Ashamed

should we not start standing up for ourselves more? As a nation we seem to just lie down and take whatever hand we're dealt instead of striving for better

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 20/04/2014 16:12:34    1577660

A defeat like that is hard to take & yes the ref made some questionable decisions but he was not the reason Cavan lost.

Cavan scored one point in the last 25 odd minutes & I'm sorry, but you are not going to win many games doing that.

There is a problem in refereeing , but to blame the ref yesterday for Cavan's defeat is simply delusional.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/04/2014 17:25:35    1577691

Muckross head im sure people are aware Cavan didnt score in final 25 minutes, doesn't mean we cant feel frustrated with dodgy referee calls towards the end of the game.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 20/04/2014 17:32:50    1577695

The lads go out and kill themselves all year to get here, they deserved a better referee. Agree totally.

The Dublin players have also been killing themselves all year. And a large proportion of Cavan support think it's ok to boo and jeer the lad as he's taking a free? No no no..

There's a line when it comes to venting at the referee, yesterday it was crossed by some supporters (one in particular) and sadly, Cavan officials.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 20/04/2014 17:42:58    1577704

the stuff at end of game wasnt tat bad. the ref was not hit by anyone they gave out and shouted which i think is ok cause it was a terrible way to lose a game.
but i heard things were thrown at ref when he was leaving the field that isnt right way to behave and should not happen.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 20/04/2014 18:35:38    1577728

there is some muck being spouted here, the referee deserved the reaction he got, I saw people in tears over his decision making. The only disgrace from yesterday was the manner in which it was refereed and it is the mandarins at the top of the GAA that have to take a 'long hard look at themselves' when its blatantly obvious that these officials are happy to let the back pages of Gaelic Life be their guide rather than a the basic concept of fair play!!!!

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 20/04/2014 21:03:17    1577801

ramor101

there is some muck being spouted here, the referee deserved the reaction he got, I saw people in tears over his decision making. The only disgrace from yesterday was the manner in which it was refereed and it is the mandarins at the top of the GAA that have to take a 'long hard look at themselves' when its blatantly obvious that these officials are happy to let the back pages of Gaelic Life be their guide rather than a the basic concept of fair play!!!!

+1. Well said, I agree entirely. The real scandal is the inept standard of officiating which is rife in the GAA, nothing will be done about that though. What sort of a message is that sending to the players when they get on the wrong end of a decision after putting their lives on hold for months on end making huge sacrifices?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 21/04/2014 11:06:40    1577916

Felt sorry for Cavan but was not surprised that they lost. Not scoring for close to 28 minutes was the ultimate undoing of Cavan.

No_Drama (Wicklow) - Posts: 509 - 21/04/2014 11:34:51    1577937

Ned_Stormcrow

ramor101

+1. Well said, I agree entirely. The real scandal is the inept standard of officiating which is rife in the GAA, nothing will be done about that though. What sort of a message is that sending to the players when they get on the wrong end of a decision after putting their lives on hold for months on end making huge sacrifices?

absolute rubbish from the both of you.
you are like little kids (perhaps you are little kids) there are some bad decisions in every game (perhaps you haven't seen many games before). completely over the top reaction by some people (including management... which is the most disappointing easpect of this whole sorry saga.) you have all spoiled what was a very good performance by the whole team and subs. the team deserve better than this rubbish talk. It remins me a bit of the national hysteria surrounding the Thierry Henry handball. another time when we all made fools of ourselves. DIGNITY. please.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/04/2014 20:02:58    1578187

I hope the players aren't bothering with all this. They were a credit to the county, stood up manfully to a physically far stronger Dublin team and almost made it anyway despite everything. 3 years ago when they won the Ulster Minor title they were well below the standard of the Dublin minors. They made up the gap big time and that's huge credit to themselves and their mentors.

I was ashamed of the few louts who ran onto the pitch after the game. I'm following Cavan football for 50 years and I never saw anything like it. Everyone I spoke to since the match is equally ashamed of it. There are thousands of Cavan supporters that don't post on hoganstand. In the end we didn't score enough from the good chances we set up. That almost cost us the Ulster final and most of us said leaving Armagh that it would cost us an All-Ireland if we repeated it. We did. Let's take it on the chin like we always did in the past and move on. Totally proud of all the lads who gave us so much enjoyment and success over 5 championships.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 21/04/2014 21:02:38    1578218

Jon Smith.....watch games in Croker when the dubs are playing. Free takers are regularly booed, so I wouldnt be losing sleep over that

Crash Bang Wallop (None) - Posts: 268 - 21/04/2014 21:41:22    1578240

Same mistake made along the line as last year.not good enough

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 22/04/2014 12:21:11    1578384

Cavan don't score for the last 28 minutes of the game? That's what lost the game for you's not the referee.

Time to wake up and smell the coffee.

Negative tactics will only get you so far.

Brolly may be on to something with the 'black death' reference.

Norris19 (Donegal) - Posts: 11 - 22/04/2014 13:22:14    1578427

dubs freetakers were treated exactly the same as every free taker kicking into the hill against the dubs

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 22/04/2014 14:06:35    1578461

'Ballinagh V Fingal Ravens' behaviour Part II.

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/04/2014 14:31:21    1578479

Cavan don't score for the last 28 minutes of the game?

Cavan scored points on 50 mins, 36 mins & 32 mins.

The rubbish you are posting is unreal, your own county lost to Dublin in 2011 because you wouldn't attack, you were only thinking of stop Dublin scoring.

cavan_women (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 22/04/2014 14:53:35    1578501

Fully agree with you Snufalufagus, that the Ravens were out of order that day. Probably spent too much time on Hill 16 abusing Stewards and Gardai while masquerading as genuine Dublin Supporters, such as your good self. The cheek of them!

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 22/04/2014 15:03:05    1578514

cavan_women

That is indeed true, but did you see us trying to blame the ref or anyone bar ourselves that day?

We knew how bad we were that day and changed our system totally the next year and capturing the AI in the process.

Cavan would do better being outraged with the muck they are currently playing rather than a referee's performance.

Norris19 (Donegal) - Posts: 11 - 22/04/2014 17:24:46    1578646

Norris19, gifted inside forwards are currently a little thin on the ground in Cavan. Don't blame the management for focusing on our strengths and building a solid foundation to move forward on. We're playing to our strengths at the moment, so calm down. You'd be better off channeling your energy towards Derry v Donegal rather than worrying about our "muck".

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 22/04/2014 17:36:15    1578656

Did that Cavan team not beat Donegal then Norris?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/04/2014 19:23:56    1578714