Division 3 League Final

that was a second string team i came up with but not one of them would be out of place on the startng team - just cant figure out why Givney cant make it unless he has an injury - too good a player to leave out. Best of luck today lads I think we ll win it by 5 or 6

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 26/04/2014 12:50:49    1580222

No player is too good to peave out. Very strong panel, Givneys form has been poor. Might be a wake up call for him that he can't take his place for granted

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 26/04/2014 13:09:46    1580229

Best of luck to the lads,,, we could do with one!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 26/04/2014 13:10:18    1580230

We are just waiting to be beat here

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 26/04/2014 20:23:03    1580428

Very disappointing result against a weak roscommon team. Reality check ahead of the armagh game, atleast we won't be hot favourites now

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 26/04/2014 20:37:04    1580449

Where's Bisto Kid now?? Ye beat a full second string in the league. Up against a half first, half second string side in the final and we whipped ye!! Woo Up the mighty Rossies.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 26/04/2014 20:47:22    1580456

Very poor performance with 8 minuates to go it was level and we kick 4 poor wides on the bounce and Martin dunne trying to do fancy points from impossible angles is absolute madness we need to up are game come championship or we will get are eyes open

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 26/04/2014 21:12:40    1580480

Oddball-why do you insist on giving our county a bad name?
The thousands of Roscommon supporters take their victories and they take their defeats.They dont gloat like schoolchildren.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 340 - 26/04/2014 21:22:18    1580489

Our profligacy cost us.. Martin Dunne misses more than he scores, shooting from impossible angles, instead of working the ball in for a score. Far to selfish on the ball and had options to lay it off most of the time he was in possession. He missed at least 1-4 from play. McDermott, McKiernan. Keating and Mackey were all guilty of missing scorable points in the 2nd half in particular. I thought the frees kept Roscommon in it for the large part, Cavan were not disciplined in the tackle and Roscommon and Shine and Kilbride in particular punished them. Cavan were the better team for the most part, but were far too complacent and Id rather them get bet now, learn from their mistakes, than get bet by Armagh in the first round of the Championship. At least we have time to address the mistakes and improve on the performance between now and early June.

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 26/04/2014 21:30:34    1580498

keep quiet worple. This is between me and Bisto Kid who was predicting a hammering for our weakened team!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 26/04/2014 21:33:07    1580502

serious reality check...
better not say anything now in the heat of the moment.. but that was a massive step back. we were poor offensively.. but i taught we relied on a great defence. look extremely poor tonight. most backs behind for the ball and everything roscommon got in are half they looked like scoring.. lot of work to do. we are not as good as we taught.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 26/04/2014 21:33:40    1580503

Roscommon much the better team in the second half. Cavan played a Roscommon team at about 70 per cent full strength and still couldn't win. Very unimpressed by Martin Dunne and I don't understand why he was taken off before Keating who was your main scoring threat. Roscommon were poor in the first half and Cavan were playing above themselves and still only managed a one point half time lead, that's where they lost the game. Cavan thought they had a rock solid defence until they met the Rossies who were not at full strength, ye just couldn't handle our forwards. Cavan conceded on average 9/10 points up until today, the Rossies doubled that average for ye tonight. Best team won, Cavan simply not good enough. Bit of a downer losing a U21 semi-final and a Div 3 final in 8 days, oh well :( . At least ye won the challenge match we had 4 weeks ago in Breffni.

RossieBlue (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 26/04/2014 21:34:12    1580506

Very disappointing second half - cant believe they left it so long to bring Givney on. what are they trying to prove ? its not as if we have an over supply of big strong mobile players who is always good for a few scores as well - one of the top midfielders in Ulster.

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 26/04/2014 21:39:05    1580519

Keating being taken off before Dunne was a strange call. Disapointing result but time to put it right before 8th of June

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 26/04/2014 21:57:52    1580539

A bad day at the office for a number of players. I won't go into who. I think they know themselves. Alot of improvement needs to be made ahead of the Summer. There was an inevitability about how we were bet. Dare I say it but it reminded me of the Cavan teams of old which was a pity. Kicking 4 successive wides when the game was in the melting pot around the 60 minute mark was criminal.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 27/04/2014 08:06:57    1580543

You can always rely on Roscommon fans to be worse winners than losers.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 27/04/2014 08:38:53    1580546

Jekyll and Hyde performance.
Martin Dunnes worst performance in a blue jersey.
He won enough possession but shooting from impossible angles insteading looking for a man in a better position was his problem.
Keating was well marked and Mackey didn't impose himself enough.
Problem is,this was a Roscommon team without their under 21s.
Where does it leave us.
GROUNDED I hope.
We've a lot to work on.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 27/04/2014 09:43:32    1580554

RossieBlue
County: Roscommon

Roscommon much the better team in the second half. Cavan played a Roscommon team at about 70 per cent full strength and still couldn't win. Very unimpressed by Martin Dunne and I don't understand why he was taken off before Keating who was your main scoring threat. Roscommon were poor in the first half and Cavan were playing above themselves and still only managed a one point half time lead, that's where they lost the game. Cavan thought they had a rock solid defence until they met the Rossies who were not at full strength, ye just couldn't handle our forwards. Cavan conceded on average 9/10 points up until today, the Rossies doubled that average for ye tonight. Best team won, Cavan simply not good enough. Bit of a downer losing a U21 semi-final and a Div 3 final in 8 days, oh well :( . At least ye won the challenge match we had 4 weeks ago in Breffni.

If you are going to make a post at least get it right. Maybe read a match report you might be able to correct your error.

Every dog on the ditch knew Roscommon only started 7 of their main team against Cavan in the national league game as it was a dead rubber game.
Cavan started 11 but thats neither here nor there.
Cavan got what they set out to do and that was get promotion in Division 3 loosing last night might be hard for a few of them for most are starved of silver ware at senior level. I feel sorry for the die hard Cavan supporter who travel all over the country to watch their beloved county through thick and thin. Your day will come

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/04/2014 10:01:13    1580562

Cavan were very poor in their supposed strong area of defence but I did say beforehand they would struggle... Midfield was a big problem untill Argue was finally introduced...and why was a player of Givneys abality ignored till too late... Martin Reilly and McDermott were the only forewards to play up to scratch.. The penalty miss prob affected Dunne but bringing on Lyng was daft... We were found out badly last night both on and off the pitch to not be near as good as we thought..or as some think...??

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 27/04/2014 10:08:32    1580563

There are lessons to be learned from last nights game. However, as regards the summer ahead that might not be such a bad thing. You learn more from a defeat than you do from a victory.

Last night raised the first doubts in my mind about the managment team but there were positivies, in particular 18 points on the score board and the performance of the half forward line.

The policy of playing a defender as one of the two midfielders is not going to work in the wide confines of Croke Park. We were over run at midfield and the number of uncontested kickouts was hard to believe. Givney should have been in after 20 minutes, insead management stuck with their failed tactic.

The centre half back position is now a matter of concern, never mind that the shot for the goal was a mishit, the manner in which the centre half back was rounded was not good.

Dunne scored 0 - 4 but missed another 1 - 4 during the course of the game. Keating coming off ahead of him was hard to reason.

Bringing on two players in the last couple of minutes to try and change the game, Givney and Tierney were introduced, was too late, they should have been allocated more time to influence the game.

All of the above might have been swept under the carpet if Dunne scored the penatly, if the Roscommon goal, a mis hitshot, hit the post and came out, or if two of the four wides in a row kicked between the 58 and 64 minutes went between the posts.

Bring on Armagh, we are in good shape to play them once the lessons are learned!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 27/04/2014 10:28:59    1580571