in the Ulster final . They won't need 5 chances. I'm not here to slag off the management , that's an easy thing to do after yesterday's result. Terry needs to realise he needs experienced help( and I'm not talking anyone within the county) he needs A winner to help him . There no experience in that management group to change the system during the game or at half time .
Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:454 - 04/07/2016 13:07:56

Experience when we had a man with all Ireland medals in his back pocket what happened to him?? We had a quality trainer who was with Val Andrews we left him go after one year and he went on to train the Kerry team to two All Ireland's, we have a habit of leaving quality go because of the know all's.

Look Mr Hyland is doing a fair job with what he has at his disposal. I know at times we might differ with certain player's but he is the man leading the pack let him see how they do in Division 1. I think he deserves this opportunity after all. I would 100% be against bringing in an outsider to the post of manager.

Who knows maybe Mr Hyland himself might call it a day and I feel this is the only way that he will be going and rightly so."
We just have to pick up ourselves this week and learn the lessons from the last 2 games with Tyrone. For the Carlow match we should rest a number of the players who have gone stale since the League Final and give others in the squad a Championship game.
Other than Jim Mc Guinness, James Horan ( mistakes made too on the line) and Jack O'Connor there are no outside Managers capable of bring us to the Tier 1 level. There not going to there present employments to manage Cavan.
Next day start with 2 recognized full backs please.

Western Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 04/07/2016 14:23:02    1876094

Replying To ponger:  "Well neverright you have it right. Disregard the scoreline for a minute... the reason the game went the way it did was because of inexperience and panic.

For the first 20 mins we went toe to toe with Tyrone and if keating had his shooting boots we could have been a little ahead. Then they get the first goal where we had some badly missed tackles and in fairness some good movement by Tyrone. For some reason after this we panicked and got it into our heads that we must get a goal too. We commit to attack, turnover and bang goal two...game over.

The script was written for the second half where Tyrone would sit back and invite us on as we had to go for it. They would just hit us on the break. It is a harsh lesson of what failing to keep to a system does.

The only amazing thing about the second half was to see what real GAA is like when the shakles are off. You can call it a training session if you want but both teams kicked outrageous scores, tried things, great movement etc.

I am not actually too dispondent despite the scoreline. Tyrone got to play their game plan and we didn't. There were a few players caught for speed yesterday but mainly the missed tackles was what needs the most work...

Last little point.. I wonder did we have a dustup in the dressing room at HT as in the second half there were certain players that didn't seem to want to pass the ball to each other..."
Agree with you for the most part.
We played without a full back line.
Mackey tried hard, did well, was probably one of our best players but he holds into the ball too long.
Keating reluctant to pass, Johnston or J Brady would have scored the ones he missed in the first half. Dunne shouldn't have had the job he had, very naive tactics. The players did what they were told, time for management to man up and accept their part in defeat. And I see today Terry in the HS headlines telling the players it's up to them to go forward and get it right V Carlow! Outrageous statement from a mAnager who set out a team without a full back line to play one of this year's all ireland serious contenders! There were positives to be taken from yesterday, our scoring ability, and the fact the lads never threw in the towel . Unfortunately Terry seems to start his favourites despite their lack of form . Padraig Faulkner and Ciaran Brady deserve a start. Keating has still not proved himself. Martin Reilly needs to cut out lateral play and go direct at speed, but then again he's probably doing what he's told . Here's to another few games to go yet this Summer. Chin up lads, you are better than yesterday, biggest test is to get the heads right for Saturday evening.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 04/07/2016 17:37:39    1876301

Cavan played Tyrone twice in the league and twice in the championship,we DID NOT play them in the McKenna Cup we played them 4 TIMES but some lazy journalist somewhere said we did and everyone took his word for it, Its a small point, but worth noting. get the facts right. Incidentely, did anyone else notice that Cavan heads didnt drop until the final whistle, cant fault the lads for that ,many teams before would have folded utterly...........

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 04/07/2016 18:00:15    1876323

I still remember where we were before Terry took over and we were poor ,we were the team everyone wanted to get in the draw because we were branded the whipping boys of ulster ,The current Cavan set up are no walkovers , neither do I believe there's that big of gap between us and Tyrone, we have just met them that many times they learned to deal with our style of play .Yes Mickey Harte is the best tactician in the game and he had a good idea what way we would play and he played the Donegal type of blanket defence and fast counter attack against us and we didn't cope well .All in all I hope Terry will become a better manager from this ,Donegal and Tyrone are two teams we have a problem getting to grips with but I believe we will get a good run in the qualifiers and I have great belief in our manager and players. and if we can survive div 1 next year I think we have a lot to be grateful for.

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 04/07/2016 19:30:20    1876392

Replying To bisto kid:  "I still remember where we were before Terry took over and we were poor ,we were the team everyone wanted to get in the draw because we were branded the whipping boys of ulster ,The current Cavan set up are no walkovers , neither do I believe there's that big of gap between us and Tyrone, we have just met them that many times they learned to deal with our style of play .Yes Mickey Harte is the best tactician in the game and he had a good idea what way we would play and he played the Donegal type of blanket defence and fast counter attack against us and we didn't cope well .All in all I hope Terry will become a better manager from this ,Donegal and Tyrone are two teams we have a problem getting to grips with but I believe we will get a good run in the qualifiers and I have great belief in our manager and players. and if we can survive div 1 next year I think we have a lot to be grateful for."
Terry has taken us as far as he can. He can do no more. This has been proven time and time again when we play the big teams.
No harm to Terry as he has done his best.
We need someone new to take us to the next level. That is obvious.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/07/2016 20:55:03    1876457

We changed our whole full back line from the league. Half back line Fergal Flanagan didn't feature much through the league because of injury. So that's 4/6 . We consolidated a fairly settled team towards the end of the league who were scoring quite heavily yet management felt the need to change every line. What was the problem with Seanie yesterday? Was he injured? If not could management not try him and Jack Brady together in the corners playing off Givney. Use the wings if the direct line to Givney failed. Switch it. Paul o Connor is good for a goal or two could replace johnston or Brady if they weren't performing . Keating for Givney if things weren't working out , not Keating with Givney. Mc Dermott to centre forward if fit flanked by mc Vitty and Mackey . Argue /McKiernan/ Corr rotate midfield in case someone was having an off day . Mc Enroe centre back if fully fit flanked by via ran Brady and Moynagh on the wings. With Murray and Martin Reilly to come in if needed . Clarke at full back with Faulkner and mcloughlin if fit. With Dunne and Killian Brady and Flanagan as cover...

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 04/07/2016 20:55:58    1876458

i agree with you....although the average age off the aging Donegal team is 25.. it just goes to show that if you have a good manager with a proper gameplan in place, age doesn't matter

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1681 - 04/07/2016 21:21:53    1876466

From what I hear David givney is out for the rest of the year with a bad injury. Hopefully not true.

bart_simpson (Cavan) - Posts: 45 - 04/07/2016 22:07:40    1876501

Cavan are not to far away from claiming an Ulster title in the next 2/3 years if they had a decent manager... Hyland rarely makes a switch that changes the course of a game.. The way he broke up the shape of the team that finished the league so strongly shows... What on earth was he doing playing 3 big men in the f/f line... I think Mr Hyland ( as he is referred to by Sean O Rinn for some unknown reason ) has come to the end of the line with this team..!!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 04/07/2016 22:56:42    1876531

Gutted by our performance yesterday, after 15 mins i thought we were staying with tyrone and looked good,But the 2 quick goals destroyed us,The full back line completely lost there shape and looked like they wanted to run the ball into the tyrone goal, forgetting about there defensive setup or how quick and deadly tyrone break,we were thought a sharp lesson yesterday about just where we are at ,by a very strong tyrone side,
tyrone dragged our full back line all over the pitch, we were very naive,cant understand why the back line was changed , these guys need to play with each other and no when to cover for each other, Mackey probably our best player, not one cavan player on hs team of the week, not one player from our club champions started either, thought young faulkner had done enought to start,but i think terry is maybe not to keen on stars men as most of them seemed to walk from the panel for whatever reasons,i believe in giving everyman a chance and even if its 10 years to reach an all ireland then so be it, but i think terry should relise his limits and except that and step down, make no mistake cavan is a much improved side and no one will want to draw us, but now is a time for new ideas and new direction from an manager with all ireland experience who can see that we are young with a good panel to work from , i think there is quality managers out there who would like to give cavan a go,and lead us to the promised land

sendithome (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 05/07/2016 00:56:23    1876564

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "i agree with you....although the average age off the aging Donegal team is 25.. it just goes to show that if you have a good manager with a proper gameplan in place, age doesn't matter"
tell me the 5 times we have played Tyrone this year. tell me the ages of the donegal players. tell me the ages of the cavan players.

I want facts please not fiction.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/07/2016 05:59:36    1876572

my starting team to face Carlow, (assuming Givney is injured)
1. Galligan
2. Faulkner
3. Dunne
4. McLoughlin
5. C.Brady
6. Moynagh
7. G.Smith
8. Buchannan
9. Clarke
10. Argue
11. Mcvitty
12. Mackey
13. j. Brady
14. Keating
15 Johnston.

to come in (not with 5 minutes to go)

G McKiernan (needs a rest)
T. Corr (needs a rest)
M. Reilly (needs a rest)
J. McEnroe
K.Brady
N. Murray

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/07/2016 06:16:14    1876573

Cavan can play any team they want against Carlow it won't be even a contest.Living close to Carlow I know the quality the have and unfortunately for them it won't be enough to get with in 15 points of the Cavan men.

Would like to see ye play Meath if they beat Derry could be a bit of spice in that one and would be a good game for both sides!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 05/07/2016 10:03:07    1876614

The thing that disappoints me the most is that the management should have copped that Micky Harte would have worked on the problems they had in the first game and we should have had an alternative plan.
Gearoid needs to front up more in these important games. Like the u21 final against Galway, never showed up.
Now's the time to test the strength of our panel against Carlow.
We will find out the true character of this panel.
I would agree with other posters, we need to continue look for more talented forwards.
Feel sorry for Keating as he hasn't had much game time.
Even though most of our scores came when the game was lost and Tyrone had emptied their bench,we still managed to rack up a big score.
Let's get back on track, if Galway can beat Mayo why can't we.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 05/07/2016 12:45:21    1876745

Replying To desagov:  "The thing that disappoints me the most is that the management should have copped that Micky Harte would have worked on the problems they had in the first game and we should have had an alternative plan.
Gearoid needs to front up more in these important games. Like the u21 final against Galway, never showed up.
Now's the time to test the strength of our panel against Carlow.
We will find out the true character of this panel.
I would agree with other posters, we need to continue look for more talented forwards.
Feel sorry for Keating as he hasn't had much game time.
Even though most of our scores came when the game was lost and Tyrone had emptied their bench,we still managed to rack up a big score.
Let's get back on track, if Galway can beat Mayo why can't we."
Who do the winners of Cavan and Carlow play and who is on that side of the draw?

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 05/07/2016 13:17:19    1876767

Replying To sendithome:  "Gutted by our performance yesterday, after 15 mins i thought we were staying with tyrone and looked good,But the 2 quick goals destroyed us,The full back line completely lost there shape and looked like they wanted to run the ball into the tyrone goal, forgetting about there defensive setup or how quick and deadly tyrone break,we were thought a sharp lesson yesterday about just where we are at ,by a very strong tyrone side,
tyrone dragged our full back line all over the pitch, we were very naive,cant understand why the back line was changed , these guys need to play with each other and no when to cover for each other, Mackey probably our best player, not one cavan player on hs team of the week, not one player from our club champions started either, thought young faulkner had done enought to start,but i think terry is maybe not to keen on stars men as most of them seemed to walk from the panel for whatever reasons,i believe in giving everyman a chance and even if its 10 years to reach an all ireland then so be it, but i think terry should relise his limits and except that and step down, make no mistake cavan is a much improved side and no one will want to draw us, but now is a time for new ideas and new direction from an manager with all ireland experience who can see that we are young with a good panel to work from , i think there is quality managers out there who would like to give cavan a go,and lead us to the promised land"
Yeah Terry Hates Kingscourt players, that why he had Alan Clarke as his captain. There are plenty of things to be unhappy about from last Sunday without making up rubbish like this.

I think basically the two goals came from two really poor turnovers. After that panic set in and that resulted in more silly stuff. For me it lacked leaders on the pitch to give the message to not panic and chip away at the scoreboard. The game was over at HT, the 2nd half can be discounted.

One big question is why no Johnston? What is going on there, tactical reasons as Terry said is a cover for something else surely. Did someone get the hump that they weren't starting?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 05/07/2016 13:49:47    1876793