Tyrone Forum

Popular Posts from kevin03

GAA Funding And Fairness - 7 Like(s)

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Much of that funding was for getting more people playing, not on registered players. People still don't get that there are big chunks of Dublin with no GAA clubs especially on the southside. The GAA correctly identified that Leinster rugby were growing massively - going into primary schools and non traditional rugby areas and also soccer were taking over in many areas too. They wanted to promote GAA in these areas to combat this. They were very successful and drove a huge rise in playing numbers. Now Dublins pick of players is enormous. The rise of Dublin also coincided with the decline of the two dominant teams in Ireland (Kerry & Tyrone) and the end of a golden period of Leinster football in the 00s. The imbalance definitely needs to be addressed but running down the Dublin players doesn't do this. Funding allows structures and facilities to be put in place which is important but it can't kick a point. If other counties can't see this, they will never catch up."
The rise of Dublin was directly linked to the huge increase in funding. Tyrone and kerry fell away slightly but it was made to look even worse by the dramatic rise in Dublin finances. Funding increases the training and coaching of players. How are other counties supposed to match the level of funding when the gaa are literally handing it to the dubs

kevin03 (National) - 06/12/2020 00:30:27

Mayo V Monaghan - 6 Like(s)

Replying To thegadfly:  "For me it wasn't a penalty at the end. He went down very easily. It looked like he signalled an advantage though? He had a very bad game otherwise. It wasn't as bad as the 2020 Ulster Final though, where he done his best to give it to Donegal. That was without doubt the worst reffing performance I've ever witnessed. Banty must take on a large amount of responsibility for living yesterday. The game was there to be won for Monaghan as Mayo were struggling in the second half."
Don't agree with the whole attitude that if a player goes down easily it shouldnt be a free. Does a layer have to be man handled or hurt in order to get a free? Lee had 2 arms wrapped round the Monaghan lad, it's a free out the pitch therefore it should have been a penalty. Does not matter if he went down easily or not.

kevin03 (National) - 05/06/2022 13:12:17

David Gough To Referee The Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm just going to say the below one last time and then leave it there because there's no point talking anymore now that the decision has been made. Kerry will just have to grin and bare it and move one. However as a general principle: How would Dublin react if the man in the middle was some fella from Cork or Limerick who lived in Tralee, was essentially a member of Strand Road having thought in the school connected and right next to that GAA club, had been previously photographed after an All-Ireland win with players of the team and the Cup and finally had been allegedly invited into Kerry training sessions that very summer to take charge of practice matches. I mean if people can't see a conflict of interest there (unintentional as it might be on the part of the official) than you'd have to wonder! How can someone so heavily involved at club level in a competing county and working and living there be expected to be seen as impartial. For the next 3 weeks he will be in Dublin during the buildup and will face the consequences of his actions every day for months after in the capital. And you are telling me that, even at a subconscious level, that can't and won't have an impact? In the run in to the 2015/16 Premiership title race a ref appointed to one of Leicester's games was stood down because he had, in a private capacity, attended one of their games as a spectator earlier on that season. That was the only link he had with the club and yet the Premier League felt the need to stand him down, he had absolutely no issues with it and neither had Leicester or any of the media. And yet in the GAA we have the above. How far we have regressed in 90 years. In the early 1930s Cavan objected to playing Kerry because a Munster ref was appointed and the official was duly changed. That was a common enough back then and it was understood that ref's often needed to be changed depending on teams drawn to ensure impartiality. Like I said, I'll say no more now on it as there's no point. It's just another pothole placed in front of Kerry on the road to trying to stop an inevitable 5 in a Row."
He's a fantastic ref but out of fairness he shouldn't be allowed to ref the game. Although Kerry will have to come up with a better excuse for not winning. Not even a ball kicked yet and you are making excuses already. It was due to deegan that you got to the final so let's not forget refs have benefited use in the past

kevin03 (National) - 14/08/2019 13:10:17

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 5 Like(s)
Listen the facts are clear for anyone to see 1996-2006. No funding from croke park. Zero all irelands. 2007-2018. €18 million from croke park. 6 all irelands. How/why are people still arguing that funding doesn't buy success when the money is the only thing extra Dublin recieved. Back in 1996 they still had a massive population compared with the rest and they still played in croke park. So the only thing to change is they received massive amounts of investment. If you disagree please just facts.

kevin03 (National) - 26/07/2019 12:55:37

Kerry V Tyrone - 5 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "A very strange observation, if we have one thing it is quality forwards! Hopefully Deegan will be alert and will react quickly to any off the ball stuff that might be used against the likes of Clifford, O'Shea, Genaey and O'Brien."
Haha brilliant. We have all seen over the years how dirty Kerry can be. If deegan is alert there will be as many kerry lads in trouble as tyrone lads.

kevin03 (National) - 06/08/2019 15:39:07

Armagh Vs Galway - 5 Like(s)

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He has to shoulder a lot of the blame though. He could have seriously damaged Damien Comer's eye, battered his eye in effect. He was a lucky boy that Damien didn't get a hold of him. What type of melee was it in seriousness? Looked very bad because it was live on RTE and the likes of Virgin Media trying to have a trial by media last night trying to portray a culture of 'violence' in the GAA. Shame on them. Maybe Armagh lose home advantage for a league season. I respect your opinion Eoinóg but in this case losing home advantage for 3 years league and championship is an excessive punishment."
I wouldn't say it was excessive for almost blinding some one. Also it has to be taken in context.this is the 3rd time this year for armagh. Obviously they didn't learn the first 2 occasions therefore need punished and an example made of.

kevin03 (National) - 28/06/2022 14:04:21

Kerry V Tyrone - 4 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "Lost respect for Mickey Harte a long time ago. Supported Tyrone in all there all Ireland wins but them days are gone now. And may I saw I'm not the only one in donegal."
Ah the donegal saints. Never mind you have 2 players who are constantly winning to the ref (Murphy and mchugh), how about your other star player who waves imaginary cards (mcbreaty), oh and not forgetting the star defender who tried to break a forwards finger on camera. Give me a break. To all the bitter fans jog on and maybe try to take off the blinkers, you might actually see what some of your players are really like. To all the normal decent kerry fans hope it's a great game and no matter what everyone can enjoy a few pints together.

kevin03 (National) - 08/08/2019 22:16:42

GAA Funding And Fairness - 4 Like(s)
Had to laugh at brogan in today's paper saying that it's a disgrace that funding is being mentioned when discussing Dublin. In the article beside his it discussed Dublins funding- Between 2007-2017 every registered player in Dublin had 270 euro each spent on them. Compared with tyrone, mayor or kerry who had 20 euro spent on each registered player. What's a disgrace is that the dubs can't even acknowledge that they had a huge amount of funding spent on them.

kevin03 (National) - 05/12/2020 17:50:21

Kerry V Tyrone - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Deegan most certainly kept Kerry in it for the first 15 mins of second half. The geaney sludden incident was huge, tyrone attacking and had a man taken dow. Result throw up followed by a soft free and point to kerry. Could have been black for geaney and a free in. That said, Harte was too slow making changes and then made the wrong ones. He needed to move when they were 3 up not 3 down. We were saying just before the goal Meyler and McGeary needed to be taken off. Hampsey ran out of legs too. Once sludden went off the quality ball inside dried up. Turnaround was about 30% down to kerry changes, 30% down to Harte getting it wrong, 40% to Deegan. But sure look Marty, Kerry wont care about that at all."
I agree with you that Mickey was slow to make changes. Has to be said he is always slow to make changes and usually does when it's too late Meyler had a poor game and have plenty of ball away. Was certain he wud be off at half time. Should have brought McCurry on at half time, a quick inside forward who have torn Kerry apart. Mcshane is big and strong but thought the game was crying out for a quick forward to work beside him. Never want it to be said again about Tyrone being cynical. Amount of blocking off the ball that tyrone had to deal with was ridiculous. Also Kerry players diving for frees. Best one yet was when 4 Kerry players tackled mcshane, free out was given and somehow a kerry player went down with a head injury!!!!!!!

kevin03 (National) - 11/08/2019 17:55:23

Monaghan V Donegal - 3 Like(s)
Enjoyable game to watch as it was intense but wasn't a great game. Thought it was Donegal to lose as the amount of frees they missed where crucial. If Donegal can control their discipline they will take it next week. Antics of Rory and the goalkeeper were a disgrace though. Seem to recall a nation wide witch hunt against Tyrone for diving but doesn't seem to be the case here.

kevin03 (National) - 26/06/2016 15:04:36

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Cleaningshucks:  "Ger canning is such a one sided commentator. Pathetic really."
Only 2nd to Kevin mcstay. Really is sickening to listen to.

kevin03 (National) - 19/12/2020 18:35:54

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To lilylanger:  "Are you serious new poster? Mayo started that. 5 on 1."
Seriously. Jesus the clip is clear as day. The mouth that is McMahon clearly says something to the mayo player to start the whole row.

kevin03 (National) - 19/12/2020 18:39:06

Aidan O'Shea Diving - 3 Like(s)
I trust every mayo supporter defending o'shea will not be angry if mayo lose a match this year by the same way?

kevin03 (National) - 10/07/2016 09:21:51

David Gough To Referee The Final - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "No one is questioning his honesty and integrity?? Are you for real? That's exactly what the comments from prominent Kerry GAA members are doing.. you boys want it every way. It's an absolute character assassination job before a ball is kicked. To try and deny that is even more grubby yet again. This is the sort of guff directed at Gough on this site alone, you'll see a very different response from thehermit earlier in this thread compared to his true feelings below. Thehermit tells a different story on the Kerry forum. "Yep me might as well pack up the tent already, what's the point. The GAA will do everything to ensure Dublin do their 5. And watch this space, the O'Brien thing will drag on for the next 3 weeks just to try and distract Kerry more from their preparations. D-GAA is alive and well :(" Absolute drivel of the highest order and demonstrates perfectly the sort of bile at the center of the comments being directed at David Gough. So please save us the self serving back tracking More concerned about O'Briens appeal going wrong than anything else Kerry CB should come out and denounce the comments made in the media by their members. I'd honestly salute them if they did that because it's the right thing to do. As for the likes of thehermit well hopefully it rains a storm when he's protesting about Gough's appointment in Fitzgerald stadium"
Listen every time you see a post from the hermit just ignore it. Most of it is one sided blindness. Now however I dont think he should ref the match simply out of fairness and to stop any questions being asked at the end of the game. He is a fantastic ref in my opinion. If the above story about dublin complaining about a ref in 2007 is true then they are as bad as Kerry. The issue is no matter what the ref does now he will be questioned on every decision either by the dub or kerry fans. He's in a no win situation.

kevin03 (National) - 15/08/2019 10:10:14

That Tyrone/Armagh Row - 2 Like(s)

Replying To reffingmad:  "Tyrone fáil in all Appeals against red cards. Well done to the Gaa, County boards CCC's and Appeals committees should take note."
I would say well done to the GAA if they managed to be consisent with the rules. You had the Kerry/Dublin and the hurling recent were people were dragged and pulled to the ground with no action take. I watched the hampsey incidient again and at no point did he strike or put anyone in a headlock. So question is why was he red carded when others including Armagh players werent.

kevin03 (National) - 15/02/2022 15:54:22

Donegal fouling - 2 Like(s)
After watching today's match I have to say it is extremely obivious of Donegal tactics of fouling around the middle of the pitch. There were at least 5 occasions where a donegal player dragged back or held onto a fermanagh player then released him before a foul was given. Even when a foul was given no card was produced. Surely refs are going to have to clamp down on this as it is cynical play in slowing down the opposition. Anyone agree/disagree?

kevin03 (National) - 12/06/2016 16:51:46

Tyrone Vs Donegal - 2 Like(s)

Replying To panamasam:  "With all due respect Kevin he has to stand up for himself with some of the treatment he gets. Maybe sometimes he does go down a bit too early but maybe that is now a natural reaction to protect himself from some of the hits he has taken particularly to the head. You only realise how targeted Ryan is when you go to a game and see what happens to him off the ball usually a fair distance from where the ball is. Often seen him literally rugby tackled when starting to make a run some 30 metres plus from where the ball is."
I take yout point. I get that he gets targeted a lot but so dies Peter harte in every game. But you don't see Peter going down easily. Tierarn McCann jokes aside lol Aside from that the main issue I have with him is his constant crying to officals. He is constantly at the officials ear complaining. Pick any championship game in the next few months and count the amount of times he is moaning to the official even if he hasn't been involved in the tackle I can guarantee he will be beside them complaining. Anyway it is great to have the gaelic back on and to have something to debate about. Looking forward to all the matches and getting up to Donegal for he holidays. Pints, matches, banter and great scenery it's hard to beat.

kevin03 (National) - 15/05/2021 23:38:40

Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I've spoken at length with a very experienced Physio, involved with numerous coumty squads and an All Ireland winning Club team. He can't believe the injuries that Donegal are suffering. All our injured players have made their comebacks from injury, and have broken down again, either in matches or training. His opinion os that there is either a problem with the Physio team, the training S&C team, or else management not taking their advice. Does anyone have any insight, an idea what's happening?"
I remember reading an article a few years go about a s&c guy who used to train County teams. Think at one stage he was Queens University main guy, he also worked with the New Zealand Rugby team. He said soft muscle injuries are completly preventable and its often to do with how the s&c sessions are taught. He said hard injuries such as from direct contact are unavoidable but muscle injuries are the fault of the workout sessions. It was a very interesting read, he went on to say he won't ever go back to county set up again as they over train the players far too much. They amount of injuries Donegal seem to have would suggest he is right.

kevin03 (National) - 22/03/2022 13:31:11

Donegal Vs Tyrone - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Good on ye Muck. No way would a big strapping Donegal lad ever go down that easily. He'd never live it down. https://youtu.be/o8kzJ0yLcWs As for Tyrone, the hardiest men of them all. Built like iron so they are. https://youtu.be/ao3WGXLIX3M Joking aside, really enjoyable game yesterday given the conditions. Best of luck in the semi."
Lol very good post. Every team has players that will do this. I have no idea why some fans seem to think their team is whiter than white. Anyway I am sure there will be many more incidents over the championship. Donegal got the calls in their favour this time but that's the way it goes.

kevin03 (National) - 02/11/2020 21:18:42

Tipperary v Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id rate coldrick as been in top two of res in country, only surpassed by Gough, however he had a bad day at the office today, missed a lot, also one does have to wonder how Tipp did not get at least one penalty. It happens to us all, ref had bad day, but he is human , he is still a top class ref, even though Tipp fans feel rightly aggrieved today"
Would have to disagree, if he is in the top 2 refs on the country then we may give up. No one comes close to the standard or referring that Gough sets. Goldrick and Duffy as well have far more off days than they do good days.

kevin03 (National) - 21/08/2016 18:23:36