McKenna Cup

No mowbar im a realist. We have a small population with a small pool to pick from. Lads like you are either dinosaurs dreaming of the past or just not intelligent enough to realise that you need scoring forwards of the type we dont have to be able to change tactics. If your so annoyed then stop going. By the way I will judge team on league results not mckenna cup and dont care what tactics we employ as long as we get some results which I think we will.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 14/01/2015 20:52:47    1683348

Have to agree with sceptical, scoring forwards a major problem.
Hope were not going to continue with slow ball out of defence.
Need to speed it up a bit !!!!!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 16/01/2015 16:36:01    1683923

Best of luck to all the lads today hope its a good game Cabhan Abu

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 18/01/2015 10:00:31    1684152

relatively strong side named for today, more like a league team than an early season challenge selection. Will be interesting to see how the scoring goes. Good luck Cavan.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 18/01/2015 11:43:08    1684163

God its quite on here so enjoyed the game today so delighted for the team and management heading home now Cavan 1 13 monaghan 13pts

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 18/01/2015 16:07:15    1684214

Great win for the lads today... Only raising one white flag in the 2nd half would be a concern though but a win is a win and another game on Wednesday night can only be a help in the lead into the league....

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 18/01/2015 16:20:06    1684216

Went to the game earlier to see if we really were as bad as people were saying after the UUJ defeat. First half I thought we played as good a football as we have in a long long time. Gearoid lorded the midfield for the first 20 minutes, Monaghan were woeful though. Thought McDermott had a right good game as did Chris Conroy. Defence was solid throughout.

But the second half was painful viewing. We let a 9 point lead slip to just 3. We haven't a scoring forward on the field or the bench. Took the foot of the gas completely. This Cavan team needs to learn how to drive home a lead.

Overall though it was good to get a win. Anyone know what Gearoid did to get sent off?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 18/01/2015 17:42:13    1684249

Ah its definitely january lads a scrappy ould game cavan beating monaghan in the surrondings of snow roll on may!!!!!!!!

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 18/01/2015 18:22:29    1684269

NED didnt see what Gearoid did but it definitely incensed the Monaghan players and whatever he did seemed to warrant a straight red.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 18/01/2015 18:26:04    1684270

Well done cavan they blew monaghan away in the first half, cavan were hungry and its showed in the first half. The shooting by the cavan lads was exceptional but monaghan's defense bar Wylie give Cavan way too much space to shoot. The second half Dick Clerkin was lucky not to get sent off got the monaghan players blood up. In the end a Cavan got gifted the goal by a poor kick out by the Monaghan keeper. But can't have any complaints, but from a Monaghan point of view Beggan,Ryan Wylie, Colin Walshe, Vinny Corey, The two Hughes and McManus to come back i'd be confident of a turn around in May. Geroid got sent off for striking Finaly who struck back.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 18/01/2015 18:31:53    1684274

as far as i can make out he got sent off for running in and mouthing off it was seen as looking for trouble just heard that in car on way out of cavan would say in a way ref was evening teams out

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 18/01/2015 18:32:42    1684275

A game of 2 halves for sure; great long distance shooting from our lads in 1st half; bit of a fade-out in 2nd half. I can't see it having any influence what ever on the championship meeting; Monaghan were short 5-6 big names. We need to get a tighter grip on our discipline. That said it was a big improvement on the performance against Jordanstown. What's the likely mid-field for the next match now that McKiernan is out?

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 18/01/2015 19:12:34    1684306

Still have Mackey, Moynagh, Argue, Flanagan, Farrelly, to come into that team. And please God Keating will be asked back too because we are beyond toothless in that full forward line.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 18/01/2015 19:56:38    1684326

The first half of today's game was excellent - quick on the break , letting the quick ball into the forwards & taking on shots from distances. It's great to see the lads having a go at shooting and scoring, I know it was only the first half that it happened but it was like a breath of fresh air to watch. The frustrating thing about watching Cavan play over the last while is the fact that you know - when they are let, they can produce real football like they did in the first 35 mins. Second half the team went back to the more defensive style of play, although it was a difficult half with players being sent off. I thought Mc Kiernan was in top form, as good of a performance I have seen him play for Cavan since he suffered injury. All I hope is that the management scrap the crap style they had the lads playing last year and build upon the first 35 mins of today's game.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 18/01/2015 20:34:13    1684342

Mc Kiernan is a great talent but has let himself down today and something that will follow him for a long time. I couldn't understand why Paul Finaly was so irate cause he is not a dirty player in any way. Mc Kieran was meant have insulted Drew Wylie from what I hear and jap lost the head, they are club mates. I hope Cavan Gaa don't let themselves down in the coming weeks when I'd say we will hear more

Chico (Monaghan) - Posts: 19 - 18/01/2015 21:04:26    1684358

Chico I only hazard guess if what your saying is true McKernan will expect a very long ban.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 18/01/2015 21:34:14    1684383

Chico, cop on and take your beating, noting was said, the umpires seen what happened , he got a thump for doing a disgraceful tackle , the umpires has eyes not super hearing

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 18/01/2015 21:49:59    1684393

why do you think it will follow him for a long time from where i was sitting both men shook hands on the side line when they were sent off

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 18/01/2015 21:59:45    1684398

great first half display but worried me that Gilsenan had to make a save to prevent a draw.
We have very few players to come back into the team while Monaghan have Lennon,Kieran Hughes, Darren Hughes, Mc Manus and Beggan to name but a few.
I fear for the championship

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 19/01/2015 10:08:37    1684420

Can Brian Sankey(Shercock) & Killian Brady(Mullahoran) play for Cavan in the semi Wednesday night? would they be available now?

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 19/01/2015 10:27:22    1684430