Players To Improve The County Panel in 2016?

Mowbar no problem we will agree to disagree! I really don't think Johnston is that interested as he seems to be struggling with a long term ankle injury . Plus the stick he would get from some he probably think it's not worth it. Football wise he is a good 2 footed scoring forward probably worth 3/4 points a game if at his peak. Maybe he could do a job for 30 mins . He would have been a good addition against Monaghan when we were struggling for scores late 2nd half.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/10/2015 19:18:32    1802442

Awwwwnow

Mowbar no problem we will agree to disagree! I really don't think Johnston is that interested as he seems to be struggling with a long term ankle injury . Plus the stick he would get from some he probably think it's not worth it. Football wise he is a good 2 footed scoring forward probably worth 3/4 points a game if at his peak. Maybe he could do a job for 30 mins . He would have been a good addition against Monaghan when we were struggling for scores late 2nd half.
Yes but with whats leading the set up they would not know how to utilise his talent and would probably start him instead of using him as a super sub, those that cannot forget the Kildare issues need to move on for they are no good to the game. Decisions made errors made who cares we are in such dire straights right now we need to take a few steps backwards and regroup our thoughts. Listen to grass roots take the positives and let's see what happens.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 27/10/2015 21:03:39    1802468

Well ever game nowadays is a 20 man game. Us been I small county in football terms need everyone on board. Good squad of about 30 using 20 of them in each game. I wasn't happy what Seanie did . I believe he should have stayed and fought for his place . But it's water under the bridge now. If he can add anything it's got to be a plus.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/10/2015 21:30:47    1802486

Seanie carries too much baggage I'm afraid, he's got ability but if I were manager I'd leave him where he is. There are plenty of other lads with the Gaels that are good footballers and should be on the county panel but are they committing?

benbulbenhead (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 28/10/2015 09:08:18    1802513

benbulbenhead
County: Sligo

Seanie carries too much baggage I'm afraid, he's got ability but if I were manager I'd leave him where he is. There are plenty of other lads with the Gaels that are good footballers and should be on the county panel but are they committing?

They are not Inter County standard do you not realise this benbulbenhead

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 28/10/2015 10:57:49    1802544

Lads, the only way to improve this County Team is to get rid of Terry Hyland. Seanie Johnston is one of the best forwards in this County and has been for a number of years, he was injured in this years championship yet still stood out, Martin Dunne another good forward, as is Niall McDermot, Martin Reilly had an excellent championship for Killygarry because he was played in his proper position, however, as Hyland persists with 13 men behind the ball, what forward in their right mind would want to play for Cavan.
Strong rumours that some of the last years team have withdrawn from the panel - and who would blame them.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 28/10/2015 11:42:24    1802563

Mowbar, all you do is say who isn't good enough and criticise the manager. Why don't you name 20 players who you'd have on the panel of you were manager? I haven't read on positive suggestion from you on here. I believe Dunne and Moloney Dereham are very good players for a start. Come on, put up or shut up.

benbulbenhead (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 28/10/2015 13:50:06    1802619

What is martin Reilly's best position?
Let's have some respect for the great players who have played for Cavan and leave Johnston where he is.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 28/10/2015 20:44:35    1802736

tom84 - Martin Reillys best position is the half forward line or 3rd midfielder and playing an attacking role, every match he played this year for Cavan, he was named as a half forward but instructed to play in/around the half back line.

Whilst your talking about showing some respect for Cavan, why didn't Terry Hyland show some respect and step down, or the County Board show some respect by not ratifying him.

Ask any defender in the County what its like to try and mark Johnston, he's still the best in the County. Martin Dunne scored 1-8 for the Gaels last Sunday, goes to show what happens when a team plays good attacking style football.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/10/2015 09:38:23    1802761

benbulbenhead
County: Sligo

Mowbar, all you do is say who isn't good enough and criticise the manager. Why don't you name 20 players who you'd have on the panel of you were manager? I haven't read on positive suggestion from you on here. I believe Dunne and Moloney Dereham are very good players for a start. Come on, put up or shut up.

Unfortunately my replies are not being printed. I have on many occasions named players and the majority are not on the county panel sorry you feel I am not willing to do so. Regarding the manager I have no problem with him I am happy for him to serve out this his last term.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 29/10/2015 09:39:27    1802762

I'd love to see Johnston and Dunne play off a big full forward like Givney or even as a 2 man full forward line . But as a previous poster said you must play attacking football. These lads are no threat if they spend there time defending in their own half back line . Attacking at pace using the full width of the pitch will break most blanket defences. half back line now probably has become the most important line in any team with its defensive and attacking duties so much in demand. I'd love to see Mc Kiernan tried at centre half back. I think he would shore up the back line . Use Maloney Derham in Mckiernans old midfield position as an attacking midfielder . There lots of forward options in the half forward line that could be used involving Keating MReilly , McDermott, Mackey and others. It's a 20 man game nowadays. There definitely 30 minutes in Seanie Johnston . He could swing a tight game . On the other hand there a few favourites of Terry's who time are definitely up and it will be interesting to see if that happens

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 29/10/2015 10:10:37    1802767

Cavan scored 15 points against Monaghan, 2-22 against London and 1- 16 against Roscommon. Yeah they should stop being so defensive.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/10/2015 10:37:58    1802772

Foolsgold how much did Monaghan and Roscommon score? Or does that matter?

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 29/10/2015 11:12:25    1802777

Foolsgold take the blinkers off and look at the Monaghan game. This is the game we had 8 months to prepare for. After 13 mins we led 4-1 . At half time we led 9-7. After 47 mins we led 13-9. Then the big collapse we scored 2 points in the final 23 min plus injury. Now you get my drift about too defensively . Don't care what anybody says but in the final 23 minutes those players played to instructions from the sideline.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 29/10/2015 11:22:41    1802781

Had Monaghan not the same 8 months to prepare for us? Don't buy those sort of arguments. Monaghan are a better team than us - very simple. We let them off the hook or they stepped up a gear. It's probably a bit of both. Games ebb and flow, leads change hands - but usually better teams come to the fore when the game is in the melting pot and coming to a conclusion. Looking at stats to give a bottom line opinion doesn't wash. You just can't say we scored X amount in 23 minutes as proof you're right. Intensity had picked up, fitness comes into play. The game is not that linear. We were still attacking but players made some poor judgements and executions. Referee made a few bad calls. Stats alone don't tell this. We lost, get over it and move on.
Regarding Johnston, he wasn't fit for county football this year. He may not be fit for county again. The call on his relevance to the Cavan cause will be made next year.
Regarding our tactics, there were plenty of times in games this year where we were playing with 3 forwards. People lament low scores and then lament high scores with high concession rates!!! You can't have your cake and eat it. Roscommon match was bad and team selection was very very questionable but we were operating with 3rd choice full back and 3rd choice CHB. Plus we had 14 men. Something to consider - I don't think Cavan folk are in any need of explanation of just how hard it is to unearth 1 full back never mind 3.
For me Dunne probably needs to be in a 3 man full forward line. He's not an out in front type forward - he likes operating on the blind side of defenders. You're then probably talking a target man next to him. Could Johnston operate as the 3rd man. Wouldn't hurt to try IF he was fit but that's a big if and up to this point he has not been available nor getting any younger. With just two up, one being Dunne, our inside movement and options are limited.
See the rumour mill is starting early again regarding defections. Lets just wait and see what the panel is for McKenna Cup first. I don't think we'll see too many brand new faces - hopefully we'll see a few old ones that weren't involved last year.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 29/10/2015 13:48:18    1802843

2.22 against London hardly fair to put this score into the equation when assessing attacking football. We that support Cavan have to be honest that the negative football that we have at the moment is not conducive to attacking football.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 29/10/2015 13:50:40    1802846

Hardtimes don't agree with your assessment of the Monaghan game whatsoever . We were 13-9 up after 47 minutes fell back in to a defensive mode and invited Monaghan to come at us. Instead we should have pushed up more on them and try to kill the game off. Monaghan being 4 points down had to come at us and we let them by sitting back . Now you can dress it up any way you like but if management don't learn from statistics what exactly do they learn from. 2 points in the final 25 minutes of a home game in the Ulster championship won't get you over the line. Lessons got to be learned from that. And as regard your 14 men against Roscommon it's my opinion Corr deserved his red card and the antics of the management to try and sub him at half time and then leave him on the bench so he could be called back on to be sent off was totally amateurish from any county team management .

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 29/10/2015 14:36:57    1802874

Cavan trailed Galway 0-07 to 0-02 at half-time in Salthill and won the game 0-10 to 0-12.

So it's obvious, Hyland told his players to be defensive in the first half against Galway and to attack in the second. However, in the game against Monaghan he told them to do the exact opposite and that's why they lost.

I don't want to hear a word about how good Monaghan are, or the strength of their bench, the fact that they went on to win their second Ulster in three years or about being within a missed free of drawing the game.

Does anyone remember how many points Cavan scored against Tyrone in the second half of the McKenna Cup final? Slipped my mind.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 29/10/2015 14:53:01    1802883

Lads - its all happening over again and the season hasn't started, but the general consensus from the majority of posters is that
Hyland needs to change things around and be more attack minded - if he does, then fair play to him, but I cant see him doing it.
Four games spring to mind from last season, McKenna Cup Final, we attacked Tyrone from the start, and went in at half time leading by 9pts, we came out in the 2nd half, we sat back and defended and didn't score, we attacked Monaghan from the start, led by 4 pts with 20mins left, Mackey made a run with the ball, stopped on their 45m line, got turned over, Monaghan score 5pts in a row after that and we sat back. Meath game, again, we attacked from the start, then we sat back, and Meath score 5 in a row without reply, the Roscommon game was similar, but the sending off didn't help. I have no doubt that if we play a good attacking, quick brand of football, it would be a huge improvement and we would match a lot of teams. You need to outscore your opponent and the only way to get scores is to attack. The game we're playing at the moment does not suit the players we have.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 29/10/2015 16:06:45    1802922

That's your right to disagree Awwwwnow but it's how I view the game. We did push up on them. Ciaran Brady coming on kept the push on and yielded a score. The turning point came from a Cavan attack that broke down. Dara McVeety was blatantly fouled from behind on the 40 - somehow the ref saw it as a free to Monaghan. They scored from the counter. A 2 point swing that also swung momentum. Not saying we would have won being 5 points up but we were really starting to get on top.
I don't buy your logic. Just because we were 4 points up with 25 mins to go doesn't mean we threw away the game. Do Monaghan not get any credit. If we in the future find ourselves 4 points down with 25 mins to go are we not entitled to up the ante or should we just pack up and go home early.
Of course Corr deserved his red but it still doesn't change the fact we were down to 14 men. Managements handling of the situation was embarrassing I'd agree. If they didn't know a red was coming they should have- everyone in the crowd where I was knew. Should have made himself scarce and said he had gone to hospital or something. But on the game itself we had too many holes to fill defensively. All the good work that we have done defensively over the last few years was built around 3 or 4 key players and positions. We were down 3 key men and McEnroe was out of position. You couldn't have hand picked a better opponent for Roscommon.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 29/10/2015 16:24:05    1802927