Bringing Children To Games

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/80-to-bring-a-16weekold-baby-to-the-allireland-final-tyrone-fan-slams-bizarre-gaa-ticket-policy-37211641.html

What do other posters think of this story doing the rounds?

Maybe I'm in the minority here but I honestly don't know why you would bring a child of that age to a game. I've brought nephews and nieces from 5 years old and up knowing full well that they'd be bored in 5 minutes but wanted to see how they'd take to it. But 16 weeks old!!
Is this just another weak news article aimed to have a pot shot at the GAA? We had the breastfeeding story not so long ago along with random other mild complaint stories around delays, venue selection etc. I know Irish people like to moan but giving out about having to pay for a ticket to bring a 16 week old baby is nuts.
For one the child will not understand what is going on at all, the noise at a football match, especially an All Ireland final would be very daunting for any child especially one that young.
Maybe don't go to the game and then you won't be hit with the burden of paying money for a ticket.

Maybe I'm being a tad cynical but is this lady getting the story out there to fish for free entry for the child come All Ireland final day?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 14/08/2018 09:13:53    2133046

Replying To keithlemon:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/80-to-bring-a-16weekold-baby-to-the-allireland-final-tyrone-fan-slams-bizarre-gaa-ticket-policy-37211641.html

Maybe I'm in the minority here but I honestly don't know why you would bring a child of that age to a game. I've brought nephews and nieces from 5 years old and up knowing full well that they'd be bored in 5 minutes but wanted to see how they'd take to it. But 16 weeks old!!
Is this just another weak news article aimed to have a pot shot at the GAA? We had the breastfeeding story not so long ago along with random other mild complaint stories around delays, venue selection etc. I know Irish people like to moan but giving out about having to pay for a ticket to bring a 16 week old baby is nuts.
For one the child will not understand what is going on at all, the noise at a football match, especially an All Ireland final would be very daunting for any child especially one that young.
Maybe don't go to the game and then you won't be hit with the burden of paying money for a ticket.

Maybe I'm being a tad cynical but is this lady getting the story out there to fish for free entry for the child come All Ireland final day?"
As a woman this post really annoys me. The woman in question is breastfeeding her baby exclusively which means the baby can't be left with anybody. The baby will be strapped to her for the entire game. There will be a spare seat next to her. The GAA and its ridiculous rules again. Health & safety?? How is this impacting Croke Park? I think you are being very cynical about this. She is highlighting a ridiculous rule in my opinion.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 10:04:53    2133057

I probably am being too cynical Jackeen and I get the ridiculousness of the fact that if she were to purchase the ticket it leaves an empty seat. I don't want this post to be deemed anit-woman or anything like that, I just want to open a discussion around this.
Would you bring a child of that age to the opera or go to an over 18s horror film?
I can't for the life of me understand why you would entertain going to a game with a child of that age knowing it will need constant care and attention along with being breast fed. Why not just sit this one out and enjoy the game from the comfort of your home? I don't want to be telling people what to do, but surely logic has to come into this argument somewhere

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 14/08/2018 10:56:08    2133088

If you have a child young enough to be breastfeeding then the environment of a packed Croke Park is not the place to be. Noise levels, cramped environment, awful toilet facilities are all reasons why Croke Park on all Ireland final day is not the place for babies. If a child is exclusively breastfed then the parent has a choice to make - either stay at home and watch the match on TV or come up with a different feeding regime for the day and leave the child at home with someone else. The child doesn't have to be exclusively breastfed, that is a choice.
The sense of entitlement is astounding.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 14/08/2018 11:27:42    2133110

this is a complete publicity stunt,no more than the breastfeeding woman in newbridge.
if we start letting people bring babies in,where does it end?sure a 5 year old will sit on daddys lap for the match.a 7 year old will do the same.where is the line?how long before a 10 year old is being brought through the turnstile and mammy is up in arms and has a story in the independent?
1 ticket 1 entry-end of story.
does this woman think she'd rock up to the gates of old trafford or wembley with her child?
we love to blame the gaa for a lot but this one they have got spot on.
if she wanted to go to the game badly enough,there are ways of making sure the babysitter can have milk for her.
publicity stunt.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/08/2018 11:28:09    2133112

I agree that Croke Park on All Ireland final day is no place for a baby of 16 weeks for a number of reasons. Firstly it is a very noisy place and not suitable for young children. Surely a child of this age requires alot of sleep - how can he be brought from Tyrone to Dublin, sit through at least 4 hours of Croke Park entertainment and return to Tyrone. Even if staying in Dublin on the night before and after - there is a long period between getting to the game, the game itself and getting out of Croke Park with a young baby. The breastfeeding saga looked like a plea for attention - no-one asked the question how a baby so young was put in a car on one of the hottest days of the year and driven around 3 hours to a match. I have a young child myself and I would not dream of putting them through this. Also, this young baby that was the subject of the breastfeeding saga had been attending Mayo games from as young as 2 weeks old. This is possibly a case for the ISPCC! Parents looking for attention and using their kids - if they were that concerned about their young kids they would not be dragging them around the country like this

imonmyway (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 14/08/2018 11:43:14    2133125

I don't mind Mothers taking their small babies to games, the older ones annoy me more. In the Hogan last day out a girl of about 9 sitting with her buddy and no sign of mum or dad, continued to stand up everytime their was an exciting attack. This resulted in those behind her standing up, followed by the next row and the next and none of us could see a thing. It was thee most annoying thing ever.....normally people who stand up get shouted at with the famous "SIT DOWN will ye" but who wants to shout at a child.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 14/08/2018 12:03:46    2133134

Replying To Jackeen:  "
Replying To keithlemon:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/80-to-bring-a-16weekold-baby-to-the-allireland-final-tyrone-fan-slams-bizarre-gaa-ticket-policy-37211641.html

Maybe I'm being a tad cynical but is this lady getting the story out there to fish for free entry for the child come All Ireland final day?"
As a woman this post really annoys me. The woman in question is breastfeeding her baby exclusively which means the baby can't be left with anybody. The baby will be strapped to her for the entire game. There will be a spare seat next to her. The GAA and its ridiculous rules again. Health & safety?? How is this impacting Croke Park? I think you are being very cynical about this. She is highlighting a ridiculous rule in my opinion."
I'm not sure Jackeen. When you have kids you gotta make choices.

I think it's fairly sensible that every person in the ground on the day of a sell out should have a ticket. I presume it's illegal for Croke Park, Aviva etc to have it any other way. I bloody well hope it is illegal to be honest.

Whether or not those tickets should be full whack at 80 quid is another matter though.

It's unfortunate in some ways that Tyrone's first final in 10 years comes when they have an infant that needs to be breastfed but that's how it is.

When you have chislers you're going to miss out on the odd match, party, wedding, etc, etc, etc. Just got to deal with it.

We never took any of our 3 to matches when they were infants. Someone, or both had to stay at home.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/08/2018 12:17:00    2133143

Replying To Game2Halves:  "I don't mind Mothers taking their small babies to games, the older ones annoy me more. In the Hogan last day out a girl of about 9 sitting with her buddy and no sign of mum or dad, continued to stand up everytime their was an exciting attack. This resulted in those behind her standing up, followed by the next row and the next and none of us could see a thing. It was thee most annoying thing ever.....normally people who stand up get shouted at with the famous "SIT DOWN will ye" but who wants to shout at a child."
Harsh there i think thats great to see a young girl getting really into a game as you said exciting attack she just wanted to get the best few. no wonder there are so many games with no atmosphere

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 14/08/2018 12:18:45    2133144

Instead of everyone thinking that the world should bow to accommodate their every need and when it doesn't going on to Social Media they should maybe have a good long hard look at themselves and the kind of choices they are making. Maybe if these people stopped focusing solely on themselves and their needs they would realise that there are more important things in life than for example the rights and wrongs of not being able to take you few month old child to a game for free.

Seriously, what is wrong with people????

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/08/2018 12:32:51    2133151

Replying To Game2Halves:  "I don't mind Mothers taking their small babies to games, the older ones annoy me more. In the Hogan last day out a girl of about 9 sitting with her buddy and no sign of mum or dad, continued to stand up everytime their was an exciting attack. This resulted in those behind her standing up, followed by the next row and the next and none of us could see a thing. It was thee most annoying thing ever.....normally people who stand up get shouted at with the famous "SIT DOWN will ye" but who wants to shout at a child."
Fair play to her, showing great enthusiasm and excitement for the game, could easily have been there on the phone constantly or not paying any attention at all....being fairly young maybe her view was being obstructed by taller people of no faults of their own in front.

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 14/08/2018 12:40:49    2133154

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Instead of everyone thinking that the world should bow to accommodate their every need and when it doesn't going on to Social Media they should maybe have a good long hard look at themselves and the kind of choices they are making. Maybe if these people stopped focusing solely on themselves and their needs they would realise that there are more important things in life than for example the rights and wrongs of not being able to take you few month old child to a game for free.

Seriously, what is wrong with people????"
What is wrong with expecting to be able to bring your 16 week old baby into Croke Park for free??? The baby will be strapped to the mother. In nobodies way and not taking up a seat at a final where tickets will be like gold dust?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 12:46:41    2133159

Replying To keithlemon:  "I probably am being too cynical Jackeen and I get the ridiculousness of the fact that if she were to purchase the ticket it leaves an empty seat. I don't want this post to be deemed anit-woman or anything like that, I just want to open a discussion around this.
Would you bring a child of that age to the opera or go to an over 18s horror film?
I can't for the life of me understand why you would entertain going to a game with a child of that age knowing it will need constant care and attention along with being breast fed. Why not just sit this one out and enjoy the game from the comfort of your home? I don't want to be telling people what to do, but surely logic has to come into this argument somewhere"
Plenty of babies and children go to games sure we see it all the time little ones being handed to their fathers who have just come off the field of play to celebrate with them. Wasn't Stephen Rochfords adorable baby in his arms after the final last year one of the most poignant photos of the championship? Its entirely different to taking a child to the opera or a film where the child would need to be quiet. And why should she sit this one out. She has been going to matches all year?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 12:52:33    2133166

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To Jackeen:  "[quote=keithlemon:  "https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/80-to-bring-a-16weekold-baby-to-the-allireland-final-tyrone-fan-slams-bizarre-gaa-ticket-policy-37211641.html

As a woman this post really annoys me. The woman in question is breastfeeding her baby exclusively which means the baby can't be left with anybody. The baby will be strapped to her for the entire game. There will be a spare seat next to her. The GAA and its ridiculous rules again. Health & safety?? How is this impacting Croke Park? I think you are being very cynical about this. She is highlighting a ridiculous rule in my opinion."
I'm not sure Jackeen. When you have kids you gotta make choices.

I think it's fairly sensible that every person in the ground on the day of a sell out should have a ticket. I presume it's illegal for Croke Park, Aviva etc to have it any other way. I bloody well hope it is illegal to be honest.

Whether or not those tickets should be full whack at 80 quid is another matter though.

It's unfortunate in some ways that Tyrone's first final in 10 years comes when they have an infant that needs to be breastfed but that's how it is.

When you have chislers you're going to miss out on the odd match, party, wedding, etc, etc, etc. Just got to deal with it.

We never took any of our 3 to matches when they were infants. Someone, or both had to stay at home."]And I get that. My point is this is a new born. It won't need a seat. It is strapped to his man. Why should she need to pay in??

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 12:55:42    2133168

Replying To imonmyway:  "I agree that Croke Park on All Ireland final day is no place for a baby of 16 weeks for a number of reasons. Firstly it is a very noisy place and not suitable for young children. Surely a child of this age requires alot of sleep - how can he be brought from Tyrone to Dublin, sit through at least 4 hours of Croke Park entertainment and return to Tyrone. Even if staying in Dublin on the night before and after - there is a long period between getting to the game, the game itself and getting out of Croke Park with a young baby. The breastfeeding saga looked like a plea for attention - no-one asked the question how a baby so young was put in a car on one of the hottest days of the year and driven around 3 hours to a match. I have a young child myself and I would not dream of putting them through this. Also, this young baby that was the subject of the breastfeeding saga had been attending Mayo games from as young as 2 weeks old. This is possibly a case for the ISPCC! Parents looking for attention and using their kids - if they were that concerned about their young kids they would not be dragging them around the country like this"
I think the mother in question is more equipped to judge what is best for her own child, don't you?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 12:57:03    2133170

Replying To perfect10:  "this is a complete publicity stunt,no more than the breastfeeding woman in newbridge.
if we start letting people bring babies in,where does it end?sure a 5 year old will sit on daddys lap for the match.a 7 year old will do the same.where is the line?how long before a 10 year old is being brought through the turnstile and mammy is up in arms and has a story in the independent?
1 ticket 1 entry-end of story.
does this woman think she'd rock up to the gates of old trafford or wembley with her child?
we love to blame the gaa for a lot but this one they have got spot on.
if she wanted to go to the game badly enough,there are ways of making sure the babysitter can have milk for her.
publicity stunt."
She could rock up to the Aviva no problem though. It ends when the babies are 2 I would expect same as the Aviva. It should not cost this woman a penny to bring her 16 week old baby to Croke Park.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2018 13:09:37    2133174

Replying To Jackeen:  "What is wrong with expecting to be able to bring your 16 week old baby into Croke Park for free??? The baby will be strapped to the mother. In nobodies way and not taking up a seat at a final where tickets will be like gold dust?"
Jackeen

I don't see anything wrong with it. I also 100% accept your point about this lady breastfeeding.

My Son is under 5, I haven't attended a number of championship games over the last 5 seasons simply because my priority is him and since he came along sport is in second place and will be until he is old enough to attend games.

I guess it comes down to personal choice and how much a person wants to be at the game. The first game I missed was the 1/4 final v Wexford in 2014 & all week I felt a bit down at the thoughts of not being there. But then the day came, I was with the young lad, watched the game on TV. It was actually grand.

The saying is 'nothing beats being there' but for me being a parent does. Each to their own but I wouldn't bring a child that age to a game.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/08/2018 13:36:43    2133182

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think the mother in question is more equipped to judge what is best for her own child, don't you?"
I'm sure she is but i would question if it is the right decision to bring a young baby a long journey to a football game during a heatwave. I was faced with this decision (to bring child to visit relatives - not to a football match) and decided against it.

imonmyway (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 14/08/2018 13:48:29    2133190

Replying To Jackeen:  "She could rock up to the Aviva no problem though. It ends when the babies are 2 I would expect same as the Aviva. It should not cost this woman a penny to bring her 16 week old baby to Croke Park."
and next article about her:
"mother complains GAA ask for proof that child is under 2, denied entry to Croke Park".

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/08/2018 13:54:08    2133196

Replying To Jackeen:  "What is wrong with expecting to be able to bring your 16 week old baby into Croke Park for free??? The baby will be strapped to the mother. In nobodies way and not taking up a seat at a final where tickets will be like gold dust?"
What is wrong with expecting to be able to bring your 16 week old baby into Croke Park for free???

Where would you like me to start :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/08/2018 13:55:25    2133199