Mayo V Meath

I fancy Meath to beat mayo next week as all around Meath are better

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 14/07/2019 17:45:31    2210834

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I fancy Meath to beat mayo next week as all around Meath are better"
I hope so. Meath have done a lot of good stuff this year. It'd be great to see them have a home fixture against Kerry with them still having something to play for.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 14/07/2019 17:55:11    2210837

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I fancy Meath to beat mayo next week as all around Meath are better"
I agree, Mayo look spent and Meath can take heart from their display today. Meath have a good side and are going in the right direction. I thought Mayo would beat Kerry today but they had a horror show. I know Mayo have an unbelievable capacity to recover but just think they are there for the taking. This is going to be a fascinating game.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 14/07/2019 18:10:09    2210847

Going by what we saw today I would give Meath every chance but Kerry were absolutely superb today in the first half.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/07/2019 19:55:49    2210938

This is priceless. All the hindsighters are coming to the fore. Mayo will beat Meath.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 14/07/2019 20:53:33    2210986

Replying To TheFlaker:  "This is priceless. All the hindsighters are coming to the fore. Mayo will beat Meath."
Based on what?

Missed super 8s last year

Losing to ros?
Scraping by down
Should have lost to Armagh
Beat Galway
Hammered by Kerry?

I think mayos experience may well see then thru to but to call the suggestion of Meath wining 'priceless' is a bit much all things considered

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 14/07/2019 21:13:28    2211008

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Based on what?

Losing to ros?
Scraping by down
Beat Galway
Hammered by Kerry?

I think mayos experience may well see then thru to but to call the suggestion of Meath wining 'priceless' is a bit much all things considered"
Massive difference between playing against a fired up Kerry team in Killarney who arrived on the national stage with pace, power and great forwards to a very average Meath team. Mayo struggled to arrive at the Super 8 stage but played a fantastic team today who would have beat 31 teams with that performance. Mayo always play well in Croker and won't be playing a great side. Mayo to win by 5 plus.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 14/07/2019 21:43:22    2211032

Replying To sam1884:  "Massive difference between playing against a fired up Kerry team in Killarney who arrived on the national stage with pace, power and great forwards to a very average Meath team. Mayo struggled to arrive at the Super 8 stage but played a fantastic team today who would have beat 31 teams with that performance. Mayo always play well in Croker and won't be playing a great side. Mayo to win by 5 plus."
Again based on the last two years of championship football that doesn't make sense? Maybe mayo will bounce back and win by 5+ but if they show up as they have done all summer I wouldn't think it's a certainty

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 14/07/2019 21:54:11    2211041

Replying To sam1884:  "Massive difference between playing against a fired up Kerry team in Killarney who arrived on the national stage with pace, power and great forwards to a very average Meath team. Mayo struggled to arrive at the Super 8 stage but played a fantastic team today who would have beat 31 teams with that performance. Mayo always play well in Croker and won't be playing a great side. Mayo to win by 5 plus."
Very average?? Why right.
Mayo haven't beaten Meath since 1951 in championship. That run will not end next Sunday.
This is really a case of two teams heading in different direction, Meath are on the way up (proven by promotion, reaching super 8s and really giving everything for 60 mins v donegal, and mayo ,a aging once great team (the best never to win a All-Ireland) on the way down. While we maybe meeting at a similar level, I can see Meaths youth and enthusiasm seeing them over the line.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2019 21:57:58    2211043

Losing to ros?
Scraping by down
Beat Galway
Hammered by Kerry?

I think mayos experience may well see then thru to but to call the suggestion of Meath wining 'priceless' is a bit much all things considered"
Would agree that the suggestion of meath winning being "priceless" is a bit OTT (it wouldn't have been pre 2017 but mayo have regressed slightly since then) but I reckon the mauo player probably bases his view on the fact meath have played two division 1 standard teams in the championship and despite showing some promise have lost by a combined total of 25 points (against donegal and dublin). Mayo have more experience, a better playing panel and are generally fantastic on the wide open spaces of croke park.

Things have been a tad hairy this year and they may have snuck past armagh and down, but i think a few are getting a bit carried away by meath and their run to the super 8s. They're only there cause they beat Offaly by a couple of scores, Carlow, laois, and Clare by a point. They had poor luck in last years qualifiers getting Tyrone albeit in Navan,b but this summer by avoiding Tyrone and mayo they got lucky. And listen I know there is clear progression but its all well and good putting it up to a below average Dublin for 35 mins and donegal for 60 mins, but when you come out of those games losing by 25 pts combined in their 2 big big games against top teams, all logic will dictate that meath, in croke park next week, should be on the end of another defeat.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2019 22:01:07    2211046

Losing to ros?
Scraping by down
Beat Galway
Hammered by Kerry?

That's a fair assessment. Plus there's still a lot of 'sentiment' on both sides about '96. I was told that some Meath people hate Liam McHale still. I think it's just a bit of craic but a few still go quiet when they hear the Meath word! We'll have to up our game big time after today to beat ye. May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 14/07/2019 22:19:42    2211057

Losing to ros?
Scraping by down
Beat Galway
Hammered by Kerry?

That's a fair assessment. Plus there's still a lot of 'sentiment' on both sides about '96. I was told that some Meath people hate Liam McHale still. I think it's just a bit of craic but a few still go quiet when they hear the Meath word! We'll have to up our game big time after today to beat ye. May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 14/07/2019 22:20:10    2211058

Losing to ros?
Scraping by down
Beat Galway
Hammered by Kerry?

Grand and based on Donegal sleeping after half Meath got back into it. Apart from that they scraped past Clare and got walloped by Dublin.

Mayo were awful today but I still don't see how Meath are suddenly better than them. Durcan back next week and a kick up the arse all week should be enough for them. I will be here next week if I am wrong.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 14/07/2019 22:49:18    2211074

Replying To waynoI:  "Would agree that the suggestion of meath winning being "priceless" is a bit OTT (it wouldn't have been pre 2017 but mayo have regressed slightly since then) but I reckon the mauo player probably bases his view on the fact meath have played two division 1 standard teams in the championship and despite showing some promise have lost by a combined total of 25 points (against donegal and dublin). Mayo have more experience, a better playing panel and are generally fantastic on the wide open spaces of croke park.

Things have been a tad hairy this year and they may have snuck past armagh and down, but i think a few are getting a bit carried away by meath and their run to the super 8s. They're only there cause they beat Offaly by a couple of scores, Carlow, laois, and Clare by a point. They had poor luck in last years qualifiers getting Tyrone albeit in Navan,b but this summer by avoiding Tyrone and mayo they got lucky. And listen I know there is clear progression but its all well and good putting it up to a below average Dublin for 35 mins and donegal for 60 mins, but when you come out of those games losing by 25 pts combined in their 2 big big games against top teams, all logic will dictate that meath, in croke park next week, should be on the end of another defeat."
Pre 2017 100% agree.

I think in fairness to anyone who saw the first 50 mins vs both Dublin and Donegal (60 mins) meath were not 25 points worse.

Dublin are the best side we have seen and will likely win another Sam at a canter but meath converted 17% of scores, that was down to panic and nerves to an extent, if we had even converted our frees and simple chances we would have been in the game longer. All well and good saying Dublin were below par, but to limit them to 5 points was impressive, below par Dublin beat all in front of them last year

At 55 mins vs Donegal we were 1pt up and missed 3 clear goal chances and could have had another penalty.

Mayo, in my view, aren't at the level of Dublin or Donegal or close to it this year. Logic certainly points to a mayo win but I think logic would say it will likely be a close game. Unfortunately Meaths lack of efficiency in front of goal could cost them.

We had poor luck getting Tyrone in qualifiers and Donegal year before but remember we lost by the minimum both years

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 14/07/2019 22:55:11    2211077

Replying To waynoI:  "Would agree that the suggestion of meath winning being "priceless" is a bit OTT (it wouldn't have been pre 2017 but mayo have regressed slightly since then) but I reckon the mauo player probably bases his view on the fact meath have played two division 1 standard teams in the championship and despite showing some promise have lost by a combined total of 25 points (against donegal and dublin). Mayo have more experience, a better playing panel and are generally fantastic on the wide open spaces of croke park.

Things have been a tad hairy this year and they may have snuck past armagh and down, but i think a few are getting a bit carried away by meath and their run to the super 8s. They're only there cause they beat Offaly by a couple of scores, Carlow, laois, and Clare by a point. They had poor luck in last years qualifiers getting Tyrone albeit in Navan,b but this summer by avoiding Tyrone and mayo they got lucky. And listen I know there is clear progression but its all well and good putting it up to a below average Dublin for 35 mins and donegal for 60 mins, but when you come out of those games losing by 25 pts combined in their 2 big big games against top teams, all logic will dictate that meath, in croke park next week, should be on the end of another defeat."
Bit harsh on Meath I think wayno, I could well be wrong and I'll hold my hand up if I am but I don't think there's a huge gap between Meath and Mayo. Personally I think all logic points to a 50/50 game which both teams are well capable of winning.

Granted I will concede that Mayo are a more weathered team who have experience of beating top teams whereas we're a coming team who are trying to break into that market so they have that advatage.

Sure look it we'll see next week anyway, both teams are coming off the back of a defeat so we'll see who's up for it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/07/2019 23:24:30    2211092

Mayo haven't beaten Meath since 1951? There will be some celebrations from the Mayo fans if they beat us. As there will from Meath if we win. This should be a cracker followed by the big guns donegal vs kerry. Great double header. I just hope meath don't flop. We need to end this season on a high even if we don't win the last 2. Performances are key.

Mayo are clearly shattered so there's no excuse not to have the legs run off us. If they beat us on the scoreboard fair enough.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 15/07/2019 00:07:26    2211102

Mayo favourites is fair due to the pedigree of that team. Bad day out against Kerry but I wouldn't rule Mayo out of getting to an All Ireland semi final just yet. They love doing things the hard way.

We need to sort out our kickouts to have any hope. The way Mayo plays should suit us in that they go man to man at the back. But to have any hope of winning we'd need to be well ahead with 10 mins to go. We have nothing on the bench.

Dublin and Donegals benches blew us away.

Should be a good game. I've a huge admiration for this Mayo team. Best of luck to both teams.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 15/07/2019 07:31:59    2211130

Mayo been written off will suit us. Backs against the wall stuff....whole country laughing at us. Meath are no bad team though...gave donegal a fair run yesterday. I would take a one point win. Will be hoping Kerry beat Dongeal to keep us in it u til the last day assuming we can beat Meath.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 15/07/2019 07:59:36    2211134

For the record i think mayo will probably win due to a bettwr standard of player....but....Mayo always play well in croker , I've heard it all now. Jesus christ

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 15/07/2019 08:01:49    2211135

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That's a fair assessment. Plus there's still a lot of 'sentiment' on both sides about '96. I was told that some Meath people hate Liam McHale still. I think it's just a bit of craic but a few still go quiet when they hear the Meath word! We'll have to up our game big time after today to beat ye. May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú!"
Think you hit the nail on the head GreenandRed!

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 15/07/2019 08:12:47    2211139