All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone

Fair play to Tyrone and their continuing stance against RTÉ.

They are completely correct and I agree wholly with Harte and his team.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13729 - 20/08/2018 12:51:06    2134706

I don't think anyone really expected a change in the Tyrone RTE policy and the run up to the All Ireland Final isn't the time to be looking at this again.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 20/08/2018 13:04:29    2134710

I recently posted this response on another thread.

Listen how is any of the team going to put a face on them to talk to RTE if their manager, management team and fellow players don't.

They may not have been explicitly told not to speak to RTE but obviously the pier group pressure restricts them from doing so.

I am sure that during the year this is no issue for them but they are now in an All Ireland final, playing the best team ever. If they happen to beat this team then of course they will want the exposure and the plaudits that the televised evening reception presents. These are normal amateur sportsmen who might never get this chance again.

Imagine playing the game of your life in the final and not getting the opportunity to receive the man of the match award live on TV, or imagine getting the player of the year award and not getting the chance to watch it over again.

I think Mickey needs to back down on this one for the sake of his players. He doesn't need to take part himself but if he doesn't allow his team then it is a purely selfish move."

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/08/2018 13:05:53    2134712

Replying To MesAmis:  "Fair play to Tyrone and their continuing stance against RTÉ.

They are completely correct and I agree wholly with Harte and his team."
I also agree

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 13:06:35    2134713

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Can you explain to me how you came to the conclusion that "most Tyrone people and players they would say that his has went on long enough"? Is this a poll between you and your 3 mates down the pub? or have you actually conducted a detailed poll/survey? You were on about the same rubbish when you were criticising Micky Harte and wanting him out, you are very quiet on that subject all of a sudden.

Also the statement "This is a M Harte boycott and everyone has to toe the line" is complete rubbish. No one has to toe the line. MH has said that the players are free to talk to Croke Park - its their own personally choice that the don't. and I say fair play to them, it is great to see a bit of loyalty within a team these days.

You agree that what was said wrong and out of order, its up to the person who was offended to forgive, not you. If I was In the same situation there wouldn't be a hope I would speak to RTE ever again.

Up for the Match is sh*&e. Generally accepted at this stage. up there with the rose of Tralee.

If Tyrone win an All Ireland I don't think one player would give a hoot if the RTE cameras are there are not. If their familys and friends are there who care's. And I would say Teamtalk Tyrone would do a fine job off does the interviews and stream them live if they could work that out."
I sincerely doubt the players are free to talk to whoever they want, if they were they would do so, yet when retired they gladly take up the offer. How many past Tyrone players have been in the Sunday Game? McMenamin, McGuigan and now Cavanagh is a lead analyst!! He wasn't retired 24 hours when he was giving RTE interviews and seems to be delighted in his new role free from the dictate that seemed imposed on him and other active players by their manager, if they were so loyal to Harte and in so much agreement with his stance you would think they would continue the boycott into their retirement but no some of Harte's most loyal foot soldiers shook RTE's hand very shortly after the boots were hung up so I don't agree that they can speak to whom they wish, they speak to whom they are told.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/08/2018 13:13:21    2134717

Replying To MesAmis:  "Fair play to Tyrone and their continuing stance against RTÉ.

They are completely correct and I agree wholly with Harte and his team."
Fully agree with Tyrone also. You would have never seen this done to one of our Rugby or Soccer 'heros'

It should never be forgotten what RTE did.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/08/2018 13:24:59    2134730

Listen how is any of the team going to put a face on them to talk to RTE if their manager, management team and fellow players don't.

They may not have been explicitly told not to speak to RTE but obviously the pier group pressure restricts them from doing so.

I am sure that during the year this is no issue for them but they are now in an All Ireland final, playing the best team ever. If they happen to beat this team then of course they will want the exposure and the plaudits that the televised evening reception presents. These are normal amateur sportsmen who might never get this chance again.

Imagine playing the game of your life in the final and not getting the opportunity to receive the man of the match award live on TV, or imagine getting the player of the year award and not getting the chance to watch it over again.

I think Mickey needs to back down on this one for the sake of his players. He doesn't need to take part himself but if he doesn't allow his team then it is a purely selfish move.

Also it is obviously something which the players who leave the panel are not too concerned with. Just look at the RTE participants which we have had over the years, Sean Cavanagh, Ricey, Philip Jordon and Brian McGuigan to name a few.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/08/2018 13:26:41    2134731

A case of before the Lord Mayors show with the hurling yesterday, count down to the biggest event in Irish sport is just 13 days away... aw lads I can't wait. What an occasion it'll be.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 13:30:21    2134738

With the amount of abuse Tyrone and Mickey Harte have to listen to from Joe Brolly, Colm O'Rourke & Co, there's not a chance I'd be backing down from the boycott.
Behind Mickey 100%!

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 20/08/2018 13:32:06    2134742

Replying To waynoI:  "I also agree"
I totally disagree. Mea is a great man complaining about games on sky etc. yet one of the finalists won't give any prematch interviews to the free to air broadcaster. Remember what started this? And it wasn't the john Murray thing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/08/2018 13:50:13    2134758

Replying To royaldunne:  "I totally disagree. Mea is a great man complaining about games on sky etc. yet one of the finalists won't give any prematch interviews to the free to air broadcaster. Remember what started this? And it wasn't the john Murray thing."
each to their own

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 14:04:02    2134778

Replying To realdub:  "Am I the only one who thinks 11/2 are savage odds on Tyrone?"
Thinking the exact same thing.

I reckon quite a few will put a small wager on Tyrone at those odds.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 20/08/2018 14:08:02    2134784

I totally disagree. Mea is a great man complaining about games on sky etc. yet one of the finalists won't give any prematch interviews to the free to air broadcaster. Remember what started this? And it wasn't the john Murray thing.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 13729 - 20/08/2018 13:50:13

The John Murray thing is exactly why Harte and Tyrone won't speak to RTÉ. You know this is true but for some unknown reason you want to make it look like Harte and Tyrone won't speak to RTÉ over something trivial. Why are you doing that?

If the John Murray sketch didn't happen Tyrone would speak to RTÉ. Stop pretending this isn't true.

If someone mocked your daughter's death would you speak to them?

Simple question. I know I wouldn't and even if I would I'd understand perfectly why someone else wouldn't speak to them.

This has nothing to do with games on Sky.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13729 - 20/08/2018 14:28:30    2134813

Replying To Richieq:  "I sincerely doubt the players are free to talk to whoever they want, if they were they would do so, yet when retired they gladly take up the offer. How many past Tyrone players have been in the Sunday Game? McMenamin, McGuigan and now Cavanagh is a lead analyst!! He wasn't retired 24 hours when he was giving RTE interviews and seems to be delighted in his new role free from the dictate that seemed imposed on him and other active players by their manager, if they were so loyal to Harte and in so much agreement with his stance you would think they would continue the boycott into their retirement but no some of Harte's most loyal foot soldiers shook RTE's hand very shortly after the boots were hung up so I don't agree that they can speak to whom they wish, they speak to whom they are told."
It's called showing solidarity with your manager and they have every right to opt out once they've left the team set up.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 14:49:54    2134831

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Can you explain to me how you came to the conclusion that "most Tyrone people and players they would say that his has went on long enough"? Is this a poll between you and your 3 mates down the pub? or have you actually conducted a detailed poll/survey? You were on about the same rubbish when you were criticising Micky Harte and wanting him out, you are very quiet on that subject all of a sudden.

Also the statement "This is a M Harte boycott and everyone has to toe the line" is complete rubbish. No one has to toe the line. MH has said that the players are free to talk to Croke Park - its their own personally choice that the don't. and I say fair play to them, it is great to see a bit of loyalty within a team these days.

You agree that what was said wrong and out of order, its up to the person who was offended to forgive, not you. If I was In the same situation there wouldn't be a hope I would speak to RTE ever again.

Up for the Match is sh*&e. Generally accepted at this stage. up there with the rose of Tralee.

If Tyrone win an All Ireland I don't think one player would give a hoot if the RTE cameras are there are not. If their familys and friends are there who care's. And I would say Teamtalk Tyrone would do a fine job off does the interviews and stream them live if they could work that out."
Maybe if you look at many of my posts not just the ones from the past few months you'll see that I'm a big fan of Ulster teams and have spoken out against many posters feeble attempts to discredit Tyrone particularly, so let's not be selective in your analysis of what I have posted. I've also prior to last 2 years or so supported MH as manager until I believed he had not moved with the times and not changed his style. Again let's not confuse what I've said to be anti MH as I believe I have been more than fair. And whether you choose to believe me or not I know many, not 3, Tyrone fans and a few ex players as well - and the consistent message I get is this needs to end. I have also stated that what RTE did was a disgrace and whilst the initial boycott was warranted I think it's about time it ended. I can have a personal opinion on this like many of my Tyrone friends who also feel this way. You choose to support it and that's your opinion - but where does it end? The fact that many ex players within days of retiring show up on RTE stations says to me and many others this is not a choice - otherwise they wouldn't do what they do - whether you are blinkered to this is your business but to me it says a lot!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/08/2018 15:01:53    2134839

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Maybe if you look at many of my posts not just the ones from the past few months you'll see that I'm a big fan of Ulster teams and have spoken out against many posters feeble attempts to discredit Tyrone particularly, so let's not be selective in your analysis of what I have posted. I've also prior to last 2 years or so supported MH as manager until I believed he had not moved with the times and not changed his style. Again let's not confuse what I've said to be anti MH as I believe I have been more than fair. And whether you choose to believe me or not I know many, not 3, Tyrone fans and a few ex players as well - and the consistent message I get is this needs to end. I have also stated that what RTE did was a disgrace and whilst the initial boycott was warranted I think it's about time it ended. I can have a personal opinion on this like many of my Tyrone friends who also feel this way. You choose to support it and that's your opinion - but where does it end? The fact that many ex players within days of retiring show up on RTE stations says to me and many others this is not a choice - otherwise they wouldn't do what they do - whether you are blinkered to this is your business but to me it says a lot!!!"
I didn't mention Ulster teams or them been discredited so not sure why you commented on that?
My point is that there were roughly 15000-20000 Tyrone fans at Croke Park for Monaghan game. How on earth can you say most of the Tyrone fans think the boycott should end? did you ask them all? its a ridiculous statement. Same as the fools a few months ago saying "most of the fans want MH to go" (a cabal you were head off by the way, they are very quiet all of a sudden). Its a ridiculous statement. You cant prove it.

Now on the ex players talking to RTE - why do you think they start to do that? FOR THE MONEY AND FREE SUITS!!!!!!!
They are out of the panel so they can do what ever they like. Isn't it great to see players backing their manager for a change instead of wanting to get him sacked.

Also a boycott does not last for a certain amount of time. Doesn't matter if its 7 or 27 years, MH feels he shouldn't talk to them and I feel he it right.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 20/08/2018 16:07:18    2134895

The boycott is a non issue for most people. It won't have any real impact on the pre or post match coverage of the Final. Tyrone love nothing else than playing the victim and having the world against them. While the Murray sketch was in extreme bad taste, why Harte feels he has the right to appoint RTE football commentators is anyone's guess.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 20/08/2018 16:41:39    2134913

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I didn't mention Ulster teams or them been discredited so not sure why you commented on that?
My point is that there were roughly 15000-20000 Tyrone fans at Croke Park for Monaghan game. How on earth can you say most of the Tyrone fans think the boycott should end? did you ask them all? its a ridiculous statement. Same as the fools a few months ago saying "most of the fans want MH to go" (a cabal you were head off by the way, they are very quiet all of a sudden). Its a ridiculous statement. You cant prove it.

Now on the ex players talking to RTE - why do you think they start to do that? FOR THE MONEY AND FREE SUITS!!!!!!!
They are out of the panel so they can do what ever they like. Isn't it great to see players backing their manager for a change instead of wanting to get him sacked.

Also a boycott does not last for a certain amount of time. Doesn't matter if its 7 or 27 years, MH feels he shouldn't talk to them and I feel he it right."
Haha you are crediting me with running the MH out cabal - seriously???. Instead of you questioning whether I asked every single fan in Croker - after Monaghan match if they wanted MH to stop boycotting RTE - perhaps you can do a more simple exercise and read the posts made by many people long before me who are actual Tyrone people who wanted Harte out and then you can comment on me. Are you seriously saying that all those fans showed up at Croker was a vote of confidence in MHs stance on RTE or indeed are totally behind MH instead of just wanting to watch their county in a semi final - then if that's the case then you are even more deluded than I thought. Are you from the Errigal Ciaran club? I also know people from that club who are not big MH fans and want him gone so instead of you throwing ***** around waiting for it to stick you should actually be a little more tolerant to other people's opinions.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/08/2018 17:00:42    2134917

Replying To royaldunne:  "I totally disagree. Mea is a great man complaining about games on sky etc. yet one of the finalists won't give any prematch interviews to the free to air broadcaster. Remember what started this? And it wasn't the john Murray thing."
What's free about it?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/08/2018 17:06:37    2134920

Matters not a *****, all that does actually matter is the 70+mins on field action that follows 15:30 on 2/9/18!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 20/08/2018 17:10:05    2134924