Sligo Forum

Popular Posts from Sligobuck21

Sligo GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
A huge weekend of Sligo football upcoming. Sligo people should be proud. Days like these don't come around every year. On Friday night the minors take on Roscommon. A winner takes all game most would say unless there's a shock in the final round. Saturday is the u20s. The lads will give it everything. They've got what it takes it's just about putting in a performance. It's not often you see an u20 side perform so consistently well so hopefully they can continue that run of form into the weekend. Although they will be without a few lads who played a big part in the Connacht Championship, they have a strong panel and will give it their all. For the seniors on Sunday it's a shot in the dark. Nobody knows will they shut up shop, play their normal style or play their normal game with a few adjustments. Either way them lads will represent their county with pride. Who knows maybe a shock is on the cards. We will have to wait and see. Either way they will give it their all and we will see where we are at after 70 minutes. A massive weekend ahead. Great to see Sligo getting days like these. Best of luck to all. Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (National) - 04/05/2023 20:53:26

Replying To eoinog:  "Any report on the U.19 final played yesterday evening."
Eastern Harps Facebook page

Sligobuck21 (National) - 19/08/2022 11:42:21

Connacht Minor Championship. - 2 Like(s)
Ah here. Sligo bet Leitrim by 9 points. Never looked like losing to Roscommon while playing great football. Had chances to go up by 6 against Meath in the first 15 mins. Meath built up a lead in the second 15 when Sligo didn't take their chances and Sligo couldn't crawl it back. Meath weren't anything we've never seen before but got on top of kick outs. Through general play though the teams weren't far apart nor were the players apart from physical size. To say Sligo were an ordinary side is quite unfair considering they only lost by 5. Doesn't matter how comfortable Meath looked they still only won by 5, that was all. Imagine someone saying this about a Roscommon side after losing an all Ireland semi final. Didn't see it when they were convincingly beaten by Kerry last year in the AI SF. Horrible post imagine any of the lads reading that. Doesn't surprise me as there was a minority of Roscommon fans against Sligo hurling abuse at players and referees. Pure Arrogance.

Sligobuck21 (Roscommon) - 24/08/2021 22:22:16

Replying To ponga:  "Pat Spillane saying on Gaago. that he watched 3 Sligo national league games this year.....think we can safely say that is Pat's first porkie of this year's championship."
No it's not. I seen him twice in Markievicz, one after the match against Cavan and the other after Carlow. So it is likely that he was at more matches than I seen him at

Sligobuck21 (National) - 17/04/2022 21:34:01

Minor And U20 2021 - 1 Like(s)
Tickets on sale 11am Scarden tomorrow morning. 2 tickets per person it says on Sligo's social media pages. €15 euro each. Hopefully people will get behind them and buy tickets and get their flags out all over the county. Best of luck at the weekend lads, nothing to fear.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - 17/08/2021 13:35:36

Sligo GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Division is looking very tight now. If we can win this weekend and have momentum going into home game against London (which we will need) we will have a great shot at promotion. Tipperary will be going at us on Saturday they won't want to have lost 2 home games in a row so it will be a battle. I fully expect us to come out with a win.

Sligobuck21 (National) - 21/02/2022 15:31:50

Minor And U20 2021 - 1 Like(s)
Just seen on Ocean FM Twitter that the All-Ireland Semi Final is fixed for 21st August in Cavan. Sounds surreal that Sligo are 1 game away from an All-Ireland final. Going by the performances so far, especially the last day kicking 0-19 in such sloppy conditions I have every bit of faith in them to do it. Whole county needs to get behind them now. Sligeach Abú.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - 09/08/2021 15:49:47

Replying To Anto:  "Mayo seem to be taking the u20 seriously Sam Callinan a regular starter for the Mayo seniors didn't take any part in the Ross game at the weekend which makes him eligible so there must have been some agreement there. My concern is if Luke Marren is tagged which is highly likely there are not many other scorers in the forward line. Henry, Doherty, McDaniel are workers rather than scorers. Think we need another score getter in the forward line like Flynn."
Best of luck to the u20s. No reason to fear. Although a Connacht semi final in Castlebar will be tough there's no reason our lads can't get a result. As eoinog said we will have to take our goal chances and as anto said Marren will be marked so other lads will need to step up also. From seeing them in the club championships and previous Connacht championships I'm sure they will. To beat Roscommon in the Hyde was a great win, to do it to mayo in Castlebar would be a real lift for the county. Best of luck to them. Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (National) - 11/04/2023 15:58:17

Up Sligo. Top performance today. Carlow weren't great but defensively we were disciplined and well tuned in and our shooting was top quality I think one or two wides only. Everybody played well nothing to complain about.

Sligobuck21 (National) - 06/02/2022 18:41:21

Championship week upcoming…Here's my predictions for the groups and how the knockouts will go. Senior Group 1: 1st Mary's 2nd Molaise 3rd Curry 4th Calry 5th Farnans Group 2: 1st Shamrock Gaels 2nd Coolera/Strandhill 3rd Tourlestrane 4th Tubbercurry 5th Drumcliffe RP Relegation: Farnans Champions: Mary's Intermediate Group 1: 1st Easkey 2nd C/M 3rd Cconnor 4th Enniscrone 5th Shamrock Gaels Group 2: 1st Harps 2nd Bunninaden 3rd Pats 4th Geevagh 5th John's Relegation: John's Champions: C/M In Div 3: Champs- Owenmore Gaels Relegation- Harps

Sligobuck21 (National) - 13/08/2023 18:41:21

Replying To ShellyGael:  "With 20 minutes to go, we were within two points of Ros but unfortunately they finished stronger. Ros forwards were just too good and quality too plentiful in the end. We're in serious need of a midfielder or two to compete at this level, which we may not have to compete at again for some time. A centre back to hold the fort and to build the defence around is also desirable. I can't think of anyone though in the Adrian McIntryre mould coming through? When we ran at them though, we opened them up every time. Our unforced errors / sloppy handling killed us again and resulted in many of their scores. It's a pity that Spillane and Walsh didn't start as they both eased through the Ros defence in the second half. As I said here last week, they'll bottle it sooner rather than later. They have the dark arts mastered too. Throwing away our keepers kicking tee off the ball whenever they could, ongoing diving whenever possible. Their forwards go to ground with the slightest contact but they do it really well. Davy Burke has enough motivation though to put a number up on Kildare so we could get lucky and hope Con and Kilkenny are missing for the Dubs. But the reward would be away to the likes of Kerry or Tyrone. I'd probably rather we just sailed off into the club scene gracefully at this stage."
I don't think we are bad in midfield, we dominated the division 4 in midfield, probably will be strong next year too in the 3rd division. And we put it up to Roscommons midfield also. We just have no depth to change up our options if we need to change our style of play, kickout strategy or if it's just not clicking for someone on the day. We can change any other line of the pitch because we have depth. I Think we protected our D relatively well until their goal and after that all shape was lost as we had to push out on them and chase the game. We got our matchup on Smith wrong. He was the difference. Cox in my opinion has been strong at 6, Cummins can play their also, Lavin too. That's not to mention some lads in the club scene who could come in next year. I don't think it was the centre backs fault at all yesterday when they cut through us for the goal. And the others times they cut through us it was from the sideline in. How can one man stop 3/4 lads running at him. We simply didnt track runners from our own half forward line and midfield. Maybe it was the heat, step up in intensity, I don't know. It's always easy to point the finger at one man but when you've 4 lads infront of him not doing their job it's always going to happen. We can't afford to switch off for 10 seconds the way we did. Look at Conor Loftus with Mayo. His first year playing at centre half back and hes doing just fine because Ruane and Oconnor in midfield are able to track back and make turnovers as well as their half forward line. Conan Marren?, Cathal Henry?, Kevin Banks?, Adrian Frain? Joe Keaney?, Canice Mulligan?, Gavin Gorman?, David Barrett? . Any more ?? I'm also not giving out about our current midfield because for the league we were excellent and against Kildare thought they played good too. But we don't have any depth in that position. If one lad isn't have a good game we've no option to change it up. I remember Marren against Roscommon last year and he had a great game. Then didn't hardly get a run in the tailteann. I know some of them lads have been tried before but clearly not given enough of a chance considering they dominate the club scene. They are all lads that spring to mind off the top of my head. We aren't smart enough also I agree with that. Not communicating under high balls, 2/3 lads waiting for the other to pick up the ball, bringing the ball into 2/3 men, not getting out of our 21 and D fast enough for kick outs, not slowing the game down when we have to, not injecting pace when we need to. Those are the fine margins that set the teams apart. Look I think there's plenty to be happy with, we got promoted, we improved greatly, we will learn from this competition, a competitive club scene, player recruitment, a plan in place for next year and a clear vision of getting to division 2. I don't think we are far away from division two. If we fix our own errors and learn more game smarts we will be there or thereabouts. Hopefully some of the u20s from this year and last year are really worked on over the next few months to get them ready for senior. Over the next 2 years you'd expect a lot of the past and current u20 lads to be getting into the senior squad especially as there is 11 underage next year from this years 15. Some lads currently training with them from this years team and then you've got the lads who were training this year but didn't get much game time. After the championship you'd expect there will be places up for grabs as coaches I'd say now have doubts over a few lads. I agree with McEntee not playing them if they're not performing in training but also think lads should be given a shot now that some lads have "found their limitations". Sligeach Abú!!!

Sligobuck21 (National) - 05/06/2023 17:41:10