The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/04/2014 21:27:35    1569693

Donegal leading by 4

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/04/2014 21:32:36    1569697

Donegal 10 points to 7

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/04/2014 21:33:06    1569699

We've done it. 5th Ulster u21 final in a row. Incredible. Absolutely brilliant result in what sounded like tough conditions. And to hold two quality teams like Monaghan and Tyrone to such low scores is testament to the outstanding defence we're building our success on. Another Ulster final now to look forward to, probably in our second home Brewster park?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 02/04/2014 21:38:50    1569702

Donegal 14 Armagh 10 one minuet left

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/04/2014 21:48:58    1569714

Donegal 15 Armagh 10

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/04/2014 21:50:39    1569717

Mc Brearty is the only man standing in your way now from the 4 in a row. I'd say youse will have to double tag him!

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 02/04/2014 21:55:10    1569722

Congrats to Peter and the lad on reaching another Ulster final. Wonderful achievement and augurs well for the future of our Senior team.The talent just keeps coming year after year. Great to see it.
Fair play to Monaghan and Cavan for providing a spectacle in such dreadful conditions. I dont think people realised how bad underfoot conditions were. And a speedy recovery to the 2 Monaghan lads carried off.
Good performances all round but a few lads stood out.Aaron Watson in the 1st half and Tom Hayes throughout played very well. Michael Argue again was very influential along with Killian Clarke, Conor Moynagh and Dara McVeety. Our free taking was poor up front and a reliable free taker may be needed. Joe Dillon and Nevin O'Donnell will help the forward line and such a pity Conor Madden did the hamstring.He will be missed.
But lots to look forward to with big days for Seniors and U21's. Happy days.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 03/04/2014 10:01:49    1569769

congrats guys on last night. any word how bad madden is?
Wat about joe dillion and nevin? will they be back for the final?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 03/04/2014 11:51:47    1569852

AudiMan

We don't do double-marking in spite of what some critics say. McBrearty is a class act but he was just marked man to man last year and we coped. Same story with McCurry of Tyrone in the quarter final.Should be a great final.

Congrats to the lads for standing up in the conditions, losing our play-maker Joe Dillon and taking all the Monaghan intensity in their stride.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 03/04/2014 13:36:17    1569936

great win last night , argue was poor last night compared to previous games ,i think monaghan were just tryin to spoil him, hayes , watson , monyagh were v good , one prob we have is were carrying two forwards for the last 2 games..... nevin o donnell is fit , he played for shannon gaels at the weekend hes just not making the panel, hession and o hara did well wen introduced,, the football is hard to watch but were gettin the results and thats the main thing

paulie (Cavan) - Posts: 44 - 03/04/2014 15:16:52    1569999

It has been confirmed that the 2014 Cadbury's Ulster U21 final will take place in the Athletic Grounds Armagh on Wednesday 9th April, throw in 8pm.

smokinaces (Cavan) - Posts: 68 - 03/04/2014 17:07:02    1570057

It was a dreadful night for football but the boys stood up to be counted last night. The positives were Sankeys work rate throughout,moynagh and mc veety were very good throughout.tom Hayes won everything that went into him. The winning of the game was how cavan stood up to the monaghan tactics, there were a lot of late and over the top tackles and they obviously targeted argue. The conditions played its part but cavan never took a backwards step.negatives were free taking, In my opinion, Bouchier is a fancy dan footballer,missed 5 frees and didn't contribute.think hessin is a better option.argue didn't really get a kick either but I'm sure we can devise a tactic to get him onto the ball.we have great strike runners like mc veety, smith and moynagh who will run at the donegal defence and create problems

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 03/04/2014 17:20:36    1570067

We can expect teams to target Michael Argue from here on same as last night. But Brian Sankey did the business around the middle anyway and I was delighted for him because he's a much better player than some people think and can play full back just as easily. And you won't take him out of a game because of his sheer physicality. Aaron Watson is another powerhouse and he showed his mettle last night. I think Monaghan put everything into that early charge and they weren't able to sustain it in the second half. Bouchier is a first class play-maker but he's very easily pushed around and last night was no place for light players. He's generally good with frees but we do need an alternative free taker all right. We could always put Argue in a half forward for a spell, maybe moving Watson to midfield with Sankey.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 03/04/2014 18:53:54    1570106

Good lads, lets try and bring a few of our U 21's down a peg or two with 6 days until the final!! Good old Cavan grounding. Nobody will getting above their station ha?

Bouchier is a very tidy footballer and the conditions were awful out there. Everyone has an off day. He has been an important player for us this year and he is a ball winner on the inside line for us. If anything, Kevin is sometimes too unselfish. And as for Argue, well dont even go there.

Hope the lads can see this through and they have had 3 great results so far. Well done lads. Keep doing us proud and don't listem to the inevitable crap that will ensue!! 99.9% of Cavan people are with you!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 03/04/2014 21:02:37    1570166