Mayo V Meath

This Meath team is 12 to 24 months away from peaking at least

The age of 4 Meath forwards who played on Sunday v Donegal

James Conlon 21
Ethan Devine 20
Dara Campion 20
Shane Walsh 18 ( just finished his leaving cert 3 weeks ago )

and other young players on team and panel
Ronan Ryan 22
Ross Ryan 22
Niall kane 22
Gavin Mcoy 22
Jason Scully 21
Thomas Reilly 22
Thomas McGovern 22
Daragh McGovern 22
Owen McDonnell 21
Robin Clarke 22
Sean Reilly 20

These players are very young and 10 games with div 1 teams in super 8s and the league will be priceless experience.

Then u have a group of players who will peak in next 24 months as most footballers peak at 25 26 27 .

James McEntee 24
Gavin McCoy 24
Seamus Lavin 24
Shane McEntee 24
Barry Dardis 24
Ruari O Coilean 24
Padraig Harnan 24
Cillian Sullivan 25
Adam Flanagan 25
Bryan McMahon 26
Conor McGill 26
Andy Colgan 26.

Meath are one of youngest teams and panels in the country with average age 23 24. And I said 4 of the fowards on Sunday were 18 to 21. These players have potential . Meath are a coming team. Meath next summer will be much stronger. look at Roscommon this year and the difference after div 1 football and super 8s last year. This Meath team will.start to begin to peak next summer into 2021 and into summer of 2022. McEntee is just half way through his reign at the end of this season coz it is a 6 to 7 year job. And this Meath team are 12 to 24 months before reaching full potential at least . The game v Dublin game v Donegal were not peaks they were the beginning of upward trajectory that will continue into spring of 2020 and the summer and continue in 2021 to the summer of 2022. Meath are just beginning

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/07/2019 06:49:34    2213406

I think we can win on Sunday. It will be tough coz u expect a Mayo backlash but we do have a chance . But Croke Park is an advantage for Mayo. If it was in Navan we would have an even better chance. Even Castlebar wud be better then Croker as Mayo have dreadful record in Castlebar. But after Dublin they have best record in the country in Croker recently.

In this decade they have won multiple All Ireland quater finals and 4 All Ireland semi finals and played in 5 All Ireland finals in Croker and recently won div 1 league title in Cro. They have beaten Dublin kerry Donegal Tyrone and Roscommon and all top teams in Croker in this decade . This Mayo team have probaly won up to 15 matchs in Croker , while this Meath team has won 1 match in Croker.

Meaths record in Croker in league and championship since 2010

]In 2010 We beat laois in Croker
In 2010 We beat Dublin in Croker
In 2010 We beat louth in Croker
In 2012 We beat kildare in Croker
In 2013 We beat Wexford in Croker
In 2014 We beat kildare in Croker
In 2019 We beat laois in Croker

We have only won once in Croker in 5 years. We have a recent poor record in Croker. Prior to 2010 we had excellent record in Croker one of the best in the Country for decades. Prior to 2010 Mayo had dreadful record in Croker. Throughout the 1960s and 1970s and up to 1989 Mayo didnt win a championship match in Croke Park for 38 years. Then they beat Donegal in 1989 semi final. They had awful hammerings by Cork in early 90s in Croker. They won 2 times in 90s in Croker v kerry in 96 and Offaly in 97. They won league title in 1970 and 2001 in Croker. But since they beat Dublin for first time ever in 2004 Mayos record has improved dramatically in Croker. Only Dublin have a better recent record in Croker then Mayo. It is an advantage to them but we still have a real chance of victory

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/07/2019 06:51:49    2213407

This is a massive game in that whoever loses is out of the championship. When Meath were in this position last year in 2018 and 2017 they produced their best performance of the year. In 2017 v Donegal in a brillant game Meath threw the kitchen sink at Donegal, the game was level 8 times and Meath were ahead in 63rd min and teams were level in injury before a McBreaty wonder point won the game by 1 point. Last year v Tyrone in a do or die knockout championship match also , was Meaths best performance of the year as Meath threw the kitchen sink at Tyrone. And only for a point in 6th min of injury time from Tyrone, Meath would have won. Tyrone won by 1 point in injury time in contervesial circumstances.

The point is last year and year before in similar matchs to Mayo game on Sunday , Meath produced a massive performance, maybe they wouldnt on Sunday , but they did in 2017 and 2018 v two best teams in the country.

Allot of people seemed to be surprised by Meaths performance on Sunday. They shouldn't have been Meath have form here. Anytime they have played top teams under McEntee they have performed very well. Meath under McEntee have defeated Galway , drew with Roscommon in Roscommon and would have won only for a penalty goal for Roscommon in 4th min of injury time. Last year Tyrone were lucky to beat Meath. And in 4 games in 3 years Donegal have struggled v Meath. In 2017 Donegal won by a point in injury time but it was real tight game. In the league this year in Ballybofey Meath dominated the game til 64th min and were 4 points up at 64th min when lucky goal turned the game for Donegal. In league final Meath were 5 up at half time after dominating the first half, Donegal won by 2. And up to 56th min last Sunday Meath looked like they had a great chance of beating Donegal. Even Dublin game the game was in balance til 56 min and Meath defensively did very well keeping Dublin to their lowest first half score in near a decade.

People read allot into 4 points v Dubs. This wasnt fair. Dublin is not a fair comparsion. Dublin are one of greatest teams ever , if not the greatest. They have hammered every team in the country in this era. All the other top teams Meath have played under McEntee, Meath played performaned very well and upped their game. This is a traditional trait of Meath football McEntee has again instilled in Meath. In the past Meath always upped their game v top counties. Thats why Meath were so sucessful. Meath had one best records in the country v top teams ( Meath have the best record in the country v Dublin , a very good record v kerry , and r Cork and Mayos bogey team in the championship) , this is something McEntee has brought back to Meath.

Two teams who beat Mayo in last two years are very similar to Meath. Kildare Roscommon and Meath are young up and coming teams. All similar teams. There is little between Meath and kildare other then kildare have gone back a bit this year. Roscommon are ahead of Meath in terms of development as they were in super 8 last year and spring in div 1. But there is little between the teams. Meath have played Roscommon 4 times in the last year since Feb 2018. 3 of them challenge games but they were near first 15 as they were just before Connacht final. In the 4 games v Roscommon in last year, Meath were unbeaten with 2 draws and 2 victories v Roscommon. Roscommon and kildare beat Mayo last year and this year both are very similar teams to Meath , young and up coming teams.

On Sunday u have 7th best team Meath v 5th best team Mayo in this forums rankings. Mayo have been one of the teams of the decade while they have some new young players , their main players are in their thirties with allot of mileage on their legs. Meath are one youngest teams in the country, most of their main players are 24 or 25 and they have allot of young players on Sunday forwards that played for Meath were James Conlon 21 Ethan Devine 20 Dara Campion 20 and Shane Walsh 18.

Meath are a coming team who are improving and getting better. They are 12 to 24 months before they start peaking. But there cud be Mayo backlash. Mayo u expect will really be up for this. And Meath have been on the go since Dec when they won challenge game v Dublin. Meath had to peak for league and then to reach super 8. Mayo had to peak for now. Meath did look tired on Sunday in last ten minutes. Do Meath have energy in the tank for a push in the super 8s.

Mayo are favourites and yes there could be massive Mayo backlash but dont rule out a big performance from Meath. Their form v Donegal 4 times , Tyrone, Galway and Roscommon in last 2 years has been excellent and Meath upped their game for the above. It is an intringing contest.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/07/2019 06:53:42    2213411

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "They fell over the line in their games v Armagh and Galway. Mainly due to their cuteness/experience they held onto them games. I do not think they're ability to "Keep going for the full 70" as you said is very evidentso far this year at all neither is ours. I'd give us a great chance on Sunday of nicking the win.

In saying this I fear that we might be facing a wounded animal in this game and could possibly receive a heavy defeat if Mayo are at their best.

Meath are still maybe one win away from justifying all the talk about the top them being solid challengers amongst (Roscommon, Mayo, Galway, Cavan, Monaghan). A year or two away from the Top 4 (Donegal, Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry)."
Fell over the lime against Galway? Galway got a last minute goal but Mayo were comfortable for much of that game thanks to two early goals.

Meath have a fair bit to do before you start talking about breaking into the top four....let's see how ye ye handle the hype...I just hope our boys can keep up and give ye a game

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 20/07/2019 08:24:48    2213416

Replying To Furlong1949:  "This is a massive game in that whoever loses is out of the championship. When Meath were in this position last year in 2018 and 2017 they produced their best performance of the year. In 2017 v Donegal in a brillant game Meath threw the kitchen sink at Donegal, the game was level 8 times and Meath were ahead in 63rd min and teams were level in injury before a McBreaty wonder point won the game by 1 point. Last year v Tyrone in a do or die knockout championship match also , was Meaths best performance of the year as Meath threw the kitchen sink at Tyrone. And only for a point in 6th min of injury time from Tyrone, Meath would have won. Tyrone won by 1 point in injury time in contervesial circumstances.

The point is last year and year before in similar matchs to Mayo game on Sunday , Meath produced a massive performance, maybe they wouldnt on Sunday , but they did in 2017 and 2018 v two best teams in the country.

Allot of people seemed to be surprised by Meaths performance on Sunday. They shouldn't have been Meath have form here. Anytime they have played top teams under McEntee they have performed very well. Meath under McEntee have defeated Galway , drew with Roscommon in Roscommon and would have won only for a penalty goal for Roscommon in 4th min of injury time. Last year Tyrone were lucky to beat Meath. And in 4 games in 3 years Donegal have struggled v Meath. In 2017 Donegal won by a point in injury time but it was real tight game. In the league this year in Ballybofey Meath dominated the game til 64th min and were 4 points up at 64th min when lucky goal turned the game for Donegal. In league final Meath were 5 up at half time after dominating the first half, Donegal won by 2. And up to 56th min last Sunday Meath looked like they had a great chance of beating Donegal. Even Dublin game the game was in balance til 56 min and Meath defensively did very well keeping Dublin to their lowest first half score in near a decade.

People read allot into 4 points v Dubs. This wasnt fair. Dublin is not a fair comparsion. Dublin are one of greatest teams ever , if not the greatest. They have hammered every team in the country in this era. All the other top teams Meath have played under McEntee, Meath played performaned very well and upped their game. This is a traditional trait of Meath football McEntee has again instilled in Meath. In the past Meath always upped their game v top counties. Thats why Meath were so sucessful. Meath had one best records in the country v top teams ( Meath have the best record in the country v Dublin , a very good record v kerry , and r Cork and Mayos bogey team in the championship) , this is something McEntee has brought back to Meath.

Two teams who beat Mayo in last two years are very similar to Meath. Kildare Roscommon and Meath are young up and coming teams. All similar teams. There is little between Meath and kildare other then kildare have gone back a bit this year. Roscommon are ahead of Meath in terms of development as they were in super 8 last year and spring in div 1. But there is little between the teams. Meath have played Roscommon 4 times in the last year since Feb 2018. 3 of them challenge games but they were near first 15 as they were just before Connacht final. In the 4 games v Roscommon in last year, Meath were unbeaten with 2 draws and 2 victories v Roscommon. Roscommon and kildare beat Mayo last year and this year both are very similar teams to Meath , young and up coming teams.

On Sunday u have 7th best team Meath v 5th best team Mayo in this forums rankings. Mayo have been one of the teams of the decade while they have some new young players , their main players are in their thirties with allot of mileage on their legs. Meath are one youngest teams in the country, most of their main players are 24 or 25 and they have allot of young players on Sunday forwards that played for Meath were James Conlon 21 Ethan Devine 20 Dara Campion 20 and Shane Walsh 18.

Meath are a coming team who are improving and getting better. They are 12 to 24 months before they start peaking. But there cud be Mayo backlash. Mayo u expect will really be up for this. And Meath have been on the go since Dec when they won challenge game v Dublin. Meath had to peak for league and then to reach super 8. Mayo had to peak for now. Meath did look tired on Sunday in last ten minutes. Do Meath have energy in the tank for a push in the super 8s.

Mayo are favourites and yes there could be massive Mayo backlash but dont rule out a big performance from Meath. Their form v Donegal 4 times , Tyrone, Galway and Roscommon in last 2 years has been excellent and Meath upped their game for the above. It is an intringing contest."
Furlong normally i love reading your posts but i didn't even get half way through this 1, lucky goals here , lucky goals there, are all goals scored against meath lucky? And no matter how great meath were in them games in '17 and '18 they lost and result is the only thing that matters! League means absolutely nothing by the way so stop reading inyo league games so much!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 20/07/2019 10:05:38    2213436

Replying To Gaillimh11:  "Mayo team named Clarke, S.Coen, Harrison, O'Donoghue, Keegan, Boyle, Higgins, SOS, Vaughan, McDonagh, AOS, Treacy, O'Connor, D. Coen, Doherty.

Interesting. Coen hardly start at C.b. AOS at 11? If Higgins goes back to C.B. and Coen goes to half back then maybe Vaughan and SOS midfield. If AOS and SOS play midfield what happens Vaughan? He Defo not a forward. Couple of utility players named, that in one respect will keep us guessing as they have not nailed down a position to date.

It's hard to know what will happen here but bound to be positional changes at the very least if not the usual late change(s) in personnel."
Keith corner back, Vaughan wing back, Aidan midfield and Stephen Coen sweeper. Darren Coen and Cillian front two ? Though James Horan would be reluctant to use a sweeper. Unlikely to be same starting 15.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 20/07/2019 10:12:28    2213439

Replying To yew_tree:  "Fell over the lime against Galway? Galway got a last minute goal but Mayo were comfortable for much of that game thanks to two early goals.

Meath have a fair bit to do before you start talking about breaking into the top four....let's see how ye ye handle the hype...I just hope our boys can keep up and give ye a game"
In fairness I don't think there's much if any hype around this Meath team, the general consensus is that we probably won't win a game in the Super 8s. Also Mayo are clear and deserving favourites for tomorrow's game, they've been a top team for the best part of a decade whereas we haven't been a top team for nearly 20 years.

That being said I think we're in with a decent chance tomorrow, we've improved a lot since McEntee took over 3 years ago, although the recovery has been slow and steady rather than overnight.

I don't know how to take Mayo, you clearly still have class players in the squad and are capable of beating any team in the country on your day (been incredibly unlucky not to have beaten Dublin and landed an All-Ireland), but Mayo haven't been anywhere near their best this season.

They will be looking for a backlash tomorrow though and we could be on the receiving end. As for us, we've already acheived our 3 targets for the year (promotion, leinster final & make super 8s) so a win against Division 1 opposition would be a huge bonus.

Anyway, all the best tomorrow yew_tree, hopefully it's a good, close game.......and hopefully Meath wins ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/07/2019 10:13:30    2213440

Replying To yew_tree:  "Fell over the lime against Galway? Galway got a last minute goal but Mayo were comfortable for much of that game thanks to two early goals.

Meath have a fair bit to do before you start talking about breaking into the top four....let's see how ye ye handle the hype...I just hope our boys can keep up and give ye a game"
Nobody mentioned us breaking into the top 4. I said we're currently still a win away from calling ourselves genuine top 8 challengers with Mayo, Galway, Cavan, Roscommon, Monaghan. After that big win if it was to come we'd still need a year or two to win for the top 4

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 20/07/2019 11:48:18    2213465

Replying To Htaem:  "In fairness I don't think there's much if any hype around this Meath team, the general consensus is that we probably won't win a game in the Super 8s. Also Mayo are clear and deserving favourites for tomorrow's game, they've been a top team for the best part of a decade whereas we haven't been a top team for nearly 20 years.

That being said I think we're in with a decent chance tomorrow, we've improved a lot since McEntee took over 3 years ago, although the recovery has been slow and steady rather than overnight.

I don't know how to take Mayo, you clearly still have class players in the squad and are capable of beating any team in the country on your day (been incredibly unlucky not to have beaten Dublin and landed an All-Ireland), but Mayo haven't been anywhere near their best this season.

They will be looking for a backlash tomorrow though and we could be on the receiving end. As for us, we've already acheived our 3 targets for the year (promotion, leinster final & make super 8s) so a win against Division 1 opposition would be a huge bonus.

Anyway, all the best tomorrow yew_tree, hopefully it's a good, close game.......and hopefully Meath wins ;-)"
2019 has been the real progress year for ye under Andy McEntee. Getting Colm Nally has been a big plus for ye, no doubt. But for me Andy McEntee losing the cool after the Tyrone game last year was a real plus for Meath even though many of the PC brigade saw it as a backward step and some actually questioned if he'd stay. He showed his players how much it meant to him and stood up for his team and in 2019 they have returned his faith in them. Now that's enough of the Meath appreciation.

I think we'll squeak a one or two point win tomorrow in a wet Croke Park.

Maigh So Abu!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 20/07/2019 12:54:26    2213497

Replying To GreenandRed:  "2019 has been the real progress year for ye under Andy McEntee. Getting Colm Nally has been a big plus for ye, no doubt. But for me Andy McEntee losing the cool after the Tyrone game last year was a real plus for Meath even though many of the PC brigade saw it as a backward step and some actually questioned if he'd stay. He showed his players how much it meant to him and stood up for his team and in 2019 they have returned his faith in them. Now that's enough of the Meath appreciation.

Maigh So Abu!"
Well look Mayo have the players and experience to get a good win tomorrow if they're on form, but if the game is still tight with 10-15mins, it will be very interesting to see how things pan out. Mayo will know how to close out the game but we're yet to do that against top level opposition, don't forget that we led Donegal by 1 with 15mins to go and they went on to win by 9!

Personally I'm a big supporter of McEntee, time could prove me wrong but I honestly think he's our best manager since Boylan. He certainly can lose the rag (as shown against Tyrone) but his passion for Meath football is not in question and his work ethic is second to none, the man is an animal for hard work. I don't know how much further he can take us but I'm happy that he's in the driving seat.

How do you think Horan's second spell will go? He certainly brought Mayo to the brink on a nunber of occasions but do you think he'll be able to regroup and press for Sam again in the next 2-3 years?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/07/2019 13:28:27    2213509

Replying To Htaem:  "Well look Mayo have the players and experience to get a good win tomorrow if they're on form, but if the game is still tight with 10-15mins, it will be very interesting to see how things pan out. Mayo will know how to close out the game but we're yet to do that against top level opposition, don't forget that we led Donegal by 1 with 15mins to go and they went on to win by 9!

Personally I'm a big supporter of McEntee, time could prove me wrong but I honestly think he's our best manager since Boylan. He certainly can lose the rag (as shown against Tyrone) but his passion for Meath football is not in question and his work ethic is second to none, the man is an animal for hard work. I don't know how much further he can take us but I'm happy that he's in the driving seat.

How do you think Horan's second spell will go? He certainly brought Mayo to the brink on a nunber of occasions but do you think he'll be able to regroup and press for Sam again in the next 2-3 years?"
I wasn't happy the county board let Stephen Rochford go, despite a poor 2018. I thought Horan would have us peaking too soon in the championship as he had before and also wondered, come championship, would he give many new players a run out in the championship as he had tried them in the league. Fair play to James he has given the new lads their chance and not hesitated to leave more experienced players on the bench or substitute them and was giving them a chance before injuries hit. In hindsight now probably Stephen Rochford would not give as many new faces a run out in one year. But I wish Horan will take a leaf from Rochford's book and drop a man back and give us a better defensive platform. We need to ease into tomorrow's game, stay steady at the back and bring on some experienced players if needed in the second half to seal a win.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 20/07/2019 13:52:18    2213516

Replying To GreenandRed:  "2019 has been the real progress year for ye under Andy McEntee. Getting Colm Nally has been a big plus for ye, no doubt. But for me Andy McEntee losing the cool after the Tyrone game last year was a real plus for Meath even though many of the PC brigade saw it as a backward step and some actually questioned if he'd stay. He showed his players how much it meant to him and stood up for his team and in 2019 they have returned his faith in them. Now that's enough of the Meath appreciation.

Maigh So Abu!"
I'd agree with that. We coming from a very low base a few years. And looking at the age profile of the players we won't probably be in the reckoning for another couple of years. That been said we i think there is a win in this Meath team in the super 8s. And I feel it could be tomorrow. Who knows??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2019 14:18:23    2213523

Zero hype around Meath , the supporters or players. We have achieved everything we set out to do. The year has been a huge success.
That been said I do think they want a grandstand finish in pt before she is to be renovated and bringing Kerry in two weeks for something to play for would give the old girl a deserved fond farewell. Mayo are standing in the way of that, and I think the players and management will want to ensure we give the old ground a send off and then some.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/07/2019 15:09:36    2213538

Replying To achara:  "Furlong normally i love reading your posts but i didn't even get half way through this 1, lucky goals here , lucky goals there, are all goals scored against meath lucky? And no matter how great meath were in them games in '17 and '18 they lost and result is the only thing that matters! League means absolutely nothing by the way so stop reading inyo league games so much!"
Fair enough. But the point is not what Meath do in the super 8 this year , next spring is massive. If Meath can stay in divsion 1 it could be transformational. Meath are one of the youngest teams in the country with forwards that played v Donegal age 21 James Conlon, Dara Campion 20 , Ethan Devine 20 and Shane Walsh 19. These players have potential to improve. Meath are improving. Players like Harnan 24 , Lavin 24, Mcoy 24 , Ryan 21, S Reilly 20 and kane 22 are all improving in Meaths defence. It what Meath do next year in next years championship after 10 games v div 1 teams this summer and next spring. What Meath do in the summer of 2020 and 2021 thats the key.

Meath are have morale victories hardluck losses to top teams. This is the way a team develops in gaelic football. Even the Dublin great team had that pattern. They were operating at higher level then Meath but it took Dublin 6 years to get All Ireland final. It took Dublin to go from 5th best team in country in 2005 to 1st in 2011, it took 6 years. They had close loses to kerry Cork Tyrone and Mayo between 05 to 2010 and bad hammerings to Meath in 2010 and kerry in 09. This is what every team has to do to be sucessful in gaa. There are very few overnight sucesses exception Dublin in 1974 kerry in 1975 and Meath in 96. Everyone else it takes years of slow building and slow progress and close loses and hard luck stories and morale victories . It took Boylan 4 years , Late Eugene McGee 4 years and Mick Dwyer 5 years to make breakthrough in leinster.

Meath were 15th best team in the country last year in every ranking now they are 7th or 8th. Meath want to break into top 6 or 7 teams in the country, compete yearly at super 8 level and stay in divsion 1 and win leinster title in next 2 to 3 years. It might not happen. But even ABM anybody but Meath supporter , would have to admit Meath have improved greatly this year and Meath have one of the youngest teams in the country.

The point is not what Meath do this summer , its what they do next summer and in 2021 and 2022 as this team peaks that is key. After 10 games v divsion 1 teams Meath will be more equipped to play teams like Donegal Tyrone Mayo next summer. Look at Roscommon. Hammered in 3 super 8 games last year. Hammered by Tyrone last year lost by 4 points last week. Beat Galway and Mayo this year in championship. They have good young team and good manager but 10 games v top division 1 teams is the reason they improved this year , div 1 football is so important.

And Monaghan ur county know that so well. Monaghan have been in div 1 since 2014. Since 2014 Monaghan have won 2 Ulster titles reached All Ireland semi final and being in top 6 teams in the country for years. They had quality footballers and brillant manager. But staying in div 1 was the key. The same for Meath, next spring is massive for this Meath team. Stay in div 1 would be huge. Meath are just beginning.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/07/2019 17:37:56    2213580

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Fair enough. But the point is not what Meath do in the super 8 this year , next spring is massive. If Meath can stay in divsion 1 it could be transformational. Meath are one of the youngest teams in the country with forwards that played v Donegal age 21 James Conlon, Dara Campion 20 , Ethan Devine 20 and Shane Walsh 19. These players have potential to improve. Meath are improving. Players like Harnan 24 , Lavin 24, Mcoy 24 , Ryan 21, S Reilly 20 and kane 22 are all improving in Meaths defence. It what Meath do next year in next years championship after 10 games v div 1 teams this summer and next spring. What Meath do in the summer of 2020 and 2021 thats the key.

Meath are have morale victories hardluck losses to top teams. This is the way a team develops in gaelic football. Even the Dublin great team had that pattern. They were operating at higher level then Meath but it took Dublin 6 years to get All Ireland final. It took Dublin to go from 5th best team in country in 2005 to 1st in 2011, it took 6 years. They had close loses to kerry Cork Tyrone and Mayo between 05 to 2010 and bad hammerings to Meath in 2010 and kerry in 09. This is what every team has to do to be sucessful in gaa. There are very few overnight sucesses exception Dublin in 1974 kerry in 1975 and Meath in 96. Everyone else it takes years of slow building and slow progress and close loses and hard luck stories and morale victories . It took Boylan 4 years , Late Eugene McGee 4 years and Mick Dwyer 5 years to make breakthrough in leinster.

Meath were 15th best team in the country last year in every ranking now they are 7th or 8th. Meath want to break into top 6 or 7 teams in the country, compete yearly at super 8 level and stay in divsion 1 and win leinster title in next 2 to 3 years. It might not happen. But even ABM anybody but Meath supporter , would have to admit Meath have improved greatly this year and Meath have one of the youngest teams in the country.

The point is not what Meath do this summer , its what they do next summer and in 2021 and 2022 as this team peaks that is key. After 10 games v divsion 1 teams Meath will be more equipped to play teams like Donegal Tyrone Mayo next summer. Look at Roscommon. Hammered in 3 super 8 games last year. Hammered by Tyrone last year lost by 4 points last week. Beat Galway and Mayo this year in championship. They have good young team and good manager but 10 games v top division 1 teams is the reason they improved this year , div 1 football is so important.

And Monaghan ur county know that so well. Monaghan have been in div 1 since 2014. Since 2014 Monaghan have won 2 Ulster titles reached All Ireland semi final and being in top 6 teams in the country for years. They had quality footballers and brillant manager. But staying in div 1 was the key. The same for Meath, next spring is massive for this Meath team. Stay in div 1 would be huge. Meath are just beginning."
Yep, fully agree with you on staying in division 1 is massive to a developing team, i just thought on your last post that u were putting too much emphasis on league games this year. Best of luck tomorrow i have a fondness for this mayo team so i'll be rooting for them but should be a decent game

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 20/07/2019 18:23:21    2213594

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Fair enough. But the point is not what Meath do in the super 8 this year , next spring is massive. If Meath can stay in divsion 1 it could be transformational. Meath are one of the youngest teams in the country with forwards that played v Donegal age 21 James Conlon, Dara Campion 20 , Ethan Devine 20 and Shane Walsh 19. These players have potential to improve. Meath are improving. Players like Harnan 24 , Lavin 24, Mcoy 24 , Ryan 21, S Reilly 20 and kane 22 are all improving in Meaths defence. It what Meath do next year in next years championship after 10 games v div 1 teams this summer and next spring. What Meath do in the summer of 2020 and 2021 thats the key.

And Monaghan ur county know that so well. Monaghan have been in div 1 since 2014. Since 2014 Monaghan have won 2 Ulster titles reached All Ireland semi final and being in top 6 teams in the country for years. They had quality footballers and brillant manager. But staying in div 1 was the key. The same for Meath, next spring is massive for this Meath team. Stay in div 1 would be huge. Meath are just beginning."
Based on performances alone against the Dub this year id say ourselves and Cork would beat Meath. I mean the leinster final showed just how limited you guys are. Really lucky to draw Clare and not one of the bigger teams in the qualifiers.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/07/2019 18:31:00    2213597

Replying To daytona11:  "Based on performances alone against the Dub this year id say ourselves and Cork would beat Meath. I mean the leinster final showed just how limited you guys are. Really lucky to draw Clare and not one of the bigger teams in the qualifiers."
Kildare were hammered by Tyrone in your home patch, kildare were beaten by dublin in the first ten minutes, kildare by destroyed by Donegal in your final league game, kildare were beaten very handy by a very average fermanagh team half way through the league, kildare needed two games to beat a much weaker longford side then last season, do you honestly think based on all that that kildare should be in the super eights, best of luck with the manager search it be interesting to See who gets it and then see them blamed for another abysmal season from kildare 2020.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 20/07/2019 20:33:02    2213665

Lets enjoy this and give Mayo a run for their money.

All pressure is on them ,so if we take our chances we will be close

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 20/07/2019 20:56:32    2213685

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Kildare were hammered by Tyrone in your home patch, kildare were beaten by dublin in the first ten minutes, kildare by destroyed by Donegal in your final league game, kildare were beaten very handy by a very average fermanagh team half way through the league, kildare needed two games to beat a much weaker longford side then last season, do you honestly think based on all that that kildare should be in the super eights, best of luck with the manager search it be interesting to See who gets it and then see them blamed for another abysmal season from kildare 2020."
The last team in 2017 when we played you lads in Navan we hammered yous. We hit nearly 3 times the scores v the dubs this year than you. Take into account v the dubs it was our 3rd game in 21 days one of which went to extra time.
Offaly should have beaten yis this year as should Clare. Two chronic teams in all honesty.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/07/2019 21:12:32    2213696

Replying To daytona11:  "The last team in 2017 when we played you lads in Navan we hammered yous. We hit nearly 3 times the scores v the dubs this year than you. Take into account v the dubs it was our 3rd game in 21 days one of which went to extra time.
Offaly should have beaten yis this year as should Clare. Two chronic teams in all honesty."
Two teams that would of beaten kildare this year along with laois imo, What's your opinion on the mayo v meath game tomorrow Daytona stick to the topic, if you want to discuss how happy you are about scoring more v dublin then meath did (let's just forget you conceded more though) then discuss that on kildare v dublin thread. Perhaps that level of thinking from kildare fans and players is whats holding the county back. Anyway I leave you to it we have a super eight game to prepare and look forward to, hon the royals meath by three points.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 20/07/2019 22:06:39    2213735