Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from Douglas_44

Roscommon Vs Tyrone - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Rayo1:  "Tyrone win this at a canter.......Roscommon beat a nothing Galway team. Roscommon will lose all 3 games."
Does it hurt?

Douglas_44 (National) - 09/07/2019 12:29:55

Dublin V Roscommon - 6 Like(s)
Very enjoyable games yesterday. Happy with how Ros responded from last weeks horror show. They really put up a fight against the top team in the country. Just ran out of steam in 2nd half and the 2nd goal, especially the manner of it seemed to just drain the life out of our lads. But overall, a lot of positives to take from it, pride and confidence restored ahead of a massive game in Salthill. On a separate note, I have to make note of the way the way the Dublin players acted after the game. They were surrounded by huge number of kids from both Ros and Dublin, my own included and took time for pictures and autographs with all of them. Really made my kids day to get to meet these guys in person. Johnny Cooper and Dean Rock were still on pitch over 30 minutes after game finished. I know the ros players always take time to with the fans after every game to and it's hugely appreciated. Class on and off the pitch from both sets of players.

Douglas_44 (National) - 04/03/2019 12:26:30

Cavan V Roscommon - 5 Like(s)

Replying To JDF:  "Does that performance prove the theory that Roscommon were ahead of everyone else in terms of training and 4th match in everyone else has caught up as there's no way I saw this result happening. Roscommon need a performance next week and you'd never know as bigger shocks have happened. Roscommon have a lot of players missing through injury but mainly just not available to travelling and studying. Losing to Cavan is a huge blow to them given they'd a win and a draw on the board already."
I really don't think that Roscommon were further ahead in their training? They were the last county to have a manager! Cavan were not far off any team they played, they gave Kerry a hell of a battle and only for a lucky goal they were right in it against Mayo. Ros put in a terrible performance, which can happen any team. Cavan on the other hand were excellent and punished Ros and should have won by more.

Douglas_44 (National) - 26/02/2019 13:57:03

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 4 Like(s)

Replying To seadog54:  "The decision by British authorities to allow Cheltenham to go ahead will be regretted on both sides of Irish Sea over coming months. If league games are to be played it should be behind closed doors. As of now it is been left up to the individual to make the decision. Have been looking forward to Sundays game to give indication if Meath are improving or is it just another false dawn, however I have decided not to travel as I would be in the at risk category. This is not just about personal health, we need to think of those around us, their health, their work. At best many will loose their jobs, at worst many who attended matches all their lives may not get that chance again."
It's just a game at the end of the day. Wishing you good health. Stay safe

Douglas_44 (National) - 11/03/2020 17:18:07

All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Apologies if this question has been asked and answered previously by Dubs who might have an insight in relation to it. The question is WHY ISN'T HOWARD STARTING?"
I think Dessie is of the believe that it's more important to finish a game with your strongest team rather then start it. It's a great luxury to have!! Well done to Dublin and hard luck once again to our neighbors.

Douglas_44 (National) - 19/12/2020 21:52:08

2019 National League - 4 Like(s)
Well done lads, by far the better team. Some of your play was a joy to watch, looks like ye will be close to the big prize in September! Some top class players. I wish ye all the best.

Douglas_44 (Kerry) - 24/03/2019 20:36:10

Inter County Championship 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To endgame:  "Peter Keane is under serious pressure in Kerry after their championship exit against Cork.The Kingdom is not happy.Isn't Anthony Cunningham lucky to be managing a County that gives him 2 more years after the listless,lifeless,hopeless performance Roscommon produced at home to Mayo."
Don't be daft. Does one poor game immediately undermine everything achieved in the past year? Our best championship in years, Connacht champions, return to Division one football (as champions of Div 2)!

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - 28/11/2020 20:37:21

Roscommon Vs Tyrone - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "This game is being reffed by the Roscommon crowd. Every time they holler a Tyrone player gets booked. Shocking officiating."
Really? Tyrone "won" plenty of frees with a bit of cuteness, a hand in and go to ground. No problem, that's something ros have to learn at this level and do same. Cathal Cregg got taken out twice within 2 minutes of each other, 2nd tackle could have been a black. Niall Daly running through near end, got taken down, certain black but again ref opted for yellow. Tyrone kick out, before ball was kicked Tyrone player caught donie smiths arm and pulled him down on top of him in front of ref..free to Tyrone! So it wasn't all in favor of Ros. He had a poor game for both teams.

Douglas_44 (National) - 13/07/2019 19:21:22

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Breezy:  "The worry they have is about everyone mixing going to and from the match and mixing in the same shop/chippie after too. I completely understand it from a Dublin and even maybe the other cities and big towns where people get buses/Luas to the ground but that rule is a bit unfair on rural pitches where most would drive or walk to the game and would be local anyway"
There still is the issue of people traveling together though. If you are driving to the game and your mate rings for a lift and then you have to pick up another friend on the way, people of different houses mixing for duration in small space. I don't agree with the decision but I can see the reasoning.

Douglas_44 (National) - 05/08/2020 11:54:54

Inter County Championship 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To whatarewewatching:  "Worrying news appearing in the national media re a breach of covid regulations in our county. What will the repercussions be on this?"
None. No regulations were broken. I would trust the people involved in organizing the meal to abide by rules in place rather then risk any fall out.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - 12/10/2020 14:26:35

Galway V Roscommon - 3 Like(s)
Huge game on Saturday for Roscommon against our neighbours. Will be a real tough dogfight up in Salthill. If Ros can match Galway for intensity and keep Walsh, O Laoi and Cummins under control then we have a great chance. Going to be very little between them. Galway playing well and Ros looked good for long periods of Dublin game. Also, why is this game in Salthill when Kerry game was in Tuam? Surely Tuam would be ideal for Ros v Galway? Getting in and out of Salthill on St Patrick's weekend will be fun!

Douglas_44 (National) - 11/03/2019 10:52:45

Galway V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Richieq:  "Did I hear correctly that if the Connacht final ended in a draw then the replay wouldn't be in the Hyde as it was unsuitable?? This game will draw as many people as a Connacht final so it will be interesting to see, I would strongly presume that it and Tyrone v Cavan will be the televised fixtures also"
You heard correctly but that was because the Connacht final was under the Connacht councils control and it was they who demanded all the upgrades for the Hyde to be considered for final again, this game is under the central councils control, therefore should be no issue with the Hyde being used for this game

Douglas_44 (Galway) - 01/07/2019 10:53:31

National Football League 2019 - 2 Like(s)
We seem to have gotten a name for ourselves already this year with regards our discipline. In the last 2 game we have been penalized a number of times by refs bringing ball forward from frees. Our opposition don't seem to be punished as much. Something we need to control more as it could be crucial in a tight game.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - 04/03/2019 14:48:37

Best Last Gasp Scores - 2 Like(s)
Gerry Lohan's goal deep in injury time to beat Mayo by a point in the 2001 Connacht Final. Brilliant day and memories!!

Douglas_44 (National) - 10/11/2020 09:10:50

Division 4 - National League - 2 Like(s)
Very best of luck to ye Saturday lads. Enjoy the day and occasion and hopefully ye can top it off with the trophy! Good luck

Douglas_44 (Leitrim) - 28/03/2019 14:35:36

Connacht SFC Draw 2020: Mayo And Roscommon On The Same Side - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Administrator:  "Galway vs New York Roscommon vs London Mayo vs Leitrim Mayo / Leitrim vs Galway/New York Roscommon/London vs Sligo So Leitrim have to beat two Div 1 teams to get to a Connacht Final EddieMatt (Leitrim) (moved from another thread)"
That's wrong..winners of Roscommon and London play winners of Mayo and Leitrim. Galway/New York play Sligo

Douglas_44 (National) - 08/10/2019 15:29:17

Diarmuid Connolly - 2 Like(s)
Genius. What a player. One of the best I've seen. Best of luck to him in his retirement.

Douglas_44 (National) - 01/10/2020 15:23:15

Martin Breheny Article On Advanced Mark. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To MesAmis:  "The advance mark has the potential to drastically alter the game for the worse. The big fear will be that this year, it'll have only a small impact, with maybe only one or two marks per game. But that over time teams will learn to exploit it to its fullest potential. Teenage players in development squads now will be experts at exploiting this rule when they hit senior in 7/8 years time if the rule remains. Other concerns are that it'll slow the game down and that the amount of goals/goal chances will decrease. I think it is fairly obvious that both of these will happen, and that they'll become more evident the longer we have this rule. Like I said above, the big fear is that it will have minimal impact this coming season, and that will have a couple of decent fetches and that it'll be declared a great success and it's negative impact will only be seen down the road. I hate the idea of giving a team a free for catching a pass into their chest from 30m or so. The GAA have started down this path of attempting to alter the game back to catch and kick though and seem hell bent on trying to turn back time."
The worst thing is that it doesn't even have to be a pass to the chest, if a player catches it at his ankles before it hits the ground it's still a mark. On a side note, I was at the FBD final on Saturday and during the game Damian Comer caught a pass which was delivered inside the 45, he stopped and put his hand up to claim a mark, which of course it wasn't. He stood and held onto the ball while Ros players tackled him. After a few seconds the red blew the whistle and gave a hop ball, which Galway won possession from. Surely that should have been a free out for over carrying? How did the ref decide it was a hop ball? Comer obviously misunderstood the rule.

Douglas_44 (National) - 22/01/2020 14:19:06

Club Championship 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Ros13:  "The draw was made last night for the 2019 Championship. Senior Group A: St Brigids Elphin Croans Fuerty Group B: Strokestown St Faithleachs Roscommon Gaels Michael Glaveys Group C: Clann na nGael Padraig Pearses Western Gaels Boyle Intermediate Group A: Tulsa Kilbride Creggs Kilglass Gaels Group B: Castlerea Shannon Gaels St Barry's Eire Og Group C: Oran St. Dominics Kilmore St. Aidans Junior Group A: St Brigids B Elphin B Padraig Pearses B Castlerea B Roscommon Gaels B Group B: Ballinameen St Josephs St Faithleachs B St Dominics B Group C: Clann na nGael B St Michaels St Ronans Western Gaels B Obviously a long way to go but does anybody have any early predictions?"
No team in n the intermediate championship will fancy the long trip to Tulsa

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - 27/03/2019 13:39:21

Dublin V Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Jackeen:  "Spot on. I dont really understand how people think Small went down easy. Flynn tackled high, late, off his feet & connected with Smalls face with his arm. The directive given by the GAA last year has been to come down heavy on these types of tackles. Flynn can have no complaint. https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-referees-instructed-to-crack-down-on-head-high-tackles-1.3893431%3fmode=amp"
I'm not trying to beat young Flynn when he's already down but I don't think he can have any complaints. In my opinion, he seemed to move his arm forward with a bit of force just at last second to make contact with Small. Small probably did make a bit out of it but I think there was intent in moving his arm to meet him.

Douglas_44 (National) - 03/02/2020 16:02:59