Under 21's

I see Tyrone beat Kerry in a challenge match.
Cavan will have to be up for this, potential banana skin.
Best of luck to the lads.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 19/03/2014 09:56:54    1561910

sammaguire1

best of luck to the cavan lads tonight. really hope we get a result. wont make the game tonight. Any one know if it is being screened on cavantv?

I don't think they are allowed to screen it live was there not a complaint made by a business in the town sad isn't it.

99% clean bill of health also

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/03/2014 10:12:14    1561918

The best of luck to the lads and management tonight in what will be a tough game. I'd imagine the winners of tonight's game will be firm favourites to go on and win Ulster. Here's hoping its ourselves. We have to make home advantage count.

An Cabhán Abú!

BELIEVE

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/03/2014 12:25:07    1562010

Best of luck tonight!!!! Believe in your own talent!!!!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 19/03/2014 13:22:21    1562038

Best of luck to Cavan tonight, Winners play the winners of Donegal/Fermanagh in the Semi's I believe.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/03/2014 18:12:24    1562171

Winners play down or Monaghan. Best of luck to the lads.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/03/2014 18:50:59    1562189

cavan winning 1-06 - 04. 15 mins second half

dillon just scored.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/03/2014 21:21:33    1562279

very long delay here for injury to tyrone player. . probably about 10 mins

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/03/2014 21:30:06    1562281

over.

well done Cavan

1.11 to 6

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/03/2014 21:43:41    1562292

What was the startin 15 for cavan i couldn't attend the game ?

workman (Cavan) - Posts: 35 - 19/03/2014 21:45:47    1562294

Cavan v Monaghan in semi-final.

El Classico Beag.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/03/2014 21:52:41    1562302

Terrific result! Another step in the right direction, more tough steps lie ahead, let's finish the job this time!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 19/03/2014 21:54:43    1562305

Je's lads yous are at it again. Will yous ever give someone else a chance at U21 level.....

Well done to Cavan tonight, serious works must be going on in Cavan to develop players consistently. Beating Tyrone by more than double scores is some achievement as we are led to believe there is a conveyor belt in Tyrone of talent.

Hope we get back to an Ulster Final and get some revenge on yous from last year but we have a small hurdle of Armagh first!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 19/03/2014 22:00:07    1562314

At any level, when teams arrive at a venue, good managers take time to survey the prevailing conditions and set their team up accordingly. There was a very strong wind blowing into the town end, a fact which Tyrone seemed to have missed completely. That they had very experienced players in Fergal Logan and Brian Dooher on the sideline, makes this all the more baffling. Instead of feeding their potential match-winning corner forwards with early ball, or any ball, they went about on a campaign of intimidating Cavan, hunting in packs with menace. Nothing wrong with controlled aggression, but much of their tackling was borderline to say the least. Thankfully we had a decent Ref last night who kept most of it in check. Tyrone defenders were even time wasting in the last five minutes of the first half which practically handed the initiative, and the game, to Cavan.

When we went in level at half time, I felt confident we would use the wind advantage properly ourselves, which we did. Three of Michael Argues excellent four points from play came with the aid of the wind, and early balls in to Joe Dillon initially, and Tom Hayes and Conor Madden later, opened up gaps for others to exploit. Conor Moynagh's well deserved point being the pick of them. The goal off course killed the game.

Cavan may not do the four in a row. There are new risks in every game and nothing is guaranteed. But for me, this is a very good U21 team. They contained an obviously talented Tyrone team in the first half, and dominated them in the second. They have leaders in all the key areas of the field, from Killian Clarke to Moynagh to Argue, to Dillon, and later to Madden. But by far the most impressive player for me was Padraig Faulkner. He was simply immense throughout the game, particularly in the first half. Also impressive was Aaron Watson who defended well and read the game intelligently. A good night for Cavan. Hopefully there will be more in this campaign.

Best wishes to Tyrone's Kieran McGeary after his injury. Hopefully he makes a full recovery.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 20/03/2014 08:49:03    1562322

Tir Conaill Abu

Thanks for your good wishes but with our system and management team
were looking no further than the Monaghan game.
A derby match which I'm sure will be a tight affair.
By the way Armagh have yet to qualify as they only drew with Antrim last night.
One game at a time and no complacency.
WELL DONE LADS!!!! any team that can hold Tyrone to 3 scores per half can't be a bad one.
Best of luck against Monaghan.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 20/03/2014 10:15:06    1562361

Another Wednesday night & another victory. Nowadays you go to a Cavan game expecting a victory, some turnaround from a few years ago. Serious work is reaping the rewards. When were we beaten at U-21 level in ulster last ?
Onto last nights game. Was a little apprehensive at the start, strong wind blowing right down the pitch. Not sure who won the toss, but I'd of played against the wind, as it usually takes a little while for a game to settle down. We had maybe 8 kick outs in the first half & I think we won them all. About 5 of them were excellent quick kick outs from Farrelly which had to be done. Tyrone were asleep to this & I was very surprised especially with veteran dooher on the sideline. McCurry was well marshaled & only got one point from play in 2nd half & maybe a point from a free. Killian Clarke was solid, dealt with a few high balls & went on an occasional gallop to open the legs. Faulkner I thought had a savage game, won breakin ball, kick outs, nearly had a goal & should of been a penalty, could not fault his display. Half back like was good also. Brady & Smith solid thru out, moynagh had a great 2nd half & finished off a move he started with a beauty of a score. Great engine on him. Could maybe deliver the ball earlier at times instead of soloing but that's only a minor thing. Midfield again was good. Sankey with some nice hits & hard work. While argue slots 4 more points from play. He's developing into a serious talent. 8 points in 2 games from play. Was between himself & Faulkner for motm. Graham didn't have the same impact on the score board as last week but put in a good shift. Flanagan although created the goal, missed a few chances & may have been subbed earlier. Mcveety hit two nice points & was full of running. Boucher played well enough, took a smart quick free which nearly yielded a score into the strong wind. He messed another which in the next round will be crucial. Dillon had a great first half, won every ball that nearly came his way, won frees, nearly set up a goal for Faulkner. Ref could of given him more frees as his man was hanging out of him. Madden hit two good points in 10 mins & Hayes showed very well on his introduction also & will of given the selectors some headaches for 2 weeks time. Back to Brewster we reckon, derby match, where else would ya wanna be. Cheer these lads on & support them. Great crowd there last night. They need to have more water in the siopa for tea at HT, ran out off it, was gutted. Come on Cavan

just_the_facts (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 20/03/2014 10:44:06    1562378

great result for cavan last nite.. an all round great work rate and effort!! my only concern is why we still must play a defensive and slow moving football..god we were playing with the wind in the second half however we still had to pack our defense and hand pass the ball about!! could we not move it fast into the forward line where our forwards dominated their backline! a more physical and skillful team could destroy us! this could be cavans downfall not just in the u21 but at senior level too

i.am.legend (UK) - Posts: 41 - 20/03/2014 10:46:44    1562379

Faulkner was top class last night. Playing Sigerson with Maynooth has been a help too, playing along side players like MD McAuley. Cavan were always in control even when playing against the wind in the first, and probaly should have been ahead at half time only for poor shooting. Was impressed with Kevin Bouchier coming deep and and spraying the passes,. Foward line linked well thoughout,just have to more clinical. Very good subs to bring on like Conor Madden, Tom Hayes. Not sure why Madden wasn't starting. Argue was imense at midfield, very hard player to stop when he gets going & and he is still under age next year like Faulkner. Good all round team display,

Monaghan in 2010 U21 semi was a tight battle, and the game last year in Breffni went to extra time, would expect the same again.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 20/03/2014 10:47:51    1562382

Great result last night.

Our lads were smart in the first half, held possession well when we needed to. Realistically Tyrone needed to be 4-5 points up at half time with a wind like that, you always felt Cavan had the winning of the game if we went in level and we did.

Second half with the win we were a different team. Good alertness shown for the goal and it was vital we got it to settle the thing down. We never looked under any real pressure throughout the game and you always got the feeling that we could step it up a gear, which we will undoubtedly need to do against Monaghan.

On the night, man of the match for me would have to be Padraig Faulkner, outstanding from start to finish, great reader of the game and got stuck in which the crowd appreciated. Thought Bouchier was also very good up front. Argue's senior experience is really standing to him at this level, kicked some nice scores. I thought Madden and young Hayes were very good when introduced. Once we kicked the long ball in it was effective and yielded a few scores, but I suppose it was easier at that stage considering the game had opened up considerably and Tyrone lost their shape. It's great to be able to call on players like that.

Well done lads, keep up the good work, chance to put one over on the neighbours next.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 20/03/2014 10:49:12    1562387

my only concern is why we still must play a defensive and slow moving football..god we were playing with the wind in the second half however we still had to pack our defense and hand pass the ball about!! could we not move it fast into the forward line where our forwards dominated their backline! a more physical and skillful team could destroy us! this could be cavans downfall not just in the u21 but at senior level too

A few things worth pointing out,playing with a wind like that is dangerous too, how many balls were carried over the heads of their intended targets when it was kicked long?, Peter and Co got the tactics spot on with the short passing game. Second 'a more Physical team'??? We were playing Tyrone!!! How much more physical can you get at this/any level and we dictated the whole pace of the game and hammered them!! Oh Happy Day

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 20/03/2014 11:42:11    1562421