Tyrone v Cavan Ulster Semi Final Replay

Replying To spiritof97:  "just 1 sour note for what should be a great weekend of ulster semis ( which i intend to go to) how come there are no price reductions for the replays ? (as was always customary) You will note that there are no details of prices on all the ticket adverts for both matches looks like a wee bit of sharp practice by the GAA on us supporters."
It's because there are two ladies games on before hand and you are paying into them aswell even if you don't go near them ! Gaa is all about money now they don't care about the supporter experience any more .....

Cavanbyrd (Cavan) - Posts: 61 - 30/06/2016 23:41:26    1874499

I think Terry has named a strong team. I really hope that Clarke will stay at midfield. He was not used properly in the drawn game, and alongside Mossy, Cavan can dominate this area. He is a strong player, and gave give Cavan that extra pace in attack they need. Clarke can attack from deep with support alongside him, and can hurt Tyrone. do possibly think there will be a change or two, Possibly Ciaran Brady coming in. One would hope that the Blues can manage to bring Géaroid and Séanie into the game, and with there ability in scoring, Cavan can be as strong again. The defence must be stronger. We certainly gave away a lot of easy scores, particularly in the first half, by giving simple possession away. Players need to not over turned so much in the tackle, it is Tyrone's specialty. Subs need to be made earlier, to ensure the players get a chance tio settle in, and show there skill and ability. Here's hoping , going be a tight game, but really believe Cavan will come through on Sunday. Breffini ábu

soraghallaigh (Cavan) - Posts: 15 - 01/07/2016 09:01:09    1874523

Jaysus lads, stop bickering about ticket prices.

As mentioned above, there's 2 ladies games on as well.

Not to mention the fact that you're going to arguably the most anticipated match of the year to date, which won't be live on TV and is being held, in my opinion, in the best ground in the country from a supporter experience point of view.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/07/2016 09:01:54    1874524

Another big day in Clones and the nerves are starting to tingle already. I see Terry has announced an unchanged team from the team that started the last day. I would say he is happy defensively but at what cost attack wise.
I was very surprised at the positioning of Killian Clarke in the full forward line and I dont think it worked as Killian is not a forward. The wet ball dident help him either but really he is totally wasted there and only taking the place of a natural scorer like Jack Brady or Eugene Keating.
I have been a great fan of Terrys and always will but just feel that we are straying away from what brought us so much success in the league. It was a joy to see us attacking from all angles and the amount of scorers was testament to this plan. Some might say we were caught out slightly at the back in the Div 2 Lge decider in Croke Park but it is a shame to have to sacrifice players like Padraig Faulkner, Ciaran Brady and Liam Buachanan. Even Michael Argue had one of his better games in Croke Park and again his scoring ability is badly missed.
We scored 3-7 the last day but take away the 3 goals and we are getting back to our miserly scoring averages of the last 2 years. 7 points is simply not enough !!!
Agree that we are tighter at the back but it is putting too much pressure on Gearoid and Seanie to rack up the scores.
Would it be not be better to spring lads like Mackey, Mc Enroe and Gunner in the last 25 mins. We have to look at the part fresh legs has on a team. The Dubs seem to have it perfected with 4 or 5 fresh players at the 40 min mark.
And yes we have our strongest bench for a long many years.
And that is without Jason Mc and Niall Mc Dermott who would be first choices at all times.
So I think the team that starts on Sun might not be as announced and I really hope we are stronger going forward.
I am optimistic and wish Terry and the lads every best wishes. It is a huge day for Cavan football and some might say it is a crossroad !!
Also good luck to the Cavan Ladies in the Senior final. Great achievement and hopefully will give the impetus to our men on the day.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 01/07/2016 10:57:25    1874564

Breffnidub, i doubt that the team named will be the one that starts, I hope not anyway. Lets not pay our rivals too much respect. You are correct in saying its a big day for the team and after 5 years under the current manager it would be great if they make it into an Ulster final.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 01/07/2016 11:12:22    1874574

Best of luck to the lads on Sunday. If we play to our ability we can beat Tyrone.

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 01/07/2016 12:09:30    1874616

Best of luck to Terry and the panel. Remember if you try things twice and they don't work the odds are they won't work a third time. Last chance saloon because the nearly tag is not good enough

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 01/07/2016 23:54:58    1874890

Would like to see Keating in from the start and to stay up alongside Givney. It's a waste playing Seanie out the field. Argue would be a better bet at midfield than Clarke - he can score and doesn't carry the ball into trouble. Also need Ciaran Brady in the team.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 02/07/2016 09:24:03    1874916

Listening to Terry at ht on N S , Micky Brennan asking questions and the answers being dodged, going off on a tangent!
Please God the best players, and we have lots of them, will deliver a result for us .
TH contradicts himself, said the poor finishing last day was down to thought processes from players, then he says we need to get the scores tomorrow!!! I'm confused!
Best of luck to the lads .

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 02/07/2016 19:52:50    1875121

Replying To opa01:  "Would like to see Keating in from the start and to stay up alongside Givney. It's a waste playing Seanie out the field. Argue would be a better bet at midfield than Clarke - he can score and doesn't carry the ball into trouble. Also need Ciaran Brady in the team."
Keating is a good footballer but is limited. How many good games has he actually had for Cavan. Donegal game a few years ago comes to mind but i can't recall too many other outstanding performances off-hand. I'd prefer a more mobile scorer myself.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/07/2016 20:53:31    1875144

Best of luck tomorrow lads.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 02/07/2016 21:13:24    1875150

Argues on fire , your defence is terrified argues on fire ,your defence is terrified , Na Na Na Na Na Na Nah nah nah !!!hope we can sing this after the game when we get a win ! Best of luck from all in Cork

Cavanbyrd (Cavan) - Posts: 61 - 02/07/2016 23:26:56    1875206

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Keating is a good footballer but is limited. How many good games has he actually had for Cavan. Donegal game a few years ago comes to mind but i can't recall too many other outstanding performances off-hand. I'd prefer a more mobile scorer myself."
we played well against armagh in 2013 . he played well against Fermanagh in the same year and played well against Derry

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/07/2016 00:23:25    1875225

Looks like it's going to be a fine day in Clones. That should suit us.

Looking for big Breifne vocal support.

We've learned alot and continue to improve and if we truly believe, stay composed and work our socks off, I think we'll beat Tyrone today.

Best of luck lads. "This is Cavan" Come on the Breifne Blues.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 03/07/2016 10:13:49    1875276

Best of luck to the lads today

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 03/07/2016 11:39:32    1875325

Wishing the Breifne lads and lassies the best of luck today.
Saw Cian Mackey at our game last night, sizing us up for the final, no doubt.
Hoping you do enough today to get past Tyrone. I have been very impressed with Hyland's tactics these past few games. He has used your strengths to your advantage & it has worked so far.
There is no doubt it'll be a tight battle but sure half the country had us written off as 'past it' & now we're in our 6th final in a row. A one point win is no less a win!
Was reading that you hold the title for 18 Ulster a Finals in a row. No reason you cannot win today & get back to this glory days. It's time for Cavan to step up & be counted.
Ádh mór oraibh a chairde gaoil.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 03/07/2016 11:57:22    1875335

Best of luck boys, "yes we can"!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 03/07/2016 12:07:25    1875338

Anyone know if this game is being televised anywhere? BBC? RTE? Anywhere?
I'm not in the country, and would like to get to see it somehow.

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 03/07/2016 14:23:53    1875392

Yes I think BBC Ulster are televising it. I stand corrected however.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 03/07/2016 15:46:56    1875444

Bit embarrassing...

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1681 - 03/07/2016 17:11:15    1875477