Sign here if you want Lyng, Mackey, Johnston etc. back

When did Mackey or Lyng last do anything? When they were minor is the only time i've seen either of them perform with the county..
wakawaka , 06/02/2012 at 17:05

What about when Mackey was out top scorer in league kicking seven eight points a game. And Lyng has the talent, just being unlucky with injury.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 06/02/2012 18:12:06    1106829

ponger

1106738 aceofspades.

Does that mean you want those experienced players back or go with the new crop ???

I'd go along with what the management is trying to do at the moment,because as can be seen by our recent record above our players experience hasn't being too good.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 06/02/2012 18:23:04    1106840

Seanorinn u should also read my post! What are u on about "etc", I never said that, I was referring directly to gaelsutd

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 06/02/2012 18:43:40    1106865

Personally I wouldn't bring back the above at the expense of our yonger players but we have thrown in too many too soon. A quality manager would have phased them in with experience beside them.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 06/02/2012 18:46:59    1106871

Where's Maloney-Derham ? Is he injured or playing colleges? Could do with him in the half backline to get some big match experience. What about McCutcheon at full back? How would he fair there? Dermot sheridan and waters either sideog him in the full backline should be tried. That would be a fairly tight full back line.

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 06/02/2012 19:25:29    1106897

Seanorinn u should also read my post! What are u on about "etc", I never said that, I was referring directly to gaelsutd
JamsieMac , 06/02/2012 at 18:43

copied the wrong one my post was for gaelstud not you sorry about that.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/02/2012 20:14:55    1106935

What about McCutcheon at full back? How would he fair there? Dermot sheridan and waters either sideog him in the full backline should be tried. That would be a fairly tight full back line.
richiej , 06/02/2012 at 19:25

John McCutcheon does not like playing in the back line very happy in the halfback line so there is no point in doing this to him again tried before he was very uncomfortable I can tell you, nice to have a running half back that is solid. We have leaked too many scores this I am sure will be addressed by Saturday night please god. Dermot is not there would you consider Keith Fannon good work horse. To be fair lads if you are having trouble winning your kick outs you are in deep ship

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/02/2012 20:21:14    1106943

Sean o Rinn I never remember McCutcheon playing fullback . Maybe you could tell me when?

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 06/02/2012 20:28:03    1106953

richiej
County: UK

Listen to the managers post match comments where he talks about lack of experience . But what he fails to mention is he got rid of the experience we had, YES Mackey, Lyng, Sheridan, Clarke, Johnstone, Smith should ALL be on the panel still.

Look at the supposedly "hard to handle" players this weekend............Nicky Joyce stormer for Galway. Owen Mulligan brilliant for Tyrone.. Class acts.
Proper Managers manage all types
Joyce was dropped last season, went away, worked hard, back in this year..he didn't spit the dummy out and transfer to Cork or somewhere.

Mulligan was only a sub last year and then quit the panel, trained hard, now back in the team this year. Again, never heard anything bout him acting like a baby and looking for a transfer.

Johnston is the only one going out of his way to ensure he can't/won't be picked for cavan again. All the other players could be called back in if they prove to be good enough

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 07/02/2012 09:35:48    1107076

You got it in a nutmeg wishfulthinking, very well summed up indeed.
Players have always come in and out of panels everywhere, be it for club or county, sometimes because of work, sometimes because of family, sometimes because of attitude, and sometimes even just to have a wee break.
I find it just plain childish to give up without a fight and jump ships.
Good luck to Seanie on his travels, if he's let transfer, and let's just move on with or without him

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 07/02/2012 10:05:05    1107095

wishfulthinkin

richiej

Listen to the managers post match comments where he talks about lack of experience . But what he fails to mention is he got rid of the experience we had, YES Mackey, Lyng, Sheridan, Clarke, Johnstone, Smith should ALL be on the panel still.

Look at the supposedly "hard to handle" players this weekend............Nicky Joyce stormer for Galway. Owen Mulligan brilliant for Tyrone.. Class acts.
Joyce was dropped last season, went away, worked hard, back in this year..he didn't spit the dummy out and transfer to Cork or somewhere.

Mulligan was only a sub last year and then quit the panel, trained hard, now back in the team this year. Again, never heard anything bout him acting like a baby and looking for a transfer.

Johnston is the only one going out of his way to ensure he can't/won't be picked for cavan again. All the other players could be called back in if they prove to be good enough

I Agree Seanie should have stayed and not look for a transfer
But if he was regarded as a disruptive influence in the dressing room how was kicking 10 points for the Gaels in the league going to get him back in the panel???
Nobodys questioning his ability,
Joyce walked off the galway team, but Mullholland wants all good footballers on board, young and old.
Seems he is prepared to man manage.
WHAT IS A MANAGERS JOB??. PICK THE TEAM? DO THE PRESS INTERVIEW?? OR MANAGE 25/30 PLAYERS OF DIFFERENT ABILITY, DIFFERENT STRENGTHS AND WEAKNESSES

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/02/2012 10:10:15    1107098

Richie, first of all congratulations on 1000 posts, some I have liked more, others less, but fair play to you, because you call things usually as you see them.
James Reilly our keeper was one of the famous veterans to get the axe last Autumn, yet he started our first league game, How did he get back in the panel?
If the management said that the door was closed to nobody(which seems to be true), wouldn't Seanie have been better advised to show a lot more commitment to the gaels and playing in general in order to get back onto the county panel.
Let's not forget there were problems between him and gaels management too.
He himself admitted to having a poor year last year, so maybe, just maybe,what Seanie was given was a break to come back with that better attitude everybody keeps on about.
Seanie I'm afraid has been misled as to his best course of action.

drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 07/02/2012 10:40:16    1107120

drumavigo

Richie, first of all congratulations on 1000 posts, some I have liked more, others less, but fair play to you, because you call things usually as you see them.
James Reilly our keeper was one of the famous veterans to get the axe last Autumn, yet he started our first league game, How did he get back in the panel?
If the management said that the door was closed to nobody(which seems to be true), wouldn't Seanie have been better advised to show a lot more commitment to the gaels and playing in general in order to get back onto the county panel.
Let's not forget there were problems between him and gaels management too.
He himself admitted to having a poor year last year, so maybe, just maybe,what Seanie was given was a break to come back with that better attitude everybody keeps on about.
Seanie I'm afraid has been misled as to his best course of action.

Its water under the bridge now as it seems he is gone.
Secondly dropping players in October is kinda childish, at least give them their personal fitness plans over the winter, Have a look in Jan or Feb and see how committed they seem and then make a decision.
Management cant keep changing the goalpost every year and tearing up the script, there has to be some sort of continuity.

Management spoke after the Longford game last year and again after the McKenna Cup games against Donegal and UUJ about the defence conceeding soft goals. And they still speaking about it after the Wexford game. Most post match interviews are becoming repetitive .
So when they going to do something about it? Or will it be the topic of conversation all year?

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/02/2012 11:06:52    1107147

wishfulthinkin

richiej

You may indeed be right but we still have to find out if Seanie was told he was finished for good, if he was mis-treated by management or if he did indeed spit the dummy out. Maybe he was told he would never play under Val again or never be welcomed back. We don't know.
The other players like Joyce and Mulligan might have had the position explained to them in a better way by their managers and knew exactly what they had to do to get back in but until someone comes out and explains what happened in that phone-call between Val and Seanie then we will never know and people will speculate. !!
It could just come down to management styles and to man-management skills. Until someone tells us we won't know and that situation is unfair to one of them at least !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/02/2012 11:19:07    1107153

Cavan_Slasher , 07/02/2012 at 11:19

none of them were told they would never play for Cavan again plain and simple. If they say otherwise its not the truth
There are players back on the panel this term who were dropped last season so work hard the door is never shut.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/02/2012 11:39:33    1107170

Sean o Rinn I never remember McCutcheon playing fullback . Maybe you could tell me when?
richiej , 06/02/2012 at 20:28

I never said he played full back but he did play corner back.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/02/2012 11:43:02    1107173

seanorinn

Cavan_Slasher , 07/02/2012 at 11:19

none of them were told they would never play for Cavan again plain and simple. If they say otherwise its not the truth
There are players back on the panel this term who were dropped last season so work hard the door is never shut.

Well one player was definetely told he was too old at 27 Sean so how would working hard get him back into the Team??

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/02/2012 12:05:26    1107191

Now is a chance to try out new talent, the future lies with our successful younger players coming through. We need to build a system where we have young successful players coming through from U21 and minor. Last year was a good start with 2 Ulster titles in the bag, I have been following Cavan at all age levels for a while and I believe if the management get their heads then we will make a breakthrough at senior, Underage success again this year will add to the momentum. I agree we could do with some more experience in the mix but we havent been spoilt for choice with talent in the senior ranks for the past number of years. My advice.... get into Breffni park next Saturday night for the Longford match and give this young team a bit of backing. Too much pessimism on this forum

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 07/02/2012 12:05:35    1107193

Well one player was definetely told he was too old at 27 Sean so how would working hard get him back into the Team??
richiej , 07/02/2012 at 12:05

I don't think so the door was shut on NO ONE how many times do you need to be told

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/02/2012 14:11:18    1107285

Sean o Rinn you should read back over all your posts. Last week when posters were posting what they thought might be the team v Wexford you kept saying no that won't be the team. Even when the team was announced you kept saying you expect changes it won't line out as selected. It did. You seem to know word for word also what the management said to all those players not invited back. But your wrong there too. Yes you are near breffni park but your ideas, opinions, are all way off the Mark and your sounding like a broken record Sean!!

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 07/02/2012 14:53:11    1107331