Mayo V Meath

Replying To daytona11:  "The last team in 2017 when we played you lads in Navan we hammered yous. We hit nearly 3 times the scores v the dubs this year than you. Take into account v the dubs it was our 3rd game in 21 days one of which went to extra time.
Offaly should have beaten yis this year as should Clare. Two chronic teams in all honesty."
Remember envy is one of the deadly sins. Jealousy too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2019 22:25:25    2213742

Replying To daytona11:  "The last team in 2017 when we played you lads in Navan we hammered yous. We hit nearly 3 times the scores v the dubs this year than you. Take into account v the dubs it was our 3rd game in 21 days one of which went to extra time.
Offaly should have beaten yis this year as should Clare. Two chronic teams in all honesty."
Someone from Kildare calling other teams chronic!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/07/2019 23:06:16    2213770

Replying To royaldunne:  "Remember envy is one of the deadly sins. Jealousy too."
Grand. Logical response lad.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/07/2019 23:07:01    2213772

Replying To daytona11:  "Grand. Logical response lad."
About as logical as saying cork and Kildare would beat this meath team despite Meath beating both those teams this year

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 20/07/2019 23:11:47    2213774

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "About as logical as saying cork and Kildare would beat this meath team despite Meath beating both those teams this year"
4 points versus the Dubs........

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/07/2019 23:50:33    2213797

Replying To daytona11:  "4 points versus the Dubs........"
Right but we still beat you? Fair play to you obviously a lot of painful memories or Meath beating Kildare and winning all Ireland's for you to be that blind to reality

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 21/07/2019 00:35:59    2213807

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "About as logical as saying cork and Kildare would beat this meath team despite Meath beating both those teams this year"
Tomorrow will tell a lot too. We bet arguably a stronger Mayo team last year to qualify for the super 8's. Lets see how Meath do against a Mayo team without durcan and o'connor.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2019 00:44:13    2213811

I think Meath will beat Mayo tomorrow, Meath are a serious up and coming team, they are fast, physical and have a lot of quality. I think they are a little bit lacking up front and their bench needs strengthening, but they are a handful.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 21/07/2019 01:30:23    2213820

Replying To daytona11:  "Based on performances alone against the Dub this year id say ourselves and Cork would beat Meath. I mean the leinster final showed just how limited you guys are. Really lucky to draw Clare and not one of the bigger teams in the qualifiers."
I pay no need to anything anyone from kildare says about meath football to be honest, they remind me of Newcastle United , a large fan base that proclaim themselves as a big team, but at the end of the day they have a no real football pedigree to speak of, no all ireland for close to a century, a couple of Leinster in that time frame, less then say, offaly for example, and ya don't hear them going on like they belong with the big boys. It's always baffled me where this attitude came from regards kildare to be honest, and also, like newcastle united, they always seem to shoot themselves in the foot when things seem to be looking up.....and now, when they finally start to win some underage titles and have some clearly talented players, I'm sure the same will happen again, no progress like there should be. Thankfully no matter how meath go from here, even if they nose dive to division 4, I can always say I've been privileged to be in croke park on 4 different days to watch a meath man lift Sam.......I can safely say my grandfather's, my own, my kids and their kids generations will never see a kildare man do the same........unless it's another Larry Thompkins scenario.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 21/07/2019 08:20:50    2213830

Replying To royaldunne:  "Remember envy is one of the deadly sins. Jealousy too."
Jealousy is not one of the 7 deadly sins.

Gluttony
Sloth
Vanity
Pride
Lust
Envy
Wrath

And yes, the only reason I know this, is because of that Movie with Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 21/07/2019 08:24:43    2213831

Best wishes to Andy Brian Donal and all the team today. Despite what some of our neighbors think hope, we here on merit.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2019 08:55:14    2213841

Replying To Forpucksake:  "Jealousy is not one of the 7 deadly sins.

Gluttony
Sloth
Vanity
Pride
Lust
Envy
Wrath

And yes, the only reason I know this, is because of that Movie with Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman."
Lol. Fair enough, envy and jealousy are the same things , kind of lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2019 10:34:00    2213867

Replying To daytona11:  "Tomorrow will tell a lot too. We bet arguably a stronger Mayo team last year to qualify for the super 8's. Lets see how Meath do against a Mayo team without durcan and o'connor."
We won't mention that it was a home game not in croker where mayo always thrive? No? Why let facts get in the way of a good story

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 21/07/2019 10:43:12    2213873

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I pay no need to anything anyone from kildare says about meath football to be honest, they remind me of Newcastle United , a large fan base that proclaim themselves as a big team, but at the end of the day they have a no real football pedigree to speak of, no all ireland for close to a century, a couple of Leinster in that time frame, less then say, offaly for example, and ya don't hear them going on like they belong with the big boys. It's always baffled me where this attitude came from regards kildare to be honest, and also, like newcastle united, they always seem to shoot themselves in the foot when things seem to be looking up.....and now, when they finally start to win some underage titles and have some clearly talented players, I'm sure the same will happen again, no progress like there should be. Thankfully no matter how meath go from here, even if they nose dive to division 4, I can always say I've been privileged to be in croke park on 4 different days to watch a meath man lift Sam.......I can safely say my grandfather's, my own, my kids and their kids generations will never see a kildare man do the same........unless it's another Larry Thompkins scenario."
Great post southmeathgael. Sums my thoughts up too.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 21/07/2019 10:46:42    2213875

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I pay no need to anything anyone from kildare says about meath football to be honest, they remind me of Newcastle United , a large fan base that proclaim themselves as a big team, but at the end of the day they have a no real football pedigree to speak of, no all ireland for close to a century, a couple of Leinster in that time frame, less then say, offaly for example, and ya don't hear them going on like they belong with the big boys. It's always baffled me where this attitude came from regards kildare to be honest, and also, like newcastle united, they always seem to shoot themselves in the foot when things seem to be looking up.....and now, when they finally start to win some underage titles and have some clearly talented players, I'm sure the same will happen again, no progress like there should be. Thankfully no matter how meath go from here, even if they nose dive to division 4, I can always say I've been privileged to be in croke park on 4 different days to watch a meath man lift Sam.......I can safely say my grandfather's, my own, my kids and their kids generations will never see a kildare man do the same........unless it's another Larry Thompkins scenario."
Theres no arguing with your past glories. But thats all they are.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2019 11:52:01    2213902

Replying To royaldunne:  "Lol. Fair enough, envy and jealousy are the same things , kind of lol"
Id put delusion in the same bracket too

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 21/07/2019 12:42:58    2213914

I think everyone needs to take a chill pill here, and relax. Lets put the blame on pre match nerves.

For what it is worth I would have Meath and Kildare on a fairly equal standing in that if they were playing today it would be a 50:50 game with Meath maybe slight favourites..

However this year Meath have got to the quarter finals stage and Kildare have not, so for now let Meath have their day in the sun and god knows we need it after a torrid few years.

As regards todays game lets not forget that Mayo are pretty hot favourites to win and deservedly so given their exploits over the last few years.

I am hoping Meath can give them a test but i am not confident. There may be a chance that having lost so badly to Kerry last weekend that Mayo may feel their chance of winning an All Ireland this year is gone, and if they fall behind they may not have the stomach to come back. However all the evidence suggests otherwise and that they will want to give themselves a chance against Donegal in two weeks time.

If Mayo turn up and play to their best, then this game could be over as a contest after 20 mins because if Mayo build up a lead I think they will be too streetwise to let Meath back into the game.

The handicap line is Mayo -3.5 points and I expect them to beat this but I cannot bring myself to back them as I will be cheering on the royals from the rafters.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 21/07/2019 12:53:38    2213915

Mayo 12 men behind the ball.. blanket Mayo

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/07/2019 14:24:25    2213947

Meath shooting is awful.....missed goal chance will prove costly. Mayo too slowly pull away and win handy.

Rayo1 (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 21/07/2019 14:28:05    2213948

Mayo kicking this away

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2019 14:36:03    2213949