Bringing Children To Games

Replying To Jackeen:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "[quote=Jackeen:  "[quote=keithlemon:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/80-to-bring-a-16weekold-baby-to-the-allireland-final-tyrone-fan-slams-bizarre-gaa-ticket-policy-37211641.html

What do other posters think of this story doing the rounds?

Maybe I'm in the minority here but I honestly don't know why you would bring a child of that age to a game. I've brought nephews and nieces from 5 years old and up knowing full well that they'd be bored in 5 minutes but wanted to see how they'd take to it. But 16 weeks old!!
Is this just another weak news article aimed to have a pot shot at the GAA? We had the breastfeeding story not so long ago along with random other mild complaint stories around delays, venue selection etc. I know Irish people like to moan but giving out about having to pay for a ticket to bring a 16 week old baby is nuts.
For one the child will not understand what is going on at all, the noise at a football match, especially an All Ireland final would be very daunting for any child especially one that young.
Maybe don't go to the game and then you won't be hit with the burden of paying money for a ticket.

Maybe I'm being a tad cynical but is this lady getting the story out there to fish for free entry for the child come All Ireland final day?"
As a woman this post really annoys me. The woman in question is breastfeeding her baby exclusively which means the baby can't be left with anybody. The baby will be strapped to her for the entire game. There will be a spare seat next to her. The GAA and its ridiculous rules again. Health & safety?? How is this impacting Croke Park? I think you are being very cynical about this. She is highlighting a ridiculous rule in my opinion."
I'm not sure Jackeen. When you have kids you gotta make choices.

I think it's fairly sensible that every person in the ground on the day of a sell out should have a ticket. I presume it's illegal for Croke Park, Aviva etc to have it any other way. I bloody well hope it is illegal to be honest.

Whether or not those tickets should be full whack at 80 quid is another matter though.

It's unfortunate in some ways that Tyrone's first final in 10 years comes when they have an infant that needs to be breastfed but that's how it is.

When you have chislers you're going to miss out on the odd match, party, wedding, etc, etc, etc. Just got to deal with it.

We never took any of our 3 to matches when they were infants. Someone, or both had to stay at home."]And I get that. My point is this is a new born. It won't need a seat. It is strapped to his man. Why should she need to pay in??"]Fair enough Jackeen.

The more I've thought about and seeing as the Aviva will let you in with a ticket-less infant under 2 the more I'm inclined to agree with you.

I wouldn't do it personally, but that's my choice as a match goer and parent, but if someone else is happy enough to do it then they should be allowed to do so without having to take a seat away from someone else.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/08/2018 18:15:22    2133346

Replying To tipp11:  "I'm just playing devil advocate here and yes I know it would never ever happen but what is health and safeties position on this, is it something the Aviva are doing against their wishes? Say 40/50k turned up with an under 2 year old each would that be deemed ok or is there a certain number that would be acceptable. Again I'm not saying this would happen.

On the whole argument I'm on the fence, personally I don't think it's an environment for an infant but that would only be my own perspective on it. I wouldn't have any problem however with a child sitting on a parents lap in general without paying for a ticket but I would have serious questions about the mother if a big crowd, atmosphere and everything with the day put the child in discomfort and a position that upset it."
I don't know what health and safety position the GAA are citing. Headcount presumably. A blank ticket would do so the attendance could be recorded but not charged.
Again it goes back to a mother's choice for her own baby. We don't know either in this instance. She can judge if her baby is agitated or not and deal with it accordingly much like any parent of any child brought into a match.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 18:15:44    2133347

Replying To keithlemon:  "
Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "My thoughts:

- The mother gets to decide what is right for her baby, not us. Children are taken into noisy, crowded environments all the time - shopping centres, busy high streets, loud swimming pools. The child's senses are so barely developed at that age, it won't be damaged in any way from his day out in Croke Park. And, if the child does become agitated, I'm sure his mother will take him out.

- The comment above from the Wexford man who says he has 'no problem with very discreet breastfeeding' makes me think we are back in the 1970s. Pathetic.

- The comments about the long drive etc are also red herrings. We have no idea how many stops the family will make on their way to Dublin, the baby's sleeping pattern etc. It's unlikely that they would do this if they thought it would be a nightmare for the whole family.

- The GAA statement about Health & Safety is a nonsense. It seems this is the standard response from HQ now any time they make a mistake and get bad press. The only possible reason that I can think of for charging €80 for an infant that doesn't need a seat, is to discourage parents from bringing babies full stop.

- Lads, some of you need to live and let live a little. A 16 week old baby in his mother's arms affects nobody's day other than the mother's."
Fair points there but would you draw a line anywhere?
I mean, do you think its ok for a child of that age to be brought into a cinema or theatre or a rock concert for example?"
That's not what we are talking about though. People here seem to be against the bringing of a baby to the game rather than the fact the baby would be charged for the privilege of being held in the mother's arms for the duration.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 18:17:25    2133348

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ridiculous bringing a 16 week
Old baby to an all Ireland...like those clowns that bring kids up the reek.

It's one person per seat no matter what age you are. If the kid got injured god forbid the Gaa would be taken to town in the courts."
If anybody gets injured they run the risk of being taken to court.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 18:18:32    2133351

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "My thoughts:

- The mother gets to decide what is right for her baby, not us. Children are taken into noisy, crowded environments all the time - shopping centres, busy high streets, loud swimming pools. The child's senses are so barely developed at that age, it won't be damaged in any way from his day out in Croke Park. And, if the child does become agitated, I'm sure his mother will take him out.

- The comment above from the Wexford man who says he has 'no problem with very discreet breastfeeding' makes me think we are back in the 1970s. Pathetic.

- The comments about the long drive etc are also red herrings. We have no idea how many stops the family will make on their way to Dublin, the baby's sleeping pattern etc. It's unlikely that they would do this if they thought it would be a nightmare for the whole family.

- The GAA statement about Health & Safety is a nonsense. It seems this is the standard response from HQ now any time they make a mistake and get bad press. The only possible reason that I can think of for charging €80 for an infant that doesn't need a seat, is to discourage parents from bringing babies full stop.

- Lads, some of you need to live and let live a little. A 16 week old baby in his mother's arms affects nobody's day other than the mother's."
I agree with everything you be said.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 18:19:09    2133352

Replying To StoreysTash:  "We have become a nation where personal responsibility is somebody else's responsibility.
Will the crowd hush because her baby wants to sleep?
I have no problem with very discreet breastfeeding, but at a GAA match I can be arms and elbows - so I should go to the match and sit beside somebody breastfeeding, and my team get a goal am I expected to hush, sit down, and not throw my arms around?
What about if a drunk lad comes in and sits beside her?
Sorry lady, but time you lived in the real world. A GAA ground is not a suitable place for a 16 week old baby.
The sense of entitlement here is incredible."
Very discreet breastfeeding??? Jesus wept!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 18:21:12    2133354

I will be honest , having forked out 80 quid I don't want a toddler anywhere near me , I can get a little excited during the game I have a bit of banter with those around and in an all Ireland will sing and scream my head off cheering the blues, knowing that I never brought my lads to a game until they would have some understanding of what's going on around them and others would be free to enjoy themselves.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/08/2018 18:21:22    2133355

Replying To Jackeen:  "Very discreet breastfeeding??? Jesus wept!!!"
during our breast feeding days we pumped the milk into the baby bottle at home and the whole thing is practical and discreet, let the babies in. No problem with lads sucking pints in the bar at half time.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 14/08/2018 19:14:53    2133365

Replying To keithlemon:  "[quote=Thomas Clarke:  "My thoughts:

I mean, do you think its ok for a child of that age to be brought into a cinema or theatre or a rock concert for example?"
That's not what we are talking about though. People here seem to be against the bringing of a baby to the game rather than the fact the baby would be charged for the privilege of being held in the mother's arms for the duration."]What I want to highlight there Jackeen is in regards the argument around the Health & Safety policy being nonsense. In the case of the other events I highlighted, if a rock concert organiser or opera theater was to turn a mother and baby away because it was their policy I don't think the public reaction would be the same. I think it would be more understandable.
I know you could argue that such examples are apples and oranges etc but I do think you have to draw a line somewhere. What is a bit silly is that the policy in Croke Parks case seems to be mute as long as the mother pays full price for the ticket.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 14/08/2018 19:54:08    2133376

Replying To Jackeen:  "Very discreet breastfeeding??? Jesus wept!!!"
I don't think it is unreasonable to expect somebody not to let it all hang out in front of you, and my formerly breastfeeding wife would agree.
But I think we'll just agree to differ. I won't be changing my mind. It is a pure publicity stunt by this woman. Nothing more.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 14/08/2018 19:59:09    2133377

What if 100s of people could bring young babies to sit on their lap....now imagine if a fire, crush or some terrible incident happened....? Their would be an increased chance of serious injury or death. Attendances are capped for a reason. People are so self obesseed these days they think every law should bend for them,

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 14/08/2018 21:04:47    2133390

I wonder did that young Irish lad that was being breast feed in Poznan a few years back get in Free.

3 weeks to final, start the child on formula, you can't have it every way. I do think if the mother was really interested in football there would be no way she'd bring a baby, Imagine if he started crying and she had to bring him out, she'd miss most of the game.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 14/08/2018 21:36:53    2133401

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I don't think it is unreasonable to expect somebody not to let it all hang out in front of you, and my formerly breastfeeding wife would agree.
But I think we'll just agree to differ. I won't be changing my mind. It is a pure publicity stunt by this woman. Nothing more."
Don't worry, nobody's trying to change your mind. You can remain just as you are, in good old 1974.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 14/08/2018 21:49:51    2133404

Fair play to this woman. She wants to go to the final and bring her baby. She's not bothering anyone. Simply highlighting a ridiculous policy that means she has to buy a seat for an infant which another supporter could use. Only a matter of time before the GAA introduce the Infant Season Ticket.....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 14/08/2018 22:05:45    2133408

Please let no one ever again use the argument "she's the mother she knows best". That is such a nonsense point. No one said of Josef Fritzel "he's the father, he knows best".

Rules are always seen to best effect when extremes are used. Let's say the policy is to allow children of 2yrs and under on parents knees for matches, and 50,000 of the adults decided to bring a child each. Is Croke park safe for 130,000 people? (the breastfeeding thing is just an aside so the mother can advertise how great she is, a bit like a vegan having to tell everyone they are vegan".)

Don't get me wrong, there is probably no better feeling in the world then getting to watch the All Ireland final, while sucking on a breast at the same time, but this is mountain out of a molehill stuff. Accept the rule and make a decision either to leave the child at home with someone else or stay at home with your child too

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 14/08/2018 22:45:01    2133419

I never understood why some parents bring there children on the terrace, they wont see anything with everyone else taller then them

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 14/08/2018 23:15:19    2133429

I cannot see how this could be a problem, the woman is not taking two seats, don't understand the price either.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 15/08/2018 02:37:13    2133457

Replying To keithlemon:  "[quote=Thomas Clarke:  "My thoughts:

That's not what we are talking about though. People here seem to be against the bringing of a baby to the game rather than the fact the baby would be charged for the privilege of being held in the mother's arms for the duration."]The child is not being charged for the privilege of attending the game. It's parents are being charged for the privilege of attending the game. Don't tell me that the child's mother went on social media about this issue for the altruistic reason that a football supporter who she doesn't know could attend the game. She went on social media to avoid having to pay for a seat that has to be beside her if she manages to get tickets for her and her child to attend the game.
Everything in this country is now governed by policy and procedure. If The GAA were to allow the child to attend the game for free and it was outside existing policy and procedure and something were to happen the child or it's mother then The GAA would be liable.
I believe that if The GAA were to concede on this particular issue then people would push for children in general to be allowed in free to All Ireland finals.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 15/08/2018 02:37:25    2133458

Lads the argument is not whether she should bring her baby or not. Babies go to matches as it stands all the time. The argument is whether she should have to pay to have a seat that won't be used. And yes to use an above posters extreme example if 50,000 parents wanted to bring their babies and didnt need a ticket that would be an issue with overcrowding however on the flip side as it stands if 50,000 parents want to bring their baby there would be 50,000 empty seats! There has to be a way around this imo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/08/2018 08:33:23    2133466

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "Don't worry, nobody's trying to change your mind. You can remain just as you are, in good old 1974."
well i would agree with his point,i dont think it is unreasonable to expect at least some discretion.i was a husband of a breastfeeding mother,and i dont think it is unreasonable to expect her to be discreet-should she take her top off so she can show how liberal she is?as somebody above says,it is like vegans telling everybody they are vegans.
he is not saying she cant breastfeed.nor am i.
what about the other points raised above though which you and jackeen are ignoring?what about if somebody gets a goal and the 16 week old child gets an elbow from a supporter beside her?
or the child getting a shock from the crowd?
being honest,i can think of nothing more annoying for match-day experience than a child on every 2nd parents lap.
being honest,this case is one for tusla rather than independent.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 15/08/2018 08:49:03    2133471