Roscommon Forum

Popular Posts from Tarismelting22

Move To National Forum Only Model - 61 Like(s)

Replying To Administrator:  "From this morning the individual forums in all bar two counties have been retired. The majority of discussion will be in one place, through the national forum where any topics can be discussed. There has been a growing trend towards this in recent years and with all messages individually moderated, it allows us to focus our resources more efficiently. It's a big change, but where would the GAA world be without amalgamations?"
Terrible idea you have just ruined the hoganstand. I know this will not be posted but you just ruined the best part of the hoganstand where the club game from senior to junior in each county is discussed weekly by die hard supporter. DO you think a dublin gaa supporter wants to hear about the junior club championship in roscommon.

Tarismelting22 (National) - 30/09/2021 08:27:00

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 7 Like(s)
What a load of bull, dublin are the greatest football team to ever grace a GAA pitch. I think ts very unfair on those players that people are dismissing their achievements when they have put in just as much work as anyother team. I do think there should be some sort of cap on funding but in saying that it does not take away for one second the achievements of Dublin

Tarismelting22 (National) - 05/09/2018 16:27:08

Tiernan Kelly 6 Month Ban- Thoughts - 5 Like(s)
Correct decision in the 6 month ban but maybe it could begin when county season begins. The lad knows he done a absolutely terrible act in the heat of the moment and id say he would do anything to to have his time back again. The ban has been handed out and that is that time to leave the lad alone, Moderators should remove this thread

Tarismelting22 (National) - 01/07/2022 14:40:27

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "The term used was GOAT, so as a starting forward in multiple finals scoring might have to come into it yeah."
No it doesnt look at Howard playing same position as Connolly doesnt contribute much in regard to scoring but no one is going to question his ability. Your arguement is poor with very little basis if scoring is all you have to fall back on.

Tarismelting22 (National) - 13/09/2019 09:39:00

AFL Combines Now An Annual Thing - 4 Like(s)
Let the aussies come and let them take the handful of lads they take. They are going over to be a professional sportsperson paid a good wage nice climate. I do not understand how anyone could begrudge a young lad from going. Majority go between 19 - 22 thats some experience to have for a young lad or girl. Gaa is amateur its a hobby a very serious one but a hobby all the same if a young lad is wanted by the aussies and they would like to travel they should go instead of looking out the window working in a bank at the pissing rain here. You only regret the opportunities you dont take. All the kerry people here saying they would have won all irelands if they had so and so thats hindsight and that is BS. The gaa offer zero incentive for lads to stick around

Tarismelting22 (National) - 12/12/2019 11:53:50

The Super 8S - 4 Like(s)
Whoever did give the red thumbs wont want to have a word with themselves. Can keep everyone happy i suppose. prob the same fellas that dont support the club scene just jump on the bandwagon of the county Best of luck to the ladies anyway.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - 10/07/2019 10:24:10

The Super 8S - 3 Like(s)
Also worth mentioning that the girls are playing before the lads on Saturday 3 o'clock if people could make the effort to come in to the hyde for atleast part of there game they are a very good side got to the all ireland semi final last year

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - 09/07/2019 16:43:17

AOS - Potential Bad Injury - 3 Like(s)

Replying To tonguey:  "ye might actually have a chance of beating them this year"
No Need for that we are all GAA fans that like watching the best players. Last time we played them in castlebar we beat them with O'Shea just so you know. Winning an ulster title fairly gone to yer head

Tarismelting22 (National) - 22/04/2021 11:10:55

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Now i thought the ref was poor but he was poor for both. the heneghan goal chance was a disgrace it was brought back for the free in. Rory Gallagher didnt cover himself in glory roaring and shouting at the ref and linesman every chance he got. Chrissy Mckeague was a clown as well but Cox and Donie Smith werent innocent in the shamozzlle. Brian Stack also instigated the pulling and dragging of shane mcguigan which led to getting him sent off. There was dark arts all over the field from both sides and the ref lost control. Good for roscommon to be involved in a game like that will stand to them against the better teams. Very impressed with the new starters this year eoin mccormack, eddie nolan and richard hughes have really impressed. I think we have finally found a midfielder in eddie nolan and if we can keep ultan fit and injury free he is another goof addition around the middle. Two wins will see us promoted and i think it is well and truly in them - i would worry a small bit about the bench

Tarismelting22 (National) - 14/03/2022 15:45:37

The Super 8S - 3 Like(s)
I thought what conor daly did at the weekend was a cop out and shoud be left off the 26 for cork. Niall Daly, Conor Hussey and Cox all had very good games under the circumstances. Pitty we didnt take a goal chance or two score line wouldnt have looked as bad as it did. Successful year so far but i would like to get a win against cork and not finish at the bottom of the table when you look at the two teams above us its not a bad reflection. Goal for next year blood some more new players find out if conor cox has a brother ha retain connacht be happy enough with that.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - 22/07/2019 13:57:57

Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "I am just waiting patiently for hoganstand to go into meltdown due to the disgusting and disgraceful scenes in the hill at the end of the all Ireland. The usual suspects are sure to ride in on their high horse anytime now condemning these two sets of fans and calling for further matches between these two teams to be played behind closed doors."
So by you waiting patiently for the hoganstand meltdown you decided you would start it yourself well done you have succeded. You are going to let a couple of kerry and dublin outliers take the limelight away from the all ireland final. again i congratulate you wally a job well done. all the individuals involved are as much to blame as the next move on. Well done to dublin comserations to Kerry see ye all next year where we will do it all again. God you have to love the GAA. Wally you stay home be best for everyone then we wouldnt have sill threads

Tarismelting22 (National) - 17/09/2019 09:14:38

Roscommon GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Paddy was excellent fair play to him. Sean O Shea every right to go for the ball and it was a definite penalty

Tarismelting22 (National) - 12/07/2022 08:33:26

Roscommon Seniors Inter County Season 2021 - 3 Like(s)
Brian Carroll connfirmed on yesterdays stream that Anthony was staying on. We need to give him our full backing as supporters and hope we have a good year.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - 20/09/2021 16:41:02

Division two 2018 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "I think talk of us becoming a top four side is a bit early yet. Looking at the two games on Sunday we are light years off both teams in second game in physicality. KM is saying that will come in a few years but this is the third year under his tutelage and it is not improving in that area. Galway in the space of 6 months are monsters same as their hurlers and it's all down to the polish chap who us doing the S&C for all their teams. I accept Sunday's match was a free hit for both teams with their primary objective achieved and both abandoned their normal shapes. However all good and well talking of our forwards but the forwards didn't do it last August v Mayo in either game and v Galway year before in two games also. Spine of team is an issue and questions remain over goalie, full back, centre back and midfield. I'd imagine John Mc will fill 3 or 6 upon his return..ultan not a marker centre back and will be found out on big pitches and harder ground similar to last Sunday. Personally I'd like to see him at 11. Niall Kilroy had an excellent game last Sunday but it suited him. When he drops deep and teams push up on him he is totally redundant. I'm in the Darren O'Malley fan club for goalie as I think he is streets ahead of either we have now. Aside from a kick out v monaghan in kiltoom a few years ago I can't think of too many other times he has let Ross down. Midfield is too pedestrian for me and slows ball down into forwards. What I am really struggling with is seeing our inside forwards of Diarmuid Murtagh and Donie Smith on our 13 metre line. If that happens v either mayo or Galway it will take them an age to get back up the pitch. Is there really anyone else out there currently not on panel that could add something to it. However all that being said a division two title and promotion back to division one is great. Advance to super 8s and be competitive in 2 of the 3 games and it will be a great season. What I don't want is to be in the super 8s and get three drubbings. That would be a disaster. Roll on the summer."
Ah come on you cant be serious saying Niall Kilroy is Redundant the amount of unsee work that man gets through is Phenomenal. The amount of runners he blocks off when he is sitting deep is invaluable. Arguable the player of the league

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - 06/04/2018 09:19:03

The Next Senior Football Manager - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Heard it, not sure if true, but would not be surprised. Frankie should have been offered the manager job in the first place."
Ah stop

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - 08/11/2018 16:11:20

Kieran Donaghy retires - 3 Like(s)
Best of luck Star. One of my first memories of croke park was watching him field a high ball under the hogan and think wow i want to be like him but sadly the height never materialised at a mere 5'11. When people think of Kerry football in years to come he will definitely be spoke about in the same breath as some of the greats. And echoing what someone else said his book is a must read for people into sports autobiographies. Enjoy retirement

Tarismelting22 (National) - 11/09/2018 15:38:40

All Over Before It Starts? - 3 Like(s)
Worrying news coming out of cork this morning with a club ceasing all activities due to covid. I really hope this is not over before it starts. The GAA really needs to come out with some clarity.

Tarismelting22 (National) - 10/07/2020 08:36:35

Connacht Club Football Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To marmalade_farmer:  "Hopefully Knockmore can do the business in the final after all the unsavoury scenes witnessed at the weekend. The game demands it."
Unsavoury scenes only came from one side - they also kicked a door in in the hyde and broke a number of chairs

Tarismelting22 (National) - 13/12/2021 15:19:50

Is this Mayo's year? - 3 Like(s)
I cant see ye getting by tyrone they are a different animal even though I really hope they do. The hatred of mayo is going now and id really like to see them to well. The loss in Connacht may have done them know harm. Best of luck, Ye have some rossie support

Tarismelting22 (National) - 04/08/2016 14:49:52

Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Wally:  "You're right Seanie. These lads need to catch themselves on. Its getting embarrassing now. But you and I both know that they are prone to a bit of wild exaggeration. Could you imagine what this thread would be like if Tyrone had of been involved :-) I still find it shocking though that RTE have not featured this story anywhere."
The only embarressing one in this whole thread us yourself and you as you say would want to catch yourself on. The guards were there they would have dealt with the incident how they saw fit why would the national broadcaster report on this there are bigger rows outside chippers on a night out and i dont see rte rushing to report. And stop with your everyone is against tyrone your embarressing

Tarismelting22 (National) - 17/09/2019 12:20:05