Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from Dergforeeva

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Ban:  "I don't consider Donegal's game in Croke Park a neutral venue. Its a home game for Dublin which means an away game for Donegal. This means Donegal have 2 away games, one home and no neutral. I consider this a disadvantage to Donegal."
It's the same for everybody else, Donegal are worried about themselves and no-else don't let Bonners comments fool you. The real reason behind this is Donegal see themselves having played 2 matches in the super8s which they could arguably lose meaning their final home game is a dead rubber-potentially-All carefully cheographed by Jim Mc Guinness who set the wheels in motion by his comments last week and backed up by Martin Mc Hugh's newspaper article. No slows in the Donegal men!

Dergforeeva (National) - 04/07/2018 14:18:59

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "fair play to donegal...it's about time a county stood up to the farce of dublin claiming croke pk is a neutral venue...no doubt the dubs will come up with their usual nonsense of they will play anywhere, but we never hear them objecting to playing their games in croke pk..if it's not an advantage to them, they should follow donegals lead and object to having to play their "home" game in croke pk...i very much doubt it"
I'm pretty sure that anyone who ever kicked a size 5 O'Neill's ball in anger, dream was to play in Croke Park, and whoever got that pleasure in life be it through either Club or County considered themselves fortunate to do so. We now have a farsical situation were a County team are objecting to a game being played there. Forever more County teams and their fans have said can't wait to get to Croker whenever a team is going well, and now when the chance arises a County is objecting to playing in it! Wether County's like it or not these fixtures have been known for quite a while, and I'm sorry but I've considered it as Dublin's home ground for as long as I remember, rightly or wrongly. I wold have no fear of playing Dublin in Croke Park, even after the tanking we took last year. Some day soon the tide will turn against Dublin, as a player I would be thinking no better place to do it than Croke Park

Dergforeeva (National) - 04/07/2018 00:26:47

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Let me try and make this simple for you. When you are playing "away" the other team is at "home" and has an advantage in that they are familiar with the pitch & usually have an advantage in the number of supporters as they have less distance to travel. In a "neutral" game neither team has those advantages & therefore neither team has an advantage. Can't make it any simpler than that."
Still not at home. Simple

Dergforeeva (National) - 08/07/2018 19:40:00

Tyrone Boycott Of RTE - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TearsIn85:  "Isn't it? From reading up on this today, the sequence of events seems to have been; * Mickey Harte and several others wrote a 'private and confidential' letter to RTE management calling for some change regarding a commentator * The letter was leaked (Harte & associates adamant not by them, RTE adamant not by them either) * John Murray included a very bad taste sketch on his radio programme reacting to the letter contents & leak * Mickey Harte took umbridge (rightly) to the tone and content of the sketch * John Murray called Harte directly to apologise * Harte stopped speaking to RTE So, in reality, the root cause was the letter (and leaking of same) but the key indescrition seems to have beenthe sketch. Open to correction here but the above is what I found when actively looking into this today."
Mickey took exception to the unfunny sketch and rightfully so and then stopped speaking to RTE, who apparently never apologied to him! The leaked letter wasn't an issue until the unfunny sketch surfaced, but it's being used as another stick to beat Mickey with. He's a 100% correct in what he's doing and we in Tyrone will back him to the hilt! I would except that the leaked letter may well have left relationships with RTE frosty so to speak but the sketch put the tin hat on it so to speak

Dergforeeva (National) - 20/08/2018 16:14:37

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Ban:  "Another mess. Dublin have used Croke Park as a home venue all year. It should be no surprise that they would continue for the Super 8's. The problem is that this means 2 away games for Donegal. This is not fair and they have every right to object. Maybe this game should have been played in Clones. I think both teams would have been happy with that."
How's it not fair? A game in Croke Park, an away game, and a home match, the same as every other team! Maybe Donegal should play them all at home, maybe that's fair

Dergforeeva (National) - 04/07/2018 09:22:40

Monaghan Vs Tyrone - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "I always thought the RTE issue would eventually end up biting us in the ass. I never thought it was right that the players had to give up on the exposure of speaking to our national broadcaster. Who knows if these lads will get the chance to play in an All Ireland final again never mind win one. I think it would be a travesty if they happen to beat this current Dublin team and dont get to enjoy the glitz and glamour of the televised evening reception. I think this needs sorted quickly and quietly at this stage as if it runs on then it could start become an unwanted distraction."
People need to realize that Mickey Harte has never, I repeat never told his players not to speak to RTE. As a sign of solidarity to their manager they decided as a group to row in behind him, and they are right, plenty of other teams would do the same, look at Dublin recently, but then it's Tyrone and more is made about it. Would any of the players care if they win the All-Ireland and don't get speaking to RTE? Like myself im sure they would care not a jot! A Tyrone online website gives us all the Tyrone coverage we want. Up Tyrone!

Dergforeeva (National) - 14/08/2018 14:16:52

Dublin Vs Donegal - 2 Like(s)

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Why is anyone biting on the Tyrone lads comments? Pretty obvious what they're at. Everyone in Donegal could see the talent in the county and were very frustrated by the past couple of years, our biggest concern this year was what would Declan bring to the table and would the young lads be able to make the step up. They played well in the league and didn't get the returns for it, but championship is a different beast. We are Ulster champions and everyone would've bit your hand off for that at the start of the year, so everything from now on is a bonus. It's important to keep in mind that nobody laid a hand on us in Ulster, Derry probably giving us the toughest game. Playing against the best in the country will bring the young lads on even more so we're excited to see what they can do. They'll be challenged a lot more defensively which is the big worry but I think we can hurt any team going the other way, so that's what has us excited. Tyrone beat us out the gate last year and we threw away the Ulster title from 4 points up in 2016 which still stings. They're coming through the qualifiers well now and will be dangerous for whoever faces them when they get to the Super 8s. But that's got nothing to do with Dublin v Donegal."
100% Joesoap, I'm not giving out about Donegal atall or looking to get a reaction from anyone. I'm saying Donegal are much better than what some of their supporters try to downplay all the time, and there's not a kick of the ball between Tyrone/Donegal/Monaghan, all good sides capable of putting it up and beating anyone on their day. Donegal are well able to beat Dublin, although it's a much tougher ask with Mc Brearty out

Dergforeeva (National) - 27/06/2018 11:19:31

Worst Ever Week For The GAA - Martin Mchugh - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "The hyperbole police should come and take McHugh away. "One of the worst weeks in the entire history of the GAA": - a fixture changed at late notice which appeared to please the majority of GAA fans - a concert that was announced months ago resulting in a hurling match taking place in a venue that's probably i) more suited in capacity for the expected crowd and ii) more accessible for the participating fans - people realising this specific week the ramifications of a decision (super 8 fixtures) made and widely communicated well over a year ago - a rule that is in place for 17 years (neutral venue for round 4 qualifiers) is suddenly an issue this week? - managers making "endless" substitutions (thought there was a limit of 6!) in stoppage time (a completely new phenomenon we've never seen in any other game, like soccer etc.) - counties appointing inter-county refs for challenge games (sounds reasonable), paying them generous expenses (a fairly serious allegation, alright - backed up by what?) knowing they could be in charge of some huge championship matches later in the summer (this does appear to create a conflict of interests, to be fair). Doesn't take much to upset our "two-trick" pundit."
Agree. I would take anything Martin said with a large pinch of salt!

Dergforeeva (National) - 03/07/2018 15:54:57

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To joeteor:  "Donegal are the only team with 2 away games. Kerry and Galway would be doing the same thing if their game in Croke Park was against Dublin."
Is a game in Croke Park and another game in any other County's home ground not 2 away matches?

Dergforeeva (National) - 04/07/2018 12:05:38

All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone - 1 Like(s)
I'll go against the grain and the rest of the country as no one is realistically giving us a hope, and say Tyrone will win the All-Ireland. Why? A number of reasons, nobody is giving us a chance, Mickey Harte has been there done that, we have the players, all things come to an end, and I believe we are good enough to do it, I'm sure the players feel the same way otherwise we might as well give Sam to Dublin now and tell them not to bother playing the match as they were going to win anyway! I could look like a complete fool, but so what if I do, I'm a proud Tyrone man and believe we can do it we aren't going to the final to look around us we're going there to win! Up Tyrone!

Dergforeeva (National) - 13/08/2018 23:31:36

Tyrone V Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "And the ref swung it (quite blatantly) for Tyrone in navan. Your point????"
Get over it man will you, that games long gone, as I said before nobody cares now, no point crying any more

Dergforeeva (National) - 22/07/2018 10:10:25

Meath V Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To topdownfan:  "Stats like that don't win games , it's what's goes into the goals and over the bar that counts, it's a panel game so other lads should step it up , , but really the decision at the end not to give free to Meath was ludicrous"
Thanks for your concern about Tyrones wastefulness in front of goal, but I really think you should hope that Donegal are just as wasteful against yourselves, referee made plenty of ludicrous decisions against both teams, but then again in your eyes any decision Tyrone seem to get is more ludicrous than any other. You really wanna let things go and lighen up, life's too short

Dergforeeva (National) - 10/06/2018 00:23:33

Best All-Ireland Final - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Lockjaw:  "2005 was the best I've seen. I was working in a bar in Galway that summer and I can remember the locals being bemused at the fact I was supporting Tyrone. I think I used the line, "Now don't get me wrong. I hate the b******s but I'd love to see them win this!" Obviously 2012 stands out as well. It was weird though. There was so much tension in the build up. Then Murphy and McFadden got the early goals and it was hard to see us losing. The rest of the game was just spent hoping Mayo wouldn't get the goal they needed to seriously get back into it."
Funny I was saying the same myself in 2012!!

Dergforeeva (National) - 16/05/2018 22:47:35

Captain Cavanagh Civil War - 1 Like(s)

Replying To gotmilk:  "While the title of this thread would have worked better last year when the captain America civil war film was out there does seem to be serious trouble brewing in Tyrone. On the one side you have Team Cap led by former captain Sean Cavanagh (Captain America), Colm Cavanagh (Bucky), Owen Mulligan (Hawkeye), Ronan O'Neill (Black widow). On the other side you have Mickey (Iron man), Phillip Jordan (War Machine - sidekick who was there from the start) and it would seem the rest of the Tyrone panel including a young Lee Brennan as Spiderman. Sorry about the marvel reference but i thought it was to good of a reference to turn down, but it would seem all is not well in the Tyrone camp. Cavanagh coming out and taking into Mickey less than a year after his last game for him. First of all he says Tyrone need new tactics and Monaghan beat them because they had sussed their tactics. Then he comes out and says Tyrone would have won if they kept his brother on the pitch. Shots fired from Sean. Mulligan today comes out and has a blast at Mickey and the Tyrone set up, a few weeks after he has a pop at the current Tyrone squad. Ronan O'Neill taking into Harte at the end of the game on Sunday when substituted. In fairness to Mickey he hasn't publicly retaliated but Phillip Jordan is in his corner and has called out Cavanagh and co for their statements. He's really went for his fellow clubman Cavanagh and accused him of trying to be controversial to make a name for himself. No one in the Tyrone panel has said anything publicly about it but is everything alright in the panel? Is everything alright in the panel? There seems to be a lot of in fighting going on around Tyrone. Perhaps I've misread the situation but there seems to be serious factions developing in Tyrone with the Pro and anti Mickey camps developing. Who knows what the rest of this year holds for Tyrone but the signs don't look good at the minute away from the pitch. Fighting like this wont end well, it never does."
As far as Sean is concerned, iI think that he should have been a bit more vocal in his concerns about things when he was playing, rather than coming out now and saying things. As Mickey himself said once if you've nothing good to say, better say nothing atall. Granted they've all got valid points but I don't see other ex county players slagging off their management tactics, systems, etc especially in the middle of a championship campaign. The most disappointing thing about our last 2 championship matches is the fact that we didn't put up much of a fight, I would hope the squad is itching to get back out and show what they and Tyrone are all about who-ever we play. It's a pity some ex-players wouldn't encourage them to do the same

Dergforeeva (National) - 23/05/2018 19:02:21

Donegal V Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "My match prediction was right I'm sorry to say, if we had Paddy Mc Brearty today we might have done it but we tried our best, great goal from Michael and some great individual performances from both teams, them young fellas of ours have learned a lot this year and I'm really looking forward to next year already, well done to Tyrone and I hope ye go all the way and win it now, I'm a Tyrone fan from here on in. Tir Chonaill Abu."
Fair play Tirchonaill1 thanks. Have to say it was nice to see a good spirited and friendly atmosphere at the game today between opposing fans rather than the palpable tension in previous encounters, still big rivals but I think there's a begrudging respect there at worst between the 2 county's. I haven't always been Declan's biggest fan but he was gracious in defeat and I applaud him for that. As far as winning Ulster is concerned and it being handy? What does it matter, their names etched on the cup as winners, it doesn't seem to bother Dublin sure they've a handy Leinster title as lifetime....

Dergforeeva (National) - 05/08/2018 23:29:50

Captain Cavanagh Civil War - 1 Like(s)

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Personally think Cavanagh is correct and Mugsy especially - Harte played injured players in a big game - we now hear both Lee Brennan and Bradley out for lengthy periods and Colm C and McCann God only knows if that game set them back - Harte has not learned anything and has no Plan B. I'm now beginning to form the opinion that actually anyone could have won those All irelands in the noughties with that team - if Tyrone don't lose Harte soon it will be a very short summer!!!!"
Mickey took a huge gamble in playing injured players no doubt about that, maybe he thought the game would bring them on in regards fitness in Mc Canns and Collie Cavanaghs case, but young Brennan's hamstrung injury might have been too risky in hindsight. Then again with hamstrings they could go any time, Still think big Sean should have kept his powder dry so to speak, for now anyway. Wether people like it or not Mickey's the best manager we've ever had and there's plenty of evidence to suggest that people/countries copied his style/system/management etc so he must have done something right. Anyway from what I've observed over the years reading posts on this forum there's no want of experts out there, it's a wonder they're able to walk with the amount of All-Ireland medals in their back pockets ;)

Dergforeeva (National) - 24/05/2018 19:48:53

Monaghan Vs Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "Listen how is any of the team going to put a face on them to talk to RTE if their manager, management team and fellow players don't. They may not have been explicitly told not to speak to RTE but obviously the pier group pressure restricts them from doing so. I am sure that during the year this is no issue for them but they are now in an All Ireland final, playing the best team ever. If they happen to beat this team then of course they will want the exposure and the plaudits that the televised evening reception presents. These are normal amateur sportsmen who might never get this chance again. Imagine playing the game of your life in the final and not getting the opportunity to receive the man of the match award live on TV, or imagine getting the player of the year award and not getting the chance to watch it over again. I think Mickey needs to back down on this one for the sake of his players. He doesn't need to take part himself but if he doesn't allow his team then it is a purely selfish move."
Did you read my post? Answer me this, would you talk to RTE or back your manager? Personally I'd back my manager. Who cares if you got any of them things, do you need to see it back on TV to make sure you actually got them. RTE's GAA coverage does Tyrone no favours wether they speak to them or not, I mean you only have to listen to their impartial? commentary when we play.If they sort it out well and good, but I wouldn't be losing any sleep over it

Dergforeeva (National) - 14/08/2018 22:05:21

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Green_Gold:  "That is not actually correct, every other team has 1 away game, 1 home game and 1 neutral game. For example Tyrone are playing Roscommon in Croke Park in a nuetral game, not an away game for either side. If I follow your logic correctly, you are saying that Croke Park is not Dublin's home venue, therefore Dublin are playing 3 away games in the Super 8s lol."
Call it a neutral game if you want it's still away from home! I don't see the difference! Sorry!

Dergforeeva (National) - 08/07/2018 13:59:08

Donegal V Fermanagh Ulster SFC Final 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Funny logic there, nobody in Tyrone considered themselves a contender for Sam because of a tanking from Dublin, whereas we got two tankings from Tyrone and Galway and we definitely do consider ourselves contenders. I always felt an Ulster final and hopefully getting to the super 8s would be a great achievement and great experience for these players. Hopefully now we can finish the job against Fermanagh and go into the Super 8's as Ulster champions, something I would be delighted with. This year was as much about what changes Bonner would bring to the table in terms of style and tactics as anything else. Things have gone well so far but nobody we've played in Ulster has brought the intensity or pressure to see what the squad are really made of. I think that will change on Sunday."
Don't see it as funny logic atall, as I say we know where we stand because of the Dublin game and indeed the Mayo match in 2016, Donegal see their Ulster final losses in as last few years as a failing on management/tatics more so than anything else and believe they left titles behind them because of this. I would argue that Donegal see themselves as on a par or better than Tyrone/Monaghan who some people tout as challengers,

Dergforeeva (National) - 19/06/2018 00:54:43

Donegal V Tyrone - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "I really fear for us in this one. Tyrone are set up prefect to play us. Every team that has ran at us this year has scored goals. They ran through us with ease in the league and I don't think we've improved defensively enough since. With Paddy and now possibly Ban out we'll be underdogs. Tyrone are further down the road with their development than us. It will take us another year or two to be at that level. Hoping it's a good competitive game but honestly don't think we're ready yet to beat this Tyrone team."
Donegal hot favourites, haven't been beat in B'bofey as donkeys years, mad to get at us, no team they would rather beat than Tyrone and to put us out of the Championship, well that's better than the All-Ireland! The home venue is a 3 point start at the very least Donegal expect to won, Tyrone have it all to do, Big Murphy and the boys waiting on this all year! Definitely hot favourites, just calling it as I see it, put it this way it's not a ground you would want to be going to, needing an away win!

Dergforeeva (National) - 21/07/2018 23:24:13